Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kendal Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 172 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 172 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
Kendal Hostel Located at 118-120 Highgate, Kendal, Cumbria, Lake District.
Kendal Hostel
England
Lake District Lake District LA9 4HE 118-120 Highgate, Kendal, Cumbria
88% 172
54.3243327 -2.7512168
Kendal Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
10.0

Fabulous quirky and very welcoming place in a great location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Nov 2016
8.0

15 minute walk from the train station. Good base to get to Windermere. Cute hostel. Not many people. Had the whole dorm to myself

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
8.6

The staff are kind and helpful giving the place a great atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Oct 2016
10.0

Very helpful staff and accommodated our needs really well at last minute

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Oct 2016
9.7

This hostel feels like home Maisie and George the dog and the cat are amazing. Everyone who works here is lovely and the building may be old but it has character and warmth. I have slept in three beds here and can tell you they were all adequately comfortable. There was also quite a few young travellers and a few not that were just as down to party. If you are after an electronic connection rather than the natural one the WiFi works great too. Easy walk from the train station and bus station. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • pat2africa3425
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Sep 2016
10.0

In six months of travel this was one of my favourite hostels. It is very welcoming, dorms are spacious and communal rooms are well equipped and comfortable. And the logburner in the lounge was delightful. Staff and guests were friendly and it's very central into kendal. What a place! ☺

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Sep 2016
8.6

Pretty average as hostels go, staff were very nice, friendly and welcoming ( as was the pet cat and dog!). Room and facilities were quite clean. Though I do feel the hostel is due a renovation to spruce the whole place up a bit. Next time I would skip the breakfast as I noticed better value elsewhere. But over and above , yes I would recommend this place for your visit to Kendal.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
10.0

Lovely comfortable stay. Late in arriving as stuck in traffic on the motorway there was someone to greet us and tell us where to park. Would stay there again as very central.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st Jul 2016
9.4

good place and centrical, clean although a little old bulding, also pintoresque

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Jul 2016
9.4

Very good atmosphere! Very friendly staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.