X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kenmare Failte Hostel Reviews

Shelbourne Street, Kenmare, Co. Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
266 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

This is a great house, kept in fantastic condition and is really homely. There is a big kitchen well equipped with a range/oven and gas hobs and kept spotlessly clean. Maureen is friendly and helpful and offers good advice on what to do and see in the area. She bakes great scones too! Will definitely be coming back.


94%

Fantastic, homely hostel. Welcoming host, freshly baked scones and free hot drinks on arrival

Owner Comment (Hide)
Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Warm Regards, Aoife & Maureen.

97%

A hostel full of character. Lovely old house with great kitchen and common room in particular. Very comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Kindest Regards, Aoife & Maureen.

89%

Propably the best Hostel I`ve been in Ireland. Very helpfull and welcoming Staff. Thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will visit us again. Kindest Regards, Aoife & Maureen.

80%

Lovely hostel! One of the best I've ever been to! The Ladies who run it were always very helpful and friendly. The 8 bed room I stayed in was quite spacious and very clean. Beds were very comfortable! Great atmosphere! Excellent for meeting people from all around the world! There were free freshly baked scones and soda bread for the guests to eat, as well as tea and coffee! The large kitchen is very well equipped. I can't think of anything negative. I'll definitely go back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely comments and we hope you visit us again! Aoife & Maureen.

91%

Clean and comfortable. Spacious room. Plenty of common areas.


94%

Great location and rooms were so clean. A nice friendly welcome was a bit ruined on departure with knocking on the room door at 10am asking had we left yet. Again another knock at 10.10am just left us irritated as we departed and its a real shame as we had a lovely stay up until that.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. Our check-out time is 10.15am. We will speak with our staff about knocking on your door at 10am and 10.10am. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused and hope you will return again some day. Kindest Regards, Aoife & Maureen.

91%

Perhaps a second fridge in peak season.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hostel. We do have a second fridge! We have one in the main kitchen and one in the dining room. Kindest Regards, Aoife.

100%

Super! Everything was perfect !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much. We are glad you found your stay super. Kindest Regards, Aoife & Maureen.

94%

We had a very pleasant stay in a spacious double room! Appreciated padlocked cycle shed and common-rooms with athmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We are delighted you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our common rooms and bike shed. Kindest Regards, Aoife & Maureen.

83%

Well situated hostel with good cooking facilities and with plenty of restaurants and groceries within easy walking distance. Overall a very enjoyable stay. Thank you.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us. Kindest Regards, Aoife & Maureen.

94%

We really enjoyed the stay, my only slightly negative comments would be that the room was extremely warm for the 2 nights we were there and being at the top of the stairs near the kitchen we were kept awake during the night by people in the kitchen who were quite boisterous & someone sitting on the stairs having a very long loud phone conversation! Other than than can't fault location, facilities and value, would definitely recommend both the hostel and Kenmare.

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent all round. Great place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon we hope! Kindest Regards, Aoife & Maureen.

100%

The best Hostel we stayed in during our two week travels through Ireland, clean, comfortable and cozy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thank you very much. It's great to hear we are the best Hostel you have stayed in. Delighted you had a lovely stay and thank you for your lovely comments. We hope you will return to visit us some day. Kindest Regards, Aoife & Maureen.

91%

great hostel


83%

We had a pleasant stay in Kenmare and the hostel was good value for the money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comments and we are glad you had a pleasant stay. Kindest Regards, Aoife & Maureen.

91%

Pretty good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your high scores and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest Regards, Aoife & Maureen.

80%

We were unaware towels were not provided, and with no staff available to ask for towels, alternative arrangements had to be made. This made our stay not as memorable as we hoped.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and taking the time to review our Hostel. We do say that towels are available for rent - both on the website and at Reception. We are always available. If we are not at Reception - we are at the end of the phone line. If you had rang us or sent a quick text - we would have rented you towels no problem. Kindest Regards, Aoife & Maureen.

86%

The staff could have been more friendly. We were disappointed that there were no outlets in our room. We had one outlet in the hallway that we both had to share to charge phones & cameras.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. I'm not sure what you mean by 'more friendly'. There are outlets in your room because I checked the room you were staying in. If you had asked a member of staff - we could have shown them to you. Next time you visit perhaps. Kindest Regards, Aoife & Maureen.

91%

Very backpacker!

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Not sure what this means but you scored us high so you must have enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks. Kindest Regards, Aoife.



View all Kenmare Hostels

Please give us your feedback