Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Khaosan Road Rainbow Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.6
Good 662 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 4.8
  • Facilities 5.5
BOOK NOW
6.6
Good 662 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 5.8
  • Cleanliness 4.8
  • Facilities 5.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Feb 2017
4.9

I only stayed here because i was desperate to sleep after a long bus journey from Chiang Mai to Bangkok as a stopover. Location is great, hostel is old and dirty. Staff are helpful. Bed was very uncomfortable and bathroom was a nightmare. You get what you pay for at the end of the day!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
4.9

We had a one-day stopover in Bangkok before our flight to Koh Tao island and I regret hastily booking this hostel. The private room was horrendous: scraped walls (a hole that looked into the dorm next to us), hard bed, bathroom facilities were all leaky, the ceiling tiles were missing in some places and the room was SO LOUD. We both slept with earplugs but got horrible sleep bc of street noise, bed, and light coming in through ceiling (we don't know from where). Wanted to leave ASAP.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
8.6

Location very good. Staff is really great and the restaurant is fantastic. Prices are higher but indian foid is delicious. Rooms are what you pay for. If you have a problem with noise, the street is very busy so you might want tk choose something else. All in all would come back there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
8.3

Great location, right at the top of Khaosan Road. The Indian food and fruit shakes downstairs were awesome! Staff are super helpful and friendly! We had a double private room. The room was what you would expect from a room on Khaosan for that price, basic but has everything you need. Would stay again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
2.6

First thing I saw was a rat run across the restaurant floor. No wifi in the rooms, they know this but are reluctant to admit it saying there must be a problem but 'always good wifi in the restaurant'. I was scheduled to stay 3 night and checked straight out and they refused to refund me the first night. I found an excellent hostel just down the road offering so much more for less. Do not stay here.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
4.9

Don't do it unless you must. If location, right across the street from the madness, and price are all that matter to you, fine. Otherwise, steer clear Seriously, CLEAN THE PLACE.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Dec 2016
8.0

Only stayed for one night but was really good value and exactly what we needed!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Dec 2016
8.6

Perfectly located about 20 metres from Khaosan Road so you don't get kept up from the music (if you go to sleep before it finishes) the staff are brilliant and so friendly. On the day I checked out I was very ill and they let me use a spare room until I got picked up by my transfer to sleep. They didn't need to do this or help out but they seemed genuinely concerned about me. Would definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Dec 2016
6.0

This is where you would be a hooker to murder. But it's cheap

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Dec 2016
6.6

Cheap hostel in a great location. Don't expect too much from the rooms, but it's a place to sleep after you're done partying on Khao San Road ;)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.