Hostelworld.com

Kaza Rio

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 193 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 193 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 7.9
Kaza Rio Located at R. Haddock Lobo, 23 - 3 floor, Estacio, Rio de Janeiro.
Kaza Rio
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro 20260130 R. Haddock Lobo, 23 - 3 floor, Estacio
84% 193
-22.9153832 -43.2078230
Kaza Rio
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
8.9

The staff is awesome, the location right in between the airports and the beaches which makes it a perfect base for exploring the city, safety and cleanliness are top-standard.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you! We are working on the facilities! We are open for suggestions as well =)

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Apr 2016
9.4

Ramiro from staff team was really nice. Hostel is clean. It is near metro station Estacio, walking distance. Very easy to go to city center, Ipanema, Maracana, etc. I recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks!!! =)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
10.0

Nice location right near the metro stop and close to the rodoviaria. The building is also secure with a code that is easy to use. Rooms are clean with AC and cool places to hang out on the roof. Best part of this hostel though is the staff, they went out of their way to help us many times!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying with us! We are very glad that you had a good experience with us!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
16th Mar 2016
6.3

We stayed at Kaza Rio as it was really close to the bus station. That's why we gave it a great location mark. We couldn't use the kitchen as we arrived late and left early so it was out of the operating hours. If you need somewhere close to Bus Station (Novo Rio) then it's great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your stay and your time leaving as a review. We didn't understand thou that you didn't have time to use our kitchen since you checked in around 4pm and we closed at 10 pm. But we are checking the possibility to stay open one hour longer. Cheers!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
23rd Feb 2016
7.1

Arrived late left early ok location for bus station

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2016
10.0

Amazing staff! Thanks for this incredible week!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You are more than welcome! We are very glad that you had a good experience with us!

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2016
10.0

It was a wonderful time there in Kaza Rio, the staff was so kind. I loved the environment and enjoyed the time with the another guests. The price is good, and is close to the subway station, so you can go to a lot of places in Rio, there are too restaurants and markets close to the hostel. I loved my time there. I hope see you again guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are very glad that you had a wonderful time with us! See you soon! =)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jan 2016
5.1

Security was amazing within the hostel, however the staff were quite annoying not letting anyone actually entering the hostel. The staff members were not particularly nice or helpful. The location is near the metro station which is convienent however you don't want to catch it from around that area as it quite unsafe, 2 girls had their bag snatched even during daylight. The atmosphere was quite dim and the reception is really annoying with opening times. Only bonus is decent showers were ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Oliver,we are very sad to know that your experiece wasn´t good enought. For someone who stayed one night with us after visiting the place specially. But seems that you misheard what happened with the girls who had their bags snatched in Santa Teresa a different neighborhood. We take very serious the security and don't alow strangers in the rooms, you might be upset when you were a visitor, but as a guest I´m sure you appreciated. Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
5th Jan 2016
7.4

Nice hostel with clean rooms and great value for money. The only problem is that if you leave a legitimate review with constructive criticism, (for example, that many policies are strict to the point of inconvenience) the management leaves a passive aggressive comment attempting to undermine the reviewer. Nice staff. Also they made us pay for more drinks than we had. :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Lydia, thanks for your stay and review, we are glad that you had a good stay. We take the critics and value each one always valuing the the truth and facts after all we can learn and improve everyday offering a better service. About the rules, once more we apologize but we are very strict with our guests security and it's not allowed people that it's not our guests in the rooms. About the extra drink we believe that was no mistake since we checked a few times, but when you come back I'll give you free caips! =)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.