X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Khaosan Tokyo Original Reviews

2-1-5 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, 111-0034, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1911 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The location was great being so close to many different subway lines and even being able to walk to the Skytree. The room I stayed in either smelled because of one of the other bunkmates or because someone prior to our arrival had left it smelly so maybe installing some febreeze would be nice. Other than the odor, I enjoyed the staying at the hostel. The staff was very helpful and informative during my stay there.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I found the staff are helpful. They will try their best to provide any helps in whatever ways possible. Some are really awesome and great like Toshi and Moe. Overall they are kind and friendly too. The twin private room is a bit small. At times they are some guests made some noise which i can still compromise. No issue at all.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Very small rooms and common area. Always crowded.


86%

nice place , with a nice teamgood place in tokyo

  • 26th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent location near the metro, with several traditional sights and restaurants all around. Maps available downstairs. Free luggage storage room. Dorms are really nice with a privacy curtain (x2), and mine even had a balcony. Would recommend.


80%

advantages: 1 min to train station, good location. disadvantages: 10 years old hostel, so smaller room, smaller common area, smaller toilet, shower room. If you don't mind to walk 20 mins, suggest same group Khaosan world hostel, have more rooms, more space, a huge common room, a bar


100%

Excellent area of Tokyo, calm, traditional, yet easy access to trains, bars, and restaurants. Bedrooms are comfortable. Staff was very helpful. No complaints at all. I lived in Japan for several years, and always staff in Asakusa when visiting Tokyo. From now on, I will be staying here when I come back.


91%

the only thing that could be bettered i think is that the showers were a bit unpractical. maybe just add like a small spot to put a toiletry case and such.

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

happy for staying in this tokyo guesthouse for 3 nights. quite comfortable for backpackers to stay. cleanliness is being the most concern in here. the english spoken staffs are also very nice. it is one of nice guesthouse in tokyo!


71%

Nice hostel, tucked away in an alley in Asakusa. Staff was really nice & accommodating. Rooms were decent. Price was a bit steep but I guess that's just Japan.


86%

good location and nice staff


100%

love this hostel,near subway asakusa,(asakusa line),just cross the street and walk about 100 meter you"re in khaosan original,also you can see the tokyo tower from your room,really recommended this hostel.only one that i complained,the shower room is too small.


49%

1. Toilet is too narrow 2. Wifi speed is too slow 3. Far from JR Station 4. Window that next to river has broken seal so the outer air and noise can come in the room 5. Feel not private with shower room that has the wide gap between both shower rooms

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

good location nice staff


54%

wifi connection there sucks. iPhone 6 works, but non for laptop. really annoyed.

  • 12th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Thank you for everything. Me and my wife like your place. We hope to stay with you again.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

People working there were very friendly and helpful. The hostel is in a very good place to visit and so near from interesting places like Tokyo Tower or Senso-Ji temple.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

This place was like a home away from home!! Of course this is a hostel so set expectations accordingly, but with that in mind this place is incredible. The staff speak excellent English and are very courteous, helpful -- and after hours are fun to party with. There is WiFi and even a roofdeck! The location is great for both Senso-ji and Sky tree, and a day trip to Ueno. Good food abounds. Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Awesome hostel in such a great location!! Atmosphere wasn't great but I was only there for a few nights anyway. Rooms were clean and a little locker for your valuables was really good!!! Would definitely stay again!


57%

The hostel location is great but the facilities are old and not clean. It's not a comfortable place to stay. Someone recommended me this brand of hostels (I think they have 7 in Tokyo), but I think this is not the good one. I can't speak for the others.

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(90 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback