X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
3826 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Having wifi only in the common room was a pity. The common room wasn't that big and always filled with drunk people, who you had to be with just to receive or send some emails. Not many power outlets in the room... Beware of London Underground rooms that have no windows whatsoever. I had a reservation for one of those without knowing because it wasn't possible to choose from regular/underground in HostelWorld's website.

  • 27th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Amazing location, great staff, however the facilities were only average. No free wifi was available in the rooms. It should be. I know this is advertised, however it led to the common room being extremely crowded, noisy and at times a little out of control. The staff never said anything to one man in particular, who regularly got drunk beyond control (every night). The facilities were average. Its annoying to not have warmer water, and a push button shower handle. Made for luke-warm showers.


80%

The location is great, very close to Kings Cross station and bus stops. It is secured with magnetic keys. It is also clean. The facilities has a minus as the hostel does not have lift so you need to leave your big luggage in the store if you do not want to bring up stair. The lockers inside rooms are so small that you even could not put your backpack inside. The staff are very friendly.


63%

Location and staff are fine. The room was freezing cold. The beds are noisy. The showers were cold! Not even warm. Having stayed here for three nights, I have returned home with a cold.


66%

It was unusual to have a bed in the bathroom. (Room Omega 4)

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

The staff were NOT nice, NOT helpful

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry if you found our staff unhelpful and unfriendly, as there is no excuse for this. We do train our staff to a very high standard so that they can look after our guests in the best possible way. However, I will be sure to look into this matter! I do hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. All the best Orla

74%

Nice place for just one night. Wifi was good even though it was only in the commen room, beds were nice and there was hot water so I was happy. Wouldn't do a long stay here though


86%

A good hostel. Very close (about 200m) from Kings Cross station. Private suite is small but is good for a place to sleep at the end of the day. Private bathroom facilities were clean. Hot water was not consistent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear the positive feedback! As the hostel is relatively new we are always trying to improve our facilities, so that our guests have a very enjoyable stay. That why we appreciate feedback, from our guests so that we know the exact areas that need to be improved. We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

91%

stayed here before and it's great! As far as hostels go I mean, if you expect a five star hotel: don't stay here. But if youre looking for a nice place to stay a few nights this is perfect!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

69%

Our stay in Keystone hostel was okay. The tiny room (a private room for 3) was in the basement, so no windows. There was also no heating in the room, but the warm blankets were sufficient. The room smelled a little of damp, but the smell was not overwhelming. Some air freshener was in use, but that made air quality only worse. The phone charging system did not work, but for £2 you could leave your luggage there for the day. The attitude of the staff was friendly. 5/10.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The location of the hostel couldn't be any better, only 2 minutes walking distance to King's Cross and only a few paces away from a supermarket. Staff was helpful and bathrooms were clean enough. If you want a cheap and comfortable place to sleep in London, this is the place to be.

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very clean, close from station, warm water, staff was very helpful. But please note; no lifts! People with very large and heavy luggage may want to find somewhere with an elevator. The stairways were rather narrow. And breakfast is not included. However there are lots of good franchise places to eat near the hostel and station.


74%

I stayed at a 16 people bedroom. The room was a bit cold for my friends because we could find the radiator. The showers were only on the 1st floor and we were on the 3rd. The Lockers are too small for backpackers but the offer a Safe room for bags near the reception, so thats not that efficient. The Location of the Hostel is perfect, u can go anywhere by walking or take the tubes.

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

There is an automatic light in the hallway and a window above the room's door, which makes the entire room light up at each person passing by all night long. This and the difficulty to reach the rooms should be changed. It would also not be luxury to have a second hanger, a chair, and free towels for private rooms, seen the price. Service also could be more friendly.

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

3 private dorm w bathroom First of all I'd like to point out that the location of the Hostel is perfect! The staff was really friendly + helped whenever it was necessary. The kitchen was cute, nice to hang out . The rooms were alright - I didn't expect much that's probably why I wasn't disappointed. Minus: not properly closed window, no Wifi in our room, smelly bathroom. All in all it's a place where you can def stay for a few days, you're not gonna spend that much time in there anyways ;)

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Nice location, super close to kings cross underground station. The hostel is not a party one, very calm. Bad bad toilets, gets all wet. Room space is soo small, would not recommend.


80%

Simple hostel, but good for our only night in London in the end of the trip. Location is amazing. Thanks!


89%

All the front staff were very nice and super helpful. Including Hugo, CJ, and the Romanian guy

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

66%

The location is perfect, but the staff wasn't very friendly and while it was on the website, there were no towels (sheets were offered instead), there were no computers with internet and there are no cooking facilities (except a microwave). The room had a terrible smell and there was no window to open, only an airconditioning system that just kept spreading the smell. It was a fine stay, especially because of the location, but not a very pleasant one.

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice place for who wants to stay near by King's Cross Station, very friendly welcome desk but... You get what you pay for : underground small box without windows, and in my room, an awful smell of sweat and mâle body, I doubt any AC was changing the air. But besides that, clean bed, clean sheets, very clean showers (without the bulky creepy electric box you can see in british shower usually, ahah ).


(190 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback