X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3010 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great first experience at Keystone! Easy to find right near King's Cross, nice and helpful staff, very clear directions to rooms/kitchen/common areas, and complimentary breakfast. Thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

89%

The location is very good. It is very close to King's cross station. The room is good with tap and sink. However, I hope to have hotter water for the bathroom. The staff are very nice.


69%

It was ok for the time we stayed there, but some things were just annoying. You can't rent towels, only purchase them. Breakfast is included butt on the first morning there was no milk for the cereal because "their delivery hadn't arrived" and I was told I could go to the store around the corner to buy some.. Good location though, really close to Kings Cross so it wasn't too bad.


80%

Location was really good, close to train and metro stations. Lots of places to eat in the neigbourhood (fast food and pubs). There didn't seem to be a lot of contact between travelers, though they had a bar and lounge area. Free wifi in the bar was slow but manageable. The only thing that didn't really please me was the cleanliness: especially the showers were dirty, but that's also to blame on the travelers who didn't clean up after them. Though I would like to see the kitchen area cleaner.

  • 1st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's great to get feedback from our guests so we know the exact areas that need improving. I am sorry you were unhappy with the cleanliness of the showers and kitchen. The bathrooms and kitchen are cleaned twice daily as hygiene is one of our top priorities so I am glad you brought this to our attention. I do hope you will come back and stay with us in the future All the best Orla

83%

Room was small, but adequate. Room was clean and had lockers to store items. Toilets and showers were located just down the hall and were regularly cleaned. Breakfast was a simple serve-yourself of toast and cereal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

77%

all was good. if I had to pick a downside it was that it was very cold this time. I could hardly get into my bed as it was covered by another one and the ladder for the top bunk. all in all a good stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I do apologise if you found the hostel very cold as there is no excuse for this. AC remote controls are placed in all our rooms so guests can regulate the temperature themselves. Always check at reception during your stay if you are unsure, as our staff are always willing to help. It is always good to get feedback from our guests so we know the exact areas that need to be improved. I do hope you will stay with us again Best Orla

77%

The hostel is well located and clean. The room is small, without a window and quite humid as often in London. The bathroom is clean but the shower is quite difficult to use. The price is a bit high for what you get, especially because of the breakfat which is really the weakest point of the hostel. There is very little choice (a few boxes of cereals and some bread) and the guests have to do the washing up.

  • 27th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. In the room you stayed in, there is a skylight window which has a remote to open and close it, and a manual to help you use it. There is also AC in the room and a remote control to help guests regulate the temperature themselves. Always check at reception during your stay if unsure as our staff are always willing to help. I will gladly pass all your comments on to the management. We look forward to having you stay with us again Orla

86%

It was a nice hostel with a good location near Kings Cross. 24h reception and key to front door was nice. The staff was friendly and helpful and it was an all over good atmosphere. The shared showers and toilets were clean, and was cleaned every day. Only thing I can complain about was the breakfast that was included, which consisted of toast, cornflakes and instant coffee.

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! Generally for breakfast there is more of a selection of cereals and tea, is also included but we will gladly take your comments about the breakfast on board and try and improve it for the future. We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

100%

We had a great time at the hostel! The only problem I´d say is the shower. A part from that, everything was perfect.

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

74%

Overall the place was fantastic, however the fire alarm in the room kept going off in the middle of the night. about 2 times each night. and when we told the staff at hand he just said he didnt know much about it and continued with his business.


83%

I found the Keystone is excellent hostel, the staff very friendly,rooms are clean and very close to the public transports

  • 24th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

66%

First shower clogged, light out in second shower. No wifi in the room and the one room that has wifi closes at midnight.


80%

location is great for me. Unfortunately wifi works only at the bar which close after midnight.


63%

expensive and small room, with low heating. breakfast was basic. very easy to find

  • 21st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

I hated my stay at the hostel. It was so hot in our room that people were getting sick and the staff refused to do anything about it. The bathroom for the lads was out of order, so everyone was forced into one bathroom (with 2 stalls, because the other two were also out of order). Now, in our room there were 16 girls, so I can only imagine how many people were sharing it! There were never any toilet paper and it was looking gross. Additionally, the cleaning lady took my stuff and threw it out.


86%

Very well located near King's Cross underground station which made it very convenient. Rooms were comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

83%

Could really do with a sign on the door that triggers the fire alarm, then maybe people would stop opening it at all times.


66%

Approved in general. Few bad points: 1) construction adapted with wooden stairs which lead to many upper floors where you climb a lot and get lost with so many bifurcations; 2) consequently, wifi only on the ground floor (in a specific room, which closes at 22h); 3) in the rooms, the eletric outlets are only of the british standard and the hostel sells adapters for 5 pounds (being a hostel, electrical outlets should also be on the international standard, or warn about it on hostelworld).


71%

place is in good location but the room i was in was very noisy. I can hear traffic outside and ambulance noises which was very frequent. Good enought as a hub but not so relaxing environment....

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Somewhere to stay, not somewhere to enjoy.


(1475 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback