X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3024 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

I chose the Hostel because of its location, but it was rather expensive and the service has not been to great. They charge you for almoste everything even for storing you luggage. The breakfast was not too good either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As the hostel is very central & close to the major train & tube stations I believe our rates are very competitive in relation to other hostels in the area. Luggage storage is available free of charge before check in and after check out we charge a small fee, in comparison to other luggage storage facilities in the Kings cross area, I believe we are one of the cheapest. I will gladly pass all your comments on to the management. Best Orla

94%

Unfortunately poor sound isolation at the windows, so the full sonic mayhem of London City nights kicks in. :-/ But then again it's just a hostel, so I understand if not everything is first class.


40%

I don't even know where to start. I work on top class hospitality industry and I know how different hostels are to what I am used to and I know how easy it is to make bad reviews and to depreciate all the efforts made during somebody stay anywhere in the world. But this was really really bad, the fake smiles and fake sympathy at the reception was making me go crazy. They speak worst than the foreign and are no helpful. I don't even know what kind of reviews you are looking for to be honest.

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hostel. I am also very sorry if you found our staff unhelpful and unsympathetic as in general we always get good feedback about our staff. Our staff are trained to a very high standard so that they can look after our guests in the best possible way. However, I will be sure to look into this matter! I do hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. All the best Orla

46%

-The "clean" sheets had many strands of hair and stains. There was also a pen melted onto one of them. -Toilet seat in bathroom was broken. -Showers: pushing button let water out for what seemed like just 5 seconds.... I understand it's to save water, but it was really annoying to have to press it so many times. -Room was really small and felt cramped with the two big lockers inside.

  • 9th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so sorry you found hairs/stains on your bed sheets, there is no excuse for this. The linen on the beds are changed after each guest, and rooms are cleaned twice daily as hygiene is one of our top priorities I am so glad you brought this to our attention and I will be sure that the management are fully aware of this. Always let reception know if your unhappy with anything and they will do their best to help you in anyway they can, Orla

51%

- bad breakfast - old umcomfty beds - not clean - too expensiv for what you get

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hostel. We appreciate feedback from our guests so that we know the areas that need to be improved. As the hostel is very central and close to the major train & tube station I believe our rates are very competitive in relation to other hostels in the area. Also hygiene is one of our top priority, as our cleaners clean all areas twice daily. I do hope you will stay with us again. Orla

74%

This hostel was more expensive than some, but after having a really bad experience with a cheaper hostel in London (which is a city with notoriously bad hostels) we decided to pay a little more and not take the chance. This hostel was very average, beds were comfy and clean though. There are LOTS of stairs in this place, and we were on the 4th floor also so watch out if you can't carry your luggage, as there's no elevator. Great location by Kings cross station. Atmosphere is ok, nothing special.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As the hostel is relatively new we are always trying to improve our facilities. Therefore we appreciate feedback from our guests so that we know the exact areas that need to be improved. I do appreciate, it is not easy carrying your luggage up the stairs so perhaps an elevator maybe something to consider for the future also our staff are always there to lend a hand. I do hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. Orla

43%

The bathrooms aren't clean, the matresses old and uncomfortable. Though the staff is very friendly, they aren't really teached. Breakfast is chaos as they don't send staff to make sure that there is allways food and no complete disorder.


77%

location is sooo good but wifi only allowed at lobby


94%

Very pleased I chose this place to stay. Fantsstic value and very safe. Would highly recommend Keystone at Kings Cross

  • 4th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

97%

Really nice hostel with great atmosphere. If you're traveling alone you won't have problems in meeting people here. Awesome and very helpful staff, great location and nice common room and bar! I can only recommend this place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

74%

Decent low-priced dorms and considerate staff. I have stayed at Keystone House twice (8 Bed Mixed Dorm). The only thing that I've found annoying is coping with the fire-alarm going off twice every night. The dorms are very basic and the same goes for their customer service. I'm not a big fan of the breakfast, but still it's better than none I suppose. Also you must have in mind that there are no lifts so prepare yourself for a bit of a climb to the fourth floor.


71%

is very good location and the staff there are all very kind but there is no hair dryer>

  • 3rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We normally keep the hairdryer's at reception for our guests to use so perhaps they had all been handed out, always ask at reception if you need any assistance. We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

66%

room VERY basic, weren't told checkout was £5 EACH until we'd already stayed an hour after checkout time. We'd already payed for late checkout on arrival but only for 1 person! small reception space. check in before 1pm if you can to avoid queues. blind broken in room. online said that locker keys were free but apparently cost £5 each. our food went missing from guest fridge even though it was labelled and in a bag with date of stay. Would stay again as know what to expect

  • 2nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

I will stay here again when the refurbishment has finished, I'm sure it will be better. The roof top area is closed. There are 2 communal areas with seating:a small bar/eating area by the kitchen, which shut and was locked at 10.15PM on the Sunday night I stayed, with seating for maybe 30 people at a push; and the area by reception, with seating for 10 people. Like a Belushi's/St.Christophers, the bar is a public one, with English football fans in it that night, on their way to Kings X.


66%

Even if you can certainly spend one good night in this hostel, it is comparatively less interesting than other hostels in London for the same price: very noisy due to traffic and loud music in the street, no free wi-fi in the bedrooms and one of the two blinds in our room was broken so we had the light in the morning. Several advantages however: location (close to St-Pancras/King Cross in a night lively neighborood), nice common places with wi-fi at the reception and spacious breakfast room


74%

Our room was really small but clean and silent, so was good for us.


86%

Everything was really good. The lockers are right by people's heads and when trying to leave early in the morning, it was kind of weird getting stuff out of the lockers when people were sleeping.


83%

It is just beside the King's Cross, easy to find & get there. As it is located by the road, so you may hear the bus/ train, but I think is alright, coz I have a nice sleep there for 3 nights. Although it said 16 beds, but I feel like only 8 beds are presence, so it is nice. For the entry, we are using the smart key, so it is quite secure. One problem is that the bathroom do not have heater, i feel really cold when having a bath, it is better if a heater can be installed.


57%

During the night you can actually feel the walls trembling and the sound of trains or subways too like some sort of earthquake sometimes.


80%

Security was good, but I don't know why it was necessary to need a key to exit rooms, particularly to exit the hostel itself, that seems unnecessary.


(1482 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback