Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kangaroo Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 463 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 463 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
15th Aug 2017
2.3

I've been backpacking for the past three months so my standards are by no means high - but this is the worst place I've ever stayed at. Ever! Our 'dorm' was a car garage under the house that just had some beds chucked in. It was so damp and smelly. There was no sign outside the hostel and it and came up under a few different names when googled, making me think that there is something dodgy going on. There was only one shower. Don't recommend!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2017
5.4

30 beds to 2 toilets and one shower. We were in a small room with 10 beds and no windows. Mattresses were thinner then sliced bread. This place is a trap

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Aug 2017
7.1

Great atmosphere, everyone was friendly and relaxed. If you're Australian you'll feel at home.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
3.7

Not a hostel. Just a garage with too many beds in. Not clean and not a nice place to sleep. Not good value for money at all.. One or two members of staff were friendly but generally it wasn't a comfortable atmosphere. Wouldn't recommend it. I did meet cool travellers though.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
10.0

good fun hostel with good staff harrys a legend and gives good surf lessons 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
10.0

Harry is a legend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
8.9

The staff and atmosphere were really good. Especially the Australian host is very friendly and also knows his way around in San Sebastian. Definitely ask him what to do in San Sebastian if you don't have any idea what to do besides the beach; we had a wonderfull city trip that way! The place is pretty small for a lot of people but that makes it quite cosy and easy to socialize. On the flip side, you will have to wait for showers, share quite small rooms and check-out with all your backpacks...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
9.7

Nice hostel, excellent vibes!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
10.0

Thank you! Big up ;-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jul 2017
6.0

I stayed just one night there and didn't enjoyed it. The room are way too big.. not especially clean.. and without any locker. May be a good place to meet people though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.