X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4925 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Location is the best thing about this hostel, it really is two minutes from Kings Cross station. Beds were fine though the room was a bit cramped. Small kitchen, and only one washer and dryer in the laundry (so no chance to do some washing) were the major drawbacks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks a lot for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are happy you have enjoyed the location. We are 24 hours available to help people out and our aim is to guarantee a nice place to stay in where people can feel relaxed and if they need something we will provide them. If you had any concerns or problems, always know you can come to reception at any time. Cheers, Keystone Team

86%

Great place to stay if you're not a high maintenance fusspot

  • 10th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled you had a great stay here with us. We always try to make sure everyone has the best time when visiting. We hope to see you again in the future! Lots of love, Keystone Team.

89%

After I couple of days I felt sort of like coming home, having chats with the receptionists about all kinds of stuff. Such lovely people!

  • 10th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your positive review. We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with the staff. We'll see you again in the magical London at any time, always at Keystone House. Safe travels. Keystone Team!

69%

The showers wouldn't stay on for no longer then 20 seconds. In our room the blinds hand fallen out so then light was straight into our room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. For security reasons, we must have a shower timer. We always try to make sure everyone has the best time when visiting. We hope to see you again in the future! Lots of love, Keystone Team.

100%

I'm very impressed by the cleanliness of the shared bathrooms. Furthermore, the rooms were clean and it was An air conditioned room. The colour schemes of the reception and the hostel were very youthful and appealing. Keep up the good job!

  • 9th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so glad you have had such a memorable stay with us. Our aim is to guarantee a nice night sleep in a pleasant environment. Hope to see you again in the lovely London. Lots of Love, Keystone Team x

97%

I think that doors (opening by a special detector key) were closing too long. I mean after a person passing through them someone could have a time to get in without using a key. There were an additional doors - some kind of a fire safety - and there was a man working somewhere there but I think it wasn't guarded by that time. I got no idea whether hostel's staff knows about it but to me it looked a bit dodgy. I would like to suggest some additional hangers in a shower and a room but it might b

  • 8th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks a lot for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are 24 hours available to help people out and our aim is to guarantee a nice place to stay in where people can feel relaxed and if they need something we will provide them. The front door is always locked, so it's very safe. If you had any concerns or problems, always know you can come to reception at any time. Cheers, Keystone Team

77%

We stay in a private twin room, which was tiny, cleanliness-average, the carpet would do with the cleaning, couldn't open the window, but there was an air con so that's a good thing. What's more, our room was located near the stairs and the bathroom, we could hear every step and ... Word. Not good if you want a good 6-7 hours of sleep. We paid £20 each, it was too dear for the standard of the property. The staff were excellent, though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks a lot for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are happy you have enjoyed the staff. We are 24 hours available to help people out and our aim is to guarantee a nice place to stay in where people can feel relaxed and if they need something we will provide them. If you had any concerns or problems, always know you can come to reception at any time. Cheers, Keystone Team

91%

The wifi doesn't reach the 16 beds female dorm and the kitchen is just micro-wave and a kettle. But these are the only bad aspects. Keystone is a great hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are happy you have had a pleasant stay with us. The WI-FI is available everywhere. Hope to see you back soon. Safe travels, Keystone Team

91%

I had an enjoyable one night stay in the Keystone and would happily recommend it to others. Positives - location, security, cleanliness. Negatives - One rally loud snorer!

  • 7th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with us. We are thrilled to receive such a good compliment! Hope to see you back soon. Safe travels, Keystone Team

86%

Bunk bed had foam mattress which was super soft and an excellent night's sleep. Rooms are very tiny, but ok.

  • 6th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our facilities. Hope to see you back soon. Safe travels, Keystone Team

43%

The staff was very unfriendly. When we arrived we rang the bell twice but he didn't open the door even though he's seen us. After getting in we didn't get any information about the hostel (common area, checkout time, wifi). He just gave us the key and a map and said that the room is downstairs. They try to charge you for everything (towels, etc). Our room didn't have a window and was very narrow. Also the ventilation was very bad. It was clean and convenient but I'd never stay there again!!

  • 5th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for the review. We are sorry that you thought our staff wasn't welcoming. Our staff is constantly trying to work hard to ensure everyone is having the best time possible at the hostel. Please never hesitate to come to reception if you have any problems or concerns. We are open 24/7. Safe travels, Keystone Team!

86%

Perfectly good hostel for a traveller/for a short stay in London. Excellent location which makes it good value for money alone, clean enough and offers everything a hostel should. Didn't stay for long enough to get an idea about the atmosphere, but the staff were very friendly and checking in/out was simple.

  • 5th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such an awesome review. We appreciate the kind words and are thrilled you had a great stay here with us. We always try to make sure everyone has the best time when visiting. We hope to see you again in the future! Lots of love, Keystone Team.

97%

The receptionists were really nice and friendly :) the location is perfect and it is cash clean. Would recommend this to anyone!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with the staff. We are thrilled to receive such a good compliment! Hope to see you back soon. Safe travels, Keystone Team

80%

The kitchen doesn't have oven, it's smelly and really warm... but it is the only bad point. All the rest is amazing!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are happy you have enjoyed the location. We have several fans in the kitchen, you just need to turn them on. If you had any concerns or problems, always know you can come to reception at any time. Cheers, Keystone Team.

80%

mmmm Some of the staffs are quite nice, especially that two white guys who are not english people. But the Black staff who doesn't really like smile and very cold.... Facility: Rooms are really good ( stayed for three times. ) However, the some shower rooms don't have hot water. You have to choose the shower room carefully! at least before you take off all of your clothing!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for the review. We are sorry that you thought some of our staff wasn't welcoming. Our staff is constantly trying to work hard to ensure everyone is having the best time possible at the hostel. Please never hesitate to come to reception if you have any problems or concerns. We are open 24/7. Safe travels, Keystone Team!

94%

I really enjoyed my stay at Keystone. Keychain access throughout. Kitchen and laundry facilities were of good standard. I was staying on the third floor so it was a bit of a hike up the stairs with heavy luggage (no lift). My 4 person dorm room was spacious & the bed was comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such an awesome review. We appreciate the kind words and are thrilled you had a great stay here with us. We always try to make sure everyone has the best time when visiting. We hope to see you again in the future! Lots of love, Keystone Team.

77%

Overall a good stay at this hostel. The facilities were clean and being so close to the trains and underground was convinient. However, the area was a bit dodgy. Constant sirens and police activity, and during our stay there was an incident that happened right in front of the Sainsburys next door. This was also advertised in the room as a high theft zone, so we felt ourselves constantly worried about our belingings, despite them being in a safe. A nice hostel, but the area didn't feel safe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. We are 24 hours available and happy to help people out. We provide a fob key to each guest for their own security, in that way we protect ourselves from strangers. The system works and it's very safe. Cheers, Keystone Team!

63%

I woke up with about 57 insect bites all over my body (especially arms and legs, but also on the back). I do not think they were mosquitos... But some creature in the bed... So you get a 0 for "Sauberkeit". The bites are still itching all the time and driving me crazy! I'll never come back to a hostel after such an experience!

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. We work with a Bed Bug Pest Control to ensure the best staying possible to every guest but sometimes the guests who are travelling around the world bring with them. Safe travels, Keystone Team!

86%

Me & my g/friend slept for one night at this hostel; we needed accomodation which was close to St Pancras station. So! staff - very helpful and eager to help, even tho we were very tired and confused-i couldnt find the room from the beginning, so Nadine(many thanks to her) came w/ me and showed me the room. Linen was clean & tidy, clean kitchen aswell, very smart system-labeling yr own food, so they know who belongs to. All in all good value for money, as the staff, security, were spot on

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • CharlesFlemming
  • Romania
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're so glad you have had such a memorable stay with us. Our aim is to guarantee a nice night sleep in a pleasant environment. Hope to see you again in the lovely London. Lots of Love, Keystone Team!

83%

Comfiest beds ever!!!


(2264 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback