Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Khaosan Tokyo Original

  • 2-1-5 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, 111-0034, Tokyo, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2301 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2301 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Feb 2017
9.4

Staff was friendly and helpful. Needed a key card to get in the front door and large lockers in the rooms. As well as a lock on the room door. Location was great! Close to major Ginza train station and shops, restaurants, and temples near by. Sometimes a wait for toilets and showers because there are few but it works. Kitchen is small as well but has everything you need. Small lounge and a rooftop terrace is cool. Info everywhere in the hostel about Toky .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
9.1

Its my 3rd time staying here, and its value for money if all you need is sleep, place to leave bag n shower. Its the oldest Khaosan around Asakusa,thus the bldg seems run down compared to the rest.Its still decently clean though. Staff are friendly n nice to chat with

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
8.0

Was a clean relatively easy to find hostel, it had lovely staff but very small common room and kitchen! But close to bars and restaurants so enjoy!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jan 2017
9.1

Super friendly staff who answered every single question I asked in great detail. Also incredibly friendly. The space is a bit tight, but not something I didn't expect from Tokyo. They had adequate kitchen supplies, free coffee, storage space, truly everything you'd expect. The location is very solid. Asakusa isn't dead center of the city, but is a very enjoyable spot nonetheless and one people should visit anyways. Furthermore, it's not even a two minutes' walk from a subway. Great place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2016
10.0

My second stay at this hostel and I had a great time. The hostel is very homely and the staff are very friendly and welcoming. It is also situated in a great location, close to subway lines and lots to do within walking distance. Thank you for an enjoyable stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Dec 2016
8.3

Best of it is it's staff. Great people. It's a small hostel and it lacks some cleaning to the bathrooms. We will stay.there again on our net visit

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
8.0

Decent place overall, although there are probably better choices. Location is superb and can't be beat; prices are also super reasonable. However accommodations are very, very very cramped - not just the room (which barely had enough room for the bunk bed and our backpacks), but the common area as well -- which made hanging out a bit unpleasant.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Nov 2016
8.9

The staff was really nice to us and helpul. The location was very very convenient, Asakusa metro station is 2 mins away walking

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Nov 2016
8.0

Nice hostel, staff is very friendly. Nice riverview from the rooms. Location near a major tourists sight, but no nightlife around. Hostel itself is clean, but the shower had a very bad smell that was even noticeable when walking by. Toilet in second floor is very small, so you have to go to another floor. The window/balcony door in the mixed dorm did not close properly. Interestingly the lockers in the room have small hole in the front, so you need to put small valuables in the back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • honeynut
  • Thailand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Nov 2016
9.7

very good location, easy to travel to/from the airport.staff is very friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.