X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Khaosan River Inn Hostel Reviews

14 Daokhang Road, Washira Dusit, Bangkok, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
53 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

I didn't end up staying here so ignore the rating. All the latest reviews look like they have been done by the same person as they have the same mistakes.... Also every box in the facilities section has been ticked.... Nightclub, hot tub, mini-supermarket, ATM, linen included, linen not included....


100%

Thank you a lot for spending good time with me Heroooo i enjoy staying khaosan river in hostel happily and i will come back again! i met many people all over the world! Recommend it :D:D:D:D

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really loved this hostel The owner Hero is really kind and fun and full of great advice and fun conversation. Hostel has a nice chilled atmosphere, free lockers, free wifi and it feels like home and also you will be part of hero family. everything is said about hero and its all true! he is simply the best! he know about the needs of the travellers. hope you find also a way to travel a lot. Cab to Khoasan road only cost about 50 baht by meter. Would stay again. thank you a lot for everything Hero

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I would definitely come back again. The room/property was very clean. The staff were great! Hero and Hero family were more than helpful with helping me get the best deals for all the day trips Air conditioner is cool and very comfortable for sleeping with nice bed in the big room. you will get free party with hero on friday too. Next to hostel is Sitting Buddha. it's very big in the world along with king palace where king family live there and very safety location for staying at this hostel!!!

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good hospitality in the world really!!!!Great place. Great vibe. Felt very safe and in a good location(King Area) Hero provided me with everything I could ever need.I'm very glad to be part of hostel family. Because of Hero!!!! Hero teach me for driving,riding,cooking,thai language, thai culture and everything i would like to learn with his help!!! Thank you very much for everything including take care me very well! you are my great hero. i will come back to you surely ! Highly Recommend

  • 29th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

It's a good place to stay and the owner hero is very kind and help you with everything. Altho it's like a 50minuits walk to kohsanroad and not 5minuits like it says in the discription.


89%

Hero is a legend! When you first get to Bangkok it's quite overwhelming but he took me out to see the sites and get some food! Very nice of him!


100%

Everyone and Hero were very kind trying to make things as good and easy as possible! Great experience overall.The personnel is incredibly nice and effective.What an amazing hostel.One of the best in Thailand.Very clean, big lockers in the rooms. Hero make my stay very excellent with help everything as well as and give good information and travel book of thailand to me about bangkok city too!Special thanks to Owner Hero! Hero work really hard and look after everyone! Would highly recommend it

  • 24th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you so much for taking me to everywhere in bangkok including good information from you!!! Hero!!!!! you are very important for me really. When i was staying in Khaosan River Inn Hostel and you make my trip very excellent till make me enjoy travelling in bangkok. i will remember you very well and keep you in my heart forever!!!! I Would absolutely highly recommend to everyone!!!!!!! See you Next time My Best Friend

  • 20th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Khaosan River Inn Hostel made my stay a wonderful experience. We were made to feel satisfied. All the staff especial my hero owner were outstanding friendly helpful lovely and king really . Hero were ready to help their guests at any time though they were quite busy, Hero went out of their way to help and nothing too much trouble for them. Hero helped me to arrange some tours and everything went well with no problem. He make me to be part of hostel like same family as well as. Recommend it:D

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you a lot for safe my life Hero! He is very great person and sacrifice his life to me. i have accident by car on the way. Hero took me to hospital!! Stay with me and take care of me until i get well. Never leave me!!! Gave me food water and medical in while i was in hospital. Khaosan River Inn Hostel is my second home in bangkok. Highly Recommend it . you are my real hero really :D:D:D

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you a lot for helping! Khaosan River Inn Hostel is very great location in king area(safety area). Hero is very friendly open mind and help you everything! if you have any problem.He will resolve your problem. He and his family will look after you always and treat you like part of his family!!! Took me to have my happy birthday party at 5 star hotel. i got happy birthday cake from him! he make my dream come true and very happy in my life really. you are my hero forever Recommend it :D:D

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This place is wonderful. Staffs are very friendly and helpful(of course their English is very good). Hero will help you everything 24 hours. Thank you Hero Family!! Excellent hostel with warm and comfortable home-like environment! We have good memory and will come back here again !!!!!

  • 11th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

One of my favorite hostels during my travels in Thailand. Very convenient for everything!!! Great and super helpful staff, very clean rooms, great price, excellent location, and more. Would absolutely stay here again!I highly recommend this hostel :D:D:D:D

  • 11th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Whilst Hero and his parents are great hosts I cannot give this hostel as positive view as virtually all the facilities (somewhat a farcical list in hindsight) this place claims to have do not exist. It is pretty much their house to the extent the owner sleeps in the dormitory with you and the bathroom is complete with old rusty razors they have yet to throw away. Had this place been cheaper and it's advert had not lied to us it would be a nice place to stay away from the busy tourist areas.


100%

very friendly staff, close enough to khaosan road and the city but away from all the noise. rooms have good air conditioning and everything is cleaned well everyday. can get a ferry to major attractions like the royal palace by ferry for around 15 baht. deffinatly recommend a stay at this hostel!

  • 21st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

the bathrrom smelled sooooo bad! and there was just one bathroom for everyone. the staff was nice, but it was more like living together with them in their house. altough the hostel is called "kaoh san river inn" it´s pretty far from the kaoh san road. not even walking distance. a cab to there is about 100 baht but you can also go by ferry for 15 baht. and they don´t have a common room.


94%

Thank you very much for letting us stay in your place and caring for us! Felix & Lena

  • 8th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The bathroom does smell and the owner is overly nice/creepy ladies watch out! however if you want good value for money it's okay. The location is very average taxis don't know how to get there. But the people I meet there made the experience good. Kitchen a little small and is close to the toliet. But hey they have a beer fridge! :)


63%

Very hard to find, on a small side street and was turned down by two taxi drivers who didn't know where it was. Only one bathroom for everybody staying which meant queuing to even use the toilet, let alone in the morning everyone queuing to use the shower. On the plus side was very clean, beds had personal lights and plug sockets.


« first « Prev 1 2
(38 results)


View all Bangkok Hostels

Please give us your feedback