X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
3983 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

37%

This is one of the worst hostels I've ever stayed in. While the location is amazing, the staff is absolutely horrible, unhelpful, unfriendly and rude. We stayed there for 3 nights, on the 2nd night we got back at 10pm, only to find out that we do not have a room because of some "issue" (pretty sure it was an overbooking issue) and their way of handling it was to tell us there's nothing they can do. the place smells like death (especially downstairs) and no windows in the rooms. such a rip off!

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

My friend, son and I rented a 3 bedroom private ensuite at Keystone. The beds were so comfy. It was close to two train stations, but far from the centre of London. This hostel had many younger travellers, but the atmosphere was great. Breakfast (toast and cereal) was included and close to grocery stores, many restaurants. Would return. If wifi was available throughout the hostel it would be better. But it was available in the common room-so not a huge deal.


57%

We couldn't close our window. The room and the hostel is not clean. Toilettes and showers are ugly. Wifi does not work.

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Such friendly staff who were extremely helpful and the beds were so so comfy!!

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Although the hostel is very well situated, we felt the price was a bit too high for what we got. The mattresses were not in the best of shapes, there was a constant buzz in the room (from ventilation or something), and our room was not dark enough at night as there was some kind of emergency light always on. As for facilities, the kitchen was a bit small and had few appliances, compared to the number of rooms and people staying at the hostel, which made it hard to enjoy the free breakfast.


60%

This hostel looks great in the pictures. We were on the top floor (4) and the showers and bathrooms were on the bottom (1) shower turned off every 15secs and was in the same cubicle as toilet. The wall was raining (literally) and there was water damage to the roof and carpet outside our room. We had the 8 bed mixed dorm and it was tiny and not very clean! This hostel is good if you don't mind stuff like stairs and getting cosy with strangers. It is right next to platform 9 3/4 though!


60%

There are mice in the kitchen.


97%

very good :) kitchen was top notch, excellent location - cant ask for more


94%

kitcken clear,people nice,but no elevator,if you have big luggage,you need to notice!

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

This hostel is one of London's better ones. The bright spacious common areas, clean sheets and comfortableness of the bed all contributed to a great stay. However the cleanliness of the bathrooms could definitely be improved and the size of the lockers as they were not big enough to fit a standard 50L backpack. Also, be aware that there is no stove or oven in the guest kitchen.


71%

Really good location, pretty much can get anywhere in a second! Nice clean rooms with lockers. Not good for a solo traveller, not much atmosphere at all, not good for meeting people. But awesome place for just a bed and location! Breakfast was not really anything at all, but close to heaps of nice food shops!


80%

Very friendly staff!! We ha a nice stay although we had to change room after the first night. The first room was very nice (3 bedroom) and we even had our own toilet. The second one not really, was kind of dirty and all over with spider webs!! To us it looked more like a cellar than a hostel room, a little painting would do! Also, it was very loud (from the bar above) and we could hear the tube passing. The kitchen is nice and you get free breakfast every morning. Overall impression good.


66%

REALLY DIRT PLACE!!! We woke up one night whith a MOUSE in our room. We called the staff and they did nothing about it. In the last breakfast in the hostel we saw another MOUSE in the kitchen. We were wondering where the mouses had been, maybe in the food we ate. SO DISGUSTING!!! They also don't clean the rooms, just take the trash of the toilets. If you don't care about cleaning or health, its a good place to stay. Great localization!!!


83%

Awesome time. Stayed a week in a co-ed 8-bed, but spent most of my time out in the city. Cafe area was clean and nice, really nice to have it open 24/7. Lovely staff. Bathroom smelled at high usage times (morning and evening), and my room smelled like feet at times, but I think that was just the unfortunate part of sharing a room with 7 others.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Absolutely brilliant place to stay for someone on a low budget. Cheaper than other hostels in the area, and still very clean and friendly. Also very secure: you need a hostel key fob not only to get in to the hostel itself but to get to the dorms as well. A locker is provided for each bed in dorms (just bring or buy a padlock). The only "downside" was that the dorm room was a bit hot at night, but the beds were super comfy so you'll sleep like a baby regardless.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I have two quibbles (other than the lack of dfisabled access which I understand can't be solved due to lack of space). One is that you really, really could do with a prominent "MInd the step" sign on the door to the upstairs, to alert people to the unexpected 6" drop which is immediately on the other side of the door. The other is that it would be a good idea to have duckboards in the showers, propped against the walls by the sinks, so people have somewhere dry to put things such as shoes.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The matras was a desaster!

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

The property was convenient in terms of location. There was a lack of control over the allocation of the beds. I was allocated a certain bed, but when I went there it was occupied by somebody else. The staff resolved the issue by remaking the bed, but it still leaves a sour taste. It was not possible to change the temperature of the water coming out from the showerhead and it was swinging between hot and cold temperature which was unpleasant.


100%

Very friendly staff, excellent value for money, very secure and safe feeling, free wifi, breakfast included (toast and cereal, tea, orange juice) better than some hotels i've stayed in! Will definitely stay here again next time i'm in London - why pay £100 for a hotel? Perfect location next to Kings Cross station. There is also a backpackers bar around the corner (we weren't backpackers but you can still go in) - it has a roof top terrace and the drinks are cheap by London standards!! :)


60%

you can't hire a towel, you have to buy it. There is no lift in the building, narrow stairs, make it very hard if you have a big suitcase. you have to pay to leave your luggage there after you check out.


(1851 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback