X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3483 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Lovely staff and great location being so close to kings cross station. Kitchen didn't have a stove top/oven and not a real party atmosphere, pretty chilled common area.


80%

The timer in the showers is one of the worst things I've ever seen! That's the only reason why I wouldn't stay there again!


100%

Keystone House King's Cross it a great hostel. It was clean, quite, and the staff was very friendly. The location and price were also fantastic.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The staff were really friendly, and overall this was a good hostel. However, there were only 4 showers available for women, which meant that at no matter what time a day, I had to queue for at least 20 minutes to shower. And since all sinks were together with the showers you couldn't just quickly wash your hands or brush your teeth, but had to queue for that as well.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I was dubious about staying in a hostel, but it was lovely and friendly. Very friendly check in

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel is located really close to King's Cross station which makes it really easy to get around the city and see everything both by walking and via the subway. The rooms were about what I expected and were nice to come back to after a day walking around the city. The only strange thing was that the lockers in the room were very skinny however this was not a problem for me since I felt my luggage was safe when I just left it there and could have fit anything valuable in the lockers anyway.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Kitchen does not have a stove -not much cooking one can do with a microwave oven and a toaster (promotes unhealthy life-style!). Also, for a hostel with international travellers, wifi should be seamless these days -with Keystone, it unfortunately was either slow, dropping off-line, or nonexistent. Friendly staff, however.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
66%

They charge for holding bags, and they charge for wifi in the rooms. Decent location, clean rooms. Breakfast is very basic, but edible.


94%

I chose this hostel because I was working at Finsbury Park for the weekend. The location is fantastic - 2 minute walk from Kings Cross Station and night bus stop around the corner. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, it is also a very secure hostel having to use a fob to get through each door. I had a 16 bed dormitory which was fine, very clean lockers at the side of the bed and even a little kitchen with a kettle fridge sink and cupboard. Will definitely stay again!


57%

This hostel was just filthy. The facilities were very dirty, shower clogged and overflowing, floors quite dirty, etc. The location was right outside a major train station that had access to all the underground tram lines. Security was high and I felt my things were safe, the staff was didn't have maps and couldn't provide any directions anywhere or suggestions. Don't stay here.


74%

The bathrooms were super small and squishy, but they were clean. The dorms were absolutely packed, no room at all.


83%

Had a great time, felt comfortable and safe.

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

So comfortable. And nice location!!! Good to be there!!!


54%

The hostel is very noisy.... it's upstairs from some kind of club... so don't expect to get much rest done. I had some money steal there on the day of my check out...

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

It was a nice and comfortable stay. The Wireless wasn't all the time working and it's too weak in the dorms. Internet is not necessary but handy, when you wanna look up something to see in the city or to check important emails. I missed the bar to drink a beer and to meet other people. But I definitely can recommend this place.

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel. Lockers in room no extra fee. They don't rent towels, you have to buy one. Staff were great and helpful


74%

Good location near a bunch, and multiple tube (metro) lines. It was pretty clean, but just an old building so it felt grungy. I chose here because it was cheap and had lockers. Each locker is a good large size right next to the beds. I only stayed for one night but the staff was pretty helpful and friendly for that evening/morning. No complaints!


94%

Great location next to Kings X and the International St Pancras stations. 30 min walk to the Thames. Only problem, there's 4 floors and no lift, and being an old London building the stairs are narrow so bringing suitcases up isn't too easy. Apart from that t'was great!


100%

Will be staying here again! Friendly staff, clean, right down the street from major Tube terminal

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

There was an overnight construction side right next to my window. Without earplugs it would have been impossible to sleep. You have to pay for the wifi excess and it is quite expensive. There are also no lockers. It is close to the underground though.


(1660 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback