X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2701 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

One of the best hostels I have stayed at! The only problem I have with this hostel is that the box for me to stow my belongings beside my bed has a broken lock.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback! You should've informed the reception about it during your stay so we could have a look at it. Kind regards, Keystone House Team

89%

very friendly personell, nice room.

  • 23rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Judith Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

26%

RUBBISH. RUBBISH. RUBBISH. Honestly there are alot ebtter hostels then this. do not stay here unless you are truly a keen keen back packer.

  • 22nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Good staff, good location, just a stone throw from King's Cross station, good breakfast, many good bars and cafes around, many facilities such as internet and some desktop computers are available, and a good security system.


80%

a lot of noise in the room

  • 20th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback! We do apologise for the noise, there's construction works going on next door that's out of our control. Kind regards, Keystone House Team

80%

I found the staff really friendly and helpful. However, I disliked the fact that you have to pay for everything including the iron.

  • 20th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback! Kind regards, Keystone House Team

77%

It was cheap for London. Location couldn't have been better so close to one of the biggest train stations. Bar was good. Bathrooms were very small and stuffy but they were clean. Rooms dark and small but. It's London and we spent no time in room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your comment and feedback! Kind regards, Keystone House Team

57%

The windowless rooms should be declared illegal by law... They seems a prison cell! The kitchen is pure horror. Water leaks in the corridors. But: great location, just a few yards from St. Pancras/King's Cross railway and tube Station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. There is a note online that inner-cabin rooms have no windows. We suggest next time perhaps booking a room in a higher price range on offer at our hostel. The kitchen does indeed get pretty busy during the breakfast times. Kind regards, Keystone House Team

46%

The staff there seem to be very poor regarding spoken english skills. In the morning I went for breakfast at 9.40 and there was nothing except 4 pieces of bread...not even some milk. And the disater was when I asked for milk....they told it was finished..and they were just sorry for it..(nothing else).

  • 17th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. We do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced at breakfast, however it is only served from 7am - 9.30am. As for the staff we will take it on board. Kind regards, Keystone House Team

94%

I had a really nice stay at the hostel. I chose this one as it was close to the city centre, quite affordable but also good for catching a train. The staff was very helpful with finding nice places to eat out or getting to the airport. The "free wifi" ends at 11pm but theres free wifi in every shop around so its not too hard to get on the internet :) I highly recommend the hostel for tourists and travellers :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback! We're glad to hear your enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again. All the best, Keystone Team

54%

When I got there a couple of people had their laptops stolen from there lockers, so that wasn't a pleasant assurance of staying at this hostel. Second thing is they charge 5 pound for everything, like towels, locks etc. The shower rooms are vey small and dingy, not suited for bigger people. It seemed that staff tried to process you as quickly as possible. I would advise people not to leave anything valuable in your locker apart from your dirty socks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. We do encourage all guests to keep their belongings safe when sharing a room. There are safes available at reception at all times. Our bathrooms and showers are individually locked and the ones besides common room pretty big for hostel standards. Kind regards, Keystone Team

71%

Location is very close to underground so can access all the main sites from here. Staff didn't seem like they knew what wasn't going on. We got given wrong keys to our room, had our stuff moved from the room we were staying in and had our food that was labelled correctly thrown out in the middle of our stay.


54%

great location, always something going on. Terrible for an actual night's sleep: zero attempt to insulate from endless and heavy street noise, some beds broken, major building work going on both inside and outside the hostel from 8:50am, sheets are thinly stretched over sweaty, sticky plastic (wake up stuck to bed)..could go on. Avoid if you want to sleep, would recommend if you just want to party.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your comment! We are located in the city centre and the noise is unfortunately unavoidable. There is a temporary construction site nearby and we do have an agreement to not start any works until 10am. We apologise for any inconvenience these works have caused. In terms of beds many guests prefer having a regularly washed mattress protector on top of the mattress and find it more hygienic. It's unfortunate you were of the opposite opinion. Best, Nika

83%

Very nice for the price (well you don't have a window but you're in the city center so it's worth it). The only bad point was the poor cleaning of the room : find some hair in my bed. But apart from that, I totally recommend it !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Constance, Thank you for your feedback! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and thanks for pointing out the flaws! We'll look into it and make sure it doesn't happen again. We hope to see you back on your next trip to London. Kind regards, Nika

71%

The only I dont like are the girls showers you cant change much but its those stupid push ones where the water is one for about 30 seconds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Lenea Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As the hostel is relatively new we are always trying to improve our facilities. We really appreciate feedback from our guests so we know the exact areas that need to be improved. We will gladly take your comments about the showers on board and try and make them more user friendly in the future. All the best Orla

100%

Solo falta el aire acondicionado y seria perfecto.

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback! Your room had the AC... Just in case you missed it ;) Best, Nika

74%

The LU rooms are like cellar rooms; I am not sure, if they are worth to be paid!

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your comment. It's written in hostels' description that LU rooms have no windows. They are indeed located in the basement but some prefer them for being quiet and cosy. Best, Nika

37%

There wasn't any window in our very tiny room and we felt like sleeping in a dungeon.There was very stuffy in our room.The shower was dirty.While we were sleeping the air conditioner( fan above the door) turned on few times.The sound was very loudly.I did not expect a five star hotel conditions but few months ago I stayed in Hatters Hostel in Manchester and it was GREAT!

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. There is a clear description on Hostelworld saying that some of our rooms (LU rooms) have no windows. If you prefer brighter rooms we'd suggest you to book in a higher price range next time around. AC remote controls are placed in all our rooms so guests can regulate the temperature themselves. It helps to check at reception during your stay if unsure and our staff would be able to help. Best, Nika

71%

Our stay went well. Our only surprise was that our room had no windows. We did not think it was legal to use a windowless room as a guest room.

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback! We're glad to hear your enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again. There is a note in our description saying some rooms are inner cabin, just to avoid such surprises. All the best, Keystone Team

86%

Staff was very nice. The whole experience was very pleant.

  • 7th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback! We're glad to hear your enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again. All the best, Keystone Team

(1341 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback