X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4889 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Great location - right next to St Pancras so perfect for getting the Eurostar in the morning as I did. The staff were really friendly, and the building felt very secure which is great! My room (4 bed dorm) was on the third floor and there's no lift, so getting luggage up was tricky. Ask for a lower room if you have a lot of stuff with you! One big problem was that the hostel was freezing at night - but I'm not sure if it was a one-off heating problem or if it's always like that.

  • 13th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write us such a good review. We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with the staff. We'll see you again in the magical London at any time, always at Keystone House. Safe travels. Keystone Team

43%

Staff was good BUT the room was very small without window because it was under ground (you hear the metro from your room...). The hostel is very dark, if you like space don't go here

  • 13th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for the review. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. We describe London Underground Rooms on Hostelworld.They are located on the underground, therefore, there is no windows but we provide air conditioning in the room. Next time, please read the room description before you book a room. Safe travels, Keystone Team!

46%

Stayed at hostels for a month straight and this was by far the worst one. Bathrooms were disgusting, beds were dirty, room with 16 people that couldn't move. It was just bad. First review I wrote just because how bad this place is.

  • 13th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you for leaving us a feedback. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. We check and clean the building 2 times per day, sometimes it's up to the guest to leave the facilities as they would like to find! Cheers, Keystone Team!

89%

Beds were very comfortable. We are in our early 60s and wants an economical option close to Kings Cross. This was perfect. The kitchen/dining room provided a place away from our small room to eat and use Internet.

  • 12th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with us. We are thrilled to receive such a good compliment! Hope to see you back soon, always at Keystone House. Lots of love, Keystone Team!

66%

The room was ok, but the facilities are very strange... toilet and shower combined in small single rooms, no racks to put your clothes on when you're in shower

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for the review. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. We have more showers where you can put your clothes.Please never hesitate to come to reception if you have any problems or concerns, we are open 24/7. Safe travels, Keystone Team!

66%

Great location for our trip, I just didn't like the double bed room, felt bit depressing being in small room, in basement. There were two pictures on the wall, but that didn't help much. Also wifi wasn't working properly in our room,.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks for leaving us a feedback. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. The WI-FI works throughout the building. If you had any concerns or problems, always know you can come to reception at any time. Cheers, Keystone Team!

71%

The staff never said hello when we passed the reception desk. There is no real possibility to hang out with other guests (except for the roof terrace... but it was too cold to sit outside).

  • 9th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for the review. We are sorry that you thought our staff wasn't welcoming. Our staff is constantly trying to work hard to ensure everyone is having the best time possible at the hostel. We also have the kitchen/common area available, which is perfect to make new friends. Cheers, Keystone Team!

91%

Really friendly and helpful staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you for your positive review. We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with the staff. We'll see you again in the magical London at any time, always at Keystone House. Safe travels. Keystone Team!

80%

Hugo was very charming and helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with the staff. Hugo is very pleased with your kind words. We are thrilled to receive such a good compliment! Hope to see you back soon. Safe travels, Keystone Team!

100%

Can't wait until next time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with the us. We are thrilled to receive such a good compliment! Hope to see you back soon. Safe travels, Keystone Team!

77%

Near a main train and tube stop. Lots of different facilities available... Just of average quality not quite enough oh each. Lots of beds in dorms however it did not feel too crowded. LOTS of stair. Good price for London. Would stay again if the price stays ahead of the rest.


69%

Earlier this year I visited this same hostel and the common area/kitchen was excellent. Due to ongoing construction, the kitchen/common area has changed and is not up to previous standard (small/cramped/no windows).Could it be moved back? Also due to error by front desk, I returned to my 4 bed dorm to find another man in my bed at 1am. Was moved to a different dorm and was refunded my night in the morning. Thanks and respect are due management for doing this without having to be asked. Thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. The kitchen/common area it's brand new and we have AC inside. We always try to make sure everyone has the best time when visiting. We hope to see you again in the future! Lots of love, Keystone Team.

77%

There was mold in the showers. The AC didn't work (underground room). The rooms can't be really locked.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thank you write us a review. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. We have fans and heaters in case of emergency because we always try to make sure everyone has the best time when visiting. We hope to see you again in the future! Lots of love, Keystone Team.

100%

We really enjoyed our stay at keystone. The beds were comfortable, the staff nice, the facilties clean and working. The kitchen in the common room is a great way to save in some money on food during your stay on top of the really moderate prices for the rooms. Planning our next London trip in the future, we would definitely consider to stay at Keystone again.

  • 4th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your time with us. We are thrilled to receive such a good compliment! Hope to see you back soon, always at Keystone House. Lots of love, Keystone Team!

77%

Location is great place to get transport to explore London ! Beds really comfy great pillows and duvet.One plug socket each so can charge your phones/ipad. Showers and toilets clean. Hallways could do with lick of paint as bit worn

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, many thanks for your time spent to leave us a feedback. We are so happy you have had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our beds.. We are thrilled to receive such a good compliment! Hope to see you back soon. Safe travels, Keystone Team

60%

Problem with information system, the host said to us that we booked only one night, actually it was two but they were a problem with computer... so she said we have to change the second night but the room was without toilets and shower so we prefered to stay in the first room. The host didn't change our room but we loose time in explanation and it was boring. The decoration of the room looks old.

  • 2nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for the review. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. We had your reservation in our system for 2 nights but we had a problem with your room for the first night. Safe travels, Keystone Team!

63%

poor facilities , narrow space

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for the review. We are sorry that our facilities did not suit your needs. Please never hesitate to come to reception if you have any problems or concerns. We are open 24/7. Safe travels, Keystone Team!

57%

We requested a private room but was told that we had to move rooms during our 3 night stay. In the new room, there was no hot water, and this wasn't addressed during our stay. We used public bathrooms, but the hostel was nice enough to reimburse us for the inconvenience.


71%

The hostel was in a great location and offered high value for money. You should know that the front door of the hostel is usually left wide open, allowing anyone to walk in off the street and directly into the dormitory areas, even though each guest receives an electronic key to work the lock. There's no good reason for that. Also, the underground room we stayed in smelled terrible. However, all said, we would stay here again because of the location and the price, which you can't beat.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, thanks for leaving us a review. We are 24 hours available to help people out and our aim is to guarantee a nice place to stay in where people can feel relaxed and if they need something we will provide them. The front door it's usually locked, so it's very safe. If you had any concerns or problems, always know you can come to reception at any time. Cheers, Keystone Team

51%

No Windows in the room and you don't know it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for the review. We are sorry if your stay did not match your expectations. We label London Underground Rooms on Hostelworld.They are located on the underground, therefore, there is no windows but we provide Air Conditioner in each room. Next time, read the room description before you book a room. Safe travels, Keystone Team!

(2250 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback