Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Kantaya Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 409 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 409 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
Kantaya Hostel Located at Santiago Giraldo # 220, , Puno.
Kantaya Hostel
Peru
Puno Puno 051 Santiago Giraldo # 220
82% 409
-15.8375935 -70.0292211
Kantaya Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
24th Jul 2016
6.0

I arrived alone at 5:15am and there was no one to open the door for me. By the time I realized that, my taxi was already gone and let's just say you don't want t wander the streets alone in Puno searching for another taxi. A lot of sketchy and drunk people around. I had to go back to the bus station, booked a tour for the day and left my bag there. On check-in in the afternoon, the lady claimed that they have people 24x7 at reception, but don't count on that, especially if you are alone!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
9.4

Cheap hostel, good service, great location. There is hot drinks all time, free kitchen, free breakfast, friendly staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Jul 2016
7.1

The location was great and the staff were really friendly. You have to buzz to get into the building but my room had no lock and was on the ground floor next to the common area so did not feel very secure (I put my money and passport into the small lockers and had nothing else of value on me so felt safe). The beds were either really firm or far far far too soft and there was no outlet near my bed. The shower was hot (yay) but limited bathrooms. Standard breakfast, poor wifi.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
2.9

The hotel is NOT finished! Very dirty.The staff is very rude, especially the man. Tours cost double, tell you one price but asked for more.Sheets, towels not changed or washed.Dirty floors, unsanitary kitchen.Terrible breakfast: pancake mix with eggs/water was left on the counter for 24 hrs, than used again.They did not have heating because they ran out of gas bottles. Small rooms. Bathroom: No handle lock. Guests complained. Go there only if you do not have alternatives. I do not recommend it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
9.4

Staff are very helpful and fun. Great facilities. Only 2 minutes from the plaza. nice breakfast. all Clean, comfy beds. Hot shower. We enjoyed the tour to lake titicaca with them. free kitchen Would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
7.4

Great staff, good location! Pretty good for the price!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
7.1

Nice hostel, with good links to a floating islands tour group. Hostel lacked atmosphere although the staff were lovely

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
6.3

Arrived around 11pm and was leaving early the next morning but during our short few hours the wifi wouldn't work and there were stains on the bedsheets. Breakfast was fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
9.7

Great hostel in great location. helpful friendly staff. Hot shower. Good breakfast. Good kitchen and nice common area :) Enjoyed staying here, would stay again and they offer excellent tours.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Jun 2016
9.1

Best shower I had in south America!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.