X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
3902 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Perfect except for the showers that are barely acceptable!: each shower is 20cm away from the toilets! Great staff and location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Jerome Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always good to get feedback from our guests so we know the exact areas that need to be improved. We are continously renovating our facilities in order to meet our customer needs. We do have lots of showers and toilets located in different parts of the hostel, always ask at reception for assistance. I do hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. Best wishes Orla

86%

The staff and the atmosphere at the hostel were great! We had a really fun time. Also, the beds were really comfortable! The showers were on the small sides though, and could've been cleaned a bit better. But, overall we're really happy with our stay at Keytone, and we'll definitely stay there again!

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

We stayed here three times, staying in private rooms. The first two times, we got given one of the downstairs "London Underground" rooms and it was excellent. The third time we were given one of the upstairs "duchess" rooms and it was terrible. The bathroom was grotty beyond words, noisy people were running up and down the corridors all night and the fir alarm randomly went off at 1am. It's pot luck which set of rooms you get - one possibility is great, one terrible.


66%

In an excellent location with very comfy beds! Has a decent common room, but wouldn't like to see how busy it is when the hostel is busier. The shower facilities are not the greatest, right next to the toilet. People staying the floor above were extremely loud past 12pm which really didn't help - would have been a decent night if they'd kept a little quieter.


66%

Great location, but the common room wasn't great, wasn't the cleanest hostel, and when I asked to rent a charger they said they'd loaned out there last one.


86%

It was a great experience to spend there my days. Specially the staff, there is a spanish guy in reception, Sergio is his name, and he was so lovely and helpful with us so I am very thankful to him.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Elena Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

86%

Exactly what I needed. Cheap, clean bed in a central location.

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Thomas Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

80%

We stayed in the ensuite and it felt very safe because of the lack of windows. The beds are comfy and the location is great, barely a five minute walk from St Pancras. The staff were also great. The only bad thing was the shower. The water was ICE COLD so I had to walk around smelling like sweat for the rest of the day.

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The location was great and, for a short trip, it was fine. However, the staff were not very friendly or overly helpful. They could do what they were asked and answer simple questions, but it seemed like they might have been understaffed. There were always long lines and they seemed tired and stressed. As for the facilities, they could really use more showers in the basement level and the toilets were quite dirty. The bedrooms were totally fine though and, like I said, it was just a short stay.


83%

we stayed in room 1E. It was a pitty that we heard so much noise, somewhere inside the building was very loud music. The bed was good.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Frans Thank you for taking the time to write a review, because of the location of the hostel I am afraid it is very hard to avoid the noise but on the plus side it is so close to Kings cross tube station and St Pancras International. Always ask at reception if there is a quieter room vacant as we would be very happy to move you. We do hope you will come and stay with us in the future. All the best Orla

74%

Pros to this location are the value and the location. You have to explore all your options to get great prices. Located near kings cross you can catch any train to any part of London. Cons the hall ways and the rooms are smelly. But it's a hostel! Overall great FIRST time hostel experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Ricky Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! I am sorry that you found your room and hallway smelly. Always go to reception and let them know if you are unhappy with any aspect of your room and if we can move you to another room, we certainly will. We do hope you will come and stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

69%

I guess thats just London. For the price that buys you small palace elsewhere else you will get tiny room with no wifi inside, window that cannot be opened, where private twin room will get you bunk bed (which is not comfortable at all and squeak a lot) and you don't even get that basic toast and jam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi David Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I do apologise if you were unhappy with your room and did not realize there were bunk beds in the room, always go to reception and if they have another room vacant they will gladly allow you to change rooms. We have WiFi in the common area and reception and we will have it in the rooms in the very near future. There are Tea/Coffee making facilities in the kitchen and you are very welcome to prepare your own food. Best wishes Orla

100%

I had a great stay in a place with a super smooth vibe and totally cool staff.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Matthew Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

63%

I could not sleep as people in the room next to mine were talking until 4 in the morning!!!!!

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Claude Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our hostel. Always go to reception if you are unhappy with any aspect of your stay. With regards to this incident our staff would be happy to ask the guests in the room next to yours to keep the noise down or go to our common area if they wanted to continue to talk. I do hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. Best wishes Orla

77%

It was a pity, that there was no continental breakfast, how it is announced on the website. Furthermore, there is no real kitchen to cook and prepare some meal.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Nico Thank you for taking the time to write a review. . As the hostel is relatively new we are always trying to improve our facilities so that our guests have a very enjoyable stay. That why we appreciate feedback so that we know the exact areas that need to be improved and hopefully in the future we can provide our guests with an excellent service. Thanks again for all your suggestions, I will gladly discuss them with the management. Best wishes Orla

86%

The location of the hostel was brilliant, not even 5 minutes away from King's Cross and Saint Pancras, directly beside a small supermarket and with some nice pubs in the neighborhood. The staff was really sweet, friendly and a great help. Unfortunately one room we stayed in had a really strange smell, there was neither a hotplate nor a stove in the kitchen and the Wifi didn't work for the first two days of our stay.

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

We stayed there just one night before leaving London after a road trip in south England, the place was easy to find, the staff was nice too, and very helpful. But I would just say that the room was too pricy for it has no windows ... Appart from that everything was clean and confortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Laura Thank you for taking the time to write a review. On Hostel world, it does mention that this room is a basic room and is located below ground level with no windows, all these rooms do, however contain A.C. As your arrival date was on a Saturday our rooms are little more expensive but compared to other hostels in the area I believe our prices are quite reasonable. I do hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. Best wishes Orla

83%

We've been there 4 or 5 times now. It's our first address in London. The main reason is the location. But this time we had booked a 3 bed dorm which had a bunk bed where two people had to sleep at the bottom bed. It was big enough, but it was strange and not mentioned on the website or during the booking. We could not change the room, but at least we got a second duvet.


89%

A decent hostel, value for money, helpful staff, good location, comfy beds! Would ask for a ticket system for luggage being left in the hold, such a helpful facility for tourists, but it felt like anyone could walk in and take whatever they fancied! Other than that, would definitely return!

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Nathan Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! Regarding your luggage security, the receptionist should of labelled your bags so that when you return for your luggage we check the name on the bags. The luggage room is locked at all times and only the receptionist has a key but thank you for your observation. We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. Best wishes Orla

54%

The staff in the hostel were REALLY unfriendly. Almost unpolite. The attitude was 'we are too cool for the school' And sorry but... no way! The Aircon was broken, WiFi was broken, no hot water. Too cool to say sorry when we asked, like 'don´t give me that ...'

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Blanca Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry if you found our staff unfriendly as there is no excuse for this. Regarding the water when there alot of guests using the water it just needs alittle time to reheat. The A.C should of been working as we just had them serviced but again I will investigate this. The WiFi was also down in the businesses beside us as there was an outside fault in the area. Thanks again for bringing all these matters to my attention. Orla

(179 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback