Hostelworld.com

Kick Ass Hostels

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 2,199 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 2,199 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
Kick Ass Hostels Located at 2 West Port, Grassmarket, Edinburgh.
Kick Ass Hostels
Scotland
Edinburgh Midlothian EH1 2JA 2 West Port, Grassmarket
90% 2199
55.9468355 -3.1976699
Kick Ass Hostels
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd May 2016
9.7

This hostel had everything I wanted (except for a free breakfast) met lots of lovely people here and all the staff were friendly. The free city tour was fantastic. Wifi could definitely use some improvement though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
8.9

I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of my tour of Scotland. The facilities were clean - the mattresses were comfortable, the showers were a decent size and worked well. Though I didn't make use of the bar the receptionist told me they did pints for £1.95. I really liked that each bed had its own power point and light - something difficult to come by at other hostels in Scotland from my experience. The staff were quite friendly and helpful. The size of the hostel meant it lacked familiarity.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2016
9.1

The hostel has a great location and it's easy to find. The beds were really comfortable and I like that every bed had an power point and a locker. The only thing that was annoying is the fact that the doors are auto close so they slam shut which makes it difficult to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
10.0

Loved it here ! I was supposed to stay just one nightbut extended for 2 more nights . From my room I had a direct view onto the Edinburgh Castle ! The staff is super friendly and they always help you out as much as they can ! Had some lovely chat with them as well ! I also did end up on a free walking tour through Edinburgh which was cool as well ! So if I ever return to Edinburgh definitely will end up here again !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2016
10.0

Honestly I loved this place. I cant think of one bad thing to say, Ive been thinking for a while. The staff was friendly and helpful. They cleaned the hostel often. The atmosphere was awesome and I met great people. The facilities are nice. Only thing that was wrong was told i missed the cancellation window, which i dont think i was told, so i lost £10 for the room i had to cancel for the next night due to a last minute flight. However i still recommend this place and was sad to leave Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd May 2016
9.1

Fantastic hostel experience, liked it so much I extended my stay! Very clean & secure. Some staff weren't the most friendly, or willing to assist you .. But the others were fantastic and so accommodating! Overall loved my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2016
9.4

Shame the windows don't really keep the noise out, apart from that very good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
21st May 2016
8.9

Great Hostel. Nice and Tidy with great facilities. Great common area with bar, pool table, table tennis, TV's etc. but sadly not a huge amount of atmosphere. Would have benefitted from running a pub crawl or some sort of event.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th May 2016
9.4

Fun atmosphere! My room had a fantastic view of Edinburgh Castle. Two thumbs up!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th May 2016
8.0

Location was amazing! Couldn't have been better. Facilities were nice, clean, relatively quiet. I would definitely recommend this hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your kind words . We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will visit us again soon. KA Crew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.