X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4899 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Good location, staff was very accommodating, decent kitchen and showers. No lockers in the room and was a little dirty. all around a decent hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our location. We are thrilled to receive such a good compliment! Hope to see you back soon, always at Keystone House. Lots of love, Keystone Team!

63%

None of the outlets in my room worked so was unable to charge my phone in the hostel during my stay. Also, you were required to bring your own lock for lockers which I didn't realize/wasn't very clear when I booked it so I and ended up having to buy an overpriced lock from the hostel (about $9 for what would've been $2 if I bought it on my own somewhere else).

  • 14th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. We are sorry you forgot your padlock at home. We give you the possibility to buy one for 5£, the price is very reasonable considering you are in London. We have many outlets throughout the building. Please never hesitate to come to reception if you have any problems or concerns, we are open 24/7. Safe travels, Keystone Team!

66%

The place has a strange distribution since its in a narrow building. Need to go to the bathroom? One floor down. Take a shower? Three floors down. Want to cook something in the kitchen? Move through endless corridors untill you find it. Facilities aren't in the best shape also.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for the review. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. We have several showers on the first floor and underground area. Please never hesitate to come to reception if you have any problems or concerns, we are open 24/7. Safe travels, Keystone Team!

77%

Value for money , good location friendly staff only problems was a mix up with they was given a room but the bed was already taken lucky the other guest was there when we arrived in the room so was sorted quickly would hate to think what would have happened if I had been asleep and the quest would have came in late

  • 14th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malta
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your review. We are happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with us. The guest who was staying in your room forgot to check-out, it wasn't a mix up and the issue has been solved. Hope to see you back soon, always at Keystone House. Lots of love, Keystone Team!

51%

Great location, but old and ricketty and for some reason just didn't feel safe. Maybe just a perception. Served its one night purpose

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. Please never hesitate to come to reception if you have any problems or concerns, we are open 24/7. Safe travels, Keystone Team!

94%

Great place with extremely comfortable beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you for your positive review. We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our facilities. We'll see you again in the magical London at any time, always at Keystone House. Safe travels. Keystone Team.

80%

Great location - right next to St Pancras so perfect for getting the Eurostar in the morning as I did. The staff were really friendly, and the building felt very secure which is great! My room (4 bed dorm) was on the third floor and there's no lift, so getting luggage up was tricky. Ask for a lower room if you have a lot of stuff with you! One big problem was that the hostel was freezing at night - but I'm not sure if it was a one-off heating problem or if it's always like that.

  • 13th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write us such a good review. We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with the staff. We'll see you again in the magical London at any time, always at Keystone House. Safe travels. Keystone Team

43%

Staff was good BUT the room was very small without window because it was under ground (you hear the metro from your room...). The hostel is very dark, if you like space don't go here

  • 13th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for the review. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. We describe London Underground Rooms on Hostelworld.They are located on the underground, therefore, there is no windows but we provide air conditioning in the room. Next time, please read the room description before you book a room. Safe travels, Keystone Team!

46%

Stayed at hostels for a month straight and this was by far the worst one. Bathrooms were disgusting, beds were dirty, room with 16 people that couldn't move. It was just bad. First review I wrote just because how bad this place is.

  • 13th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you for leaving us a feedback. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. We check and clean the building 2 times per day, sometimes it's up to the guest to leave the facilities as they would like to find! Cheers, Keystone Team!

89%

Beds were very comfortable. We are in our early 60s and wants an economical option close to Kings Cross. This was perfect. The kitchen/dining room provided a place away from our small room to eat and use Internet.

  • 12th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with us. We are thrilled to receive such a good compliment! Hope to see you back soon, always at Keystone House. Lots of love, Keystone Team!

66%

The room was ok, but the facilities are very strange... toilet and shower combined in small single rooms, no racks to put your clothes on when you're in shower

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for the review. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. We have more showers where you can put your clothes.Please never hesitate to come to reception if you have any problems or concerns, we are open 24/7. Safe travels, Keystone Team!

66%

Great location for our trip, I just didn't like the double bed room, felt bit depressing being in small room, in basement. There were two pictures on the wall, but that didn't help much. Also wifi wasn't working properly in our room,.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks for leaving us a feedback. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. The WI-FI works throughout the building. If you had any concerns or problems, always know you can come to reception at any time. Cheers, Keystone Team!

71%

The staff never said hello when we passed the reception desk. There is no real possibility to hang out with other guests (except for the roof terrace... but it was too cold to sit outside).

  • 9th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for the review. We are sorry that you thought our staff wasn't welcoming. Our staff is constantly trying to work hard to ensure everyone is having the best time possible at the hostel. We also have the kitchen/common area available, which is perfect to make new friends. Cheers, Keystone Team!

91%

Really friendly and helpful staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you for your positive review. We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with the staff. We'll see you again in the magical London at any time, always at Keystone House. Safe travels. Keystone Team!

80%

Hugo was very charming and helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with the staff. Hugo is very pleased with your kind words. We are thrilled to receive such a good compliment! Hope to see you back soon. Safe travels, Keystone Team!

100%

Can't wait until next time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with the us. We are thrilled to receive such a good compliment! Hope to see you back soon. Safe travels, Keystone Team!

77%

Near a main train and tube stop. Lots of different facilities available... Just of average quality not quite enough oh each. Lots of beds in dorms however it did not feel too crowded. LOTS of stair. Good price for London. Would stay again if the price stays ahead of the rest.


69%

Earlier this year I visited this same hostel and the common area/kitchen was excellent. Due to ongoing construction, the kitchen/common area has changed and is not up to previous standard (small/cramped/no windows).Could it be moved back? Also due to error by front desk, I returned to my 4 bed dorm to find another man in my bed at 1am. Was moved to a different dorm and was refunded my night in the morning. Thanks and respect are due management for doing this without having to be asked. Thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. The kitchen/common area it's brand new and we have AC inside. We always try to make sure everyone has the best time when visiting. We hope to see you again in the future! Lots of love, Keystone Team.

77%

There was mold in the showers. The AC didn't work (underground room). The rooms can't be really locked.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you write us a review. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. We have fans and heaters in case of emergency because we always try to make sure everyone has the best time when visiting. We hope to see you again in the future! Lots of love, Keystone Team.

100%

We really enjoyed our stay at keystone. The beds were comfortable, the staff nice, the facilties clean and working. The kitchen in the common room is a great way to save in some money on food during your stay on top of the really moderate prices for the rooms. Planning our next London trip in the future, we would definitely consider to stay at Keystone again.

  • 4th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with us. We are thrilled to receive such a good compliment! Hope to see you back soon, always at Keystone House. Lots of love, Keystone Team!

(259 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback