X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2704 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Our stay went well. Our only surprise was that our room had no windows. We did not think it was legal to use a windowless room as a guest room.

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback! We're glad to hear your enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again. There is a note in our description saying some rooms are inner cabin, just to avoid such surprises. All the best, Keystone Team

86%

Staff was very nice. The whole experience was very pleant.

  • 7th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback! We're glad to hear your enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again. All the best, Keystone Team

97%

Wi-Fi in the reception room would be very appreciated! Otherwise everything's great.

  • 6th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your feedback! All the best, Keystone Team

89%

For value of money, female room was really very nice,with air condition,fridge and some kitchen stuff; showers are good,but with limited amount of not well-mixed water(which is usual for Britain). Wifi is only in the common room,and for extra "comfort" like towels, keeping safe luggage and so on you must pay extra money. But in any case the location is really excellent and hostel is very nice!

  • 6th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback! We're glad to hear your enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again. All the best, Keystone Team

91%

Staff were very nice and helpful. Bed was comfy. Ladies showers were big and the cubicle was private. We didnt eat the breakfast but there are lots of food places nearby.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your feedback! We hope to see you again. All the best, Keystone Team

100%

Great place to stay in London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for your feedback! All the best, Keystone Team

31%

This hostel was the worst hostel that I`d stayed in my life. I had terrible service, because I payed for a room with 6 people and putting on me a room with 18. After 3 hours, the guy (very rough) discover one bed in a room with a 6 people. I bought 6 days and don´t stayed there, I changed the hostel, then I lost a half money. Don´t have bathroom on the floor, only the 2nd floor (dirty); The rooms are dirty´s and don´t smell good;


86%

Good location , good room , but not good breakfast . You have to fight in the pantry to get the milk , jam , bread and even cups!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. We're happy your enjoyed your stay and we will take the breakfast comment on-board to make it more user friendly. Best, Nika

66%

We booked a private triple room for one night, and a double for the subsequent three nights. Our stay was so poor that we chose not to stay past the first night. To begin with, the sticker cost per night is misleading, as the hostel insists on monetising every single conceivable other thing. The rooms are tiny.The staff are poor: the receptionist told a visitor that there is no Covent Garden Tube station. Evidently the receptionist has never seen a Tube map. Would not recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. I believe the price is given upon making the reservation and there's no hidden extra costs on it. Being a hostel we unfortunately don't provide towels and other necessities free of charge as described on our profile page. All our current staff is London based and I do apologise if you had a different impression. All the best, Keystone Team

57%

The room for 3 is really small, the bathroom too. Beds are bad, cleanliness ... no comment

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. We have taken your comments on board. There are photos on our profile where the room sizes can be seen before booking to avoid disappointment. All the best, Keystone Team

74%

The stuff was exellent, we had a bike and they kept it very good. They ere very friendly to us. Very good expirience :-)

  • 31st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Has everything you need. Perfect location, super close to the Kings Cross tube stop so it's super easy to find and super easy to get anywhere in the city. Lively area with bars and restaurants. You can also buy/rent whatever you need from reception (converter, lock, towel...etc)


80%

Excellent location Some facilities are not that clean Dorms are in a really good condition

  • 30th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

decent hostel, super convenient location, just make sure you hold onto your key deposit receipt or the won't give you your 5 pounds back..


63%

Small private rooms and not the best location for a tourist to stay. However, it was super close to train stations which kind of made up for this, but I would recommend to stay closer towards central London. On a positive note, staff super helpful and it was a clean, cheerful environment!

  • 29th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

great location for kings cross train station


86%

We liked our bedroom, but the shower in our floor was really bed.


77%

Our stay at Kings Cross was a little strange as we were told there was security issue with our room and were rehoused at a Travelodge down the road. This was a shame as we have stayed at Keystone before and it was great. Much better than the Travelodge and the reveiw is reflective more of our room there.


91%

Kings Cross is a great location, and is extremely well situated for local, national, and international transport links. Most of the major attractions can actually be walked to fairly easily. The hostel itself was a nice place, we stayed on a busy saturday night and didn't experience any of the odd niggles that other users have reported. The Bathroooms were very clean for a large and busy hostel. The small common area's were popular & the Backpackers Bar was cheap. Excellent local amenities.


54%

stayed in the basement and already expected that it was not as good as the room above ground. Howevere, it was really filthy. There was a strong unpleasant smell filled the stairs and corridor and came to noses whenever we left and entered our room. We also had to wait for around nearly an hour for check-in as there was no staff at the reception! totally unacceptable! It just ruined our plan of the journey and a not very nice memory. It is not worth that price.


(1343 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback