X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
3185 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Wifi is horrible at this hostel. Pay 5 pound extra for wifi that still does not work in your room!

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Was annoying as a huge school group, quite young, were also in and took up the showers in the morning and made a lot of noise but not the hostel's fault. Staff were helpful. Beds were very comfy! Air con in our room (DA) was also a lifesaver!

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was pretty good here, the only niggles were: that rather than renting towels you had to buy them - is that a new thing or what?; and the upper stairwells were a bit tight - but that's the UK for you.


97%

One of our dormmates had her passport and some credit cards stolen although they were locked up in her locker. Be sure to bring a very sturdy lock so it cannot be tampered with. Otherwise, this is a great hostel. Great staff, like Andrew and Carlos!!


74%

The best thing about this hostel is its location - just two blocks away from King's Cross. Otherwise, the breakfast is pretty bland as was everything else.


83%

We had a really nice stay. The location is perfect, next to King's Cross & St Pancras stations, with many transport links. Our room was clean and the atmosphere not too noisy for a hostel. It would have been even better with WIFI internet access avaibable in the room (as well as in the common room).

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Good: The free WiFi is very good and smooth. It has a big kitchen to use. Bad: No windows for room. The breakfast has no one to attend while the milk is not supplied for corn flakes. The staff come late to settle the situation. The queue is long for check-in and check-out. Quite a lot of procedure. Sometimes the door of entrance would be locked.


80%

Good location and fair price. Very friendly staff. We stayed in a 3 bed private room. Toilet, bathroom and room were clean. It was our first time in London and we had a pleasant stay.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

The hostel charges you for things that most hostels provide for free (computer access, wifi, luggage storage after check-out).


49%

Bad experience - reservation was split in 2, so we had to checkout/checkin mid-reserv. & change rooms. Rooms were in basement with only an air conditioner for ventilation, so a stale damp smell was present the whole time. The hostel wants 6 pound deposit for each key, and it's credit/debit card only, no cash(???). The breakfast was only bread, butter/jelly/other spread. Rooms were above the tube, so we heard the train every time it passed. Very noisy. Location was nice.

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

VERY easy access to King's Cross.


86%

Keystone Hostel is well-situated near the Kings Cross-St. Pancras station and makes travel around London quite convenient. The facilities were clean and well-maintained. The 16 bed dorm we stayed in was divided by a partition wall into two 8 bed rooms, which made the room less enormous and a bit quieter. The layout of the building is a bit confusing but I would recommend a stay at this hostel to anyone passing through London!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

86%

perfect, just to improve the cleaning, bed linen is not spotless.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

I was really pleased with this hostel. It was the first time I booked a bed there. I loved the location right next to King's Cross station and the staff was very helpful. Finally, the room, showers and toilets were clean for a change compared to other hostels I had stayed in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

86%

Have stayed in a few hostels and have to say this is the best one so far. Was clean, friendly and well priced. Will be staying again in the future.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

66%

Bathroom was ok but can be better. should be kept clean. and the Wifi. it keeps going on and off!! besides that, everything was great! thank you J

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

the hostel was pleasantly clean and not as noisy as we had read in other reviews. The staff were helpful and we had an enjoyable stay. thank you.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

80%

I think you may need to update your photos on your website as they come across as a bit misleading.

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

+ the location was excellent - close to Kings Cross :-) - the hostel charges a key deposit of GBP 6.00 ... this is the first time I have come across a key deposit to be paid upfront - the bathroom layout is strange ... they are individual cubicles containing: toilet, basin and shower (which is in the middle). This means that the whole thing will flood when you shower - so beware. - I had to wait a long time for the receptionist who was not at his desk - bad value for money for a 16 bed dorm


97%

Fantastic location for anyone arriving by train, so close to St. Pancras. Very friendly staff. I stayed in a 16 bed female dorm, but it was very well laid out, and did allow an amount of privacy. Bathrooms and kitchen were basic but clean and well maintained. Will definitley stay there again.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

(224 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback