Hostelworld.com

Khaosan Tokyo Original

  • 2-1-5 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, 111-0034, Tokyo, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2,193 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2,193 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.4
Khaosan Tokyo Original Located at 2-1-5 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, 111-0034, Tokyo.
Khaosan Tokyo Original
Japan
Tokyo 2-1-5 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, 111-0034
84% 2193
35.7093089 139.7972273
Khaosan Tokyo Original
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
20th May 2016
7.1

Very small rooms in an old cramped building. The whole thing kinda feels like it's being held together with sticky tape and is slowly falling apart. As you could say in Japanese; a bit "boroboro" however rooms are a reasonable price and the hostel is in a good location. There are lockers in the rooms and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th May 2016
6.6

We stayed in a twin for 5 nights, which was alright, but very tiny: it was hard not to trip over our stuff or each other. We only had 2 power sockets, which was not enough at times. The staff are nice and helpful, and the location is great: Asakusa is really nice (hostel is VERY close to metro station) with lots of VERY GOOD restaurants around. The hostel showers can get very smelly though, and our room had rubbish under the bed and dust everywhere: rooms should get cleaned more thoroughly

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Apr 2016
8.3

very small but close to Asakusa station

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2016
10.0

Great place to stay in Tokyo! The people are friendly, it's right across subway lines, in a popular area in Asakusa so there is tons to see, and only one train to Narita Airport. I liked to so much I booked again towards the end of my stay in Tokyo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
7.4

Simple hostel with good location not far from the Asakusa temple. I know that it can get a little louder in hostels, but this was a bit too much. The walls are really thin... Otherwise, everything was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
4.9

Room is so smells, i can't sleep at night coz really really uncomfortable...!!! But the location is good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2016
8.9

Nice little hostel set in a very tradicional neighbourhood in tokyo. Free tea and coffee. Friendly staff. It is the oldest of the khaosan group of hostels. Space can be very límited. I shared a two bunk bed room with my friend and we just had enough space to sqeeze out the door. If you like space try another hostel with the same group. Very pretty roof terrace. Id probably not stay here again but thats because im very tall and ceilings are súper low

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
5.1

Very small hostel, toilet and shower are in the kitchen. Stayed in the private 2 bed dorm. It was very small, barely room to move o CE out of the bed. The light was barely working so was in the dark once the sun went down. The toilet next to our room was very loud. The showers have a damp dirty smell and were on a different floor to us. Only 2 showers on that floor. Otherwise you had to go to the kitchen.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Apr 2016
9.4

It was a pleasure to stay here. Staffs are great! It is very near from Asakusa Station. However for those whom travelling with big luggages, there's no lift; the stair and the room is very small. Overall, it is a cozy place and I love to come back for sure in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
5.1

toilet is not clean. Room has too much dust. But staff is lovely.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.