X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Khaosan Tokyo Original Reviews

2-1-5 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, 111-0034, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1369 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Its the first of the Khaosan Hostals. , set in a old Tokyo style house ,So if you're looking for fancy and space its not for you, Its a cosy and querky place. Location is awesome, a 2 minute walk to the station and a 5 minute walk to the tourists areas, the staff are so friendly, always willing to help, highly recommended, if you want to chill in the small common areas and make friends with other travellers and just a place to lay your head , but as i say, its not for everyone.

  • 8th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

people who used 1 floor felt uncomfortable. Because the restroom and shower room was located public place. But, the other thing was perfect. especially every staff was so nice. thank you ~

  • 3rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Staffs were really good!!! They were so kind

  • 2nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

It was a very cozy accommodation. Friendly staff, warm atmosphere! Thank you!


69%

room too small ....

  • 21st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

The hostel is really well located and just a 3 minute walk from the closest subway station. The beds were really comfortable and the common area and kitchen are really nice for hanging out and meeting new people. The only downside is the bathroom/shower facilities, which are just a few for everybody. The staff was also really helpful and kind!


80%

Really good option, good location, nice staff (can ask them for suggestions all the time ), cheap. The only thing is the bathroom is a bit dirty.


63%

Our room smelt bad, staff did try to fix by adding more deodorizes but even the bed smelt funky. Showers need a realy through scrubing or maybe a reno to get rid of mould.


89%

I had a great time!! Everyone who stayed there and worked there was very NICE and helpful!!! The view from the roof was amazing~ See you soon!


91%

Hostel was fantastic! The location was excellent, though a little hard to find at first. The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke very good English. The hostel was warm and inviting and had a good atmosphere. It catered very well to sightseers and tourists by providing heaps of brochures and public transport information. The rooms were perfectly simple, which was exactly what we needed them to be. Would definitely stay here again!

  • 3rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I love all Khaosan branches I've stayed at so far, and Khaosan Original lives up to every other place I've stayed. I definitely recommend it!


66%

the staffs are friendly. The room I live has good view,and clean,but the toilet and shower room smell not good!

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

I booked the hostel a night before my arrival. Thanks for the prompt arrangement and precise tourist guide. All the staff are cool and nice and helpful.... !


89%

The room was a bit small but enough for two people. Longer stay might be harder if you have big luggage. The staff was really nice and it was clean. I wouldn't mind coming again.


94%

thank you for having us a wonderful journey in Tokyo!

  • 18th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I love Khaosan Tokyo Original as I love Tokyo!!!... Whenever I will go back to Tokyo, for sure KhaoSan Tokyo original will be my home away from home. Kudos to Kenta and Hitomi... hope to see you again soon :)


91%

Staff extremely helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. Location very handy for the Ginza line and the Skytree.


100%

Mostly all facilities available. Wifi have good connection. Kinda quiet area. A good place to stay!

  • 23rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I like this hostel. All staffs are very nice. Thanks for welcome us.

  • 16th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice place with welcoming staff, perfect location. And a balkony directly towards the river!

  • 13th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(59 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback