Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kick Ass Hostels

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 2,716 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 2,716 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.8
Kick Ass Hostels Located at 2 West Port, Grassmarket, Edinburgh.
Kick Ass Hostels
Scotland
Edinburgh Midlothian EH1 2JA 2 West Port, Grassmarket
90% 2716
55.9468355 -3.1976699
Kick Ass Hostels
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Sep 2016
9.7

LOVED LOVED LOVED this place. Great atmosphere, great location and great people. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfy and the food is pretty good. Definitely recommend this place to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
9.4

I love this hostel! It is my first hostel ever, and I was randomly upgraded to the 'first class' experience from booking a 12 bedroom bed, to an 8 bedroom bed! My room was so clean, cute, and looked very upkeep. The bathroom was nice and clean most of the time, except for when you shower too late in the morning, but it's understandable because many people have showered already. The staff was great!! only neg is 2 of my roommates had sex and I was woken up by it. gross. disgusting.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us especially since it was your first hostel experience. Thank you for your great feedback. We are so sorry that your roommates lacked respect for their fellow guests. We would have immediately dealt with this matter had we known. Thank you again for giving us such an awesome review and we hope you will visit us again soon. KA Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
8.9

Kickass hostel Edinburgh is placed in the heart of Grassmarket - so perfect for any young travelers! You dont pay much either! Its a nice place to meet people (in the huge bar and chill area, which is really nice) and the bathrooms are clean, which is important to me. Staff could be friendlier tough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review and all your great comments. We are sorry if our staff didn't hit the mark and we have let our customer service team to focus on improving our customer service which is normally good and very important to us . Thanks for the heads up and thanks again for the cool review and hopefully we will see you back soon. KA Crew :)

20th Sep 2016
9.1

It's a good hostel to stay. The bathroom/toilets are amazing, good kitchen, nice bar upstairs and perfect location. The only thing that I complain it's about the internet/wifi that sometimes was very slow.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yo thanks for the great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to write your review. We are very busy at the moment which can sometimes cause the wifi to slowdown. We are in the process of installing superfast wifi in the next few weeks so this should solve the wifi speed issues when we are busy. Hopefully you where not to inconvenienced and that you will stay with us again soon. Thanks for the awesome rating you have given us . We really appreciate it. KA Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Sep 2016
8.9

It had all great aspects. There is nothing wrong with this hostel. I decided not to go to the bar on the 3rd level where most of the socializing would have occurred. It just lacked a cozy feel. Otherwise good hostel, great location, great staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review us and giving us such great feedback. We hope you had a safe onward journey and that you will stay with us again on your next visit to our beautiful city. KA Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Sep 2016
9.4

Wonderful place, unbelievable! The best hostel I've been to in my whole life, without a doubt. The room was spacious and had a big window, the bed was comfy, the lockers were huge, the bathrooms were spacious too, everything was clean, the kitchen was well-equipped, the ambiance was really nice and new, the colours, design, everything. I felt almost in a hotel. The only thing that could have made my experiente even better was if some people of the staff were more gentle...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Sep 2016
8.9

Very good and new but lacking toilets.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your 10/10 ratings for Value for Money, Security and Staff. We do have 15 toilets in our hostel but because we are in a very old historic building and there are a couple of rooms where it was not possible to locate a toilet directly next door and in these few cases our guests do need to walk a little bit further to find the closest toilet. We hope this did not create too much inconvenience and will not put you off staying with us again. Thank you again for all your great ratings. KA Crew :)

19th Sep 2016
8.6

Wonderful bed, best in a hostel I've experienced. Terrible shower, it was scorching hot with no temperature control. Very cool location at the bottom of Edinburgh Castle. All said it was a good experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for all your positive comments. Thanks for the heads up on the hot showers. We have asked our maintenance team to check all the shower temperatures to ensure optimal temperatures. We hope you had a great time visiting our cool city and that you will visit us again soon. KA Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
10.0

Easily one of the best big city hostels I've ever stayed at, and I do not use that phrase lightly. Walking distance to many sights, you can spit from the front door to several pubs and restaurants (don't actually spit, that would be rude), and the hostel itself is very clean and efficiently run. If they have rooms available, don't even hesitate, stay at this place for your entire Edinburgh trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow what a fantastic review. Thank you so very much for your very kind words. We so appreciate you taking the time to review us and we are so pleased you had a great time while staying with us. Thanks for the recommendation and we so hope you will visit us again on your next visit to our beautiful city. KA Manager :)

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
7.1

I could't check in till 13 pm, when I entered to the room, the room wasn't clean at all, they came to clean it while I was there. The room was facing an alley and the window could't be full closed so at night you could hear people coming by the alley

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Our normal check in time is 1.00pm . This allows our cleaners sufficient time get the rooms cleaned for our new guests. We are sorry if they had not completed your room clean on check in. Thanks for letting us know about your window not closing properly. We have immediately notified our maintenance team to rectify this problem. Thanks for the heads up. We hope you enjoyed our beautiful city and that you had a safe onward journey. KA Crew :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.