X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Khaosan Tokyo Original Reviews

2-1-5 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, 111-0034, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1519 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The aircon is quite warm


89%

Does what it says in the tin- friendly staff


71%

It smelled a bit musty everywhere, but that might have been because it poured the whole weekend, and everyone's stuff was wet from being outside. Other than that, the mattresses were super comfortable and the view was fantastic (even though it was rainy!). I enjoy staying at Khaosan hostels - they always deliver comfortable beds, clean rooms, and friendly staff for a great price.


83%

Friendly staff, location is excellent, but doesn't have good facilities ex. they provide only one hair dryer for all customers while it was taken by a customer so we couldn't dry our hair. Clean but not spacious, value for money, recommend this hostel if you want to visit Asakusa by walk.

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Great location, very close to Ginza

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Thanks for the help though we only stay one night , check-in late and check-out very early. The location and the view of our room is extremely good. Will choose Khaosan if I go to Tokyo next time!! Thanks


94%

Very friendly staff, and right next to Asakusa station, which has a direct (have to transfer once) to NRT airport.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

The entire hostel needs an overhaul. I don't mind the building being old and ran-down but the place is simply filthy, especially the shower rooms. The hostel uses volunteers to do their housekeeping. I saw this young Caucasian volunteer cleaning the kitchen sink and the wash basin with a box of tissue papers !! If I were to make a comparison with Japan's public toilets which are spotlessly clean and odourless - this hostel is a real shame.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Near the tourist attraction.

  • 22nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Rooms were small and cramped but the staff were friendly, the location is very close to the airport and nearby Metro and Subway and the price was cheap.


80%

Staff were very welcoming, helpful and patient. Thanks for the complimentary beers to celebrate the festival during our stay.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Khaosan Tokyo Original was the cheapest place we stayed during our 3 weeks in Japan. That said, it was justified. The rooms were TINY, and we were right across the hall from the toilets, so it stank 24/7. The whole place is a bit old. The staff were great though, and went out of their way to help you. Bottom line, 2 nights was enough, you get what you pay for.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

THE BEST GUESTHOUSE IN TOKYO.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It was a good hostel, but there were other khaosans that were bigger. Everyone there was really friendly and willing to have fun with you if you have time! mom and I were so busy with getting the most out of our rail passes before they expired that we never got to. everything was pretty clean, the roof space had a really good veiw and during the sanja matsuri the floats went right down our street so we got great pictures and it was really nice to wake up to the sounds of taiko and the flute. ;)

  • 11th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff were lovely and so helpful. Nothing was a bother to them and they went out of their way to help as much as they could. Amazing place and I would recommend to anyone!!

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel in a great location. We stayed in the four person room on the second floor and had a balcony view of the river! Kind of small room but definitely manageable. Would stay here again.


100%

I loved staying at Khaosan. We had a room with an excellent view over the river an at the Tokyo Skytree. The staff were very warm and friendly. It felt a bit like home.


97%

will definitely come back again once i am in Tokyo

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff so helpful, clean and strategic location.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff are so lovely and helpful! Even when our our hostel had kicked us out with no where to go they let us sort out selves out there and use their wifi! Such lovely people and it's great value for money! Good location, as you are in a central area but in a side street away from the crowds. STAY HERE

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(87 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback