X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Khaosan Tokyo Original Reviews

2-1-5 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, 111-0034, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1741 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

advantages: 1 min to train station, good location. disadvantages: 10 years old hostel, so smaller room, smaller common area, smaller toilet, shower room. If you don't mind to walk 20 mins, suggest same group Khaosan world hostel, have more rooms, more space, a huge common room, a bar


100%

love this hostel,near subway asakusa,(asakusa line),just cross the street and walk about 100 meter you"re in khaosan original,also you can see the tokyo tower from your room,really recommended this hostel.only one that i complained,the shower room is too small.


49%

1. Toilet is too narrow 2. Wifi speed is too slow 3. Far from JR Station 4. Window that next to river has broken seal so the outer air and noise can come in the room 5. Feel not private with shower room that has the wide gap between both shower rooms

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

good location nice staff


54%

wifi connection there sucks. iPhone 6 works, but non for laptop. really annoyed.

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Thank you for everything. Me and my wife like your place. We hope to stay with you again.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

People working there were very friendly and helpful. The hostel is in a very good place to visit and so near from interesting places like Tokyo Tower or Senso-Ji temple.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

This place was like a home away from home!! Of course this is a hostel so set expectations accordingly, but with that in mind this place is incredible. The staff speak excellent English and are very courteous, helpful -- and after hours are fun to party with. There is WiFi and even a roofdeck! The location is great for both Senso-ji and Sky tree, and a day trip to Ueno. Good food abounds. Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Awesome hostel in such a great location!! Atmosphere wasn't great but I was only there for a few nights anyway. Rooms were clean and a little locker for your valuables was really good!!! Would definitely stay again!


57%

The hostel location is great but the facilities are old and not clean. It's not a comfortable place to stay. Someone recommended me this brand of hostels (I think they have 7 in Tokyo), but I think this is not the good one. I can't speak for the others.

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

I was amazed by their concept. It is one of a kind. Their staff very helpful. Good for value and good location. 1 direct train to Shibuya, and just 10 minutes or something to another interesting places... Good Guest house!

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good: close to toei line station, good security, strong wifi, staff very nice and accommodating Bad: desperately needs a facelift. Showers on the first floor are awful, just a bag hanging up to keep clothes dry. If you have to venture downstairs since your floor's toilet/shower is occupied be prepared to be stared at by everyone in the kitchen like cows in a field. The sink is in the corridor, lots of people blowdry their hair at early hours in the morning which goes right through the doors


94%

Enjoyed our stay there...not much hassles and everything was good.


77%

Number of toilets and showers are not enough. And it is very small area for a group but the location is great , close to Toei and Tobu subway.


97%

Other than the super tiny bathroom (knees to the wall while sitting down) [although the heated-seat and bidet make up for that] it had great facilities. And super close to the subway exit/entrance.


71%

Overall, the location is convenient, home-feel, and the staff are friendly. Just the facilities are basic, and the toilet a bit small. Some facilities like missing light bulb in the sink on 2/F should be quickly replaced, while the boiled water must be ready on G/F for coffee/drink.


83%

I stayed here for 3 nights in march 2015. The room is a quite small but it's ok for us cause anyway we went out the whole day and just came back to sleep. I love the view from the rooftop. It's so nice. The location is convenient, near subway station, near Asakusa temple, a lot of good restaurants nearby, staff can speak english very well. This is a good budget hotel.

  • 10th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Khaosan Tokyo Original is very close to the Sensō-ji, just 3 minutes by walking. And there are many restaurants nearby. I think the location of the hostel is very good. The rooms in Khaosan Tokyo Original are really small, it is hard for me to put two luggage inside the room, when I need to open my suitcase, i have to occupy the corridor. In sum, I recommend to stay in Khaosan Tokyo Original giving the reasonable price and excellent location.

  • 9th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

good location, 3 min walk from Asakusa station friendly staff, clean room with affordable price

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Tiny hostel with the reception room right next to the dorm room. Only one shower and had to go downstairs. Did not feel it was very clean there.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(70 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback