X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4331 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Me & my g/friend slept for one night at this hostel; we needed accomodation which was close to St Pancras station. So! staff - very helpful and eager to help, even tho we were very tired and confused-i couldnt find the room from the beginning, so Nadine(many thanks to her) came w/ me and showed me the room. Linen was clean & tidy, clean kitchen aswell, very smart system-labeling yr own food, so they know who belongs to. All in all good value for money, as the staff, security, were spot on

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • CharlesFlemming
  • Romania
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Location was great and the ensuite twin room was clean and big enough. We didn't have windows or underground noises so it was good. The annoying thing though was that when someone walked in the corridor it felt like the whole room was shaking, especially in the morning when you tried to sleep but the bed was shaking. It's not something you can prevent with earplugs. Advicing people to walk quietly might help... Overall I could visit this hostel again!


94%

The room was very small. If you've got a massive backpack or luggage it might be a bit small. But for some nights it is absolutely sufficient.

  • 25th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The staff was cool but not very helpful. I mean, they were maybe just a bit tired but they just have to remember we don't necessarily remember how the hostel works and they should advise/tell a bit more during the check-in and check-out: wifi, if we can leave the luggage , when is the check-out time, if everything was fine at the end etc. It's not a big deal but it just feels a bit weird when she only asks for the key at the check-out and says nothing else, for example. But i'm not angry! ^^


51%

Our twin room was dank, dingy and it smelled of mould or something. Airless and humid. The showers were tiny and for the first 2 nights, didn't even have hooks to hang your towel. You have to use your key fob to unlock just about every single interior door, which becomes really annoying. I've stayed in heaps of hostels around Europe, and this was definitely the worst.


91%

The location is good, you can easily connect with key points of London, even at night still buses if you want to party. The wi-fi is not the best. The shower and toilet are close sometimes is wet if you want to use just the toilet. They charge for keep the luggage some hours even I stayed couple of nights, minor detail. The space in the lockers is good and rooms are clean. The best is the location near King's Cross


71%

The guy on the night shift on 9th-10th August was friendly and welcoming, but the man who checked us in at around 7pm was downright rude. I'd stay again as the location was excellent for the Eurostar terminal but this bloke is letting the side down IMO


71%

The hostel itself is old but ok. The room was adequate but basic. The bed had grit and dirt on the sheets and the steps up to the top bunk were also covered in dust and dirt. The doors to all the rooms are also all heavy which unfortunately results in a lot of banging and slamming noises late into the night. As a lot of people obviously aren't considerate of others and allow these doors to bang rather than ensuring they close them gently. Overall, an average stay.

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks a lot for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are very sorry you were uncomfortable here. We are 24 hours available to help people out and our aim is to guarantee a nice place to stay in where people can feel relaxed and if they need something we will provide them. If you had any concerns or problems, always know you can come to reception at any time. Cheers, Keystone Team

86%

Kalidou and Nadine are excellent


97%

First experience staying at a hostel and I was very happy with facilities and the help I got from staff.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such an awesome review. We appreciate the kind words and are thrilled you had a great stay here with us. We always try to make sure everyone has the best time when visiting. We hope to see you again in the future! Lots of love, Keystone Team.

74%

The hotel staff was very nice during our stay. The Bathroom facilities were sufficient but even if you have shared bathrooms a little more privacy would be nice. Also we stayed in the LU (London Underground) rooms. Which are fine for a night but I do not recommend staying in them longer because of the lack of a window and fresh air. there is some kind of ventilation but it feels insufficient. The accommodation was clean throughout.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with the staff. We are thrilled to receive such a good compliment! Hope to see you back soon. Safe travels, Keystone Team

80%

I stayed on one of the upper floors which was pretty good - the beds were clean and the staff were polite (maybe not so engaging though). Security system was reassuring. My only slight complaint is that the toilets suffered from low water pressure meaning it took a few attempts to find a shower/toilet cubicle that wasn't "already used". I'd stay here again, and quietly hope they've sorted that issue out! :)

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you very much for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so happy you've enjoyed your room and staff, on the other hand we're not so happy if you're stay did not match your expectations. We check and clean toilets and showers 2 times per day, sometimes it's up to the guest to leave them as they would like to find! Safe travels. Keystone Team x

54%

Lu room is cozy for 3 people. However, facilities like showers and toilets are too few for residents of the whole basement. The staff are rude and very impolite.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The staff was not kind and friendly. The rooms are underground. I felt like being in a jail. The room was damp because water was leaking from the air conditioner. The door and a shower head are broken in the shower rooms. the corridor smells urine near the kitchen room. good thing is a location near the station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you very much for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so happy you've enjoyed the location, on the other hand we're not so happy if your stay did not match your expectations. We're 24hrs available and happy to help people out, so it seems quite strange to hear that the receptionist was very unhelpful. We check and clean the building 2 times per day. Best wishes

86%

Staff was very helpful. I could use the luggage room before and after my stay. I had a private room. The bathroom smelled a bit strange. I would come again in a dorm, but probably not in a private. Location is excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so glad you have had such a memorable stay with us. Our aim is to guarantee a nice night sleep in a pleasant environment. Hope to see you again in the lovely London. Lots of Love, Keystone Team x

83%

The only thing I didn't care for were the shower stalls. They're connected to the toilet and sink room, and the water from the shower floods the floor making it hard to get dressed or use the bathroom afterwards. Other than that, the hostel is located close to the newly renovated St. Pancras train station making travel around London very simple (but still costly.) Grocery stores and restaurants nearby as well.


71%

This hostel is in a great location, near two train and tube stations and with a nice bar across the road. However, the underground rooms are not only underground (I knew that when I booked) but also really airless and musty. There is very little ventilation and the whole basement floor smells a bit like a gym changing room. If you need a cheap-ish place to stay for one night, this place will do, but it's not particularly comfortable or atmospheric.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks a lot for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are happy you have enjoyed the location. We are 24 hours available to help people out and our aim is to guarantee a nice place to stay in where people can feel relaxed and if they need something we will provide them. If you had any concerns or problems, always know you can come to reception at any time. Cheers, Keystone Team

69%

Room and bathroom were very clean and well maintained which is always my main concern. Staff were my biggest issue. Mostly nonchonlant, often rude, dismissive. My biggest concern was after paying £2 to store my luggage after check out, upon returning, the staff member who had never seen us before, told us "the room was open and to help ourselves" well yes, a potential thief certainly could indeed help themselves! so my belongings were not safe. This is NOT cool.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for the review. We are sorry that you thought our staff wasn’t welcoming. Our staff is constantly trying to work hard to ensure everyone is having the best time possible at the hostel. Please never hesitate to come to reception if you have any problems or concerns we are open 24/7. We label the bags so there is no potential danger of thief. Best Wishes

89%

It was quite noisy at night because my bed is beside the window and the road . otherwise , the facilities are good

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We understand how noisy it can be in the rooms next to the street, but we are in the process of installing double glazing. Always feel free to come to reception and we are happy to help you with any problems! We hope you enjoyed your stay in the magical city of London. Lots of love, Keystone Team x

80%

The hostel was clean and basic, it's quiet which is what we were looking for. It is a really good location, 2 seconds from Kings Cross Station and a 10 min walk from Euston. The only letdowns were they do not provide towels or breakfast and I have stayed in cheaper hostels where these have been provided. But apart from that it was good :)

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are so happy you have enjoyed our location! You can have a Full English Breakfast just next door for £3.50. We also sell towels for £5. Please come to reception next time. Hope to see you again in the lovely London. Safe travels, Keystone Team x

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(244 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback