X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
3777 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Exactly what I needed. Cheap, clean bed in a central location.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

we stayed in room 1E. It was a pitty that we heard so much noise, somewhere inside the building was very loud music. The bed was good.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Frans Thank you for taking the time to write a review, because of the location of the hostel I am afraid it is very hard to avoid the noise but on the plus side it is so close to Kings cross tube station and St Pancras International. Always ask at reception if there is a quieter room vacant as we would be very happy to move you. We do hope you will come and stay with us in the future. All the best Orla

74%

Pros to this location are the value and the location. You have to explore all your options to get great prices. Located near kings cross you can catch any train to any part of London. Cons the hall ways and the rooms are smelly. But it's a hostel! Overall great FIRST time hostel experience.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

I guess thats just London. For the price that buys you small palace elsewhere else you will get tiny room with no wifi inside, window that cannot be opened, where private twin room will get you bunk bed (which is not comfortable at all and squeak a lot) and you don't even get that basic toast and jam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi David Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I do apologise if you were unhappy with your room and did not realize there were bunk beds in the room, always go to reception and if they have another room vacant they will gladly allow you to change rooms. We have WiFi in the common area and reception and we will have it in the rooms in the very near future. There are Tea/Coffee making facilities in the kitchen and you are very welcome to prepare your own food. Best wishes Orla

100%

I had a great stay in a place with a super smooth vibe and totally cool staff.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Matthew Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

63%

I could not sleep as people in the room next to mine were talking until 4 in the morning!!!!!

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Claude Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our hostel. Always go to reception if you are unhappy with any aspect of your stay. With regards to this incident our staff would be happy to ask the guests in the room next to yours to keep the noise down or go to our common area if they wanted to continue to talk. I do hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. Best wishes Orla

77%

It was a pity, that there was no continental breakfast, how it is announced on the website. Furthermore, there is no real kitchen to cook and prepare some meal.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Nico Thank you for taking the time to write a review. . As the hostel is relatively new we are always trying to improve our facilities so that our guests have a very enjoyable stay. That why we appreciate feedback so that we know the exact areas that need to be improved and hopefully in the future we can provide our guests with an excellent service. Thanks again for all your suggestions, I will gladly discuss them with the management. Best wishes Orla

86%

The location of the hostel was brilliant, not even 5 minutes away from King's Cross and Saint Pancras, directly beside a small supermarket and with some nice pubs in the neighborhood. The staff was really sweet, friendly and a great help. Unfortunately one room we stayed in had a really strange smell, there was neither a hotplate nor a stove in the kitchen and the Wifi didn't work for the first two days of our stay.

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

We stayed there just one night before leaving London after a road trip in south England, the place was easy to find, the staff was nice too, and very helpful. But I would just say that the room was too pricy for it has no windows ... Appart from that everything was clean and confortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Laura Thank you for taking the time to write a review. On Hostel world, it does mention that this room is a basic room and is located below ground level with no windows, all these rooms do, however contain A.C. As your arrival date was on a Saturday our rooms are little more expensive but compared to other hostels in the area I believe our prices are quite reasonable. I do hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. Best wishes Orla

89%

A decent hostel, value for money, helpful staff, good location, comfy beds! Would ask for a ticket system for luggage being left in the hold, such a helpful facility for tourists, but it felt like anyone could walk in and take whatever they fancied! Other than that, would definitely return!

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Nathan Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! Regarding your luggage security, the receptionist should of labelled your bags so that when you return for your luggage we check the name on the bags. The luggage room is locked at all times and only the receptionist has a key but thank you for your observation. We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. Best wishes Orla

54%

The staff in the hostel were REALLY unfriendly. Almost unpolite. The attitude was 'we are too cool for the school' And sorry but... no way! The Aircon was broken, WiFi was broken, no hot water. Too cool to say sorry when we asked, like 'don´t give me that ...'

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Blanca Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry if you found our staff unfriendly as there is no excuse for this. Regarding the water when there alot of guests using the water it just needs alittle time to reheat. The A.C should of been working as we just had them serviced but again I will investigate this. The WiFi was also down in the businesses beside us as there was an outside fault in the area. Thanks again for bringing all these matters to my attention. Orla

66%

The smell entering the room totally killed me. No hot water, no internet, no washing machines... seems that lots of things aren't properly working. The staff was really nice, they tried to help as much as they could.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Maeva Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for bringing these matters to our attention. Regarding the odour in the room, all rooms do contain A.C & windows are left open after cleaning to allow fresh air to circulate the room. As there are so many guests using the hot water, internet, and washing facilities at once, they may just need to checked by a member of staff to ensure it is not just a simple issue however we do sincerely apologise for this! Best wishes Orla

80%

My stay was good but It was damage because for the same price some hostels included breakfast and a correct WiFi.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Jillian Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have WiFi in the common and reception area & we will have it in the rooms in the very near future. In our kitchen we have complimentary Tea/Coffee and you are very welcome to prepare your own food. If you prefer a cooked breakfast the cafe beside us provide a great breakfast for £3.50, if you say Keystone. I do hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. Best wishes Orla

94%

We had a few booking issues but the staff did a fantastic job solving them. Contact before booking with the hostel was fantastic too. All questions I had were answered promptly.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Its an expensive hostel when it comes to the average facilities. In addition, you don't have wifi in the bedrooms, the toilets are too small and the bedrooms are smelling.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Amanda Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I do apologise if you were unhappy with your room, if there is another room vacant we will gladly allow you to change rooms. We have WiFi in the common and reception area & we will have it in the rooms in the very near future. The rooms are cleaned daily, but always let reception know if your unhappy with any aspect of your room. I do hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. Best wishes Orla

94%

Very convenient location, just 5 mins walk from King's Cross and St. Pancras. They have refurbished it since the last time I visited and the room we had looked much better now, having a spacious bathroom. The only problem was that I had requested a 3 separate bed room since October and when I called to confirm my booking in February they said it was not available... However, they offered me a discount for the bunk bed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rodopi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. I do apologise however for the mix up in your reservation I will be sure to investigate this further & thank you for bringing this matter to my attention. I do hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. Best wishes Orla

80%

Turned shower is working just few minutes after he turns off.

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

I had to wait 20 minutes to check-in. Not sure why as there were 2 people on reception. The room was on the lower ground floor & so there were no windows, but the hostel do email you beforehand to inform you of this & they give you the opportunity to change. Needless to say the room was stuffy but there was air con, although it was temperamental. The showers were clean but very small. The toilets are unisex & people smoke in there! Kitchen is ok but there isn't a cooker. A few drunk men around.


51%

The rooms without windows don't have proper ventilation, only a small-passive tube and because of that in our room there was high humidity and bad smell (we'd our door opened for one hour when we arrived).That kind of rooms (basic double) are in the underground...near a Metro. I couldn't believe that into a place where people pay to sleep and rest you can listen(and sense) a Metro passing each 30 seconds !!.The walls hasn't proper acoustic isolation and you listen all the nearest room noises

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Juan Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I can see from your reservation that you stayed in LU5. On Hostel world it does mention that this room is below ground level and has no windows, all these rooms do however contain A.C. Also because the hostel is located beside Kings cross station the noise of the tube is unavoidable I'm afraid. We appreciate your feedback so that we know the exact areas that need improving. I do hope you stay with us again. Best wishes Orla

100%

Great hostel! I used it to go to the Facedown club at Scala and was thrilled to discover that this hostel was immediately across the street from the club so it was absolutely perfect! Friendly staff, clean hot showers, good security system, nice fun and friendly atmosphere. Nicely decorated and well kept. Would definitely stay here again!

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Emily Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. Best wishes Orla

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(208 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback