Hostelworld.com

Khaosan Road Rainbow Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
6.3
Good 611 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 4.2
  • Facilities 4.6
BOOK NOW
6.3
Good 611 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 6.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 4.2
  • Facilities 4.6
Khaosan Road Rainbow Hostel Located at 43 Chakrapong Road, Banglumphu, Bangkok.
Khaosan Road Rainbow Hostel
Thailand
Bangkok Bangkok 10200 43 Chakrapong Road, Banglumphu
63% 611
13.7596130 100.4953336
Khaosan Road Rainbow Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
6.0

Nice polite staff. Terrible beds. So hard and in general the place was dirty and smelly.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • dcliffordx
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
1st Apr 2016
4.6

the location was good and the staff really friendly however it is absolutely filthy!! there was mould, holes in our wall, bathroom was so dirty, corridor smelt like sewage which also drifted into our room, the smell was so bad it woke us up, we did tell the staff but the man acted oblivious, we had a couple of cockroaches come into our room. Worst place we have stayed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2016
6.6

It's what you can get for the price. I had a single room, there is no window and a fan - so pretty hot. It was quite dirty as well (mould on the wall and ceiling). The location is pretty good though, but quite loud (directly at the Khao San corner). All in all you can get better deals just a few streets away from Khao San.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • csmathon3104
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Mar 2016
8.9

Very nice place and the location was perfect for me. If I have to give one non positive comment it would be that the internet was working only at the reception. They have lots of potential and I can only imagine that this hotel will get better and better (^-^).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
21st Feb 2016
7.7

Had a nice stay here the staff were especially lovely, the rooms needed a definite re-furb, basic and very worn yet a perfect location so no complaints here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2016
5.7

You get what you pay for, pretty dirty and smells bad.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jan 2016
4.3

This is the worst hostel I've stayed in so far. Although I've been traveling the world since 5 years. I stayed in a room without air con. I had one fan for 6 people which is not okay. I did not sleep for a whole night because of the heat. Since there's no window in the room and no chance to let in some fresh air it absolutely smells out there. Make sure you have at least 3 fans for each room without air con. It's unbareable. Also, 4th floor? With heavy packpacks? Write it in the details on web.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Jan 2016
7.7

Hostel has a great location and value for money. More effort could be put into giving the rooms any warmth ie: repairing holes in the wall, a mirror above a sink, a bathroom door knob that is not falling off. A nicety would be a power point beside the bed. Not deal breakers but items that would be appreciated. The AC was amazing. Kudos. All in all, a recommended hostel, a little extra touch ups and the value would be even greater.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2016
2.0

Very bad. Everything was so dirty . The worst hostel at our trip so we decided to not sleep there.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2016
5.4

This place is a dump. We paid 500 baht for a double bed private room. I've paid considerably less than that for a place that is way nicer. didn't shower because I felt so grossed out, the bed was hard and made of plastic, walls were filthy, smelled like cigarettes. Places get away with being so gross and expensive if they're close to Khao San road. Nice to crash though

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.