X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Khaosan Tokyo Original Reviews

2-1-5 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, 111-0034, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1476 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

This is a good choice for people who is travelling in Tokyo.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

We are fine with the limited space, considering that the price is very cheap and the location is very convenient. Though the shower room is quite smelly.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent all round. Lovely welcoming and helpful staff. Comfortable beds in dorm that have the added privacy of a curtain. Very small communal area, but I think this makes it all the more homely and a fun place to be. I would definitely stay there again. Aasakusa is a great location. Lots to see and do there, walkable or easy cycle distance to many places, but trains are just on the door step.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

아사쿠사 구경을 하기에 아주 좋은 위치 내가 있을 때 night member였던 Yoko씨는 매우 친절 시설흔 노후되었지만 관리는 잘 되는 편


91%

cozy, comfortable, and nice view from the room I stayed.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel was great, it was convenient to have access to a kitchen, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The place was well situated, clean, and comfortable.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The internet didn't work well


91%

nice atmosphere nice staff i'll stay there again next time


86%

A really convenient place to stay, imagine being near Asakusa station which is only more than an hour from Narita airport. Add to that the nice view of the Sumida River from the room I stayed in, Khaosan Tokyo Original is indeed a great choice for travellers for value and convenience. Allen, Samantha and Hayato were very attentive to the guests. Unfortunately, my stay was short and I did wish I had more time to bond with these cool guys and the other interesting people. Until then, mata ne! :)

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Thank you for the great accommodations! The locating was excellent! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We were immediately helped and the check in process was quick. Our room was very spacious, and even came with personal lockers. I have one small issue with the bathroom facilities, especially the toilet room being extremely small, I was almost unable to close the door, and the WIFI did not work in our room, and we would have to step just outside our door to reach the WIFI signal.


74%

The location is great and the staff are helpful and wonderful. But Khaosan Original is an old hostel, so the bathroom and room are very small and cramped. Try the newer ones such as Khaosan Ninja, Kabuki, Theatre for newer facilities and room design.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

For the same amount of money, I can stay in a better place with more facilities available. There are no lifts so it is really troublesome if you are bringing large suitcases. The room is really small and has no place to put a table. The toilets and other facilities are pretty old. And there is only hair dryer on the 1st floor. It is near a metro station but not JR, so one has to transfer to a local subway line. And there is no lift at the nearest exit.


74%

pros: good location very close to subway, lots of eating options nearby, very cheap - good for budget travellers cons: extremely cramped quarters...i guess that's why it's the "Original"...everything that came after it was an upgrade. also the bathrooms stink...mainly from damp towels etc....their shower does not drain so you basically stand in 2 inch deep water as you shower.


89%

lovely staff, very happy to help you in any way they can!


100%

very good staff very nice place all staff friendly thanks a lot


100%

Really clean, super nice staff! The view from the room is amazing! You can see the river and the iluminated skytree from your dorm! They provide lockers for your personal stuff and they put curtains in the dorm, so you could have privacy. The location is also very good, near asakusa station and walking distance from kaminarimon gate. The only problem is the shower, which is really small.


77%

Pros: Great location near Senjo Ji. Friendly staff. Cons: Only one washing basin on each floor. The toilet smelled.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

Receptionist staff are fluent in English but housekeepers are unprofessional. There is only 1 direct bed sheet to cover mattress. Everyday there are new tourists coming in and fill in for a bed in the dormitory room, therefore housekeepers do not have many chances to clean the whole room despite collecting used bed sheets. The hostel doesn't maintain standard of cleanliness, in which there must be a sweat-proof layer between mattress and bed sheets.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

It was my first time staying in the Original...and it won't be my last. Both the price and location can only be beat by the hospitality of the staff. But taller folk should remember to watch their heads when entering some of the dormitories though. P.S. Don't forget to go to the parties thrown by this and Khaosan's other locations (FREE FOOD)!


91%

The aircon is quite warm


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(80 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback