Hostelworld.com

Kendal Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 176 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 176 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • deavesy246369
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Feb 2017
10.0

Hostel is very welcoming and central to all amenities in Kendal. There is a car park at the back (part of the Arts centre I think) which is quite cheap - £7 for the night. Hostel itself is on the main high street and is quite a quirky place, probably due to being where is it gives it a lopsided feel when you are walking around which adds to its fun house appeal. We were greeted by resident dog and Cat George and showed to our room. We faced onto a busy main road it was quiet and slept well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
10.0

It was one of the most welcoming places I have ever stayed in - lovely big roaring fire, friendly reception, offered to make a free cup of tea to help us settle in. Even my sister was welcomed in and sat down with a cup of tea when we were out Very highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
10.0

Nice friendly staff, good facilities and central location is great for exploring Kendal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
9.1

Nice place to base out of for some small hikes around Kendal; very kind and welcoming staff :) Kitchen facilities were fantastic.. the bedroom was a bit cold (thankfully extra blankets were available) We would recommend the Kendal castle for sure, and we greatly enjoyed a cream tea at the Two Sister cafe in town :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
10.0

Fabulous quirky and very welcoming place in a great location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Nov 2016
8.0

15 minute walk from the train station. Good base to get to Windermere. Cute hostel. Not many people. Had the whole dorm to myself

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
8.6

The staff are kind and helpful giving the place a great atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Oct 2016
10.0

Very helpful staff and accommodated our needs really well at last minute

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Oct 2016
9.7

This hostel feels like home Maisie and George the dog and the cat are amazing. Everyone who works here is lovely and the building may be old but it has character and warmth. I have slept in three beds here and can tell you they were all adequately comfortable. There was also quite a few young travellers and a few not that were just as down to party. If you are after an electronic connection rather than the natural one the WiFi works great too. Easy walk from the train station and bus station. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • pat2africa3425
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Sep 2016
10.0

In six months of travel this was one of my favourite hostels. It is very welcoming, dorms are spacious and communal rooms are well equipped and comfortable. And the logburner in the lounge was delightful. Staff and guests were friendly and it's very central into kendal. What a place! ☺

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.