X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4925 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

It was a very short stay but everything went well and everything was very clean, all the staff was nice and very friendly, thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with the staff. We are thrilled to receive such a good compliment! Hope to see you back soon. Safe travels, Keystone Team

66%

First to start with the good things, the location of this hostel is what one should definitely go for. The place provides value for money but when it comes to the staff of this place, I did not have one of the best experiences. To my surprise the receptionist was very rude to me. I would have expected a better behavior from the staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for the review. We are sorry that you thought our staff wasn't welcoming. Our staff is constantly trying to work hard to ensure everyone is having the best time possible at the hostel. Please never hesitate to come to reception if you have any problems or concerns, we are open 24/7. Safe travels, Keystone Team!

83%

Two complaints: the hostel could have been more lively with more events, music and/or a bar. It felt almost like we in our room were the only ones living at the hostel. No.2: the isolation in the room or if it was a window that couldn't be closed made the room supercold at all times. But otherwise great! Comfy beds, daily cleaning and smart key-system. I would definitely recommend it!

  • 22nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks a lot for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are 24 hours available to help people out and our aim is to guarantee a nice place to stay in where people can feel relaxed and if they need something we will provide them. He have some activities going on, such as Pub Crawls, bike, bus and walking tours. Hope to see you back soon. Safe travels, Keystone Team

89%

This is a great hostel! The beds are really comfortable and the rooms are big. The only drawback was that there was not enough hot water in the showers and I just wished the breakfast was included in the price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our rooms. Hope to see you back soon. Safe travels, Keystone Team

91%

Great location and value for money. Could do with better blinds for beds next to windows and better beds (or a mattress protector to add another layer in between us and the springs!). Despite these, I got a reasonable nights sleep and would return to this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks a lot for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are 24 hours available to help people out and our aim is to guarantee a nice place to stay in where people can feel relaxed and if they need something we will provide them. We have blinds next to windows. If you had any concerns or problems, always know you can come to reception at any time. Cheers, Keystone Team

46%

This hostel needs better reservation system. It's uncomfortable when you find out that You have to change Your room... Beside that there was mold in the hall near our room (Dutchess rooms on the floor).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for the review. We are sorry that you thought our system wasn't efficient. I hope that you understand that last minute problems can happen and we need to change rooms. That is not a Staff issue. Safe travels, Keystone Team!

89%

very good experience, no problems.

  • 21st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with the staff. We are thrilled to receive such a good compliment! Hope to see you back soon. Safe travels, Keystone Team.

80%

Stayed only one night. Location is excellent, straight train ride from airport. Toilet was clean. No lifts to rooms so that means you would have to carry your luggage up to your room. They do have a luggage storage on the first floor which can be used for free during your stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks a lot for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are happy you have enjoyed the location. Our aim is to guarantee a nice night sleep in a pleasant environment. Hope to see you again in the lovely London. Lots of Love, Keystone Team x

60%

I booked a private room for a 4 night stay. When we got to the hostel, they had broken up our reservation into 2 different ones, so we up having to switch rooms after the 2nd night, which was a giant inconvenience. We had to re-pack, bring our luggage back downstairs to be kept in the luggage room by 10am, and we weren't allowed to re-check in until 2pm, and got a worse quality room than we had before. They were insistent that I made two reservations, until I showed them my confirmation email.

  • 18th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Kitchen was not open the entire time we were as they were renovating. You bathe in the same cubicle as the toilet, so that is quite gross. Staff were very paranoid about lending the hairdryers, kept thinking we would steal them.

  • 17th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for the review. We are sorry that you thought our staff wasn't friendly. Our staff is constantly trying to work hard to ensure everyone is having the best time possible at the hostel. Please never hesitate to come to reception if you have any problems or concerns. We are open 24/7. Safe travels, Keystone Team!

71%

Bed was comfortable but as the room had no window it was way too hot and not enough fresh air got in. It felt weird to not be able to lock the room from the inside, especially since it was a private room. Location is great, only 5min from kings cross.

