X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Khaosan Tokyo Laboratory Reviews

2-1-4 Nishi-Asakusa, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
465 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

My expectation was much higher than what i get, such as ; Staff doesn't really heard my complaint of curtain on upper bunk bed was spoiled hence request for change of bed but no one did anything to fix that even they forgot I want to request of bed changes, AC bit spoiled (1 minutes on, after that not working anymore), Internet connection sucks so bad (very weak signal in my room), dirty since people can use their shoes freely, no slippers if we didn't request for it, kitchen fridge was so messy


83%

staff are friendly, cute, kind the bed and the pillow be bland overallis good

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Staff was very nice. But among the hosts, no ambiance at all. Nobody even say "hello", and in my room nobody did speak english.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

very friendly staff, very approachable.

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff were very bubbly, friendly and helpful. Facilities were great, however the ensuite showers get the floor extremely wet. Maybe consider changing the shower curtains??

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Location was good and easy to find. Staff were very nice and always eager to help with directions etc. The common room would be better on the ground floor rather than the top floor as it wasn't easy to bump into fellow travellers! Didn't find it to be very social. The beds were very comfortable and clean. A good hostel, just not good for meeting people.


100%

Really great place

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

A good location to live in as you can choose either asakusa station or Tawaramachi station to travel everywhere you want. As living in 3 bed private room, my mom still didn't sleep well because of the mattress, we think it will be much better if they are all changed to spring mattress. Staff are very nice and helpful. And it is very clean in common room on 6/F. Thanks for serving us these two days.


97%

nice staff can speak english and nice room nice Atmostphere. i love here

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

This place is awesome! It was super convenient to get from here to other main parts of the city (Shibuya), and Kaminarimon is literally 5 minutes down the street from you. The place is kept very clean, and the staff is very helpful!

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

This hostel was located not far from the train station and the tips on how to locate it were great. Staff were ok as we were only there for one night.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

It was great! No complains or suggestions. Nice staff.


100%

I found it a little difficult to find so make sure you print directions as very few people speak english and will be able to assist. Nice hostel, very helpful staff and loads of restaurants and shops near by.


83%

Shower over en suite bath tends to soak the bath room floor because the water runs around the sides of the bath and onto the floor. Proper showers would be better or door across the bath instead of a curtain.


91%

The staff was so friendly and helpful, one of the best I've encountered until now. I have no negative comments at all :)

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

nice staff very friendly and helpfull

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

A perfect place to stay in Tokyo !


100%

Great atmosphere, great room quality (it even comes with TV!). Cost slightly more compared to the other hostels in the Asakusa area, but would definitely recommend this place.


94%

Bunk bed room was great and clean. Having your own WC and shower was good too. Upper floor shower room and lounge were clean and nice. Staff were very friendly as well. Didn't get a chance to meet people as my schedule was pretty tight but they have lounge rooms on 1st and 6th floor to meet people. Various stores and restaurants and of course Nakamise-dori were nearby. Overall, I would recommend this to those who want to visit Tokyo. Thanks for having me there!


86%

The staff were great, very helpful and friendly. Loved the location a very cool part of Tokyo with wonderful alleyways full of restaurants.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(61 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback