X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kilkenny Tourist Hostel Reviews

35 Parliament Street, Kilkenny City, Kilkenny, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1095 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

One of the best hostel I've ever stayed in!! Friendly and helpful staff, really clean and spacious rooms and showers. Nice common room and well equipped kitchen. The wifi didn't work well, it worked only on the ground floor...


100%

The most enjoyable thing about this hostel is the people who work here. Every one we met, or spoke to by phone, was very friendly and helpful! The place itself has a warm, relaxed and serene atmosphere. It's a charming, spacious and well lived-in building. The kitchen is very well equipped (a few more tea-pots'd be great though!!) with a very pleasant dining area. While check-out is at 10.00am, guests are invited to continue using the hostel facilities for the day. Lockers are available.


94%

Very friendly and helpful staff, and lovely atmosphere, great for the lone traveller. I will return.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Rooms at the front are quite noisy. Carpet on the floor was a bit old and dirty.


94%

Great place for closeness to Smithwick's Brewery, got a 3rd floor room........ next time will request second floor instead.

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

It is a good hostel for a few nights and perfectly located in the city. The 8 bed female dorm is very small but still enough.

  • 9th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The location of the hostel was perfect. The staff were really friendly and informative about everything to see/do in Kilkenny. The kichen was a great place to cook and Dunnes is just down the street if you want to buy food


83%

The room was clean and we could check-in early in the afternoon. Unfortunately the Windows wasn't isolated and we "enjoyed" the live music in the neighborhood pub until late (August Bank Holiday)...


77%

I didn't see locker storage in rooms but only stayed one night so didn't need it. Excellent location and great value for money, I will definitely stay here again.


100%

They have a huge kitchen with everything that you possible will need.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

As soon as you enter you feel very at home. The staff were friendly and helpful and the door code is changed regularly for security. It is in the heart of Kilkenny and very close to all sites - particularly as Kilkenny itself is a compact tourist location. Excellent sleep and was able to leave bags during the day. No breakfast, but coffee and wifi included.


60%

Kitchen was kinda small. If you could have more easily accessable power outlets, that would be nice. Would ve lovely to pay by card next time. Old door keys are not very secure, because if someone in your room is too lazy to lock the door on the way out then it's not nice to come back to your room at night and realise that the door was open the whole time.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Beds are pretty hard and you can hear every sound in the house, but it's grand for a night out or if you're travelling on a budget. Safe and clean.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The location is perfect, right in the middle of everything!


83%

I had a really great Time there ans I met lovely people. But I have to say that some people in our room stol money from us (while we were sleeping in the room), so it would be good to put at least some small lockers in the room itself.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel in Kilkenney. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was great. The room was very quiet which was nice since we are a family and went to bed on the early side. The beds were very comfortable.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Needed a decent clean on floors in dorm Kitchen and dining could have been cleaned too


89%

Nice hostel with excellent location and good atmosphere. The bathrooms could use an upgrade though.


97%

Nice hostel, great location and beautiful city! Would return!


83%

Nice Hostel, in the centre of Kilkenny, a little reserve on the beds that have no barrier on the top bunk... Shared bathrooms, kitchen an fridge available, a bit too few plugs (two for six people in my room). Nice staff, pretty clean, backpackers style.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(60 results)


View all Kilkenny Hostels

Please give us your feedback