Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Khaosan Tokyo Original

  • 2-1-5 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, 111-0034, Tokyo, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 2,253 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 2,253 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3
Khaosan Tokyo Original Located at 2-1-5 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, 111-0034, Tokyo.
Khaosan Tokyo Original
Japan
Tokyo 2-1-5 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, 111-0034
83% 2253
35.7093089 139.7972273
Khaosan Tokyo Original
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
10.0

My 3 days at Khaosan Original were trouble free. The staff was kind and helpful. The location is near public transportation and the oldest temple in Japan with a great shopping area. Places to eat are close by. The price was great. Bathroom was a little small but clean none the less. There is a cool rooftop area that closes at 8pm :(. Most rooms have a view of the river.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
8.0

This was my first hostel experience and I was very happy with the accommodations. Location: next to the subway. It made traveling around very easy. Also easy access to food and the temple nearby. Plenty to explore around for a day or two. Staff and check in: easy process with friendly staff. I had no issues getting my keys and the staff had plenty of suggestions for places around town. Atmosphere: only met 2 other people while I was here but they were friendly and the bed was clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
8.3

Nice place. Nice people. Great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
10.0

Me and my two friends stayed here during the summer. The AC was great cooled the entire room. The location is amazing. It is right next to the station and next to sight seeing. Overall I loved it here and would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Sep 2016
7.4

The toilets are very small, but otherwise it's a fine place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brunei, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
8.6

The hostel is near to Asakusa station, restaurants and some bars. The host was friendly. Stayed at mixed dorm with beautiful view of the Skytree and along the river. The dorm are clean, have individual lockers and meet some cool people there too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2016
9.7

This was my 2nd stay here. This place might be the oldest among all Khaosan in the area, but the cheapest.For the price, the facilities condition is worth it.The common area is small, but fit fine for the occupants. Had good chat with other traveler. If you PokeGo, this hostel has 2 stops reached while in premise,n the riverbank side seems to spawn Dratini every hour :3

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
8.0

Very good location, friendly staff, however no atmosphere in the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
25th Aug 2016
6.9

Well located for Asakusa but I would definitely stay in Shinjuku instead. Fairly clean but the private rooms were incredibly small. Not even enough room for your bags. Khaosan hostels are great but this one lacked any vibe.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
16th Aug 2016
8.9

I've stayed here twice, absolutely the best hostel in Tokyo as regards price and location. As they say it's basic but for the price it's perfect - close to metro station, direct train to airport, walking distance to Asakusa Sensoji shrine and Sky tree. Rooms aren't big but have privacy curtains, personal lights, and comfy, sturdy beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.