X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Killarney Railway Hostel Reviews

Fair Hill, Co. Kerry, Killarney, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1810 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Good hostel. Close to town. Easy to miss though so pay attention to the directions, or ask at the tourist office in town they're very helpful. Facilities are good and staff are friendly.


69%

The hostel is fine. Nothing special though. The common areas are a little cold. Bathrooms could be a little cleaner. Showers are great, good pressure.


60%

I dont understand why they dont have female rooms.. When i arrived with my friends i wanted to change the room because of one old men sleeping in my bedroom. The receptionist said that they were fulleand it was impossible to make a change. Hours after another receptionist said that they have a free room but we have to pay more 50€ ... and that´s not fair. we slept so bad, because of the beds but also because that old men was snoring all the night. another thing,

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great value - very clean, nice and quiet; good atmosphere and a nice mix of people. Perfect location! Would definitely stay here again.


89%

The hostel was in a great condition, the room was clean and well prepared. A great bargin for a trip to Killarney with friends.

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Just not cozy, or a super fun place. It's set up alright, though it's a bit large with few showers and bathrooms to accomidate everyone if the hostel is fully booked. The breakfast is alright, but the main thing is the lack of comfyness and coziness.


89%

Perfect location, good price, very clean and a good kitchen. That's all we need.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Lots of older, long-term type residents here but they all seem nice. It's a great location with free parking and good wifi in rooms, staff are nice, breakfast is simple. However the place could use some minor repairs to creaky doors, hotplates, stained bedding, damp smell, heating system. Unless you're precious, it's fine.


94%

There are few wall socket in the bedroom.


71%

We certainly paid our €20 each. The mattress was very cardboard-y, and the bed was incredibly creaky. Also very noisy: you could hear everything going on in the corridors. On the plus side, the location is pretty damn good, and the staff were very pleasant.

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Was alright. Place was pretty empty for a Saturday. No car parking available when I got there.


51%

Had to get my keycard refreshed every time I tried to get into room and the noise on sat night 3am was unacceptable

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Had a very enjoyable time in Killarney and the Railway Hostel was the perfect place to stay. Would highly recommend everything. Would like to come back again some time in the future and spend a few days in Killarney and not just one day. Much to see and do.

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great price

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Extremely cold. A hand towel or dryer should be available in private bathroom.

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location right by the bus stop, easy access to town! Great kitchen, friendly staff, lots of resources on things to do. I highly recommend renting a bike and doing the suggested tour! Only complaint would be the toilets smelled terribly of urine.


94%

Easy walking distance to everything. No towels or soap so bring your own. Must pay a damage deposit on the day. Also no eating or drinking in rooms. There is also light refreshments available in the morning.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

One of the best hostels I have stayed in. 24 hour reception, free Wi-Fi, breakfast included etc. Cant find a fault. Good value for money an very good location in Killarney town. Would recommend.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel in the centre of killarney town. Nice christmas decorations and lights the night we stayed there. Made us feel very warm and cuddily. Killarney town is great fun around christmas time. Would definitely come back again.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Drunken abusive guests next door keeping everybody awake. Night staff had to be pushed to call Garda which arrested one guest. No refundnor partial refund offered by Hostel staff. Seems a recurring theme. Wont stay there again.

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(38 results)


View all Killarney Hostels

Please give us your feedback