Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Khaosan Kyoto Theater

  • 346 Iseyacho Rokkaku-sagaru Gokomachi-dori Nakagyo, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 1756 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 1756 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Mar 2017
9.1

Good hostel in a good location. Locks on dorm door and personal padlock locker which could hold my whole backpack. Fun bar downstairs where I met interesting travellers. Bathrooms sometimes a bit dirty as lots of people using them and the wifi on 2F was awful but fine once I changed to a different floor's network.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th Mar 2017
7.7

great location , helpful staff but pretty dated and worn out by Japanese standards. Big kitchen area but no place to chill out and be cozy ( no sofas ) . Bar was nice but mostly empty. Is a good place if you don't know you can get a lot better for that amount of money in a very similar location .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Mar 2017
9.7

I really enjoyed my stay here! the place was clean and comfortable and in a great location. I was traveling alone and found it a great hostel to meet people!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2017
10.0

Great hostel. Great staff. Staff were always over to top helpful. Always clean & tidy. Good space to mingle with other guests. And located close enough to other shops, stations, etc.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • maxyoung90
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Feb 2017
10.0

Best location in Kyoto! Close to trains, food and shops highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Feb 2017
9.1

I spent 8 wonderful nights in the Kimono bunk beds - it's a great bed space and very private. The kitchen area is small but has everything you need and is great for catching people to chat with at breakfast. They have a bar in the basement which is also fab. The staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful. If I come to Kyoto again I would stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
10.0

Helpful friendly staff, great location, great restaurant suggestions, informative guides, pristine bedrooms and bathrooms, comfy beds, area to store extra luggage, just... PERFECT.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Feb 2017
8.9

Used this place as a spot to see all the sites Kyoto has to offer. A great location! Especially loved being able to walk down nishiki market every day!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Feb 2017
9.1

This is a great social hostel for single travellers. Big kitchen and community area for Japan standards. Bar in the basement. Good showers. Roomy bed capsules. Awesome position and close to trains

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Feb 2017
10.0

What a great hostel! Such a good base for Kyoto and surrounding towns. The rooms and bathrooms are comfy, very clean with added handy things like full length mirrors, little toiletries, hair dryers, shampoo etc. The kitchen is great and the bar was really brilliant for meeting other travellers. Highly recommend it - lovely part of town to be in as well. Also, the travel advice is spot on with so many maps and recommendations from the staff :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.