X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kelly's Courtyard Reviews

No. 25, Xiaoyuan Hutong of Bingmasi Hutong, Xidan North Street, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
528 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 98%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The best hostel we've ever stayed in. This place was more of a boutique hotel. It was beautiful, within walking distance of the Forbidden City and surrounding parks, and 5 minutes walk from the subway station. The staff were really friendly and went out of their way to make our trip great. They have a great rooftop patio for any downtown you have, and a fridge stocked with beer, water and wine that you can buy for relaxing upstairs. We'll be staying here next time we're back in the city.


100%

Mark was extremely hospitable and I'm looing forward to my next stay...

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

A gem hidden away in old traditional Beijing alleys, 10min walk to subway or buzzing shopping streets, 20min to Forbidden city. The rooms are beautifully furnished with soft beds and modern bathrooms. The court yard is just sublime with designer decor and nice ambient music, not to mention the rooftop patio, and all this in an authentic traditional setting really makes this an oasis combining the best of two worlds. Thanks to 史丽峰 (Marc) who was so helpful and humble providing A-class service!


100%

Both my daughter (aged 8) had an enjoyable stay here. Mark is so nice, helpful and kind and took very good care of us. We felt at home. A gem in the hutong area!

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Quiet and good location. Mark is very helpful.

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Stayed for 4 nights after 16days in China at different hostels. It was very quiet, no street noise at all. It's a very relaxed place for grown ups and couples. The beds were soft, water was hot but a bit touchy at times, rooms a good size. The host is excellent. We planned our days and meals in consultation with him each day. He was able to help us with names of metro stops and good places to eat. The location is in a traditional area which was close to two metro stops.


94%

Kelly's was simply a lovely little gem, albeit somewhat difficult to find the first time and cold this time of the year. I will return!

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Excellent staff and loved staying in the old Huntung area. Nice room and brilliant value for money.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Lovely staff who are very friendly and helpful. Great location for shopping and sightseeing. Can be noisy as all rooms surround the indoor courtyard area. Breakfast is continental cold style but with toast. Would def consider staying again.


94%

This is a great place to stay in Beijing. The courtyard makes for a very nice atmosphere, and the private room was cozy and spacious compared to another hutong we stayed in nearby. The hosts were very helpful, and I wish we had been able to stay longer than a day!


100%

What a wonderful place, so friendly and clean. Mark, the manager, couldn't do enough to make our stay in Beijing one of the best experiences we had ever had. The hotel is so handy for everything, shopping, restaurants, transport, Forbidden City 20mins walk away The rooftop terrace is wonderful, sitting up there after the madness of Beijing was so fabulous. Thanks Mark, and your staff for your wonderful hospitality. We will be back next time we visit our daughter in China xxx

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

I was only in Beijing for 1 night on an 18-hour layover en route to the US, but my brief stay at Kelly's was excellent. Great facilities with particularly comfortable beds in the private room I stayed in. While the neighborhood isn't the most visually appealing or colorful, I was in a location very close to a subway station that was very convenient for making the most of the 1 night and 1 morning I was in town. Staff was EXTREMELY HELPFUL in suggesting how best to spend the few hours I had.


94%

This was an excellent choice for our family. The location is absolutely ideal, with convenient access to two subway stations and the busy Xisi St, while being tucked away in a friendly and authentic-feeling hutong. John was very helpful in directing us to attractions and making recommendations to get the most out of our limited time in Beijing.

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice breakfast. Room was small but with a nice ambiance.


89%

thanks to Mark, it was a wonderful period. Thanks for all your help. Hope see you again.


91%

Kelly's Courtyard was a fantastic surprise from what I expected. + The host was very welcoming, informative, and attentive to my needs. He made recommendations which saved me money and time. + The rooms are quite comfortable, spacious, and clean. + This is the most value for accommodation I've ever gotten from renting from HostelWorld. + I would stay here again and every time I return to Beijing. - Difficult to find, however a map and phone number are provided


100%

This is often said on Hostelworld but this is by far the best hostel I've stayed in. It's a quaint hostel only 5 minutes walk from two subway stations (best print directions otherwise you'll get lost). John and Mark were helpful from the very beginning. They greeted us when we arrived at the hostel at 2am and were always helpful in suggesting daily itineraries for us. John was very thorough in his directions to the Wall. I have never met staff like them. Highly recommended.


100%

My favourite hostel ever! Such a relaxing spot with the most helpful owner and manger - John and Mark. Loved it there! Great location, close to shopping street and beside subway station. The rooms were so cosy and homely! I will definitely return!

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Really pretty and clean. The staff is friendly and kind. Good location (but, it's a bit hard at the first time if u have a poor sense of direction like me)


94%

this place was small, very clean, staff was fabulous, regular hostel breakfast and very close to subway and short walk to a TON of shopping centers. love this place.


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Beijing Hostels

Please give us your feedback