X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4337 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

It was quite noisy at night because my bed is beside the window and the road . otherwise , the facilities are good

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We understand how noisy it can be in the rooms next to the street, but we are in the process of installing double glazing. Always feel free to come to reception and we are happy to help you with any problems! We hope you enjoyed your stay in the magical city of London. Lots of love, Keystone Team x

80%

The hostel was clean and basic, it's quiet which is what we were looking for. It is a really good location, 2 seconds from Kings Cross Station and a 10 min walk from Euston. The only letdowns were they do not provide towels or breakfast and I have stayed in cheaper hostels where these have been provided. But apart from that it was good :)

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are so happy you have enjoyed our location! You can have a Full English Breakfast just next door for £3.50. We also sell towels for £5. Please come to reception next time. Hope to see you again in the lovely London. Safe travels, Keystone Team x

46%

Room smelled terrible, and was very poorly ventilated. They lock the front door, and it is impossible to get OUT without a key card. That's just weird.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. We are 24 hours available and happy to help people out. We provide a fob key to each guest for their own security, in that way we protect ourselves from strangers trying to get into the hostel. It's weird that you find a good security system weird. Cheers, Keystone Team

100%

MR. Hugo good service for customer and he is good PR for Hostel and He help everything" Thank you Gimmy.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your positive review. We are really delighted and proud that your stay here was comfortable. We'll see you again in the magical London at any time, always at Keystone House. Safe travels. Keystone Team!

74%

Great location. Beds were fine. Clean sheets, clean showers, clean toilets, really all you need. You could hear the underground, but I slept right through it. No problems. I do hope your neighbours will be quiet because the walls of the LU rooms are pretty thin.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so delighted you have had such a positive experience with us. Our aim is always to guarantee a good night sleep and an enjoyable stay inside out the hostel. We also think that is a good value for your money, that's why a stay with us is safe and well worth! Can't wait to see you again in the magic London. Cheers, Keystone Team x

49%

Bathroom was mouldy and dirty, windows did not block out noise of Kings Cross.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you very much for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are happy you have enjoyed the location, on the other hand we are not so happy if your stay did not match your expectations. We're 24 hours available and happy to help people out. We check and clean toilets and showers 2 times per day, sometimes it's up to the guest to leave them as they would like to find! Cheers, Keystone Team

80%

Was more expensive than expected on arrival. Location is fantastic, less than 5 minutes to Kings Cross Station and right next to a small supermarket. Dorm rooms were clean and well organised so no complaints there. Kitchen area was nice but there is no stove, only a microwave to cook stuff in. Not a great hostel for socialising; it's all quite disjointed. Thought it was a wee bit pricey for such a basic set-up but you can't beat the location and it's a good clean place to stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so happy you have had a positive feeling about our neighbourhood. Inside Kings Cross council we know we have the unbeatable location. Our aim is to create the best atmosphere with our daily event inside out the hostel and the city of London. Next time please come to reception for more informations. Hope to see you back soon. Lots of Love, Keystone Team x

74%

I stayed at this hostel mainly for the location, a few steps from Kings Cross which is perfect. If you want a hostel just for a bed, this is a good option. I was traveling alone, thus hostels are a great way to meet people for me. Unfortunately, they had no hostel sponsored activities, or any feeling of community. The shower is always cold, never hot, and you have to keep pressing the button as a means of conservation. I get it, but no one can possibly shower in 2 seconds. Towels are 5 pounds.

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so happy you have enjoyed the location. We always organize daily events like free walking tours, cycle tours and nights out. We also think that is a good value for your money, that's why a stay with us is safe and well worth! Safe travels , Keystone Team x

80%

Everything we needed for our 2 days Trip in London

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We're very delighted you've had such a great time here with us. Our aim is to ensure the best stay and night sleep to our guests. Can't wait to see you again in the lovely London, always at Keystone House. Keystone Team!

71%

Great Location especially if you are getting the Eurostar in or out of London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Many thanks for your time spent to leave us a comment. We're so delighted that you found the location enjoyable. See you next time. Safe travels. Keystone Team!

86%

Very well located. Easy to find. I really like the security system. I would visit again if I come back to London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you for the time spent to leave us a comment. We're so delighted that you found the location enjoyable and appreciated the security system. Can't wait to see you again in the magical London, always at Keystone House! Lots of Love, Keystone Team!

94%

Everything was excellent! Apart from an issue when checking in I sat waiting for almost 30 mins. Then when I got to the desk I was questioned if i was first of the set of boys behind me who he had spoke with previously. However this is not a major issue! excellent beds, showers, and i LOVE how you could buy everything at the desk at such great prices. 10/10

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us at Keystone House. Our staff is constantly working hard to ensure everyone is enjoying themselves. We hope to see you again in the future! Lots of love, Keystone Team!

91%

Everything was great : staff , location, close to public transport :-) But ... it would be good that is in the kitchen more than one microwave :-(

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are in the process of installing a second microwave. We loved having you here :) Hope to see you back real soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels.

83%

staff in a great location are stay and would come back and to others! L

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for sharing your thoughts. We are so pleased you enjoyed your great location! We loved having you here :) Hope to see you back real soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels

54%

If you book on line, you don't find out till you arrive that shared rooms are in the basement just above Kings Cross underground . There are no airvents or any form of air circulation and the rumble of trains is incessant. You then get told that you can upgrade to a better room for a "small" fee which brings the price up to or above other hostels in the same area. Bit of a con job. Also, there was a fire alarm while we were there. The fire alarm going off did not over-ride the electronic secur

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for the review. We labelled London Underground rooms on Hostelworld and other websites. They are located on the underground, therefore, there is no windows but we provide Air Conditioner in each room. I don't understand what do you mean by "did not over-ride the electronic secur". We run a fire alarm testing every Tuesday morning to make sure everything is in order. Next time, please inform reception of any issue. We would be glad to solve it. Safe travels

83%

Perfect location about three minutes from King's Cross and seven minutes from the British Library. WI-Fi is poor in sleeping rooms but fine in the designated common area. Staff is friendly and helpful. The water in the showers is icy cold so prepare for a very brisk wake up. Beds are comfortable and the place seems generally clean. Stay here for the location.

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. The staff is very pleased with your lovely words. The WI-FI is now working properly throughout the building, we had a minor breakdown. We loved having you here :) Hope to see you back real soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels.

60%

Shared bathrooms. Very Noisy. Good location if you need an early train.


31%

The bathroom smells like sewer gas. The halls smell like mold. I put a 5 pound deposit for the key card and was told it would automatically reverse in a couple of days. I haven't seen the reversal yet. If it doesn't reverse it means your organization and staff are stealing from me. Most reversals have to be done with the original card. I will be contacting my credit card company to have the original deposit reversed.


63%

The location was excellent, but the staff was rude and unhelpful. Not a fun place to travel if you are traveling alone, but if you are with friends the price and location are quite good for London.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. The staff is always ready to help with any queries. I suppose you didn't follow the Hostel rules and you didn't like to be advised. If there is ever an issue, please just tell reception and it will be fixed immediately. We are here to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable so letting us know about any concerns you have is appreciated. Keystone Team

74%

Many hidden charges ..facilities neither shop in the bathroom .To store luggage need to pay as well . early check and fees if the time for out prolonged

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! There is a charge if you don't respect the Hostel rules. Check out finish at 10AM and you left the room at 11:30AM. The luggage room is free before check-in and during your stay with us. We are sorry you didn't totally enjoyed your stay with us. Safe travels

(246 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback