X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2704 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Stayed here 1 night. Location's perfect, right across from King's Cross tube, so no complaints about inevitable street noise. Stayed in an 8-bed dorm on the 1st floor with 2 windows (which don't open->smell) facing the street, bed was clean, cosy and warm, mattress rather saggy though. Basic breakfast included (very busy kitchen, no room to move around) was ok. I do have one complaint though: the staff did not check the tag when I picked up my luggage from the storage, I could've taken anyone's.

  • 28th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Marlene Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate feedback from our guests so we know the exact areas that need to be improved. I do apologise that you could not open the window in your room but there is A.C and a remote control to regulate the temperate so this should of helped to freshen up the room. As for your luggage the staff should of looked at the name on the bag and checked it was definitely yours I will speak to reception about this. All the best Orla

89%

Great location, nice beds and decent bathroom. Bar area is a nice addition. Only complaint is that the women's bathrooms could get a bit messy by the end of the day.


43%

Dont stay in the twin rooms, they are downstair in a mill due smelling basement and have no windows and the beds are terrible to try sleep on. There are not enough bathroom facilities and there is no sound proofing. Upstairs (3 bed room) is much better but beds still bad and loud noise from the street. It's also not a place to meet people, little atmosphere. They also charge you to store your bags on checkout day. But the location is an easy walk from Kings Cross Station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi J., Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry that you had a unpleasant stay at our hostel. As the hostel is relatively new we are always trying to improve our facilities. Therefore, It is always good to get feedback from our guests so we know the exact areas that need to be improved. On Hostel world, it does mention that this room is a basic room and is located below ground level with no windows, all these rooms do, however contain A.C. Thanks again Orla

63%

(+) *Staff members are great. They are nice and helpful *Location good, just 1 minute away from Kings Cross (-) * Distance between the top and bottom bunk bed is the least I`ve ever seen (It has to be impossible for the person to sleep who has the bottom bed) * In a 4 bed room, there are only 2 tiny lockers, *I only saw showers on the 1st floor (It`s a 4 floor hostel) *Free Wifi only in designated areas

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi M., Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As the hostel is relatively new we are always trying to improve our facilities to a very high standard. We appreciate feedback from our guests so we know the exact areas that need to be improved. Just to let you know there are showers on the ground level and also on the first/second level on the other side of the reception but for the future it would be good to consider more shower rooms around the hostel. All the best Orla

94%

Location, staff, atmosphere - all perfect! The private bedrooms look more like hotel than hostel, nice and clean. The only downside: there aren't any windows in the private rooms, so the air humidity gets unbelievably high and towels don't dry at all. ;) But that's really the only thing - I will definitely choose that hostel again.


89%

Walked into my room 8 bed dorm at 11pm with two guys already snoring loudly... Wasn't having that. So asked the guy at the desk to change me to another room and he surprise upgraded me to an empty four bed! Very clean, quiet, and excellent service. The place is a bit of a maze, but has a good price for a great location. All the dorms that I saw were very nice. Bring your own towel cause buying one is unnecessarily expensive. Hostel should rent towels.

  • 23rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi T., Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! I will pass on your suggestion about the towels to the management. We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

74%

Very well located hostel. next to a a big subway and train station. Lots of options to eat next to the hostel. In spite of some modern stuff, the build was old, and the rooms were small.


43%

Smells like sweaty gross feet

  • 21st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi K., Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hostel. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and I will be sure to check your room for any odour. The room you stayed in, is below ground level and does not have windows which is mentioned on Hostel world but it does contain A.C. I hope this does not deter you from staying with us in the future! All the best Orla

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next » last »
(148 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback