X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Keystone House Kings Cross Reviews

272-276 Pentonville Road Kings Cross, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
3765 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

we stayed in room 1E. It was a pitty that we heard so much noise, somewhere inside the building was very loud music. The bed was good.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Frans Thank you for taking the time to write a review, because of the location of the hostel I am afraid it is very hard to avoid the noise but on the plus side it is so close to Kings cross tube station and St Pancras International. Always ask at reception if there is a quieter room vacant as we would be very happy to move you. We do hope you will come and stay with us in the future. All the best Orla

69%

I guess thats just London. For the price that buys you small palace elsewhere else you will get tiny room with no wifi inside, window that cannot be opened, where private twin room will get you bunk bed (which is not comfortable at all and squeak a lot) and you don't even get that basic toast and jam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi David Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I do apologise if you were unhappy with your room and did not realize there were bunk beds in the room, always go to reception and if they have another room vacant they will gladly allow you to change rooms. We have WiFi in the common area and reception and we will have it in the rooms in the very near future. There are Tea/Coffee making facilities in the kitchen and you are very welcome to prepare your own food. Best wishes Orla

100%

I had a great stay in a place with a super smooth vibe and totally cool staff.

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Matthew Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. All the best Orla

63%

I could not sleep as people in the room next to mine were talking until 4 in the morning!!!!!

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Claude Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our hostel. Always go to reception if you are unhappy with any aspect of your stay. With regards to this incident our staff would be happy to ask the guests in the room next to yours to keep the noise down or go to our common area if they wanted to continue to talk. I do hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. Best wishes Orla

77%

It was a pity, that there was no continental breakfast, how it is announced on the website. Furthermore, there is no real kitchen to cook and prepare some meal.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Nico Thank you for taking the time to write a review. . As the hostel is relatively new we are always trying to improve our facilities so that our guests have a very enjoyable stay. That why we appreciate feedback so that we know the exact areas that need to be improved and hopefully in the future we can provide our guests with an excellent service. Thanks again for all your suggestions, I will gladly discuss them with the management. Best wishes Orla

74%

Auberge de jeunesse sympa, mais pas de wifi en chambre, peu de place pour s'installer en haut, douches et toilettes moyennement propre, cheveux et poils sur les lits, on entend le métro et le pub a côté de nous, il faut pensé au boules quies. MAIS l'emplacement est juste le top du top, proche des métro, commerces, de la gare, et le prix relativement résonnable.

  • 22nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Melanie Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As the hostel is so close to the mayor train stations I am afraid it is very hard to avoid the noise. I am sorry you found hair on your sheets as there is no excuse for this. The linen on the bed & the room is cleaned after each guest. Always go to reception if you are unhappy with any aspects of your room. We hope to get WiFi in all the rooms in the very near future. We do hope you will come & stay with us again Best wishes Orla

80%

We stayed there just one night before leaving London after a road trip in south England, the place was easy to find, the staff was nice too, and very helpful. But I would just say that the room was too pricy for it has no windows ... Appart from that everything was clean and confortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Laura Thank you for taking the time to write a review. On Hostel world, it does mention that this room is a basic room and is located below ground level with no windows, all these rooms do, however contain A.C. As your arrival date was on a Saturday our rooms are little more expensive but compared to other hostels in the area I believe our prices are quite reasonable. I do hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. Best wishes Orla

89%

A decent hostel, value for money, helpful staff, good location, comfy beds! Would ask for a ticket system for luggage being left in the hold, such a helpful facility for tourists, but it felt like anyone could walk in and take whatever they fancied! Other than that, would definitely return!

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Nathan Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! Regarding your luggage security, the receptionist should of labelled your bags so that when you return for your luggage we check the name on the bags. The luggage room is locked at all times and only the receptionist has a key but thank you for your observation. We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. Best wishes Orla

54%

The staff in the hostel were REALLY unfriendly. Almost unpolite. The attitude was 'we are too cool for the school' And sorry but... no way! The Aircon was broken, WiFi was broken, no hot water. Too cool to say sorry when we asked, like 'don´t give me that ...'

