Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kick Ass Hostels

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 3395 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 3395 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st May 2017
10.0

Best hostel to stay at for younger age groups!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
9.1

This was probably one of my favourite hostels I've ever stayed in. I had a view of the castle from my window, and it was perfectly located to get to most major attractions. The staff were super friendly and the rooms were pretty clean. My suitcase was a little big for the lockers in the room, so I had to keep it under my bed. Honestly, I would love to stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • stephanieeuro2017
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th May 2017
8.3

Good location. No lounge/hangout room other than the bar which wasn't the best for relaxing. Rooms were great but windows didn't open. Showers seemed clean but the toilets were not, we woke up to dirty toilets/washrooms and returned to the same once late at night. Hopefully that's changed! Individual lamps and charging sockets next to each bed. Well worth staying, on location and price alone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the awsome ratings for Value and Location .Our bathrooms are checked from 06.30am to 9.00pm . We are so sorry if one of our bathrooms that you visited was not at the highest possible standard that we always like to deliver. We have passed your comments onto our housekeeping team. We appreciate all feedback to ensure that we can continually improve our service to our guests. Thank you for your words of recommendation and we hope you had a safe onward journey after you left us. KA Manager :)

18th May 2017
8.9

Pretty good hostel, can't complain - would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great feedback. We appreciate your comments and look forward to you staying again with us. KA Manager

17th May 2017
8.0

Kickass Hostels was in the BEST location. Located right near Grassmarket, which has a cute farmer's market on weekends but also some really lovely pubs, cafes, and shops. Right near the adorable Victoria Street (which is what JK Rowling based Diagon Alley off of!). I had a view of the castle from my room and it was incredible watching the sun set over it. The people were friendly, the bar was cool, and the rooms were nice and updated (everyone had lights, lockers, and personal outlets).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2017
9.7

The location to this hostel was fantastic! Very near bars, restaurants, and sites. The free walking tour provided by hostel was great! I liked the locker in the rooms, however the front door was always unlocked and no one ever checked our cards or security passes, even late at night. Doors to each room were locked however. They were also very accommodating when we ended up booking an extra night and they were able to make it so we did not have to switch rooms mid stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so pleased you loved our location and we apprecaite the awesome ratings you have given us. The front door to the hostel is normally open to reception but this door should also automatically lock after 10.00pm but this door only gives you access to reception area and all our guests have to then pass through an electronically controlled door that is permanently locked and will open with a guests security key. Thank you for the heads up on our main front door which we have asked our maintenance team to check. We are so pleased you extended your stay with us and we hope you will visit us again soon. KA Manager :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2017
10.0

Excellent choice for my first hostel experience

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey . Its so good to hear you first hostel experience was with us and that turned out to be a great experience. We appreciate your feedback and hopefully all your future hostel experiences will be as good. KA Manager :)

14th May 2017
9.4

Located near most everything such as the castle, it's bit of a walk from the train station. The hostel is quite large with a massive social area/bar on the top floor. They had the best toilet/shower rooms I've seen; large and convenient to use. They also have a large kitchen customers are free to use which is a plus for saving money on your trip. The room was nice and large, plenty of room for everyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Omarabualruz
  • Jordan, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th May 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels, very clean rooms and facilities and lovely staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your very kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we so appreciate you taking the time to review us and giving us such positive feedback. KA Manager :)

10th May 2017
9.7

I have enjoyed staying at this place in the heart of Edinburgh , very historic part of town . The staff was awesome and so helpful at every opportunity . it is convenient hostel and they provide with the what it takes to make it an easy enjoyable stay . You might need some assistance getting there since the whole city has particular way of getting around . I would recommend staying here for sure . ..................................................................................................

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.