X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kangaroo-Stop Reviews

Erna-Berger-Str. 8-10, Dresden-Neustadt 01097, Dresden, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2259 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Lovely little hostel in perfect location for both old and new towns. Staff are friendly and helpful but remember you will have to pay for sheets


77%

Easy to get to from the Hauptbahnhof, and on the side of the city which has all the night life. It's about a 15 minute walk to get across to the old town for sightseeing. The hostel was almost completely empty (not surprising given the time of year), but had a really good common area. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful.


69%

Staff were amazing, especially the lady with the piercings (sorry I forgot your name), such lovely service. Location is alright, a bit of a walk into the city but good for the bars/clubs.


94%

Great hostel, the staff are very accommodating and helped us with directions around town as well as having some great suggestions for day trips. Good sized rooms, very large common room and kitchen. Could not recommend enough!


80%

Showers sucked a bit but staff were cool, it's a good hostel in a good spot. Not really any atmosphere but I guess that's Dresden in winter, was exactly what I (you) needed after berlin (or Prague)


83%

Good place to stay! Really close to one of the main train stations in the city and from the hostel it is very easy to walk to both historic and party places. Nice placem totally recommendable.


80%

It's my 2nd stay here and it's a great place


97%

This is one of the best hostel in Dresden. The rooms are clean and staffs are very helpful and informative. The big common room is perfect to get relaxed!


100%

This hostel is so amazing and well located, the rooms are great and the kitchen is really big and full packed, the woman at the front desk is incredibly nice and helpful, I recommend this place a 100%


57%

The security was lacking as everyone in the dorm had a key that opened the door and the door had to be manually locked each time it was opened. The lockers inside the rooms had no locks on it as well, and are way too tiny. The charging points in the room were really difficult to reach. The showers also had no privacy or hooks. I feel that that facilities should have been a lot better for the price charged. However the staff was very kind to accommodate our early/late check in and check out.


74%

Very clean, comfortable rooms, good and clean showers. Staff is helpful but could be more friendly. No big extra facilities but for a good sleep at night a good accommodation !

  • 19th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

The showers were gross. The floors in the rooms were carpet and they were also gross. Our room door didn't automatically lock so it was pretty much unlocked the entire time which wasn't the safest. The breakfast was expensive considering you couldn't see the breakfast before you bought it. Reception isn't 24 hours so that was a little annoying but the pillows were nice and they had this really cool hammock chair in the lounge. Too bad the lounge was boring. No one ever went in there.


91%

GOOD: VERY friendly and helpful staff (thank you!), nice hot shower!! (especially when it's winter), room has a table, some chairs and lots of space, big and cosy common area and kitchen. supermarket is 1 minute walk from the hostel. NOT GOOD: Not the perfect location - need to take a train/tram to the Dresden Hbf. Takes 20 mins to walk to the main attractions in the old town.


91%

Overall very clean hostel with good facilities. Some little annoying things like some showers not having any curtains... Some of our food was stolen (two separate days) and although that's not really the staff's fault they went and bought us replacements. Much appreciated!!


60%

It was an okay hostel it was just unfortunate that when I stayed I was one of only a few people on my firat night, then it was fully booked but I barely saw anyone. In regards to facilities the tv didn't work in the lounge and the showers had no private dry area to change, just the one cubical which proves a bit difficult. I also have to mention the bed I slept in, the metal parts had started poking through the bed. But on the flip side the staff were friendly and very helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We wished you would have talked to us WHILE you were here to give us the chance to react immediately.. for ex. to show you how the TV works,to check your bed or tell you what to do in Dresden.Probably you barely saw anyone because it is Christmas market Season..so everyone is outside on the streets..Thank you for your stay and please for the future give the Hostel a chance to solve problems right away to make your stay as comfortable as possible. 'Take care, travel safe!

100%

Out second stay here in two years, very pleasant again.


89%

It would be much more convenient for everyone shares the room, if there are little lamps and chargers for each bed.


86%

Friendly staff, good location next to train station. Decent kitchen but no free breakfast. Lots of supermarkets etc around. Very spacious rooms, one main light only, a powerpoint each. nice comfy common area. Very quiet season right now so cant comment on atmosphere. Showers are weird with several out in the open side by side and a few small cubicles.


86%

Really nice hostel with a brilliant common room, WIFI not great in rooms. Everything you could ask for. Directions provided on the reservation weren't great but that is mostly down to my navigational skills.


100%

The hostel was super close to the Dresden Neustadt Station (like right around the corner), which allowed easy access to trains, trams and buses. It was also very close to a nice supermarket for fresh foods. The staff was very welcoming, warm and felt like family immediately. The Old Town was about a 40 minute walk from the hostel, which was enjoyable due to the bike and walking trail along the river, which limited having to walk the streets (although you can do that too). I highly recommend!

  • 9th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(59 results)


View all Dresden Hostels

Please give us your feedback