Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kick Ass Hostels

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 3,019 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 3,019 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.7
Kick Ass Hostels Located at 2 West Port, Grassmarket, Edinburgh.
Kick Ass Hostels
Scotland
Edinburgh Midlothian EH1 2JA 2 West Port, Grassmarket
89% 3019
55.9468355 -3.1976699
Kick Ass Hostels
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
6.3

I was relatively pleased with the hostel until we were checking out. It was disgraceful that we had to clean our own room. You have cleaners that are paid to clean. Under no circumstances should you advise guests to clean, that is totally unacceptable. We previously asked for a brush to sweep the floor out of courtesy and staff said there is no need. Until checkout when we were rushing to catch a bus and threatened that we would not get our "Behaviour" deposit back!! Will not be returning!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jan 2017
10.0

Great hostel- beds have nice chargers/lights/plugs next to them. Very good value for money (but we were in the middle of January so less busy then maybe it would be in summer). Great location- walkable from the Train/bus stops and great pubs etc. Staff were helpful and friendly. Great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey thanks for the awesome feedback and ratings. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will see you back again soon. KA Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jan 2017
9.7

This was a great hostel which was located very conveniently within Edinburgh. The free walking tour was a blast and great for meeting people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • davehazzan8231
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
9.1

It was mostly awesome, but the showers aren't great and the bar was a bit loud. But great otherwise.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the cool feedback . We are sorry if the bar music was a bit loud. We have asked our Bar staff to ensure it is not too crazy loud. Thanks for the awesome rating we really do appreciate it and we hope you will visit us again soon. KA Crew :)

2nd Jan 2017
10.0

This was a great hostel located near Edinburgh castle and within a short walk of all the major attractions. There are great places to eat nearby including the bar on the top floor and the cafe on the ground floor. Their rooms were spacious and didn't feel over crowded. There was plenty of space in the lockers for multiple bags, and their bathrooms had plenty of shower stalls. Front desk staff were very kind and knowledgeable. Their free walking tour of the city which was a great orientation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
7.1

just one thing, the shower doesn't work very well,u need to keep pushing the button .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Guatemala, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
10.0

My Stay in Kick Ass Hostel was amazing. I loved it there. The staff and atmosphere was great. Everything was clean and comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the awesome feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us . KA Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
9.1

Really good hostel - right in the middle of Old Town (which is where you want to be). Stayed in an 8 bed female dorm and it was huge! Great facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so very much for your very kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back soon when you next visit our cool city KA Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
4.6

Besides the location and friendly staff this hostel has nothing else going for it unfortunately. The bathrooms are appalling. There are only 2 shared toilets per level which are for around 40 + guests. Men and women. Besides being completely revolting the bathrooms also have no power points to do anything so you have to resort back to your tiny room to get ready. The rooms have no mirrors & tiny lockers. There were also cigarette butts in the shower whenever I used them.Would not stay here again

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the positive comments on our Location and Staff. We are so sorry to hear that our bathrooms where not at our normally very high level of cleanliness during your stay at New Year. We have immediately passed your comments onto our Housekeeping team to ensure our standards are not compromised. We do have 15 toilets in different areas of our hostel and sometimes our guests may have to go to a different floor if all the toilets on their level are being used. We can only apologise if you where inconvenienced by this. Edinburgh has a strict no smoking policy inside any public building and certainly there should not have been cigarette butts within the bathrooms but thank you for letting us know and we have passed this information onto our duty managers to ensure this does not happen again. All our rooms should have mirrors and we have asked our maintenance team to check all our rooms to ensure there are non with missing mirrors. Thank you again for your positive comments on our Staff and Location and we hope you had a safe onward journey after your departure. KA Manager .

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Dec 2016
7.4

Stayed over NYE, so the price per night for a bed was £50!! Which was still the cheapest hostel in Edinburgh for NYE, so comparatively pretty good rate! Bathrooms on the 3rd floor were really smelly. I was served cold chicken tikka masala and they just reheated it in the microwave!! Nice clean rooms though and the pizza was nice. Great common area with a billard and pool table.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the 10/10 ratings for Security Location and Atmosphere. New year is an expensive time in Edinburgh but could to hear we where still one of the cheapest. We are sorry that your meal was not hot enough and had to be returned . Good to hear you liked the Pizza and our great common room. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Edinburgh. KA Manager :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.