Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Kick Ass Hostels

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 2,451 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 2,451 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
Kick Ass Hostels Located at 2 West Port, Grassmarket, Edinburgh.
Kick Ass Hostels
Scotland
Edinburgh Midlothian EH1 2JA 2 West Port, Grassmarket
91% 2451
55.9468355 -3.1976699
Kick Ass Hostels
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
18th Jul 2016
8.9

The hostel is lovely clean and fairly new. Beds were comfortable and the area is lovely

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2016
8.0

The main strength of the Kick Ass hostel is its great location. It is in the Grassmarket, just a short walk from the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle. It was nice having the cafe and bar as well. The place was mostly clean, and the staff was helpful but not particularly friendly. The facilities were mostly fine, though some things were broken (for example, several toilet seats) and I think there must be something wrong with the fire alarm, it went off twice in three days.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2016
9.4

Everything seemed alright upon arrival until my second day. Evidently a staff members mistakenly moved me to a different room and neglected to inform me, it was mildly irritating since all my stuff was moved. Beyond that, the day staff were super helpful, but the night staff, however, seemed more interested in their personal relationship with each other. Made some good friends here though! Atmosphere is really hip and there's even free billiards on the third floor bar!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
9.7

Amazing location for the price. Great hostel. They do have advertisements for breakfast and don't always have it, and the kitchen in incredibly stuffy, but it's a great hostel over all and I recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jul 2016
8.9

Pretty good! bring your own locks. Fun,lovely prime location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
8.0

Nothing completely wrong with this place. Bar was not too lively when I went, but drinks were cheap. Showers are good. Only a 5 minute walk to the castle and about 7 or 8 minutes to the Royal Mile. Overall very pleased with my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jul 2016
10.0

I absolutely enjoyed my stay. Clean room, clean and available facilities. I stayed in the 8 bed female dormitory and the view is great as it looks at the Castle. The Hostel is in city centre, so everything is in a walking distance. I loved the magnetic card system for entering the room and the building. The toilet & shower room is coeducational, but it wasn't a problem at all. You have your little cabin when you shower. I think overall it was a good experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2016
9.1

The bar needs better music. Marilyn Manson is great but not when you have to shout over him trying to make friends with strangers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great ratings you have given us. We have asked our Bar manager to make sure the music is not too loud. Often our guests ask for it to be loud but we understand when other guests prefer it a bit quieter. Thanks for the head up and we hope to see you back again soon KA Crew

  • noxidf
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
9th Jul 2016
9.1

+ great location for Old town and Edinburgh castle area +despite having a bar upstairs and a pub across the road, pretty quiet! +good security lockers +large spacious rooms +laundry facilities, bar and cafe onsite and lots of great facilities! -a bit of a trek away from public transport links! -showers are not the cleanest but not bad

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jul 2016
9.1

Overall a great hostel in a great location, however it does seem to be one of those hostels where you have to pay for all the extras, the washing machine and dryer end up costing quite a bit, and you have to pay for luggage storage. Still a great hostel though, really good facilities with a nice bar and cafe as well, and the beds all have their own plug sockets and lockers etc.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.