Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Khaosan Kyoto Theater and Bar

  • 346 Iseyacho Rokkaku-sagaru Gokomachi-dori Nakagyo, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 1866 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 1866 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jun 2017
9.7

This hostel was amazing. The lockers under the bed are large enough to fit my 40L and 15L backpacks, the beds are super comfortable, and the AC is nice. The thick bed walls help block out noise, and the blackout curtains block out light so I could sleep even if the room light was on. The upstairs balcony and kitchen area is super nice for socializing and hanging out with a view, and the bar is a fun place to meet people and drink. The bar is packed and small, but that's to be expected in Japan.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2017
10.0

Let's say this is a perfect experience. This hostel is located near the main markets. Facilities are good and clean, staff and guests are friendly. They even have a balcony and a rooftop. I never went to the bar, so no comment about it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jun 2017
10.0

Great place. I have amazing memories that I'll have for the rest of my life here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2017
9.7

Stayed here 3 nights. Everyone I met was super nice and the staff was really friendly. Loved the location. Not too far from anything and perfect for wondering around. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jun 2017
9.7

Great hostel; clean, comfy, friendly staff and very social. The location was great; right on Nishiki market, near lots of restaurants and near a Lawson and 7/11. It's a short walk to the subway or bus terminus, so great for sightseeing. You can also walk to the Gion area and temples around there on a nice day. Highly recommend and would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2017
9.7

great hostel! nice staff and good location. the bar was a tight squeeze downstairs, but met good people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jess-a-lou
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2017
9.1

Had an awesome time and met some other really great travellers. The location in terms of restuarants, bars, convenience stores and karaoke was perfect. I would absolutely stay here again. I especially enjoyed the bathroom and balcony lounge areas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2017
9.4

GREAT location close to the markets and the river. Relatively easy to get to from Kyoto station. Staff were so helpful, had maps for various enquires, dinner, bars, markets etc Pods were good. Nice and dark to shield out other travellers. You do have to make your own bed though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th May 2017
9.1

Great hostel the bar was very sociable and the staff were fantastic!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th May 2017
9.7

This place is terrific. If you're looking for a sociable hostel and a place to meet people, it can't be beaten. The onsite bar a great place to hangout, whether you're looking to make friends to party with, or simply wind down with a quick night cap after a long day of sightseeing. Everyone I met extended their stay here by at least one night, which I think says everything. Location is excellent too. If I went back to Kyoto, I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.