Hostelworld.com

Kick Ass Hostels

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 3116 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 3116 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Feb 2017
9.7

We have really enjoyed staying in this hostel. Everything was very clean and the staff was kind. The beds were quite comfortable comparing with other hostels. The location was fantastic, very close to everything. If your main thing to do is tourism and you want to rest, on the weekends is quite busy of people who go party, so it's quite busy and noisy. But everything was great for us.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Feb 2017
9.4

Great hostel. Location is good - about a 15 minute walk to train station or buses, close to all attractions. Dorm rooms are great, lots of space snd really warm in winter. Lockers good size and beds comfy. Bathrooms really good and hot showers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our great location and warm rooms. We hope you will stay with us again when you next visit our cool city. KA Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
9.1

Absolutely perfect location, right next to Edinburgh Castle! Definitely would stay here again. Clean rooms, friendly staff, and nestled in the adorable Grassmarket area and is within great walking distance to major attractions in the city. Loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the awesome review we really appreciate you taking the time and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. KA Manager :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.4

Awesome hostel with everything you could need, in a perfect location. The food was good, cheap and convenient. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2017
9.1

I had a great stay. Great free walking tour. Wifi was a bit dodgy and kept dropping in and out. Great location, an easy walk to some of the great sights. Great view of Edinburgh Castle. I would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the awesome review . We are so pleased enjoyed your stay with us and that you would definitely stay again. Thanks for heads up on the wifi . We have asked our it guys to check it out as it has only just recently been upgraded to provide hi speed wifi so there may be some technical issue that need rectified. Thanks again for the great feedback KA Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
7.4

There are two main disappointing things about this hostel. one...I personally think offering good free Wi-Fi is one of the most important service in a hostel, but this hostel has (had) a poor internet service. two...I would say security in this hostel is not good enough. I guess someone who are not staying at the hostel could get in the hostel. Also, a door of 104 room that i stayed is a little bit broken (if you do not pull the door properly, the door will be unlocked)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Feb 2017
9.4

Great hostel and an amazing location. Very central with most bars !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the awesome rating. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will visit us again soon. KA Crew :)

7th Feb 2017
10.0

One of my favourite hostels to date! Had excellent staff, who were down for a chat with a really informative tour, excellent bar and cafe and a fantastic vibe! Excellent hostel, will be back next time I'm in Edinburgh for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey . Its so good you had such a great time while staying with us. We really appreciate your upbeat comments. Thanks for taking the time to review us and we look forward to seeing you back when you return to Edinburgh. KA Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2017
7.4

Most of the staff where moody and made you feel unwelcome but there one or 2 good ones

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the 10/10 for our Security Location Cleanliness and Facilities. We are sorry if any of our staff failed to deliver optimum customer service. We appreciate your comments and we have immediately passed your comments onto our customers service team to ensure all our staff always give the best possible customer service to all our guests. Thank you again for your positive ratings and we hope you will visit us again soon. KA Crew :)

5th Feb 2017
9.7

This has been one of the best hostels I have stayed at. It is clean, organized, in a great location, with a friendly staff and team. It has a very great social and entertainment enviornment--the common area is amazing, with different games and activities. It is really youth-friendly and you'll meet some really cool people. Rooms are clean with great facilities and there are lockers on ground floor for leaving valuables and big bags for a a pound or two.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.