Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kilkenny Tourist Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1443 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1443 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Mar 2017
8.9

Great location, great staff, the rooms are great but there are very few showers and toilets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Mar 2017
7.7

The place was dated but had a lot of old time charm. Wi-fi only works on the main floor. But overall it's a cool place to stay and is not far the castle and variety of pubs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Feb 2017
7.7

I thought that the lock on my door could have been better. I took a private room so I expected to be able to leave all my valuables in my room and go out to enjoy the town. I was a bit dubious about leaving everything there in my room. I was disappointed that there was no wash basin inside my room. However, I thought that the other facilities were good. There was a nice big spacious kitchen with two good cookers. There was also a nice big spacious lounge. So, by and large, I enjoyed my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ryanjohnbarber6775
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
13th Jan 2017
10.0

Great little hostel, staff were helpful and the vibe was nice even during the quiet winter stay. Great for solo travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
5.4

Night staff that we checked in with were fine no problems. Next morning a staff member walked straight into our room without knocking or warning and also on check out the staff member dealing with us was extremely rude, trying to make out that we had kept one of the bedroom keys and was going to keep the 70 euro deposit we had paid!! Not impressed at all with how she acted with us and because of this wouldn't go back again,

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Nov 2016
9.4

Really cool !! I got updated (from a dorm to a single room) so very happy about that ! Nice little hostel, lovely commun room ! Shared bathrooms are ok ! Wifi does not work in the rooms

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Nov 2016
10.0

Friendly staff; good showers and toilets; great experience! Bed was a little squeaky but that was about it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Nov 2016
8.0

Comfortable and easy to access

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Oct 2016
10.0

Great place to stay,was exactly what me and my group were looking for,safe and handy place to stay with a great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 56 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
8.6

I stayed there on saturday night. Kilkenny has a lot of bars so people go there to drink and have fun. when I arrive in the hostel, some people were in the living room drinking alcool . the woman at reception asked them to go out to the bars. then she cleaned the living room and took out the bottles. the beds are quite unstable. I wake up the guy sleeping down when I tried to climb the bed. the smell in the room was bad, some people succeed to open the window and I save me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.