X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Khaosan World Asakusa HOSTEL Reviews

3-15-1, Nishi Asakusa, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
470 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Perfect hostel. Super friendly staff who will try all the efforts to help u. The atmosphere is also great. I will definitely come again.


94%

Great Hostel situated in a strategic place to explore Asakusa and at a really reasonable, affordable price. Loved the beds and look of the dorm in general and the cleanliness of the place as well.


100%

great hostel, great location, great facilities, really excellent kitchen and kind helpful staff. the pillows were kind of uncomfortable? but everything was wonderful


100%

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The place was clean and the second floor was spacious, can't say much about the 4th floor, but it's fine. The Staff were very friendly and informative! We kept on bumping into Naho everywhere, haha. The Hostel is located in a very nice area, nearby the Tsukuba Asakusa Station and the Asakusa View Hotel. So getting an Airport Limousine and to certain places are easier. The 711, Lawson and Family Mart shops are also closeby along with a Bento stall too XD

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brunei
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I love the accommodation. Very nice and convenient. Would love to stay here again if I come to Tokyo.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

In general it was a good stay and good Price. It was nice that people could buy drinks and coffee in the machines. The staff was very helpful. However, there are several things to improve. The room doors should be locked with cards and not keys, because people are tending to forget to Lock the doors always, even at night, which results in low security. The beds should have curtains, because people do not respect others and keep the lights on until late hours, up to 1 am.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good, I recommend! I literally fell in love with the staff, so helpful! The only thing is the AC set to 17°C but you can change that.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

It's a hotel, not hostel atmosphere. Really huge with 6~7floors in elevator. Jitchen is always full of kids, papas, mamas....


97%

Great hostel, great staff very friendly and value for money!!!


94%

Everything was good. Price, facilities, wi-fi, toilet clealiness and service. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean and well maintained. Average for location not because it was very far from the metro or subway lines. In fact, its just 3 mins walk from the Tsukuba Express. However, Asakusa in general can be quite inconvenient since you have to get to shinjuku first most of the time. HOWEVER, if you're on a tight budget, i highly recommend this place. you won't regret it


94%

good location and very nice staff!! the best hostel in Tokyo!

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The place was very nice and the service also.


89%

The hostel staff is friendly but keeps it's distance. But the location, facilities and cleanliness is very good. The tempel is just 5 minutes away, the bus to the skytree is just around the corner and you will also find a lot of shops just around the corner as well (Don Coquote, 7 eleven, Daiso). Only negative aspect if you are a JR Pass holder: The area of Asukasa is outside of the JR area so you have to pay for the train every time. Only the Tokio JR loop line is useable with your pass.


100%

Couldn't have been happier with my stay. Friendly staff, great facilities which were always spotless clean. Highly recommended to anyone wanting a safe, friendly and comfortable hostel. Also stayed in Khaosan Kyoto which was similarly excellent


91%

Biggest hostel ever been. Good price. Very clean and safe but far from metro station (close to Tsukuba express line but quite useless). Staffs are helpful but I don't find them so friendly. They are main reception staffs and that's it! This hostel felt more like hotel as its size. I like that they have massage chairs. If u are looking for socialize place, here's may not be the place. Most of guests are Asian from China, Hong Kong, Thailand, and Korea. Should provide social activity for guests.


94%

Great hostel with awesome activity program (all you can eat dumpling making and free cycle tour), handy location to train stations, down quiet back street with easy access to main street :) Thanks guys, will be back!

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

excellent, staff are very helpful and nice..you can find everything required by a backpacker, I.e. cleanliness, strategic location, helpful staff, room is nice and clean.


100%

Great staff, wonderful experience.

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing people in an amazing hostel! Everyone should experience it. A bit pricier than I was originally looking for but worth every penny!

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Dominican Republic
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I had a very bad experience with the night staff on how she handling late night guests. My suggestions: 1) Train the night staff to handle late night check-in guests in a more polite, comforting and professional way. 2) Get a TV in the living room (with sports channels). 3) Put up some curtains/sliding windows around the beds (just like those in Khaosan Kyoto Guest House) to enhance security and privacy. 4) Maybe some water dispenser/cooler in the check-in area and kitchen will come in handy.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for giving us your comment. We actually have a big TV at lounge room now!Thank you for your suggesting! And we are having curtains as well. And we are very sorry again about our night reception We all know that you needed to stay here one day advance but it was 12 midnight and we were completely booked on that night,so finding other place to stay and taking you to there was what only we could do. Please kindly understand our situation. Thank you again.

(163 results)


View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback