X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kenmare Failte Hostel Reviews

Shelbourne Street, Kenmare, Co. Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
285 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Really great hostel and had a nice homely feel. It was exactly what we needed for a place to stay as we passed through overnight. Just a couple of little things though...a lot of the power sockets throughout the house didn't seem to work and there was only one power socket (this one worked!) in our room to share between three people. Also, tea and coffee making things were provided, but it would be nice to have a bit of milk or in the fridge to use for hot drinks. Otherwise no complaints!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely comments. We have checked the power sockets and they are working so I am not sure why you could not use them. We do provide milk as well as tea, salt & pepper, cooking oil, biscuits, and home-made brown bread! It's a pity you didn't ask us and we would have shown you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon hopefully. Warm Regards, Aoife & Maureen.

97%

Clean, comfortable and welcoming hostel in authentic, traditional setting. Very, very nice place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we're delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us. Kindest Regards, Maureen & Aoife.

74%

The rooms were lovely and it was in a great location right by the main street. We enjoyed our stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us. Warm Regards, Aoife & Maureen.

91%

Location is great, a nice little place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much...glad you had a lovely stay. Kindest Regards, Aoife & Maurren.

71%

Nice hostel in the centre of town.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted you had a lovely stay with us. Warm Regards, Aoife & Maureen.

91%

no in-room lockers. and i can't say for certain whether sheets are changed for each new guest. there was one bed in the room that had a different duvet comforter, and even though the guest checked out, the next night, it was still the only bed with that same different cover. none of the other covers changed either. that seems suspicious!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your high marks and we hope to welcome you back soon. We have taken your comments on board about the lockers in the room you stayed in. We find they take up quite a lot of space-therefore it would be best not to have them in the rooms, however we do offer a facility to lock away any items our guests wish to put away. We change the bed linen daily, so no need to be suspicious! :-) We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday. Kindest Regards, Aoife & Maureen.

86%

This is a great house, kept in fantastic condition and is really homely. There is a big kitchen well equipped with a range/oven and gas hobs and kept spotlessly clean. Maureen is friendly and helpful and offers good advice on what to do and see in the area. She bakes great scones too! Will definitely be coming back.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you will return! Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kindest Regards, Maureen & Aoife.

94%

Fantastic, homely hostel. Welcoming host, freshly baked scones and free hot drinks on arrival

Owner Comment (Hide)
Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Warm Regards, Aoife & Maureen.

97%

A hostel full of character. Lovely old house with great kitchen and common room in particular. Very comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Kindest Regards, Aoife & Maureen.



View all Kenmare Hostels

Please give us your feedback