X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Kenmare Failte Hostel Reviews

Shelbourne Street, Kenmare, Co. Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
171 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

It Would be great including a breakfast!!! But it was a fantastic weekend there! Highly recommended!

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

If traffic noise bothers you, be sure to ask for a room on the quiet side. The hostel is located on the corner of a busy intersection!

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes...we are located in the centre of town

97%

Everything in this hostel is tidy and well organized. The lady in charge is nice and it looks like she knows how to run a place like this. There's always peace and order in the house. It's the perfect place for a family or for people looking for a good rest.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely comments

100%

Lovely clean hostel,gd location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely comments

94%

Very welcoming and facilitating the type of holiday I was having, e.g. bike storage, etc. well done Failte Kenmare. A lovely corner house also, Mike

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely comments

77%

Good place to stay, close to pubs, restaurants (its a small town anyways). Good kitchen and signs for all you need to know are provided. Clean and organised. Nice bathrooms to share, rooms are OK enough for a short stay, they could use some extra plugs for phone/camera chargingetc. Reply of confirmation email was very informal, no hello or thank you, really nothing special. Check in has to be before 19:00hrs and because we had a car accident the lady in charge was kind and waited for us THANK U!


86%

Nice hostel, very well equipped kitchen. They don't do breakfast though...Our room was very spacious and clean. I would recommend them to change the mattresses as you can feel all the strings and is not really ideal for a good night sleep. Staff was correct but nothing special. Atmosphere was quiet which was good. I would come back to this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We don't advertise as providing breakfast but do provide FREE tea/coffee/sugar/milk etc.

71%

NOT INFORMED THAT THERE WAS NO PARKING ON SITE OR VERY DIFFICULT TO PARK NEAR BY

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice place.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice place, old charming house, very very clean and quiet, in the center of the lovely city of Kenmare.I recommand

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much...we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

89%

Beautiful hostel, very clean and well keep. The Wi-Fi only worked in one of the kitchen rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay...yes, the wifi works in the communal areas very well.

97%

Among the hostels that my husband and I have stayed in this was our favorite. It was clean, comfortable, had EXCELLENT spacious kitchen with very nice cookwear, and the owner was very helpful, devoting hours of her time to help each of the guests with their travel questions. The other guests were friends and respectful, it seems that many cyclists and walkers use this hostel, so you will be staying in a quieter atmosphere. There are great pubs with live music nearby for those who like nightlif

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Wifi is there but can't seem to get online.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wifi is working-the best signal/coverage is at Reception area. Thanks

86%

Very nice hostel. Clean and quiet. More along the lines of a B&B.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow...thank you...delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest Regards,

89%

A very lovely, comfortable and clean hostel! Really liked my stay here in a two-bed-room and would definitely like to come back! Absolutely recommendable! Thank you! :)

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we are delighted you liked your stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kindest Regards,

94%

Great location, clean and comfortable. Overall a good choice for our needs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.



View all Kenmare Hostels

Please give us your feedback