X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4321 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The room was very small. If you've got a massive backpack or luggage it might be a bit small. But for some nights it is absolutely sufficient.

  • 25th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Our twin room was dank, dingy and it smelled of mould or something. Airless and humid. The showers were tiny and for the first 2 nights, didn't even have hooks to hang your towel. You have to use your key fob to unlock just about every single interior door, which becomes really annoying. I've stayed in heaps of hostels around Europe, and this was definitely the worst.


91%

The location is good, you can easily connect with key points of London, even at night still buses if you want to party. The wi-fi is not the best. The shower and toilet are close sometimes is wet if you want to use just the toilet. They charge for keep the luggage some hours even I stayed couple of nights, minor detail. The space in the lockers is good and rooms are clean. The best is the location near King's Cross


71%

The hostel itself is old but ok. The room was adequate but basic. The bed had grit and dirt on the sheets and the steps up to the top bunk were also covered in dust and dirt. The doors to all the rooms are also all heavy which unfortunately results in a lot of banging and slamming noises late into the night. As a lot of people obviously aren't considerate of others and allow these doors to bang rather than ensuring they close them gently. Overall, an average stay.

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks a lot for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are very sorry you were uncomfortable here. We are 24 hours available to help people out and our aim is to guarantee a nice place to stay in where people can feel relaxed and if they need something we will provide them. If you had any concerns or problems, always know you can come to reception at any time. Cheers, Keystone Team

97%

First experience staying at a hostel and I was very happy with facilities and the help I got from staff.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such an awesome review. We appreciate the kind words and are thrilled you had a great stay here with us. We always try to make sure everyone has the best time when visiting. We hope to see you again in the future! Lots of love, Keystone Team.

74%

The hotel staff was very nice during our stay. The Bathroom facilities were sufficient but even if you have shared bathrooms a little more privacy would be nice. Also we stayed in the LU (London Underground) rooms. Which are fine for a night but I do not recommend staying in them longer because of the lack of a window and fresh air. there is some kind of ventilation but it feels insufficient. The accommodation was clean throughout.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with the staff. We are thrilled to receive such a good compliment! Hope to see you back soon. Safe travels, Keystone Team

80%

I stayed on one of the upper floors which was pretty good - the beds were clean and the staff were polite (maybe not so engaging though). Security system was reassuring. My only slight complaint is that the toilets suffered from low water pressure meaning it took a few attempts to find a shower/toilet cubicle that wasn't "already used". I'd stay here again, and quietly hope they've sorted that issue out! :)

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you very much for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so happy you've enjoyed your room and staff, on the other hand we're not so happy if you're stay did not match your expectations. We check and clean toilets and showers 2 times per day, sometimes it's up to the guest to leave them as they would like to find! Safe travels. Keystone Team x

54%

Lu room is cozy for 3 people. However, facilities like showers and toilets are too few for residents of the whole basement. The staff are rude and very impolite.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The staff was not kind and friendly. The rooms are underground. I felt like being in a jail. The room was damp because water was leaking from the air conditioner. The door and a shower head are broken in the shower rooms. the corridor smells urine near the kitchen room. good thing is a location near the station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you very much for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so happy you've enjoyed the location, on the other hand we're not so happy if your stay did not match your expectations. We're 24hrs available and happy to help people out, so it seems quite strange to hear that the receptionist was very unhelpful. We check and clean the building 2 times per day. Best wishes

86%

Staff was very helpful. I could use the luggage room before and after my stay. I had a private room. The bathroom smelled a bit strange. I would come again in a dorm, but probably not in a private. Location is excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so glad you have had such a memorable stay with us. Our aim is to guarantee a nice night sleep in a pleasant environment. Hope to see you again in the lovely London. Lots of Love, Keystone Team x

83%

The only thing I didn't care for were the shower stalls. They're connected to the toilet and sink room, and the water from the shower floods the floor making it hard to get dressed or use the bathroom afterwards. Other than that, the hostel is located close to the newly renovated St. Pancras train station making travel around London very simple (but still costly.) Grocery stores and restaurants nearby as well.


