X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Khaosan World Asakusa HOSTEL Reviews

3-15-1, Nishi Asakusa, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
376 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 94%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Staying at the hostel is a good opportunity to be close to city attractions and have a friendly, communal atmosphere.

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Hope the bed with a curtain to be able to keep personal privacy.


97%

Near TSUKUBA ASAKUSA station( but 10 mins walk from Ginza Line or Asakusa Line) There is an inexpensive restaurant call ""Matsuya" around. Beds and rooms are clean and great. (We stay both 8 and 10 dorm room)


74%

Someone in a room has bad smell


100%

Best value for money I had on this trip


83%

Cleanest hostel I have ever stayed at. Good location - very close to the main sights in Asakusa and close to the subway so easy access to other parts of Tokyo. Staff are very friendly and welcoming and security for the hostel is in general very good. Bad side - not a very sociable atmosphere and no organized events, which made it hard to meet people.


100%

The best hostel in the World! All of the staff made me feel so welcome. The random parties and Jazz Night every Thursday were a pleasant surprise. Every day I spent at Khaosan World, Asakusa, I had a wonderful time.

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Everything was great except the location is lil bit far from metro and toei train.. If you buy one day pass, u must spend extra money for the limited express line to the hostel..

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Nicely located near Asakusa Shrine. Staff speaks English very well


80%

Nice hostel and near many interesting spots to see.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff were very friendly and informative, have a great kitchen and hall and a lounge for the guests. We wanted to stay for five nights but only two nights were available, what a pity. Will stay again should we have chance to come to Asakusa again.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel, amazing staff, good beds and nice rooms. No complaints. Recommended.


100%

The staff are very friendly and helpful! Great location and value. One of top 3 best hostels I've stayed at around the world! (out of 70 or so) -The tea towels in the kitchen could be larger so that guests can dry their dishes better. -The kitchen could use a few more tools for cooking. -People in the dorm/shared rooms tended not to lock the rooms, which is fine with the lockers provided for valuables, however I could see some guests finding that odd with their belongings inside. Thanks!


97%

Its my first time in Tokyo and im very happy im stay at this hostel. The bed is so nice and clean. I stay at female only dorm with 8 bed with bathroom inside (im so excited got bathroom inside the room at hostel!). They have big fully equipped kitchen. You can cook whatever you want there. All the staff is really nice, even not all can speak english very well but they really nice. The comic room and massage chair is free to use. Can u imagine that? Im sure i will come back again to this hostel!!


100%

Best khaosan in tokyo 😄👍.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Should have TV on the lobby room ^^

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel. Excellent and helpful staff!


91%

Its very great hostel, nice staff and can speak Japanese and English:) even though i only stay one night ,i would love to come back again next time. Thank you .

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

good place to access. very close from the nearest subway station. price is amazing! and good staffs!


91%

It is a bit hard to locate the hostel from the metro station.


(152 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback