NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Kilimanjaro House Reviews

327 Lamu, Lamu, Kenya

Reviews & Ratings Explained


13 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Very nice place, amazing terrasse, delicious breakfasts and cool atmosphere, thanks to doshi!

  • 4th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi thanks buddy was great having you as a guest. All the best viva!


Kilimanjaro House is a great place to stay in Lamu. There was no question of security, and my fiance and I felt safe the entire time. Doshi was fantastic, picking us up from the airport without charge and explaining the basics of the town to us in his laid back Rastafarian manner. There is a nice rooftop common area but it was quiet when we were there. One quick note - Lamu Town has no beach. The beaches are 40 min away (or 5 min by boat) in Shela Beach - stay there if you want beaches.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers was a pleasure hosting you. Thanks


Would NOT recommend. We had booked the "rooftop penthouse" but due to a problem in the hostel's online booking system, we were given a smaller room on the second floor that looked more like a prison cell. While the local staff was as helpful as they could be, the owner was nothing but rude and disrespectful, dismissed our concerns off-hand, and gave the room away to the next couple that inquired about it. Overall a terrible experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
we only give rooms according to the bookings we get online. according to the records you had not booked the penthouse. even the amount you were paying according to the records which we still have were for the room on the 2nd floor. the next guest who came personally there was told to book online and this he did and got the the penthouse. i told you this facts but you didnt want to understand. we do our best to give our guests the best servcice as most reviews here show


Kilimanjaro House a fantastic place to stay in Lamu. It is an old Swahili house that was converted into a hotel. There is nothing too fancy about the place but if you are looking for clean rooms, excellent staff and a calming atmosphere, this is the place. Highly, highly recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you. was a pleasure hosting you.

View all Lamu Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback