X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kelly's Courtyard Reviews

No. 25, Xiaoyuan Hutong of Bingmasi Hutong, Xidan North Street, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
538 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 98%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 95%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Kelly's Courtyard is a hidden gem for anyone looking for the old romantic side of China with modern convince such as hot water at all times and a strong internet connection. The area is in central Beijing and walking distance from Beihai park but it isn't touristy. I think I was the only tourist in the area as I saw hardly any foreigners. Our rooms were cleaned everyday, breakfast included. Mark is so sweet and helpful, available 24/7 for your needs. Stay here! Next time I am in Beijing I will!


100%

Had an awesome stay at Kelly's Courtyard with my significant other. The place is hard to find but once you get the hang of it, it's part of the allure of the place as you feel you're a local trekking through back alleys to get to your humble abode. The decor is very cozy, the roof-top is fantastic for either a cup of coffee or a night cap when you're winding down after a long day of touring the city. Mark rocks, stay here!

  • 15th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This was a wonderful stay! Thanks so much to Mark for helping us out with everything and being so readily available for questions, advice, etc. He even checked to make sure we had our passports before going to the Palace Museum/Forbidden City!


100%

Very nice, relaxing atmosphere. Staff are very friendly and helpful. I was able to change my dates without any issues. I would definitely stay there again and recommend this hostel to others.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

I had a terrific experience at Kelly's. For me the element that made this experience different is the staff (from Mark to those assisting with cleaning or other duties) really cared about their guests experience. Mark inparticular is a fantastic host. It was similat to staying with family - could not have been more gratious, helpful and welcoming. I stay in big chain hotels alot for work -- this was a super refreshing experience!

  • 5th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

The courtyard is beautiful.

  • 31st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Mark was really helpful and welcoming. Helped us with bags to the hotel and showed us where to go for food and where to go on the subway. Really quirky and nice hotel with the rooms overlooking the courtyard. Really nice clean rooms cool roof terrace and common room. Mark was also really helpful and let us keep our bags at the hotel on our last day after checking out and sorted a taxi for us to the airport. 10 minutes walk from 2 subway stations. Would whole heartledly recommend!

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The best hostel we've ever stayed in. This place was more of a boutique hotel. It was beautiful, within walking distance of the Forbidden City and surrounding parks, and 5 minutes walk from the subway station. The staff were really friendly and went out of their way to make our trip great. They have a great rooftop patio for any downtown you have, and a fridge stocked with beer, water and wine that you can buy for relaxing upstairs. We'll be staying here next time we're back in the city.


100%

Mark was extremely hospitable and I'm looing forward to my next stay...

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

mum and I loved it. What a great place, so homely

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

A gem hidden away in old traditional Beijing alleys, 10min walk to subway or buzzing shopping streets, 20min to Forbidden city. The rooms are beautifully furnished with soft beds and modern bathrooms. The court yard is just sublime with designer decor and nice ambient music, not to mention the rooftop patio, and all this in an authentic traditional setting really makes this an oasis combining the best of two worlds. Thanks to 史丽峰 (Marc) who was so helpful and humble providing A-class service!


100%

Both my daughter (aged 8) had an enjoyable stay here. Mark is so nice, helpful and kind and took very good care of us. We felt at home. A gem in the hutong area!

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Quiet and good location. Mark is very helpful.

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Stayed for 4 nights after 16days in China at different hostels. It was very quiet, no street noise at all. It's a very relaxed place for grown ups and couples. The beds were soft, water was hot but a bit touchy at times, rooms a good size. The host is excellent. We planned our days and meals in consultation with him each day. He was able to help us with names of metro stops and good places to eat. The location is in a traditional area which was close to two metro stops.


94%

Kelly's was simply a lovely little gem, albeit somewhat difficult to find the first time and cold this time of the year. I will return!

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Excellent staff and loved staying in the old Huntung area. Nice room and brilliant value for money.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Lovely staff who are very friendly and helpful. Great location for shopping and sightseeing. Can be noisy as all rooms surround the indoor courtyard area. Breakfast is continental cold style but with toast. Would def consider staying again.


94%

This is a great place to stay in Beijing. The courtyard makes for a very nice atmosphere, and the private room was cozy and spacious compared to another hutong we stayed in nearby. The hosts were very helpful, and I wish we had been able to stay longer than a day!


100%

What a wonderful place, so friendly and clean. Mark, the manager, couldn't do enough to make our stay in Beijing one of the best experiences we had ever had. The hotel is so handy for everything, shopping, restaurants, transport, Forbidden City 20mins walk away The rooftop terrace is wonderful, sitting up there after the madness of Beijing was so fabulous. Thanks Mark, and your staff for your wonderful hospitality. We will be back next time we visit our daughter in China xxx

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

I was only in Beijing for 1 night on an 18-hour layover en route to the US, but my brief stay at Kelly's was excellent. Great facilities with particularly comfortable beds in the private room I stayed in. While the neighborhood isn't the most visually appealing or colorful, I was in a location very close to a subway station that was very convenient for making the most of the 1 night and 1 morning I was in town. Staff was EXTREMELY HELPFUL in suggesting how best to spend the few hours I had.


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Beijing Hostels

Please give us your feedback