  • 17th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. We have AC and extra fans in the room. We always try to make sure everyone has the best time when visiting. Next time come to reception please. We hope to see you again in the future! Lots of love, Keystone Team.

54%

4 beds in an undergroud bedroom, no windows, smell unhealthy and awfull. we are human not rat

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for the review. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. We label London Underground Rooms on Hostelworld.They are located on the underground, therefore, there is no windows but we provide Air Conditioner in each room. Next time, read the room description before you book a room. Safe travels, Keystone Team!

83%

Everything was very good, except there was no elevator. If you are carrying big suitcase, you might be having hard time carrying your suitcase. WiFi was quite slow too. But everything else was very nice. Reception was very friendly, high security, and very close from King's Cross station (just about 2-3 min walk).

  • 14th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your positive review. We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with the staff. We are a historical building, so it's not possible to have an elevator. You can always store your bags in the luggage room for free. We'll see you again in the magical London at any time, always at Keystone House. Safe travels. Keystone Team!

74%

Room smelt damp, but ventilated room this went. Damp patches on ceiling. Bedding clean, but duvet needs replacing. Unable to use kitchen facilities due refurbishment. Loud music one night + doors banging until 3-30am I was disappointed with my stay this time as l recommended it to a friend. I last stayed in July and couldn't fault it. The whole experience was positive with different room, good kitchen facilities etc.

  • 14th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. It can be a little bit noisy during the weekends but we always advise guests to respect the others. We hope to see you again in the future! Lots of love, Keystone Team.

100%

Everything was great! The staff was very nice and the comodations exactly what they promissed. The only annoying thing was the timer on the showers (you have to keep pressing a button every 10 sec. to keep getting water). Other than that, super nice hostel.

  • 13th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so glad you have had such a memorable stay with us. Our aim is to guarantee a nice night sleep in a pleasant environment. Hope to see you again in the lovely London. Lots of Love, Keystone Team x

60%

Kitchen was tiny and filthy. The arrangement where toilets and showers are in the same cubicles is frankly bizarre, and means you have to walk over wet shower-floor to use the toilet. 2 power sockets in a 4-bed dorm really isn't enough in 2015. Location is convenient, but it overlooks a busy road and sound insulation is poor. Overall, tolerable accomodation for the price, but much poorer than my previous experience with similarly-priced hostels booked through this website.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. We check and clean the building 2 times per day, sometimes it's up to the guest to leave them as they would like to find! Cheers, Keystone Team

74%

Friendly staff, decent location as it is near the train station and metro. Facilities were good, washroom near our room was out of service. Wifi worked well, common area was small but good. Only problem with the hostel was that our room was located directly over a bar which was very loud. The street was also very busy so we heard tons on honking on the street and loud music from the bar until 330am on the Saturday night. Sunday night was better though, be careful staying on Fri, Sat night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with the staff. It can be a little bit noisy during the weekends but we can't do much about it. We hope to see you again in the future! Lots of love, Keystone Team.

91%

The hostel was very clean, My bed was comfortable and the staff is friendly. I would def come back.

  • 12th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with the staff. We are thrilled to receive such a good compliment! Hope to see you back soon. Safe travels, Keystone Team.

66%

I stayed at the Keystone house for two nights. When I checked in the women behind the desk was okay, but she didn't really explain anything. The vibe was not very friendly as far as the people at the bar and common area is concerned and most were locals. The rooms were decent and the shower what you would expect. The only thing I had a problem with was the locker/luggage room situation. The locker in room was to small and the luggage room had no system or lockers. It would be easy to steal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for the review. We are sorry that you thought our staff wasn't welcoming. Our staff is constantly trying to work hard to ensure everyone is having the best time possible at the hostel. Please never hesitate to come to reception if you have any problems or concerns we are open 24/7. We label the bags so there is no potential danger of thief. Best Wishes

89%

Lockers were old and bent. I was able to break into my own locker without unlocking my lock.


(2264 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback