X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kantaya Hostel Reviews

Santiago Giraldo # 220, Puno, Peru

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
325 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Really nice hostel in the center of Puno, extremely helpful staff, great facilities (very nice Kayaking tour on lake titicaca), good common areas and breakfast, tours to be booked on spot. Great place to stay when you want to meet other travelers.

  • 1st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location - not far from the main plaza. Staff was so friendly and helpful. They offer tours of Titicaca Lake and the prices are competitive with other agencies. Lots of amenities such as a big TV, foosball table. Also good kitchen and the breakfast was nice, hot shower, wifi was good.

  • 27th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I had a great experience there. Staff were really kind to. Kantaya is close to the main plaza. They offer tours to lake titicaca. Nice breakfast and hot drinks free. Hot shower was good.

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Really helpful staff, pretty well located and nice atmosphere! Breakfast is kinda pricey but not very different from the other hostels I stayed in Peru.


100%

Good location, strong wifi, hot water, conveniently located, varied breakfast and informative staff.


94%

Excellent hostel for everything! Clean helpful great facilities and comfortable! Wifi is super fast! Can keep bag there whilst on over night tour too! Just the atmosphere isn't buzzing!


97%

Great place and nice hostel! Tours were mostly good and the facilities at the hostel were awesome. Hot water in shower All time. comfy beds, good breakfast, hostel with good location and good wifi.

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Stayed two nights here. Decent hot shower and helpful staff. I think there was only two other people staying here while I was here so it was a pretty quiet hostel.


89%

It was obscenely cold. The beds were super hard.


83%

Comfortable beds, free breakfast is fairly good. Night staff speak little English but will try and help you out if they can!


54%

A cheap place to stay and just a short walk to the plaza but what made the stay not so good for us is we felt we were ripped off by the hostel/staff on our tour and bus tickets. We were charged 60 soles for a 35 soles bus ticket and also were put at the back of the bus in the non-reclining seats. We also found out others on our full day tour had paid 40 soles each whereas we paid 55. On top of that the bed was hard as a brick and the wifi failed when it rained.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Good hostel with kitchen and nice rooms. hot water. The location is excellent. Great staff, good facilities with plenty of social areas. Good wifi.

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Very cold and not got a great atmosphere. The staff however are very helpful.


94%

Really nice hotel - comfortable, good atmosphere, friendly people, nice common areas and rooms. Terrace with games: football table. They organised a really good tour to the Lake Titicaca. cheap price.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Helpful staff. Clean room.


83%

Don't let the rough exterior misguide you! This hostel is really good! The staff is nice and helpful! Breakfast was pretty honest and she made us pancakes :) Free tea at all times (good for Puno altitude!) Bed was ok and the covers did a good job in the cold night I was there! Wifi works well!


94%

Stayed there a few weeks ago and had a really pleasant stay. Location is perfect, close to the city centre. Staff is very friendly and helpful, you can book different island tours on Lake Titicaca. Breakfast was really good with slices of ham and cheese and pancakes, showers were hot and the wifi is excellent. Was not too busy though, so not too much atmosphere but that wasnt a problem since a only stayed for two nights. Highly recommended.


94%

Stayed 2 nights in Kantaya. Very nice, secure and clean. It's a short walk to the main plaza. Staff were great. Lots of places to hang out which makes its a nice place to chill out, common areas with hot drinks to meet people. I'd stay again.

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

A very basic hostel, no lockers in the dorm I stayed. The beds were pretty old and not so comfortable. The staff on arrival were quite friendly but the girl on for breakfast wasn't, she didn't really speak English and at first said there was no pancakes for breakfast but when pressed on the issue she changed her mind. No areas for socialising. An ok place for an overnight stay but no more.


80%

We had a great stay at Kantaya Hostel. Very clean and simple w/ pancakes for breakfast. The kitchen was clean and had all basic necessities. Foosball and decent wi-fi is available. The girls at the front counter can help with tours and buses as well.


« first « Prev 1 2
(35 results)


View all Puno Hostels

Please give us your feedback