Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kick Ass Hostels

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 3208 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 3208 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Mar 2017
9.7

Bem limpo e organizado, proximo ao castelo e outros pontos turisticos.Unico detalhe é que os armários nos quartos nao tem cadeado, caso queira deve levar o seu cadeado ou comprar la.Cozinha organizda e pratica

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased you liked our Location and that you found us to be Clean and Well organised. We really appreciate your positive comments and hopefully we will see you again soon. KA Manager :)

  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2017
6.0

The room was quite hot at night which made us sweat. Window was not open properly (maximum 3-4cm) on the other hand in the morning it was very noisy!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There thank you for taking the time to review us. All our rooms have heating controls on the radiators that our guests can turned of if the rooms are too warm. We are sorry if you where not aware of this. We are in the very heart of the famous historic Grassmarket in the old town and some of windows do face the front street so if they are left open then noise will come in from the street below. We hope that you where not too inconvenienced by this and we hope you had a safe onward journey after you left us. KA Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
9.1

Great hostel! Location was key, enjoyed having the bar upstairs even though the atmosphere was kinda odd. Loved how funky the hostel was otherwise and being right in the Grassmarket area! Would definitely recommend, both for groups and single travelers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great feedback. We are so pleased you loved our hostel and our great Location. Thank you for the recommendation to fellow travellers , we really appreciate it and we hope to see you back soon KA Manager :)

24th Mar 2017
9.4

Honestly one of the best hostels I have stayed in. Great Location, Awesome Bar upstairs and offers free waling tours which are nice if you wanna see the city by foot! The location is near the famous Grass Market and allows you the opportunity to try some famous food which surrounds the Hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey thank for the awesome review. It means so much to us that our guests enjoy their stay with us and we really appreciate you taking the time to review us with such great comments. We hope to welcome you back again soon. KA Manager :)

24th Mar 2017
9.4

perfect location. right next to an awesome gelato shop--Mary's Milkbar. Across the street you can see the castle. Along the whole street there are lots of cool pubs

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great feedback. Our Location is always a great hit with our guests and yes Mary's Milkbar - Gelato shop is a real hit with our guests and No1 on Trip Advisor. We hope to welcome you back again soon . KA Manager :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
9.7

Fantastic location. Very central and close to all the major attractions. Mostly within walking distance. Hostel itself is very good. Can't fault the staff or the facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
8.6

Great location in Old Town close to the Royal Mile, Castle and plenty of restaurants. Clean, friendly staff and good security. My only complaint is how noisy the other people staying there were at night in the hallways. Some people would probably enjoy the liveliness, but after a long day that was super tiring, I just wanted to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great feedback. Its so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes we did have a very inconsiderate group that was noisy during your stay, who we did have to ask to leave our hostel. We do hope you where not too disturbed by them and we have asked our night team to be much more aware of noisy guests. Thanks again for the cool feedback and hopefully we will see you back again soon. KA Manager :)

18th Mar 2017
8.9

I loved this location. The beds could have been a little bit nicer and I didn't know there was a kitchen until the last day, but the bathrooms were clean and my room was spacious. I really appreciated the lockers, mini shelf, outlet, and light next to each bed. The showers were push buttons with about 30 seconds of water :/ the cafe downstairs was very convenient to warm up from the cold weather. The wifi is extremely slow and it would have been nice if there was free breakfast but overall good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
8.3

The location was great and the amenities and staff were also very good. A friend and I stayed here for two nights in a private dorm and really loved the location - close walking distance to nearly everything in old town! We did come over St. Patrick's Day weekend and there was a rugby match, so it was REALLY noisy all night. That would be my only complaint,but we booked a hostel, not a hotel! I will say, we spent 10 days in the UK and this was the most expensive, but overall great spot!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
8.3

Very clean hostel and great location to castle and the royal mile and restaurants, bars etc. Shower facilities were good but maybe 2-3 more showers per level would of been better. Overall a great hostel with friendly staff !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your positive feedback. Its always so nice for us here at to get such good comments. Our Location is always a hit with our guests. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit our great city. KA Manager :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.