X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2703 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

poor breakfast orange juice and some other bakery products than only toasts would be nice


89%

We stayed here on a Sunday night. The location was great for us as we were getting the train to Manchester the following morning from Euston and it is only a 5 minute walk. The toilets were clean and the showers were too but it would be worth wearing flipflops in the shower I think. The room and the bed linen was also very clean and the bed was comfortable. We stayed in the basement in a twin private room (bunk bed). We could hear the tube trains under the floor in the morning.

  • 24th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! Because the hostel is quite central and beside the Eurostar and Kings cross tube station, it is very hard to avoid the noise. We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

57%

I was only here for a night, but I felt super uncomfortable the whole time. It was very hard to find my around, the building was a maze. The kitchen was attached to a bar and was very messy. The wifi was spotty. The beds were pretty comfortable, but the bathrooms were very tight. It was alright for just one night, but I didn't feel very welcomed by the staff either. It was only a minute from King's Cross which was a plus. Overall, it was alright, but it could have been better.


86%

Sheets were a bit untidy when we arrived. The place is in a very convenient location for travel, which was the most important part. A bit expensive, but not in terms of London I guess. I would stay here again as it provided what I needed, a simple, decently clean place, to rest after long days of travel. I like its proximity to the Tube lines, as I did not have to change trains usually. Free breakfast was a pleasant surprise even it was just toast and jam.

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location in London and all together a very nice place to stay. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were clean. I disliked the fact that the wifi was only accessible in the common room/bar, though. Most of the time, the staff was very helpful, but there were employees I encountered that were not very respectful or helpful. An average hostel.

  • 21st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kathleen Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear the positive feedback! I will gladly pass your comment about the Wi Fi on to the management. I am very sorry if you found some of our staff unhelpful. We do train our staff to a very high standard so that they can look after our guests in the best possible way. However, I will be sure to look into this matter! I do hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. All the best Orla

34%

Did not feel safe. Gross private double twin that smelled. Staff was indifferent. Had to PAY for a towel. Shower did not work. Breakfast/kitchen waa not stocked or clean. Next to Kings Cross station and British Library and Starbucks. Not worth the price.

  • 21st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kendyl Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry that you had a bad experience at our hostel. As the hostel is relatively new we are always trying to improve our facilities. All the rooms contain A.C with a remote control to regulate temp. All areas of the the hostel are cleaned twice daily as hygiene is one of our top priority. Always go to reception if something does not work as someone in maintenance will gladly help! I will happily take your comments on board. Orla

91%

WiFi only in the bar, which closed quite early 10 or 11 I believe, which was kind of annoying. Overall though a great hostel, incredibly close to kings cross st pancras, pretty great value.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! I will gladly pass your comment about the Wi Fi on to the management. We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

77%

we had the twin private room, it was downstairs which in the hall smelled a bit damp. the bathrooms and shwers were really clean and there were always cleaners around in the morning and afternoon keeping the place clean. helpful staff and great location, less than a minute walk to kings cross underground station which was only two stops from the heart of london. nothing amazing about the hostel except for location and staff were good, would stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Laura Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear the positive feedback! I will be sure to check the hallway for a smell of dampness and thanks again for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

54%

The staff varied, one was nice the other one was not helpful and not polite and. I didn't like the atmosphere in the common areas, and felt in-secure because of the people hanging around the main entrance both inside and outside. The shower and toilets was disgusting and not cleaned enough times during the day. The lockers in the room had a strange size and all the lockers close to my bed was occupied. Bad ventilation and the nasty carpets also made a really bad climate inside the room.

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

For the amount of money you pay, a lot more should be included: The fact that you have to buy a lock to use the locker and pay money to use the computer super quick for 5 min is ridiculous. Also, a 5 lb towel rental is very expensive, as most hostels only require 1 or 2 euros. Free wifi only in the common room (and if you want to have wifi in your room you need to pay extra). Hostel was clean, bathrooms were clean, and bed was super comfortable. Breakfast average. A lot of hidden fees though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Sylvia Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As the hostel is relatively new we are always trying to find ways to improve our facilities. It is always good to get feedback from our guests so we know the exact areas that need to be improved. We will gladly take all your comments on board and try and see if we can improve these area's in the future. I do hope you will stay with us again. All the best Orla

80%

Bon rapport qualité/prix, surtout pour une ville comme Londres où il faut souvent dépenser beaucoup pour des auberges crasseuses ! Même si mal isolé et bruyant, je recommande. Good quality/price, clean. Even more for an hostel in London, which are often very expensive and dirty.

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

100%

Really Good location, friendly staff and nice rooms! I really recommend this place!

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

91%

They were working, so it was noisy in the morning, but besides that the hostel was very good. Access to the hallway of the dorms with a key only. Free wifi in common room. Location is very central, 10 minutes from Oxfort Street, 10 minutes from Camden Town.

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's great to hear the positive feedback! I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. I do apologise about the noise in the morning, the hostel is undergoing some renovations at the moment. We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

51%

Terrible showers/toilets, dirty, mouldy, smelly! Had to go down 3 levels just to get to them! Beds are average! Way overpriced!


69%

There is no lift, so if you have heay luggage it might be a problem. The ladies' bathroom on the 1st floor only has 4 toilets and the sinks are way too small. Furthermore only one has a mirror, while the others don't. There is only one power outlet working at the bar. The location is excellent, the price was ok and the Spanish guy at the reception was very polite!

  • 11th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic location, great staff and large clean rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

71%

Wifi is only in seating area. Otherwise it's five pounds per day. Don't forget shower shoes! Be prepared for stairs and tight quarters if you're in the 16 bed room.

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As the hostel is relatively new we are always trying to improve our facilities so that, our guests have a very enjoyable stay, so thank you for your feedback. We will gladly take your comments on board and see if we can improve these area's in the future. I do hope you will stay with us again All the best Orla

80%

I don't understand why the shower is so close to the toilets, that's a really bad choice.

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Olivier Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As the hostel is relatively new we are always trying to improve our facilities. That's why we appreciate feedback from our guests so that we know the exact areas that need to be improved. I will gladly take your comments on board and see if we can improve this area in the future. I do hope you will stay with us again All the best Orla

51%

I spent one night in Keystone. I lived in a private twin bed with my friend. This room was very small and no wifi provided. If you want to use the wifi , you will need to pay. In the shared bathroom, the lock of the door was broken which made me feel unsafe and no privacy. One good thing is that this hostel is very closer to St Pancras station.


89%

Excellent location, clean facilities!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

(147 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback