Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Khaosan Kyoto Theater

  • 346 Iseyacho Rokkaku-sagaru Gokomachi-dori Nakagyo, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 1806 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 1806 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
9.4

Had an absolute blast at this hostel! If you are looking to make friends then this is the place. Make sure to go down to the bar in order to make that happen. Girls bathroom was a nice change. Front staff had directions to more popular areas. Could be loud after hours for those trying to get a good nights rest close to the kitchen floor. Cafe 363 creperie was delicious and just down the block to your left

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2017
10.0

Everything about my stay here was fantastic. Best hostel I've stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
10.0

One of my favourite hostels after traveling for 4 months. Amazing people! Stay her

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2017
9.4

Cool people, cool hostel, and great location right by the river and Gion district. Facilities were clean, bar was a bit small but still a good way to meet others. Most of the staff were nice and friendly but there were nights that they were super strict about the noise level on the 5th floor common area. So if you're looking to mingle with others and not worry about noise, you'll most likely have to leave the hostel after the bar closes. Overall, good time here though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 37 reviews
18th Apr 2017
9.1

Good hostel, great location, staff are friendly and helpful. Has everything you really need plus a beer vending machine! Would recommend due to location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Apr 2017
10.0

An AWESOME hostel in a great location for eating, shopping, nightlife, transport links and exploring! Gion is within walking distance too! Very clean, a great female only bathroom, locker (with lock) provided, comfy beds, equipped kitchen, rooftop and great onsite bar. Staff were helpful and let us put up a sign in reception to gather a group for a karaoke night - highly recommend you do the same (karaoke bar is within walking distance). I will stay here next time I visit Kyoto!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • urszulagomez7870
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Apr 2017
9.4

This hostel is in an AMAZING location! Very clean, really nice, strict rules. a bar downstairs and terrace on the roof (didn't have to chance to see either). can't comment on the atmosphere, I didn't meet anyone. I was only there briefly to rest, I arrived early and they were accommodating, the bed was comfortable and pretty, the shower nice but location incredible. Shops and food, night market, walk to kiya-machi dori to see river and cherry blossoms, pontocho for food and my fave maruyama park

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2017
8.0

Great location, beds are nice but there's too little space in the dorms around the beds

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Apr 2017
10.0

very clean and great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
10.0

Had a wonderful time at Theater! The staff, including the bartender, are so friendly and welcoming. The facilities are very comfortable and clean, and amenities are all provided. Not a party atmosphere, but a pleasantly social one. Will definitely return!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.