Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kick Ass Hostels

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 2,562 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 2,562 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
Kick Ass Hostels Located at 2 West Port, Grassmarket, Edinburgh.
Kick Ass Hostels
Scotland
Edinburgh Midlothian EH1 2JA 2 West Port, Grassmarket
91% 2562
55.9468355 -3.1976699
Kick Ass Hostels
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Flormagliola
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
6.6

The Hostel esa ok, but the staff, in special a brunnet spanish girl at reception was very rude and unfriendly. She did not explain anything and was very hard to talk with her. Gladly people in my room were really friendly and I had a blast. The following day the reception staff, the English guy was really helpful and friendly :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Aug 2016
8.9

Really nice hostel, clean, good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2016
8.6

Location is very good. When the hostel was new it must have been fantastic. It is still good but it needs a bit of attention and repair, like a broken tiolet seat or door that is hard to close. Beds are good but the linen, even though it was washed, still had an odour to it. This was the only bad point. They need better laundry for the linen. The best part was the bar/games room, somewhere on the 3rd floor. Well priced drinks, nice place to socialise and meet others before going out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the thumbs up on location and our comfy beds and cool bar. Thanks for the heads up on the toilet seat and please accept our apologies if the linen

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
8.6

Nice hostel with good dorm rooms, with plugs for each bed and lamps. We didn't use the bar as we were there during Fringe but I liked the fact it had one. Some small issues: We queued for about 40 mins to check in - process seemed to take a very long time. There were only 2 toilets on the entire floor of our dorm room (Floor 3, where there are lots of rooms) - I had to queue to use it in the morning. Had to pay for a locker to store my bags on check out day, most hostels offer this for free.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so pleased you liked our hostel and facilities. We are sorry that check in took longer than normal. The Edinburgh fringe is on at the moment and it can get very busy especially at check in time. Our guests can dump their bags for free when they arrive especially if they arrive at the busy check in period to avoid waiting and then check in later to avoid the queues. We do have 15 toilets dotted about the hostel but admittedly only 3 on the top floor. We are looking to get more installed on this level. Thanks for the heads up. We do charge £1 for our guests to store their bags for up to 12 hours on check out. We hope you did not find this rate to unreasonable and we hope you will visit us again soon. KA Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 42 reviews
11th Aug 2016
8.3

the fire alarm started to make noise because someone cooked in the kitchen. a lot of people cooking in the evening. after 10 pm, kitchen is closed. the luggage store costs one pound to put in the machine. don't forget your hostel paper when come back to hostel, you need to show it in the entrance. I forgot the paper in my room and the guy in the reception was not very nice. one french girl at reception was perfect because sometimes I need to speak French. expensive price in the weekend Fringe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
8.9

A good, practical hostel. Includes everything you'd expect. Sheets, towels and room were clean. Showers had a lot of other people's hairs but that's the only real negative. Make sure you being a lock for the lockers (or buy one there for £4).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Aug 2016
9.1

Big dorm rooms. Extremely helpful staff. Overall a great hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2016
9.1

Great hostel. Fantastic facilities. Would highly recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2016
9.1

Excellent location (just in front to the Edinburgh Castle) and nice staff. The value for the money worth it. Every bad has his own plug, the bar has a very good atmosphere and a machine for play arcade games !!! The kitchen close at 10 p.m and the hostel has a lack of a quiet place where stay just for relax (the bar is too noisy) but overall, amazing hostel. I definitely would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
9.7

This is the nicest hostel I've stayed in. It's so new and clean and all the facilities are well kept and you can tell it's an organised hostel. The location is great, especially during the fringe festival.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.