Hostelworld.com

Khaosan Tokyo Original

  • 2-1-5 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, 111-0034, Tokyo, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 2,208 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 2,208 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3
Khaosan Tokyo Original Located at 2-1-5 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, 111-0034, Tokyo.
Khaosan Tokyo Original
Japan
Tokyo 2-1-5 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, 111-0034
83% 2208
35.7093089 139.7972273
Khaosan Tokyo Original
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
3rd Jun 2016
8.6

Good place to stay on a long layover.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
6.6

Security 4/5: Provides per-room key, requires a passcode to access the main door which is distributed with keys. Location 5/5: Takes less than 3 minutes to get to the nearest train station. Cost Effectiveness 4/5: Awesome location, available to sleep and take a shower. Pretty effective to this cost. Facilities 1/5: Only two shared shower rooms and three toilets for all. Had to change the room due to the broken bunk bed (possibility of potentially lethal injuries).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th May 2016
8.0

We stayed here for our first 3 days. It's a normal hostel to stay at and the location is good for a few days. It's located in Asakusa where there are plenty of places to shop. The staff is really friendly and even hosted a "party" night with free food. They were very kind. The hostel is tiny, which is pretty common in Japan. All in all a good place and better than Anne Hostel which is about 20 min walk south of this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2016
8.6

Friendly and helpful staff to guide you to where you want to go Quiet and peaceful at night Location is pretty good at Asakusa, an area rich with cultural heritage Staff was generous to organize a mini party and cooked up some takoyaki to share with us Would be even more awesome if there was more community engagement to get all fellow travellers to chat for a night (but perhaps the period I went it was low-key so not much opportunity for this).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
20th May 2016
7.1

Very small rooms in an old cramped building. The whole thing kinda feels like it's being held together with sticky tape and is slowly falling apart. As you could say in Japanese; a bit "boroboro" however rooms are a reasonable price and the hostel is in a good location. There are lockers in the rooms and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th May 2016
6.6

We stayed in a twin for 5 nights, which was alright, but very tiny: it was hard not to trip over our stuff or each other. We only had 2 power sockets, which was not enough at times. The staff are nice and helpful, and the location is great: Asakusa is really nice (hostel is VERY close to metro station) with lots of VERY GOOD restaurants around. The hostel showers can get very smelly though, and our room had rubbish under the bed and dust everywhere: rooms should get cleaned more thoroughly

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
7.1

Good to stay here ..... near asakusa and metro.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Apr 2016
8.3

very small but close to Asakusa station

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • fbenaglia5412
  • Argentina, Male, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 51 reviews
26th Apr 2016
2.9

Very small hostel, toilet and shower are in the kitchen. Room is so smells, I cant sleep at night really really uncomfortable. The bedroom is dusty, every morning when we wake up and open the window, we can see the dust flying everywhere. The toilets are always smelly, the shower is so ghetto and the shower curtain is damped. But the location is good.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2016
10.0

Great place to stay in Tokyo! The people are friendly, it's right across subway lines, in a popular area in Asakusa so there is tons to see, and only one train to Narita Airport. I liked to so much I booked again towards the end of my stay in Tokyo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.