X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
3385 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

kitcken clear,people nice,but no elevator,if you have big luggage,you need to notice!

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

This hostel is one of London's better ones. The bright spacious common areas, clean sheets and comfortableness of the bed all contributed to a great stay. However the cleanliness of the bathrooms could definitely be improved and the size of the lockers as they were not big enough to fit a standard 50L backpack. Also, be aware that there is no stove or oven in the guest kitchen.


71%

Really good location, pretty much can get anywhere in a second! Nice clean rooms with lockers. Not good for a solo traveller, not much atmosphere at all, not good for meeting people. But awesome place for just a bed and location! Breakfast was not really anything at all, but close to heaps of nice food shops!


80%

Very friendly staff!! We ha a nice stay although we had to change room after the first night. The first room was very nice (3 bedroom) and we even had our own toilet. The second one not really, was kind of dirty and all over with spider webs!! To us it looked more like a cellar than a hostel room, a little painting would do! Also, it was very loud (from the bar above) and we could hear the tube passing. The kitchen is nice and you get free breakfast every morning. Overall impression good.


66%

REALLY DIRT PLACE!!! We woke up one night whith a MOUSE in our room. We called the staff and they did nothing about it. In the last breakfast in the hostel we saw another MOUSE in the kitchen. We were wondering where the mouses had been, maybe in the food we ate. SO DISGUSTING!!! They also don't clean the rooms, just take the trash of the toilets. If you don't care about cleaning or health, its a good place to stay. Great localization!!!


83%

Awesome time. Stayed a week in a co-ed 8-bed, but spent most of my time out in the city. Cafe area was clean and nice, really nice to have it open 24/7. Lovely staff. Bathroom smelled at high usage times (morning and evening), and my room smelled like feet at times, but I think that was just the unfortunate part of sharing a room with 7 others.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Absolutely brilliant place to stay for someone on a low budget. Cheaper than other hostels in the area, and still very clean and friendly. Also very secure: you need a hostel key fob not only to get in to the hostel itself but to get to the dorms as well. A locker is provided for each bed in dorms (just bring or buy a padlock). The only "downside" was that the dorm room was a bit hot at night, but the beds were super comfy so you'll sleep like a baby regardless.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I have two quibbles (other than the lack of dfisabled access which I understand can't be solved due to lack of space). One is that you really, really could do with a prominent "MInd the step" sign on the door to the upstairs, to alert people to the unexpected 6" drop which is immediately on the other side of the door. The other is that it would be a good idea to have duckboards in the showers, propped against the walls by the sinks, so people have somewhere dry to put things such as shoes.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The matras was a desaster!

  • 29th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

The property was convenient in terms of location. There was a lack of control over the allocation of the beds. I was allocated a certain bed, but when I went there it was occupied by somebody else. The staff resolved the issue by remaking the bed, but it still leaves a sour taste. It was not possible to change the temperature of the water coming out from the showerhead and it was swinging between hot and cold temperature which was unpleasant.


100%

Very friendly staff, excellent value for money, very secure and safe feeling, free wifi, breakfast included (toast and cereal, tea, orange juice) better than some hotels i've stayed in! Will definitely stay here again next time i'm in London - why pay £100 for a hotel? Perfect location next to Kings Cross station. There is also a backpackers bar around the corner (we weren't backpackers but you can still go in) - it has a roof top terrace and the drinks are cheap by London standards!! :)

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

you can't hire a towel, you have to buy it. There is no lift in the building, narrow stairs, make it very hard if you have a big suitcase. you have to pay to leave your luggage there after you check out.


77%

Inconvenience as wi-fi is only available at ground floor and not throughout the whole building. In addition, area at ground floor is kind of small and squeeze. It is not really comfortable if there is a lot of people around.


86%

Had a great stay here, and would stay again. There wasn't much space in the room for bags, and the water saving tap in the showers was annoying, but other than that it was great. Free breakfast, friendly staff and great location!

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel. Will certainly visit again in the future!

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I stayed there 6 nights and I had no problem, even though I was in a dormitory with 15 other girls. The room and bed were clean, sheet too, everything worked well, the only small negative point would be the toilets and the shower all in the same room because when you just want to go the the toilet and everyone took a shower before you arrive it's all wet and not really practical but it's not that big of a deal so! The employees were really nice and helpful. And the location is perfect!


74%

Downstairs corridors and rooms smelled very bad. A combination of damp, sweat and urine throughout the lower ground floor. Our room only had one small lamp to light up the whole room. No ceiling lights. Only one plug socket worked which made things even more interesting. Disappointing and probably would not stay again. Sorry to say.

  • 20th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel is ok, there were a few things which i didn't find comfortable. Our room was in the top and the windows couldn't open. And the showers were 3 floors down! But the location was pretty good, there was one good restaurant close by. The staff friendly and it was clean.


80%

Great hostel. Watch your step on those stairs though! Definitely use the railing. Annoying that the wifi only works in the common room.


86%

Excellent location,clean rooms/facilites and quiet hostel. I had a private room, it was underground, meaning we had no windows and no wifi access.


(250 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback