X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3010 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Fantastic location for anyone arriving by train, so close to St. Pancras. Very friendly staff. I stayed in a 16 bed female dorm, but it was very well laid out, and did allow an amount of privacy. Bathrooms and kitchen were basic but clean and well maintained. Will definitley stay there again.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

77%

Toilet and bathroom are clean. Staff are nice. But our room was very noise. Our room was in basement. We heard people walk around, talking in next room and noise from underground when train pass through. We couldn't sleep. Luckily we stayed 1 night only.


54%

I wasn't given back the £6 fee in case something breaks. I ordered a private, quiet room for two and we ended up in a room for 4 with two bunk beds, hopefully no one was there but it was way smaller that what was expected and really diferent from the photo on the website. The staf didn't wan't to change the room and said we had this room because the hostel was full but we reserved the room online eary so it wasn't fair. Otherwise, very clean and comfortable but no curtains on the bunk beds.


60%

One man in my room was behaving so bad (noisy, disgusting, no self-control, drunk) that police was called to take him away. But the staff tried to be helpful. The rest of the time was rather peaceful. About rooms and corridors - they are quite small/narrow, so there's small air circulation that causes a constant smell of toilets and detergents (unfortunately - particular smell of the hostel). The kitchen was crowdy in the breakfast time - too little toasters, sometimes lack of milk.

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Excellent facilities, and location. two block from underground and train station, so many restaurants around. Bunk beds comfy, common bathrooms, showers clean. No complaints.


86%

Very nice hostel, staff available, clean room


100%

Excelent, Ill stay there over and over again :)

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Showers last 6 seconds every time you push the button. The only thing worth staying there for is the connectivity to the rest of the city


91%

Took a while to check us in as the staff were swapping shifts, but once we had our room it was clean and tidy. Comfortable beds with plenty of bedding. Rooms are loud, as right next to the road, but the location is excellent for access to the tube, literally a two minute walk away. Good toilet and shower facilities, clean and spacious. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Good internet access.

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Extremely noisy till small hours of the night. Also poor cleanliness. All this no doubt the boarders' fault rather than the management's directly, but the place will only suit the specially undemanding backpacker. Plus points: friendly staff and great location, but even granting the latter, the cost is too high.

  • 23rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

I still have not received the money from the key deposit which seems unfriendly and has left me feeling some what put off even though it isn't a lot of money - it is the principle. Otherwise I am not sure I would elect to stay in a hostel again, the quarters were quite small and the bathroom never got dry. However it was convenient and I felt safe.

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Good value of money. Very near to train station. Staff were friendly. Room was decent, though smelled a bit. But being a 16 beds dorm, this is understandable. Breakfast served was simple. The bread served was beyond expiry date, though it was still edible, people might worry bout it.


86%

A pretty good hostel, the staff wasn't very friendly but helped with everything we needed to sort inside the hostel, not much helpful to point attractions or even Pubs. The most amazing thing is the location, the price and the bathrooms which were always clean at least in the morning and evening. The hostel has lockers by your bed and the luggage room seemed pretty safe. Nothing to complain! Thank you for the stay

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location. Staff were okay. I thought 2 pounds to store our bags after we checked out was a bit steep. Place is currently having some renovations done so moving to the common room/bar area was a bit annoying. The common room and bar need a bit more atmosphere. Bar has free wifi but common room you have to pay which is weird. Beds were awesome had such a good nights sleep there. Overall pretty good.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The best aspect is the location just next to king cross station.The room was in good condition and the atmosphere is friendly.The only thing I would complain is about charging extra services...after check-out I left my luggage in the store room for just some hours and I needed ten minutes the computer for printing my ticket flight...everything were charged


49%

Well, it was a bit disappointing. My phone and watch were stolen - and I was among many robberies that weekend. The staff had a "well, what are you gunna do?" kind of attitude to it all. Atmosphere in the hostel was altogether a little damp - who could blame the people, given that there were thieves among us?


60%

Very very noisy, hard to stay asleep at night!

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

It would be great to propose a larger breakfast ( at least orange juice and some fruits or pastries ) It's a shame that the underground station just i front of the hotel is closed

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Room was surprisingly bright and spacious, with okay bed. Shame about the noise from the busy district outside, but the location is right next to Kings Cross so you can easily get around. Place was fine, but I was appalled by the fact the SHOWERS are actually in the same cubicle as the toilets. Pretty disgusting!!! I certainly wouldn't shower there... Tiny lounge and no social-ness to the place. Don't expect to make friends or socialise here. Literally is just a bed for the night.


80%

Ill come back again

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


(190 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback