X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
3897 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The matras was a desaster!

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

The property was convenient in terms of location. There was a lack of control over the allocation of the beds. I was allocated a certain bed, but when I went there it was occupied by somebody else. The staff resolved the issue by remaking the bed, but it still leaves a sour taste. It was not possible to change the temperature of the water coming out from the showerhead and it was swinging between hot and cold temperature which was unpleasant.


100%

Very friendly staff, excellent value for money, very secure and safe feeling, free wifi, breakfast included (toast and cereal, tea, orange juice) better than some hotels i've stayed in! Will definitely stay here again next time i'm in London - why pay £100 for a hotel? Perfect location next to Kings Cross station. There is also a backpackers bar around the corner (we weren't backpackers but you can still go in) - it has a roof top terrace and the drinks are cheap by London standards!! :)


60%

you can't hire a towel, you have to buy it. There is no lift in the building, narrow stairs, make it very hard if you have a big suitcase. you have to pay to leave your luggage there after you check out.


77%

Inconvenience as wi-fi is only available at ground floor and not throughout the whole building. In addition, area at ground floor is kind of small and squeeze. It is not really comfortable if there is a lot of people around.


86%

Had a great stay here, and would stay again. There wasn't much space in the room for bags, and the water saving tap in the showers was annoying, but other than that it was great. Free breakfast, friendly staff and great location!

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel. Will certainly visit again in the future!

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I stayed there 6 nights and I had no problem, even though I was in a dormitory with 15 other girls. The room and bed were clean, sheet too, everything worked well, the only small negative point would be the toilets and the shower all in the same room because when you just want to go the the toilet and everyone took a shower before you arrive it's all wet and not really practical but it's not that big of a deal so! The employees were really nice and helpful. And the location is perfect!


74%

Downstairs corridors and rooms smelled very bad. A combination of damp, sweat and urine throughout the lower ground floor. Our room only had one small lamp to light up the whole room. No ceiling lights. Only one plug socket worked which made things even more interesting. Disappointing and probably would not stay again. Sorry to say.

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel is ok, there were a few things which i didn't find comfortable. Our room was in the top and the windows couldn't open. And the showers were 3 floors down! But the location was pretty good, there was one good restaurant close by. The staff friendly and it was clean.


80%

Great hostel. Watch your step on those stairs though! Definitely use the railing. Annoying that the wifi only works in the common room.


86%

Excellent location,clean rooms/facilites and quiet hostel. I had a private room, it was underground, meaning we had no windows and no wifi access.


66%

too noisy outside!

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable. We had a good time here and the location was great!


49%

First of all, im not here to trash anyone. This is budget hostel so one pays for what he gets. However, things that can be improved on that are non-monetary related are the staff attitude and service. When i arrived at 6am, no salutation was given by the guy at the desk (note: i smiled and said hi). same also happened when i came back at 3pm to check in - the girls also made me wait for 15 minutes. I could go on but will leave you to reflect on qualities of attitude and customer service.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Staff were quite unhelpful and didn't show us around the property. The kitchen didn't have proper facilities and the shower toilet combination was horrible. Very unimpressed. Location was the only positive.


86%

It was alright, needs more space to hang up a bag or whatever in the showers downstairs but it was alright.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Location and price are good and its one of the cheapest for a dorm in the area, check in is a little late being 2pm but they do let you leave your bags in a store room which is really handy. Few downfalls toilet and shower facilities were not the cleanest so bring flip flops and they are not on every floor, we had to go 3 floors down to have a shower! There is WIFI but it only working in the communal area by reception.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I stayed here for 3 nights and found that it was a great base for a hostel in London, right by Kings Cross station. The hostel was clean and the free breakfast came in handy in the morning. There were a couple of issues that I found. One would be that the hostel didn't have much of a social atmosphere, other than the kitchen area, and the room didn't have enough plugs to charge essential items. Other than these minor issues, it was a great hostel to stay in.


54%

We were without light in our room for the entire stay (five days), and they couldn't fix the problem. We were supposed to get a discount - they promised it would appear on our credit card and it hasn't appeared, nor have they been in contact even though it's been three weeks. The manager was never available to speak to, which would have helped resolve this issue while we stayed. Also, you are literally underground. No windows, damp, dark, everything you'd except from being underground.


(1815 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback