X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kantaya Hostel Reviews

Santiago Giraldo # 220, Puno, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
281 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

A really really nice hostel for a very fair price. Central location, nice staff, clean, hot shower. good rooms. Common areas with hot drinks and good facilities. Travel Shop. we recommend you.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great breakfast with pancakes, meats and cheeses. Perfect location right by the main square. Although theres not much to do in Puno other than the floating islands and lake titicaca tours. Beds were so uncomfortable though, one of ours had springs popping out and the other was like a brick. Also had to pay to leave our luggage which is unusual and annoying.


77%

Amazing wifi!!! Comfy beds, free tea all day, good breakfast with pancakes. You can book tours and buses from reception.


97%

Had a great stay here! the staff is super helpful with any questions and the tours you can book through the hostel are a very reasonable price. Loved our stay here, felt like home and is economical place. And the location is unbeatable. Definitely recommend!.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel is fantastic. The breakfast included was delicious good pancakes, super safe, great staff, great location, nice terrace, very cheap. the dorm room are nice, clean and very comfortable, definitely a great place to stay ! thanks kantaya Hostel.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great stay at Kantaya! would recommend it to any one travelling to Puno. is cheap. friendly staff, lovely homey feel and great common areas. We had a fantastic tour to lake titicaca!.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

We were hosted in Cusco Room, a dorm for 10. They stretched beds without cleaning leaving the sheets used by previous guests ... they did not change the sheets ...SUCKS!


69%

hair and stains from orher people in our bed!


91%

Kantaya is a place like home, lots of facilities and nice common areas and good internet, they offer tours (Lake Titicaca) for a very good price, the beds are comfy and the breakfast is good, definitely would go back to this place, because is cheap.

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel is fine but it's not particularly comfy and doesn't have any sort of atmosphere


74%

Ok if you're just staying to go on tours but other than that this hostel doesn't have much to offer. The staff are friendly enough but no inviting common areas. Rooms are pretty good and breakfast served early to meet tour departures. Location was good


94%

I really have no complaints about my stay at Kantaya. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the atmosphere was perfect for meeting people. central location, warm shower, nice bed. Lockers. They also offer tours that are of good quality and reasonably priced.

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice hostel with many great facilities that makes the stay very enjoyable and economical. I would recommend this hostel to anyone. we enjoyed the excursion to Lake Titicaca with them. we recommend to everybody.

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel in the middle of city! and near to all grocery stores. Staff very helpful with everything you need. Great breakfast, hot drinks all time free, good computer with fast internet. We bought tours to Lake Titicaca with them was nice experience and cheap.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The people there are really nice. With the cozy common areas, hot shower, fast wifi, excellent location, good breakfast, they has Travel shop. Friendly staff. Make me feel comfortable and warm in Kantaya! Highly recommended!.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

if you need a place to sleep its fine, but i warn you that the tours they sell its really a rip off... the 2 days tour they sold me costed 100, while everyone else in the same tour was paying 80 also they wanted to sell a bus to copacabana for 35, while it costs 20 at the bus station ti sleep is fine but dont buy anything there not even laundry which costs 7soles, while the rest of peru is 3 or maximum 4


83%

great place to stay in Puno. we also booked our one day tour, and even the bus tickets continueing to La Paz right at the reception, because the owner of that place was such a friendly guy. i'd definiteley recommend this place to other easy-going travellers...


89%

We had a great stay in this hostel, the room was great, staff very friendly. breakfast ok, hot shower, good wiffi. We can really recommend this hostel!!

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

We enjoyed our stay at kantaya, nice place and cheap. The staff made us feel at home. They helped us out with a trip to the Titicaca islands and with a bus to Cusco. Overall everything was ok.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff is super-friendly!! Its 's very clean and there are great common areas, there are kitchen, terrace, hot drinks, lockers, good breakfast, i had all the time hot shower, travel desk. great if you want to go to Lake Titicaca :) You can easily walk to the city-center. I highly recommend this hostel!

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(73 results)


View all Puno Hostels

Please give us your feedback