X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kantaya Hostel Reviews

Santiago Giraldo # 220, Puno, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
256 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

We had a great stay in this hostel, the room was great, staff very friendly. breakfast ok, hot shower, good wiffi. We can really recommend this hostel!!

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

We enjoyed our stay at kantaya, nice place and cheap. The staff made us feel at home. They helped us out with a trip to the Titicaca islands and with a bus to Cusco. Overall everything was ok.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff is super-friendly!! Its 's very clean and there are great common areas, there are kitchen, terrace, hot drinks, lockers, good breakfast, i had all the time hot shower, travel desk. great if you want to go to Lake Titicaca :) You can easily walk to the city-center. I highly recommend this hostel!

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Amazing friendly clean hostel. Staff are so helpful, location is great, atmosphere is lovely. with nice colours. good computer and fast wifi free, friendly and helpful staff, hot water all the time. I would definitely go there again!

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I can not complain, it's cheap and good. We had a great time at the hostel and met very cool people!. Stayed here just for the two night, nice room with comfy mattresses and pillows. Hot water in shower. Good breakfast. They also offer tours that are of good quality and reasonably priced.

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The building is awesome. They make you feel like home. Plenty of space to hang out, awesome common areas and super friendly staff. despite the bad reviews, for me it was very good stay at Kantaya, fast wifi, central location, hot drinks free all time and good pancakes in breakfast, cheap place we recommend everybody.

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

No water worked the entire day/night we were there. Always hot drinks. Decent wifi. Decent facilities. Staff seemed nice. Better breakfast. Decent location. The water was a bummer. Otherwise I'd recommend.


51%

Our accomodation had no water (no shower, bad smelling toilets whole the night) -> the staff didn't do anything In our bed was sand and the room was smelling badly Positive: the breakfast was great, free city map, free wifi


40%

The breakfast more than in other hostels there is cheese and ham and lovely pancakes. There was no hot water the whole day we where there (they kept on telling us it would come on in 10 minutes!) That also meant that the toilet didnt flush... The rooms are too small (we slept in a 6 bedroom dorm and there was no space to leave your stuff) My mattrass was terrible. Terrible place.


71%

Dunno if that was the festival of the Candelaria and/or the heavy rains but sometimes the staff was overwhelmed, some of them in bad mood and we were left at some point with no water and no staff. Some rooms smell of humidity. Mixed feelings.


40%

Stayed there for three days , had running water for about a total of six hours. One of the sketchier places I have ever stayed. Can only recommend if desperate for a bed.

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cameroon
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Leaky ceiling, rock hard mattress, staff often not at the desk to let you in when you ring the doorbell, didn't make pancakes even though that was one of the drawing points, didn't clean the room well (garbage under the bed). They did give us a better room for the same price as the dorm after our stuff was soaked by the leaky ceiling, but overall I cannot give this place a good grade. It's not quite as bad as it sounds, as the location & breakfast was good, and it was a nice social atmosphere.


69%

Horribla matresses in the dorms. We changed to a private room, the shower had no curtain so all was wet in the bathroom (we had to hide the toilet paper to prevent that...). We had to ask toilet paper ourselves at the reception. The wifi was really going on and off. Top of that, the whole building run out of water for 24h during the carnaval, so it was smelly everywhere...


60%

We had a nice stay but the kitchen didn't have the best equipment to cook and wasn't clean, breakfast was ok. Also some of the beds were very hard (harder then sleeping on the floor with a camping mat) but the rest of the hostel was clean. Some of the staff members were nice and helpful.


49%

Private twin room with bathroom missing a door. Bed sheets smelling as they'd already been used. So-called terrace, in reality a construction site on the 4th floor. Staff asking for a rate increase at the very last moment. Cold atmosphere and building, no efforts to make it better. Quite expensive relatively to the above mentioned. On the good side, very good location.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Puno is cold, but this hostel has gas heaters and does a good job at keeping the draught out. However there is no ventilation in the dorm bathroom and the damp smell is covered up with incense. The breakfast is good and there is a nice TV/Common Room. Staff are helpful and happy to sell tours and bus tickets, but I would recommend walking over to the bus station (30 minutes) to pay 50% less.


94%

nice hostel with bigger breakfast than most. They try to heat the hostel with gas heaters but it is still cold, but it seems to be the same way in most hostels and restaurants


66%

Only cleaned the common bathrooms once a day. No shower curtains. The location is good, only a few minutes from the plaza de Armas. The beds were very hard but you get what you pay for - good breakfast and it served our purpose for two nights. Beware: they charge more than is advertised.

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Great location, helpful staff and decent internet/wifi.. However, the rooms were extremely cold, the majority of one of the walls was glass (letting light in all night), and the noise level was terrible. Between the hallway light and the music/people/construction noise, we didn't sleep very well here. The hot drinks and kind staff are redeeming qualities, and the price isn't bad, but it wasn't our best stay in Peru.


86%

The staff was really helpful and they made us feel at home. We love our staying in Kantaya.

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(84 results)


View all Puno Hostels

Please give us your feedback