Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Killarney Railway Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 2,413 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 2,413 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.9
Killarney Railway Hostel Located at Fair Hill, Co. Kerry, Killarney.
Killarney Railway Hostel
Ireland
Killarney Fair Hill, Co. Kerry
75% 2413
52.0604332 -9.5032167
Killarney Railway Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jul 2016
7.7

Its amazing the differences in hostels in different parts of the country. This one was much busier but I think less cared for. Our shower leaked and when pointed out we were offered towels to put on the floor.it was à solution and the staff were very friendly. Having no Windows in the bathroom left the room smelling damp and there was a strong smell of urine which a trip to lidl and some dettol kept under control. Excellant location and value for money

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
9.4

Everything was nice except the bunk beds. The lower bunks were so cramped as to be uncomfortable. They were too low, and you either hit your head going in or your back getting out. It was like being in a dark cave and very unpleasant. Beyond that, it was fine. I switched to a top bunk as soon as I could.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
4.6

Dirty, I saw the staff "change" the sheets which consisted of them pulling it to make it look like no one slept on it. Showers were dirty. I would avoid this place.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2016
4.9

Unfriendly personal. Room was damp and cold. Water running down the walls. Actually a funghus growing in a corner of the room with a little snail right next to it!!! Kitchen ok; breakfastroom dark.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jul 2016
4.9

Room was super dirty , mold in the bathroom, sheets were dirty upon arrival. I would have rather slept outside than in this room. The place was cheap but not cheap enough to justify being so dirty. After returning home myself and the other 2 people I traveled with found copious big bites on our arms and legs which can not be explained by outdoor activities we did during our trip.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
7.1

Great location & value for money. The 4 bed dorms were disappointing as there was no cover/blind for the skylight, so we had bright sunshine from 6am. Such a basic for a room, really disappointing they didn't spend €10 on a blind. That would prevent me returning - location is perfect, 2 mins walk to main street. Limited car parking but you can find somewhere on the street nearby or closeby free overnight car park.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • sweeneytodd8653
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Jul 2016
5.4

The hostel was fully booked but guests were sneaking friends in and letting them into rooms to sleep. The hostel is obviously a home for some of the people staying there, they were definitely not tourists or travellers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jul 2016
6.6

The only real problem was that after being told to go on up to the room and find two beds free & only finding one we were then told, oops sorry it happens all the time in summer here. That's not actually a fix to this problem, we still needed a bed to sleep in especially seen we paid for two. After speaking to everyone in the room which took hours btw we figured out that housekeeping had made a bed still being used and not a free bed so we could use it afterall we were not offered new linen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
6.9

OK hostel . Asked for second card for private room was refused . Good location . OK to lay your head for few days .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
2.9

Absolutely terrible stay here. Worst stay of any accommodation I have ever been in.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.