71%

This hostel is in a great location, near two train and tube stations and with a nice bar across the road. However, the underground rooms are not only underground (I knew that when I booked) but also really airless and musty. There is very little ventilation and the whole basement floor smells a bit like a gym changing room. If you need a cheap-ish place to stay for one night, this place will do, but it's not particularly comfortable or atmospheric.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks a lot for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are happy you have enjoyed the location. We are 24 hours available to help people out and our aim is to guarantee a nice place to stay in where people can feel relaxed and if they need something we will provide them. If you had any concerns or problems, always know you can come to reception at any time. Cheers, Keystone Team

69%

Room and bathroom were very clean and well maintained which is always my main concern. Staff were my biggest issue. Mostly nonchonlant, often rude, dismissive. My biggest concern was after paying £2 to store my luggage after check out, upon returning, the staff member who had never seen us before, told us "the room was open and to help ourselves" well yes, a potential thief certainly could indeed help themselves! so my belongings were not safe. This is NOT cool.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for the review. We are sorry that you thought our staff wasn’t welcoming. Our staff is constantly trying to work hard to ensure everyone is having the best time possible at the hostel. Please never hesitate to come to reception if you have any problems or concerns we are open 24/7. We label the bags so there is no potential danger of thief. Best Wishes

89%

It was quite noisy at night because my bed is beside the window and the road . otherwise , the facilities are good

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We understand how noisy it can be in the rooms next to the street, but we are in the process of installing double glazing. Always feel free to come to reception and we are happy to help you with any problems! We hope you enjoyed your stay in the magical city of London. Lots of love, Keystone Team x

80%

The hostel was clean and basic, it's quiet which is what we were looking for. It is a really good location, 2 seconds from Kings Cross Station and a 10 min walk from Euston. The only letdowns were they do not provide towels or breakfast and I have stayed in cheaper hostels where these have been provided. But apart from that it was good :)

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are so happy you have enjoyed our location! You can have a Full English Breakfast just next door for £3.50. We also sell towels for £5. Please come to reception next time. Hope to see you again in the lovely London. Safe travels, Keystone Team x

46%

Room smelled terrible, and was very poorly ventilated. They lock the front door, and it is impossible to get OUT without a key card. That's just weird.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. We are 24 hours available and happy to help people out. We provide a fob key to each guest for their own security, in that way we protect ourselves from strangers trying to get into the hostel. It's weird that you find a good security system weird. Cheers, Keystone Team

100%

MR. Hugo good service for customer and he is good PR for Hostel and He help everything" Thank you Gimmy.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your positive review. We are really delighted and proud that your stay here was comfortable. We'll see you again in the magical London at any time, always at Keystone House. Safe travels. Keystone Team!

74%

Great location. Beds were fine. Clean sheets, clean showers, clean toilets, really all you need. You could hear the underground, but I slept right through it. No problems. I do hope your neighbours will be quiet because the walls of the LU rooms are pretty thin.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so delighted you have had such a positive experience with us. Our aim is always to guarantee a good night sleep and an enjoyable stay inside out the hostel. We also think that is a good value for your money, that's why a stay with us is safe and well worth! Can't wait to see you again in the magic London. Cheers, Keystone Team x

49%

Bathroom was mouldy and dirty, windows did not block out noise of Kings Cross.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you very much for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are happy you have enjoyed the location, on the other hand we are not so happy if your stay did not match your expectations. We're 24 hours available and happy to help people out. We check and clean toilets and showers 2 times per day, sometimes it's up to the guest to leave them as they would like to find! Cheers, Keystone Team

80%

Was more expensive than expected on arrival. Location is fantastic, less than 5 minutes to Kings Cross Station and right next to a small supermarket. Dorm rooms were clean and well organised so no complaints there. Kitchen area was nice but there is no stove, only a microwave to cook stuff in. Not a great hostel for socialising; it's all quite disjointed. Thought it was a wee bit pricey for such a basic set-up but you can't beat the location and it's a good clean place to stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so happy you have had a positive feeling about our neighbourhood. Inside Kings Cross council we know we have the unbeatable location. Our aim is to create the best atmosphere with our daily event inside out the hostel and the city of London. Next time please come to reception for more informations. Hope to see you back soon. Lots of Love, Keystone Team x

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(239 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback