Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kick Ass Hostels

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 2,909 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 2,909 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
Kick Ass Hostels Located at 2 West Port, Grassmarket, Edinburgh.
Kick Ass Hostels
Scotland
Edinburgh Midlothian EH1 2JA 2 West Port, Grassmarket
90% 2909
55.9468355 -3.1976699
Kick Ass Hostels
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Dec 2016
9.7

This hostel was one of the best I've stayed at during the past several months I've been travelling in Europe. It is located right in the center of old town near several pubs and tourist attractions. The rooms/facilities are clean and modern plus the on-site bar has a great vibe and I was able to get a really good meal for only £6. The staff were very nice and knowledgeable about Edinburgh as well. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey thanks for your very kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have taken the time to review us. We really appreciate it and. We hope to see you back in the not too distant future. KA Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • Bolivia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Nov 2016
8.3

The hostel is cool, nice people in the staff, but although they offer everything, many things didn't work. Showers were out of service, hand dryer didn't work, there was no water... basic staff that you need when you are in a hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Nov 2016
7.7

We were really looking forward to our stay at the Kick Ass Hostel. But I think reading previous reviews we came at the wrong week! Most bathrooms were out of order leaving around 6 or so showers for the whole hostel & I only had two hot showers within my stay. The reception was nice & toasty unlike our dorm. The bar was nice & modern. We were charged to put our bags in the baggage area when we checked out. But staff were friendly. Just need a bit of warmth within the hostel afterall its winter.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Yes we unfortunately did have a problem with the water supply to many of our showers for 3 days Which has now been fixed. Our main water pump failed and we had this replaced as quickly as possible. There where still 9 showers available for our customers to use but they where definitely put under pressure due to the circumstances. We can only apologise for any inconvenience that you may have experience. We normally get comments that our dorms are too warm but we have asked our maintenance team to investigate the room you stayed in just in case the radiator thermostat was turned down which often happens. We do offer free luggage storage of any guests arriving before check in and we only charge £1 for storing any bags for a 24hr period after check out. We are sorry if you found this an unreasonable charge. Thank for your positive comments on our staff and Cool Bar. We very much hope that you will visit us again as our guests do normally have a fantastic stay with us as our previous reviews show. KA Manager :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2016
10.0

This hostel is absolutely excellent, I have had a great time with staff and guests, many thanks to all!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so very much for your very kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with and hopefully we will see you back soon in the not too distant future. KA Crew :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Nov 2016
6.3

I can see why people would like this place for the location and the bar, but the shower was freeeeeeezing and in the morning none of the showers were working at all. I was also surprised that such a new hostel already had moldy showers. The room was very warm and my sheets were damp when I arrived.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there . We are so sorry about the showers. Yes we have had a problem for 2 days with the hot water in some of our shower areas . Our industrial water pump has failed and our specialist engineers have only managed to get in this Wed 30 Nov to fix it. We did have showers in another section of the building that where all ok and we directed our guests to these areas but we understand the inconvenience and we can only apologise and hope this problem will not deter you from using us again. We can only assume our housekeeping failed to dry the sheets properly after washing them a problem we have never experienced before but thanks for letting us know and we have passed your comments onto our housekeeping to ensure that this does not happen again. Thanks for taking the time to review us and giving us a 10/10 rating for security and location. KA Crew :)

24th Nov 2016
10.0

We loved this hostel! It's very close walking distance to the castle. We stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm that had a private toilet/shower for the room as well as another single bathroom in the hall. There were lockers (bring your own lock or buy one at the front desk) that could securely store luggage. Each bed had an outlet and small shelf. Wifi worked well (our room was on the first floor) There was a cool bar on the top floor that we didn't get to go to but others in our room said it was fun.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
7.1

The hostel is ok, but the problem is the kitchen (too small).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Nov 2016
10.0

Great hostel, great location, right next to the base of the castle. Reasonably priced breakfast 1 minute walk away at sister hostel. Very good bar facilities in hostel also.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lilmisslauzy
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Nov 2016
8.6

Great hostel, beds are super comfy and I had a great view of the castle (from 8bed female) room. The bar is really great and good prices! Only thing they could of done with is having a tv/common room to chill in! :-) Also no breakfast included. But the bar food was good quality and cheap! :-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Nov 2016
8.6

Great hostel! The room we had was large and spacious, with benches to sit on. The beds were new, and each one had a small light, with an outlet and a small holder for your phone. The rooms had lockers, be sure to bring a small padlock for it! The showers and bathrooms were unisex, but they were very clean. Each shower had an individual changing space attached. The hostel is located on a very high hill, so be prepared for a good amount of stairs throughout Edinburgh. The staff was great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the awesome feedback and we hope we will see you back again soon. KA Crew :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.