X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4325 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

It was a great stay in a good central hostel near Kings Cross . Perfect for those how staying for the first time in London.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for sharing your thoughts after your stay with us. We loved having you here :) Hope to see you back real soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels.

77%

Good overall. The internet in the lobby was poor however. It was very slow, so I didn't want to use it.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for sharing your thoughts after your stay with us. The WI-FI is now working properly :) Hope to see you back real soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels.

66%

The receptionist Hugo couldn't be less friendly if he tried, could have smiled

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for sharing your thoughts after your stay with us. We train our staff to be friendly and professional. I was disappointed to hear that we had not quite met your expectations on this occasion but we really do appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes

74%

I can't really comment on many of the facilities as I arrived late and left for an early morning flight but the hostel seemed fine. If you are to stay here though, request the bed furthest away from the windows. It was a close battle between being up all night due to extreme heat or opening the window and suffering with the constant traffic and noise pollution of city centre London.

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for sharing your thoughts after your stay with us. We loved having you here :) Hope to see you back real soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels.

94%

They must emphasise how is the feeling of staying in the underground dorms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for sharing your thoughts after your stay with us. We loved having you here :) Hope to see you back real soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels.

57%

We were stolen. Somebody took a M&M bag with a gift from our room (LU10). The guy of reception (Hugo) told us that nobody else had a key of our room. That is impossible because people of its staff went inside for cleaning (and the first day we had a problem with one of our three keys and they had to make a copy, so why did they do that with no other key?). We felt so bad for this! We lost 8£, but more than that we lost condifence and safety. This is the only one hostel where we were stolen!

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for leaving us a review. We are really sorry for your loss. Our cleaners go to the room to clean the toilet everyday but i can assure you that everyone is professional. We had a problem with the locker in your room,so we changed the lock and the keys. The other rooms were fine, that's why we didn't had to change the other room keys. You are making a serious accusation to the hostel. We do hope that you find your M&M bag. Best wishes

54%

The room was ok, of course I should mention stained sheets and hair left in the room, but ok, whatever. The bathroom was a mess, the shower came apart as soon as I touched it, the toilet had a sign "do not use" and nobody at the reception even knew what happened. Luckily I met a handyman who told me they were doing repairs and I could use the toilet "maybe later". Yeah right. So, to recap: soiled room, bathroom out of order. Good times.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for leaving us a review. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our property so if there is ever an issue, please just tell reception and it will be fixed immediately. We are here to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable so letting us know about any concerns you have is appreciated. Best Wishes

86%

The location near Kings Cross station was great, Hugo at the reception was helpful and friendly. The shared room and ensuite were good and clean.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We loved having you here :) Hope to see you back real soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels.

60%

The location was good, it's next to the Kings Cross/St Pancras station which is perfect. The beds were pretty comfortable. The wifi was awful and you could only get it in the bar or terrace. The bathrooms and showers were disgusting. The trash can was full, the toilet was dirty. Plus the shower and toilet are in the SAME box. So you shower right next to the toilet and you won't even want to step in there barefoot. The staff wasn't helpful at all, they didnt even give you tips and advice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for leaving us a review. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our property so if there is ever an issue, please just tell reception and it will be fixed immediately. We are here to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable so letting us know about any concerns you have is appreciated. Also, the WI-FI is working everywhere and it is fast. We hope to see you next time you're in London.

83%

Great location! Clean and comfortable private with nice ensuite! Staff were very friendly but check-in was a bit of a shambles. We arrived at 2:00pm - which is the stated check-in time, but had to wait for 15 minutes just to get our keys. We were very confused as to why we had to wait - the receptionist chatted with us and some other guests the whole time but they just told us that they were counting money from the night before so we needed to wait. It would've been nice if they were ready!

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! At 3pm we change shifts, that's why we ask the guests to wait 10/15 minutes. However, more staff will be in reception during Summer. We are sorry for any inconvenience. Hope to see you back real soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels.

94%

Clean, comfortable, friendly - good value with convenient location.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We loved having you here :) Hope to see you back real soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels.

89%

Stayed in a twin room with en suite. No complaints whatsoever, room was clean and tidy. No problems getting back in after arriving back in he weary hours after a gig. Would recommend.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure having you here! We hope to see you again real soon.

80%

The hostel was clean and location was great. The staff were okay but especially Hugo in reception was very helpful and friendly (and really good looking also). I can recommend this hostel.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We loved having you here :) Hope to see you back real soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels.

80%

Was unaware that the bathrooms were on another floor. Temperature of water in the shower rooms should be controlled by the guests' and it was very irritating to keep pressing the knob for more water! The kitchen was excellent but the location is inconvenient and to find it was like going through a maze!

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for sharing your thoughts after your staying with us. For safety and environmental reasons the shower has timing, however, you can shower as long as you want. We are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your staying with us. Best Wishes

86%

Super clean and comfy. Very secure. Great location. Noisy though, in the rooms and in the street. That's just something that comes with staying in a hostel in central London though! Thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We loved having you here :) Hope to see you back real soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels.

100%

Great hostel, amazing location. Fantastic staff. Very clean. I would recommend to anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure having you here! We hope to see you again real soon.

57%

Be aware that some rooms do not have a window, they are placed in a basement and there is no ventilation at all, so after some days the air in your room is quite disgusting. The toilets were not very clean and the shower was broken an dirty as well. The only good thing was its price and the location (is 2 min walking from King's Cross), but I believe I would not come back.

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for the review. We labelled London Underground rooms on Hostelworld. They are located on the underground, therefore, there is no windows but we provide Air Conditioner in every room. As you can imagine the bathrooms do get used quite frequently as they are shared dorms. We clean our building 4 times daily to ensure all of our facilities are up to standard. Next time, please inform reception of any issue. We would be glad to solve it!

66%

Was alright. The room was a bit smelly though and old.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for leaving us a review. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our property so if there is ever an issue, please just tell reception and it will be fixed immediately. We are here to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable so letting us know about any concerns you have is appreciated. Next time book our brand new rooms on the ground floor. We hope to see you next time you're in London. Safe travels.

74%

Kings Cross is the in perfect location, right around the corner from St Pancras and Kings Cross which allowed us to easily navigate the underground. There were multiple small pubs in the area and plenty of cheap eats. The beds were comfortable and bathrooms clean. Couldn't ask for much more!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We loved having you here :) Hope to see you back real soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels.

63%

King's Cross itself isn't my favorite part of the city, but it's great because you are so well connected through public transportation. The facilities here were okay, though you have to push a button every 30 seconds in the shower & i got one once without very warm water. I saw several mice in this hostel, and I haven't seen that in any of the others in London. This hostel is one of the cheapest, which can be important here but I think you notice the difference in quality. Okay for a few nights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for the review. We are situated in one of the best areas of London. For safety and environmental reasons the shower has timing, however, you can shower as long as you want. We are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your staying with us. We would be happy to host you again. Safe travels.

(2014 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback