X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Khaosan Tokyo Original Reviews

2-1-5 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, 111-0034, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1659 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great hostel! Will stay again!

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

staff are very helpful

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

방이 좀 좁앗어요...

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel is really easy to find- thanks for the location plan. The infrastructure is great, because the Ginza and Asakusa Line are really close. So even the room is small it is is price worth. The only thing which could be modernized are the showers, please do that and then is Khaosan Original the best place to stay. The Staff is very welcoming, they help were they can - I can say just positive things about them. Go on like that. 皆さんは本当に優しい、ありがとうございます。

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your stay here. We are planning to renovate some places of our facility. We will make efforts for your better next trip. looking forward to seeing you again in Asakusa. 本当にありがとうございます。 また来てくださいね。

74%

Location was very good but the shower was small and dim lighted. If someone closed the light to the shower, it would close the light to the adjoining shower. One evening an awful odor came up into the shower, likely from the sewer and did not go away all evening. 1 Toilet per floor, very small and handle would get stuck and water would keep running. There was only 1 sink to brush your teeth and dry your hair so you had to check if anyone was using it several times. Toilet & shower al shared

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

In need of a renovation. showers are bearable, but gives an old, musty look. There was also a weird smell in the hostel. I booked a private twin bedroom and it was the tiniest thing ever. We literally had room to only open one suitcase at a time, and it was lucky we had small suitcases, otherwise we would not have fit. Place was cheap, and it shows, but you get what you paid for. Staff were great and very friendly. Super close to station and the temple so that was a plus!


83%

Place is very basic. Clean and quite. Great location as it's only a walk away from the Asakusa metro station, the Senso-ji, and the stop for the river cruise. Space is small though and everyone is given the pass code for the door so security might be questionable - not a big thing though. Also, there's not a lot of "hostel feel," very quite and perfect place to just sleep in after a long day of walking around Tokyo.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff was extremely helpful and kind. It was a pleasure to stay in Tokyo Original

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

We stayed at Khaosan Original at the beginning for or trip, which was why we were not wondering to much about the facilities. After we noticed that they had some bedbugs, we didnt start to expect to much for the other hostels we would stay in - which were also khaosan, by the way. So we were surprised with our stays in khaosan kyoto and khaosan world - for the same price per night we got way more clean rooms and beds and also way more material for tourism, where to go, where to eat etc.

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

very nice place, this is my second time stay here~

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Above average place, but just not to the standards you would expect from a Japanese hostel. It is one of the cheapest around though, so if you are on a budget, its a good place to stay.


77%

Only stayed one night, so not much to go off. Next door had construction going on, but was quiet by bedtime. Shower was a little pokey...hard to keep your clothes from getting wet and toilet was very small too, so efficient use of space i guess :p. Wash room is open, so easily accessible/able to be used by several at once, but i can't see the girls liking the lack of privacy. I liked it and would stay again, but there was nothing particularly special.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This is my 2nd stay at the Khaosan Original. You can get the million dollar view of the Sumida for a fraction of the price that a full service hotel would charge. The staff at this place are wonderful. I will continue to return here for life!


91%

Everything is good as per described, wifi signal can be improved as no signal in the room ( 3rd floor)

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Pretty beautiful location, but the street isn't that great. The inside of the hostel could be renewed for the price being paid.


51%

Good location and friendly staff. Unfortunately, the hostel was very cramped and in dire need of renovation. Not to mention the air conditioning, which didn't work well in our room. Overall, our stay was bearable for one night, but would not recommend staying there for a longer period of time, especially not in summer.


94%

I loved this place. I had a private double room with my sister which was extreme small. Other than that it was wonderful. The atmosphere in the living room was amazing and the staff was very friendly.


97%

The only thing I found disappointing was the curfew to go on the roof. The view up there is beautiful and I wanted to stay longer. Other than that, everything else is amazing. I love the fact that the place is small so people get to interact more with each other in the dining room.


89%

Great hostel.. overall good vibe.. staff was very helpful & it was easy to find after a long day of traveling. 5 minute walk from Senso-ji temple, and a 3 minute walk from the Metro. Was only bummed I couldn't stay more than one night.


60%

old small shower room and hall way have some smell from toilet.


(108 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback