Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Khammany Inn Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
5.0
Rating 716 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.2
  • Security 5.6
  • Location 5.9
  • Staff 4.6
  • Atmosphere 4.6
  • Cleanliness 4.7
  • Facilities 4.7
BOOK NOW
5.0
Rating 716 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.2
  • Security 5.6
  • Location 5.9
  • Staff 4.6
  • Atmosphere 4.6
  • Cleanliness 4.7
  • Facilities 4.7
Khammany Inn Hostel Located at Phouthisalath Road, Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang.
Khammany Inn Hostel
Laos
Luang Prabang Luang Prabang 6000 Phouthisalath Road, Ban That Luang
50% 716
19.8851740 102.1295821
Khammany Inn Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ChesterandDom
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
6th Jun 2016
3.4

Impressive in its ability to possess not one redeeming feature. The room we stayed in was dank and the beds were hard. The underside was made of tin which croaked. The staff were utterly clueless, due to their liberal opium smoking outside the hostel.  In a city which is not very big it somehow managed to have a poor location. Showers and toilets were disgusting and the WiFi was temperamental. It is cheap, but you cannot put a price on basic hygiene, cleanliness and convenience. An abomination.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2016
6.9

No wifi in the room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Feb 2016
5.7

Did not like this place. It was cheap and the staff were friendly, but the dorms were horrible. I can only speak for the dorms downstairs, but i felt that i was kept in a prison cell. Det bed was uncomfortable and the bathroom had lots of molds everyewhere. The only place the wifi almost worked was in the reception, where loud trance music was playing from early morning. The scrambled eggs seemed more than a half a scrambled egg with some white toast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2016
6.0

internet never worked once in three days! I asked the staff about it over and over again, and they just shrugged and went back to playing games on their phones - very frustrating!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Feb 2016
3.1

Really dirty.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2016
4.3

Arrived and they had no record of my booking. Not recommended

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • pillar8732
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Feb 2016
3.7

Not pleasant at all, Only 1 restaurant close by, next to very noisy bar, few other shops, and farther to night market and other places than indicated. The 'free' breakfast was very small portion of watery eggs and 2 unbuttered toast (extra charge for butter). No bike rental and no help in finding a bike rental other than pointing to night market. Wifi is very intermittent. Very small blanket on double/queen bed, not adequate to keep warm - manager did not care - 'Hotel full, have no more'.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Feb 2016
3.1

They do not change the sheets between guests, actually u only sleep on a mattress with plastic covering, beds had no structure support so it was like sleeping on the letter "S". They even asked us to move out of our beds a few hours before check out, no atmosphere, bathrooms were unclean, rotten doors that you could see through when showering and very far away from dorm room. overpriced but most of Luang Prabang is. Also it's location is not fantastic, staff were uninterested. BOYCOT!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Jan 2016
2.6

We booked two beds in a dorm and when we arrived they had double booked us. The staff moved some other peoples stuff off their beds on to the floor and told us these were 'our' beds. When we returned our bags were on the floor and there stuff was back where it once was. When we complained, we were taken to another room without beds, it was just five matresses on a floor. No lockers, no security, anyone off the street could have walked in. The room we got should have been cheaper but it wasn't.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2016
2.9

The hostel needs to change the way they portray themselves on the Internet and be honest about what customers get for the money they pay. I think they way over exaggerate the level of comfort they provide. It was just pretty awful honestly and I'm not one to complain normally.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.