X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kick Ass Hostels Reviews

2 West Port, Grassmarket, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
433 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Excellent. Thanks very much.


77%

The location and security was good. There is a working elevator which is really nice. It was a little disappointing to have to have to pay for luggage storage. The showers were incredible frustrating as they were automatic and you had to keep pushing the button every 10 seconds. The kitchen wasn't big enough and had a strange smell that seemed to stick with your clothes and hair. If I came back to Edinburgh I probably wouldn't stay here again.


100%

Fabulous place to live! Much better than my expectations. The bed was clean and comfortable; the toilet and shower was tidy; the kitchen was adequately equipped. Also the staff were hilarious and welcoming! Definitely recommend it!

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

No complaints other than the noise from the bar on a Saturday after midnight,can be very difficult to sleep.

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Staff weren't that helpful. Didn't offer much advice on the city. Shame about the lack of toilets and safety. Belongings were stolen from bedrooms. Not the place to go to meet people.


86%

The layout was really confusing and things places were labelled wrong but was able to find most areas of the hostel once we asked the front desk haha

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This hostel lives up to its name!!! Edinburgh is a seriously great city, and the walking tour was great. Breakfast is not free, which is sad, but the ones the sell are killer. Scottish breakfast is amazing. We would definitely come back here!


100%

Comfortable smoking area. Breakfast for additional money, but cheap and really good. Great location.


100%

Great hostel and great price. Toilet and showers were clean.


77%

Overall it is an economic and good located option, but you won't have Wi-Fi (only for 2 hours in the kitchen/dining room during your whole stay) and the electrical contacts inside the rooms are very limited and bad located. The bathrooms are also limited, but it has a couple of spacious ones. Would not recommend for lengthy stays.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jorge . We have free wifi 24 hours a day for all our customers. Every bed also has its own power socket and USB chargers . We have over 35 showers in our newly renovated hostel. Have you perhaps mixed up our hostel with another hostel you have stayed in Edinburgh KAH Crew

86%

Very noisy with no quiet time in the dorm room. It is hard to get a good night's sleep in such an atmosphere. One can also hear loud thumping noises from other rooms, and noises from bar above if you are in the second floor. Can recommend only if you want to sleep after 6 am in the morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rangarajan . We are sorry that the guests in your room where not respectful by keeping the noise down after 1.00am. We are checking all our doors in the hostel to ensure they do not bang when closing. Our New Cafe on the ground floor opens in 4 days so this will allow a new meeting place for guests and will keep any noisy guests from disturbing sleeping guests. Your review is important to us to enable our continuous improvement of our hostel facility. Thank you for your review KAH Crew

94%

One of the best hostels that I have ever been. Clean, really nice location and excellent price.

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had an awesome time. They'd overbooked and sent me up to their second building near cowgate but upgraded my room and gave me a free drink. Stayed with them again at the original building which was really nice too. both buildings have awesome bars, nice rooms, great atmosphere, and awesome location. they also have free walking tours and pub crawls and loads of activities. no complaints!


100%

Csnnot fault this place one bit. The location is ideal for tourists as it is close to everything. The hostel itself was amazing. So clean and the facilties were excellent. The staff were amazing and very welcoming. They have pub crawls, quizes and game nights every evening. The food here was to me very good, cheap and cheerful. Very handy that they have their own bar. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone and will be back when I go to Edinburgh again.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Kitchen too small, but overall was a good stay.


80%

I think the hostel is a good one to stay in but I would like to have a locker for myself. There seemed to be less lockers than beds in the room...

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Irina . Thanks for your nice review. There is a private locker in the dorms for every bed. We are not sure why you did not have a locker for yourself . Perhaps one of the other guests used 2 lockers instead of the allocated one per bed. We are sorry for this inconvenience during your stay. We hope to see you back soon KAH Crew.

100%

Very clean and the bar/cafe was great! Within walking distance of Edinburgh Castle and many other great places. Being able to do laundry there was a great convenience, they sell laundry soap for 20 pence at the front desk. Great place, would definately stay again.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We had a great stay at this hostel, it's very close to the centre of Ediburgh. Friendly and helpful staff. The wifi worked well.


89%

Great hostel. Great social room. Big rooms. Comfy beds. Negatives - compared to St Christopher's it is further to get to when you're carting a heavy bag


97%

Great hostel. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Right behind the castle and the grassmarket, great location.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(236 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback