Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kendal Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 181 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 181 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
9.7

I loved it. First time I've stayed in a hostel it's was fantastic. The facilities was decent & the bed was cosy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • deavesy246369
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Feb 2017
10.0

Hostel is very welcoming and central to all amenities in Kendal. There is a car park at the back (part of the Arts centre I think) which is quite cheap - £7 for the night. Hostel itself is on the main high street and is quite a quirky place, probably due to being where is it gives it a lopsided feel when you are walking around which adds to its fun house appeal. We were greeted by resident dog and Cat George and showed to our room. We faced onto a busy main road it was quiet and slept well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Feb 2017
10.0

I had a lovely stay at Kendal hostel. A very welcoming, relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Jan was very kind and helpful and everyone was very friendly. I enjoyed the company of the cat and Masie the black lab! Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
10.0

It was one of the most welcoming places I have ever stayed in - lovely big roaring fire, friendly reception, offered to make a free cup of tea to help us settle in. Even my sister was welcomed in and sat down with a cup of tea when we were out Very highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jan 2017
8.9

Wonderful stay! Staff was very helpful and helped us vastly in working out what places to visit. Room was very comfortable and spacious. The atmosphere and overall decor is quite good. There is even a fireplace and pool table in the common room. Good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
10.0

Nice friendly staff, good facilities and central location is great for exploring Kendal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
9.1

Nice place to base out of for some small hikes around Kendal; very kind and welcoming staff :) Kitchen facilities were fantastic.. the bedroom was a bit cold (thankfully extra blankets were available) We would recommend the Kendal castle for sure, and we greatly enjoyed a cream tea at the Two Sister cafe in town :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
10.0

Fabulous quirky and very welcoming place in a great location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Nov 2016
8.0

15 minute walk from the train station. Good base to get to Windermere. Cute hostel. Not many people. Had the whole dorm to myself

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
8.6

The staff are kind and helpful giving the place a great atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.