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Blanca Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry if you found our staff unfriendly as there is no excuse for this. Regarding the water when there alot of guests using the water it just needs alittle time to reheat. The A.C should of been working as we just had them serviced but again I will investigate this. The WiFi was also down in the businesses beside us as there was an outside fault in the area. Thanks again for bringing all these matters to my attention. Orla

91%

auberge de jeunesse exceptionnement bien placée, dans un batiment ancien agréablement rénové. A recommander !


77%

Frühstück kostet zusätzlich 3,5£ pro Tag Eigene Handtücher mitbringen!!! (kosten sonst 5 £)

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Florentina Thank you for taking the time to write a review. In our kitchen we have complimentary Tea/Coffee making facilities and you are very welcome to prepare your own food. If you prefer a cooked breakfast the cafe beside us serve a great breakfast for £3.50 when you say Keystone. I am sorry if you think our towels are too expensive I will gladly pass your comments onto our management. I do hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. Best wishes Orla

66%

The smell entering the room totally killed me. No hot water, no internet, no washing machines... seems that lots of things aren't properly working. The staff was really nice, they tried to help as much as they could.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Maeva Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for bringing these matters to our attention. Regarding the odour in the room, all rooms do contain A.C & windows are left open after cleaning to allow fresh air to circulate the room. As there are so many guests using the hot water, internet, and washing facilities at once, they may just need to checked by a member of staff to ensure it is not just a simple issue however we do sincerely apologise for this! Best wishes Orla

80%

My stay was good but It was damage because for the same price some hostels included breakfast and a correct WiFi.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

La ubicación es excelente, sin embargo no hay elevador, solo hay Internet en el área común y el área común siempre está llena y no hay donde sentarse. La habitación tiene un olor a humedad un poco desagradable


94%

We had a few booking issues but the staff did a fantastic job solving them. Contact before booking with the hostel was fantastic too. All questions I had were answered promptly.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Its an expensive hostel when it comes to the average facilities. In addition, you don't have wifi in the bedrooms, the toilets are too small and the bedrooms are smelling.


94%

Very convenient location, just 5 mins walk from King's Cross and St. Pancras. They have refurbished it since the last time I visited and the room we had looked much better now, having a spacious bathroom. The only problem was that I had requested a 3 separate bed room since October and when I called to confirm my booking in February they said it was not available... However, they offered me a discount for the bunk bed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rodopi Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you had a nice time at our hostel. It's great to hear the positive feedback! We look forward to having you stay at our hostel again. I do apologise however for the mix up in your reservation I will be sure to investigate this further & thank you for bringing this matter to my attention. I do hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. Best wishes Orla

74%

Séjour de 3 nuits en amoureux en chambre double LU, cad sorte de cabine à bateau, lits à étage, sans fenêtre au sous sol. Chambre propre, mais atmosphère assez spécial. Pas vraiment envie d'y passer du temps! On entend passer le métro; pas super gênant mais lassant à terme. Suffisant pour des personnes qui cherchent juste un pied à terre en plein centre de Londres.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

그 비싼 런던 물가 생각하면 말도 안 되는 가격이죠. 위치도 너무 좋고. 근데 시설도 좋고 다 좋았는데, 마지막에 퇴실 할 때 조금 그랬어요. 열쇠 보증금 때문에. 보증금이 6파운드인데, 저는 현금으로 결제를 했고 영수증을 받은 적이 없어요. 영수증이 없으면 보증금을 돌려줄 수 없다고 하길래 완전 당황해서 계속 그럼 어떻게 하냐고 물어보니까 직원이 똥 씹은 표정으로 돌려줬어요 다음부턴 그러지 말라고. 그때 당시에는 너무 당황해서 내가 영수증을 잃어버린 것 같다고 말했는데, 생각해 보니까 받은 적 자체가 없는 거죠. 보증금 받은 직원이랑 돌려준 직원이 달랐어서 일부러 그랬을 일은 없겠지만, 아무튼 마지막에 조금 껄끄러웠어요. 그거 빼곤 괜찮았어요! 그러니까 보증금 맡길 때 영수증 꼭 달라고 하세요. 와이파이가 1층에서밖에 안 되는 건 호스텔들 많이 그렇더라구요. 그래도 깨끗하고 괜찮았어요. 다음에 런던 간다고 해도 또 갈 의향 있음!


80%

Turned shower is working just few minutes after he turns off.

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(317 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback