X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kantaya Hostel Reviews

Santiago Giraldo # 220, Puno, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
294 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Helpful staff. Clean room.


94%

Stayed 2 nights in Kantaya. Very nice, secure and clean. It's a short walk to the main plaza. Staff were great. Lots of places to hang out which makes its a nice place to chill out, common areas with hot drinks to meet people. I'd stay again.

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

We had a great stay at Kantaya Hostel. Very clean and simple w/ pancakes for breakfast. The kitchen was clean and had all basic necessities. Foosball and decent wi-fi is available. The girls at the front counter can help with tours and buses as well.


54%

Our room was dirty when we arrived (beds were made but visible dirt on comforters). There was also no door to the bathroom in our 2 person room which was a little weird. Thankfully they were pretty helpful when the hot water wasnt working.

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Kantaya was the best hostel of our trip. hot water. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the atmosphere was perfect for meeting people. central location, nice bed. Lockers. They also offer tours that are of good quality and reasonably priced.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice Hostel. Great staff, good facilities with plenty of social areas. Good wifi, Really good breakfast, excellent location. cheap place.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

i was ready to leave puno, but i wanted to bring the hostel with me! the staff were so kind and the breakfast was soooo yummy!! one of my favourite hostels in South America ^_^


97%

A really really nice hostel for a very fair price. Central location, nice staff, clean, hot shower. good rooms. Common areas with hot drinks and good facilities. Travel Shop. we recommend you.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great breakfast with pancakes, meats and cheeses. Perfect location right by the main square. Although theres not much to do in Puno other than the floating islands and lake titicaca tours. Beds were so uncomfortable though, one of ours had springs popping out and the other was like a brick. Also had to pay to leave our luggage which is unusual and annoying.


77%

Amazing wifi!!! Comfy beds, free tea all day, good breakfast with pancakes. You can book tours and buses from reception.


97%

Had a great stay here! the staff is super helpful with any questions and the tours you can book through the hostel are a very reasonable price. Loved our stay here, felt like home and is economical place. And the location is unbeatable. Definitely recommend!.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel is fantastic. The breakfast included was delicious good pancakes, super safe, great staff, great location, nice terrace, very cheap. the dorm room are nice, clean and very comfortable, definitely a great place to stay ! thanks kantaya Hostel.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great stay at Kantaya! would recommend it to any one travelling to Puno. is cheap. friendly staff, lovely homey feel and great common areas. We had a fantastic tour to lake titicaca!.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

We were hosted in Cusco Room, a dorm for 10. They stretched beds without cleaning leaving the sheets used by previous guests ... they did not change the sheets ...SUCKS!


69%

hair and stains from orher people in our bed!


91%

Kantaya is a place like home, lots of facilities and nice common areas and good internet, they offer tours (Lake Titicaca) for a very good price, the beds are comfy and the breakfast is good, definitely would go back to this place, because is cheap.

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel is fine but it's not particularly comfy and doesn't have any sort of atmosphere


74%

Ok if you're just staying to go on tours but other than that this hostel doesn't have much to offer. The staff are friendly enough but no inviting common areas. Rooms are pretty good and breakfast served early to meet tour departures. Location was good


94%

I really have no complaints about my stay at Kantaya. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the atmosphere was perfect for meeting people. central location, warm shower, nice bed. Lockers. They also offer tours that are of good quality and reasonably priced.

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice hostel with many great facilities that makes the stay very enjoyable and economical. I would recommend this hostel to anyone. we enjoyed the excursion to Lake Titicaca with them. we recommend to everybody.

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(63 results)


View all Puno Hostels

Please give us your feedback