Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kilkenny Tourist Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1642 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1642 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2017
2.9

Doors didn't lock properly, ended up with 3 different drunk people in our room. 1 tried to start a fight, 1 threw up all over another guests stuff and the other just wouldn't leave. The beds are nothing more than a cotton stuffed pad placed in a metal grate or a rope net if you were lucky. I've slept on old futons more comfortable. The staff were either unable or unwilling to control the out of control guests. The only perk of this hostel is it's location. Stay at your own risk.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2017
10.0

Not stayed in a hostel in over 20 years. so I didn't know what to expect. but I must say it was satisfying. nice people and bed was comfortable. clean/new showers a bonus.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Aug 2017
10.0

Really handy, no fuss, very comfortable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2017
6.6

Good location in the city. Clean but very loud! The crack of the wooden floor when people gets late in is horrible. The bar opposite the road does not make it better. On side of the safety watch your step on the top floor.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2017
8.6

As other people said, it's an old house and could do with some improvements but it's kept clean, location is good, staff is nice and it has everything that you need for weekend away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2017
9.7

The hostel is perfectly located and the building is an old victorian house. Absolutely charming and cosy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2017
7.4

I mostly enjoyed this hostel, it was one of the cleanest of the ones I have stayed at in Ireland. Unfortunately the wifi in our room (highest floor) was so weak that it could not be used.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
6.3

Pretty awful night in a dorm room thanks to a bunch of drunk and threatening Irish guys.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2017
7.4

We enjoyed our stay at the hostel, the staff was helpful and we liked that they listed events every day. Wifi only really works in common areas, place is definitely old and not the cleanest, but the room was large.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2017
6.6

Good value for the money, but the door locks are shotty, no lockers, showers are okay. For the price, it is what it is.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there thanks for staying with us and we're glad you liked our location, our staff, and the value for money you got by staying with us. We do have lockers and they're free to use if you have your own padlock, it's a pity you missed them. Cheers

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×