X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kantaya Hostel Reviews

Santiago Giraldo # 220, Puno, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
307 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Good hostel with kitchen and nice rooms. hot water. The location is excellent. Great staff, good facilities with plenty of social areas. Good wifi.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Very cold and not got a great atmosphere. The staff however are very helpful.


94%

Really nice hotel - comfortable, good atmosphere, friendly people, nice common areas and rooms. Terrace with games: football table. They organised a really good tour to the Lake Titicaca. cheap price.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Helpful staff. Clean room.


83%

Don't let the rough exterior misguide you! This hostel is really good! The staff is nice and helpful! Breakfast was pretty honest and she made us pancakes :) Free tea at all times (good for Puno altitude!) Bed was ok and the covers did a good job in the cold night I was there! Wifi works well!


94%

Stayed there a few weeks ago and had a really pleasant stay. Location is perfect, close to the city centre. Staff is very friendly and helpful, you can book different island tours on Lake Titicaca. Breakfast was really good with slices of ham and cheese and pancakes, showers were hot and the wifi is excellent. Was not too busy though, so not too much atmosphere but that wasnt a problem since a only stayed for two nights. Highly recommended.


94%

Stayed 2 nights in Kantaya. Very nice, secure and clean. It's a short walk to the main plaza. Staff were great. Lots of places to hang out which makes its a nice place to chill out, common areas with hot drinks to meet people. I'd stay again.

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

A very basic hostel, no lockers in the dorm I stayed. The beds were pretty old and not so comfortable. The staff on arrival were quite friendly but the girl on for breakfast wasn't, she didn't really speak English and at first said there was no pancakes for breakfast but when pressed on the issue she changed her mind. No areas for socialising. An ok place for an overnight stay but no more.


80%

We had a great stay at Kantaya Hostel. Very clean and simple w/ pancakes for breakfast. The kitchen was clean and had all basic necessities. Foosball and decent wi-fi is available. The girls at the front counter can help with tours and buses as well.


54%

Our room was dirty when we arrived (beds were made but visible dirt on comforters). There was also no door to the bathroom in our 2 person room which was a little weird. Thankfully they were pretty helpful when the hot water wasnt working.

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Kantaya was the best hostel of our trip. hot water. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the atmosphere was perfect for meeting people. central location, nice bed. Lockers. They also offer tours that are of good quality and reasonably priced.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice Hostel. Great staff, good facilities with plenty of social areas. Good wifi, Really good breakfast, excellent location. cheap place.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

i was ready to leave puno, but i wanted to bring the hostel with me! the staff were so kind and the breakfast was soooo yummy!! one of my favourite hostels in South America ^_^


97%

A really really nice hostel for a very fair price. Central location, nice staff, clean, hot shower. good rooms. Common areas with hot drinks and good facilities. Travel Shop. we recommend you.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great breakfast with pancakes, meats and cheeses. Perfect location right by the main square. Although theres not much to do in Puno other than the floating islands and lake titicaca tours. Beds were so uncomfortable though, one of ours had springs popping out and the other was like a brick. Also had to pay to leave our luggage which is unusual and annoying.


77%

Amazing wifi!!! Comfy beds, free tea all day, good breakfast with pancakes. You can book tours and buses from reception.


97%

Had a great stay here! the staff is super helpful with any questions and the tours you can book through the hostel are a very reasonable price. Loved our stay here, felt like home and is economical place. And the location is unbeatable. Definitely recommend!.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel is fantastic. The breakfast included was delicious good pancakes, super safe, great staff, great location, nice terrace, very cheap. the dorm room are nice, clean and very comfortable, definitely a great place to stay ! thanks kantaya Hostel.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great stay at Kantaya! would recommend it to any one travelling to Puno. is cheap. friendly staff, lovely homey feel and great common areas. We had a fantastic tour to lake titicaca!.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

We were hosted in Cusco Room, a dorm for 10. They stretched beds without cleaning leaving the sheets used by previous guests ... they did not change the sheets ...SUCKS!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(51 results)


View all Puno Hostels

Please give us your feedback