X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Khangsar Guest House Reviews

P.O. Box; 25451, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
330 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great location,very cheap,The most friendly and helpful host that we met in Nepal. Manager from hotel always very helpful and tries his best to offer the best service .Totally recommended,Great breakfast. Even though the whole country was power supply issue but there is always wifi at the hotel even when the power is off how amazing.The tour that manager organized was great and we really enjoy our time in Nepal.Better yet,Dhana can customize any tour for all type of needs.


100%

Great location middle of thamel area.The staff are very friendly and the travel information they gave me was very helpful.The room and bath room is fairly clean and have good hot shower. Restaurent on second floor serves good food on resonable price.You can even order food to your room.I like the most of this guest house was roof top terrace garden with great view of city and mountains.I will stay in this guest house again. Thank you guys for warm hospitality.


94%

We stayed at Khangsar guest house in November 2014 and we enjoyed the place and the hotel. The stuff is always friendly and ready to help.

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Khangsar is in a great location in the middle of thamel. It's down an alley so a bit quieter. The boss raj is very helpful. I would recommend the first floor rooms as better than the higher ones. We always had hot water.


100%

Great staff,very helpful,excellent day trip.very welcoming,decent breakfast,decend location.24hrs running hotshower..we booked our trekking and jungle adventures through the hotel and we were so happy with the package we recieved.Our guide for trekking was brilliant also.loved everyminute.Top managment and will stay here again and again. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED,

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Khangasar was the 2nd hotel that we stayed in in Kathmandu. 1st, you should be aware that Kathmandu is a city that you get what you pay for. If you want good facilities & super clean accommodation you need to pay more. Khangasar is basic accommodation, with few facilities. The location is not bad for exploring Thamel. NOTE: Breakfast not included for hostelworld bookings. Be aware that you need a map to find the hotel the 1st time & to show ur taxi driver. There are no street addresses in Nepal


89%

Friendly and helpful staff. Great location!


100%

we had a fantastic stay at the guest house, the staff were extremely helpful. our room was very spacious and clean!! the manager organised a trip to chitwan for 2 nights and one night in lumbini defiantly worth the visit and all for very cheap !! the guest house is on a busy road but the rooms do not face it so there was no noise, a lovely terrace at the top to relax on if you want a quiet evening, and if your staying here ask the manager to book you taxis as they get them alot cheaper !!

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Dona the manager is so lovely and obliging, as are the other staff. The general store below is very convenient. Try and get an upper level room. Good value for moneg.

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The staff were amazing and a great resource for booking trekking, however, the facilities were lacking. It is not very clean and the power is frequently off, making it extremely hot in the summer. You are better off paying a bit more for a hotel with better backup generators. They also encourage people to leave 100% reviews and! since they are so nice, it is difficult to not oblige and to be more honest.


91%

Cozy guest house in the south of Thamel and a good spot to stay in Kathmandu. The rooftop terrace is excellent and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

i stayed in khangsar hotel for 6 days/the staff is very kind and polite. Raj the manager is very helpful when it comes to trekking.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good deal for not much money! Great location and if you get a room on top floor it's a bit removed from the Chaos of the streets! Electricity has weird availability and the water tastes like copper but that's all throughout kathmandu- so khangsar is not to blame! But they are kind of hard to find! Hey guys, list an address!!!:)

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Very friendly staff, good location deep into the city's heart. They can exchange money for a very low rate




View all Kathmandu Hostels

Please give us your feedback