Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kendal Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 163 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 163 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
Kendal Hostel Located at 118-120 Highgate, Kendal, Cumbria, Lake District.
Kendal Hostel
England
Lake District Lake District LA9 4HE 118-120 Highgate, Kendal, Cumbria
87% 163
54.3243327 -2.7512168
Kendal Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
10.0

Lovely comfortable stay. Late in arriving as stuck in traffic on the motorway there was someone to greet us and tell us where to park. Would stay there again as very central.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Jul 2016
9.4

good place and centrical, clean although a little old bulding, also pintoresque

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Jul 2016
9.4

Very good atmosphere! Very friendly staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jul 2016
9.1

Lovely staff and lots of character, the beds were a little uncomfortable though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jul 2016
8.3

Kendal is a quiet town and the hostel is also a quiet place. The facility is old, but not border to use. The staff is nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2016
4.9

Two big issues with this property. Number one being in the four days I stayed here not once was the room/toilet/shower cleaned! Waste basket was overflowing! The second big issue concerned the lack of security. I witnessed numerous instances of the door being opened for those who either couldn't remember or didn't know the door code! And on two separate instances strangers entered my room due to lack of secure locks! Property is old and in need of a facelift. Would not recommend staying here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • judychanyy
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
30th May 2016
6.9

The area and staff are lovely there. However, there is a distance to the hostel from train station. In conclusion, it was an unforgettable experience there

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
27th May 2016
7.7

Staff were friendly and helpful. It's quite an old hostel but mostly clean. Main negative was that it very noisy when I was there - a large group of guests downstairs getting drunk and shouting at each other til 11:30pm, plus I was in the room right next to the street and I could hear everything going on in the street too. The crowd is definitely an older one, I didn't meet many people my age there. There's not much to do in Kendal itself, but it can be a good base for exploring the lakes.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th May 2016
9.7

Amazingly helpful and kind staff, the rooms are really big and clean, and the kitchen is well equipped. The only downside is that there aren't any lockers in the rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
7.7

nice place, everything seemed well organised and people running were friendly. We were due to arrive late so they had arranged to keep our keys on the front desk and gave us the codes to get into the building. Very helpful, thanks!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.