Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kenmare Failte Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 322 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 322 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.1
Kenmare Failte Hostel Located at Shelbourne Street, Kenmare, Co. Kerry, , Kenmare.
Kenmare Failte Hostel
Ireland
Kenmare Shelbourne Street, Kenmare, Co. Kerry
91% 322
51.8779348 -9.5835274
Kenmare Failte Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Sep 2016
9.7

Wonderful stay here! Felt very welcoming, with clean and open facilities. The owners are very knowledgeable and extremely kind, which added to my delightful stay. The back door of the hostel stays unlocked, but I was never worried about security, as they created a wonderful atmosphere. I would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
10.0

What a fabulous friendly and homely place! Warm clean and nothing was any bother to the staff here. My Hubbie and are are retired and in late 60s and felt quite at home with all the energetic young hikers etc. lovely place and will stay again. Kenmare was a vibrant town full of music great food and a fabulous buzz! Also a great leaping off point for the ring of Kerry. We extended our stay by two more days. Had a private room and bathroom. Great experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Sep 2016
9.7

We stayed for 1 night as we passed through on a bicycle tour of Ireland. We arrived and were immediately met by the fantastic and caring owner of the hostel who sorted out our bikes and wet clothes from the rainy cycles and made us feel right at home. It was a lovely hostel, with a homely feel and excellent attention to detail. Would thoroughly recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Aug 2016
7.4

No outlets to charge your phone. The kitchen was really great, old stove farm style kitchen. Public Parking was 3 doors down The bed was fine. The house was old but well cared for. Location is the best. You can have your laundry done down the street, the cost was the same to do 2 loads or have them do it for you $E15

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments. Of course we have outlets to charge your phone. We have 4 outlets in the dorm room you stayed in as well as in the hallways, sitting room, kitchen, dining room and reception! You should have asked our Receptionist who is on duty from 9am until 8pm each day if you could not find them. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Warm Regards, Aoife.

  • lindakelly19839139
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Aug 2016
9.7

Very nice place to stay which is central to all the pins and restaurants and just a short walk to the pier. Hostal was very clean and had free tea and coffee and a welcoming atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Warm Regards, Aoife.

8th Aug 2016
10.0

Kinda noisey building, creaky, but what are earplugs for? Nice place, would stay again if I were ever in Kenmare

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back. Warm Regards, Aoife.

  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Jul 2016
10.0

A very lovely place with such a nice staff, we spend just one night but we felt like being at home. Thanks a million!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are glad we made your stay with us an enjoyable one. Warm Regards, Aoife.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
10.0

I loved my stay in the hostel. We had a beautiful double room. I think the staff were excellent, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. there is a curfew of 1.30 pm which is good as people are not coming in at all times. My husband has stayed there a few times and we will definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Warm Regards, Aoife & Maureen.

7th Jun 2016
9.1

There was a sink and mirror in the dorm which was really nice. It's a classy place to stay and feels cozy, just a tad strong on the incense in the hallway. I woke up around 2am and the street view from my room was enchanting with the lamp-post lighting. We didn't get to use the kitchen but it looked well equipped. I'd enjoy staying here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Warm Regards, Aoife & Maureen.

2nd Jun 2016
9.4

When they say that reception closes at seven, they really mean reception closes at seven. Got in a little late because of our hike and had to wait an hour and a half to get checked in. Also, there is a curfew at 1:30am. Just be aware.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments. Everything you have said is correct and explained on this website so guests are and should be aware of these points. The curfew is in place so everyone has a good night's sleep. Warm Regards, Aoife

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.