Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Killarney Railway Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 2,578 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 2,578 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.6
Killarney Railway Hostel Located at Fair Hill, Co. Kerry, Killarney.
Killarney Railway Hostel
Ireland
Killarney Fair Hill, Co. Kerry
72% 2578
52.0604332 -9.5032167
Killarney Railway Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Dec 2016
10.0

Simply delightful hostel in Killarney town. Great bunch of staff and also good value for money. Booked last minute and found the place very easily when we got to Killarney by bus. Could not ask for anything more. We were upgraded to another room as there was painting and maintenance going on. Nice ensuite room and a bonus as we had the room to ourselves for the night. Thanks a bunch guys. Happy Christmas and all the best for 2017.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Dec 2016
7.1

We stayed in double room. When we arrived room was very cold. I claimed that at the reception and he said that they're turning on the heat in a 2hours. When we got back to the room at the evening it was still cold. I slept with my jacket on and with one extra blanket.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
2.9

Would NOT recommend this hostel. Started off by been given a room that was rife with damp, stank of sewage and covered in mold. To their credit, we were moved to a better room, no sewage smell. That night we were kept awake (until 5am) by booming techno music, screaming girls& boys- were completely off their faces, men being brought into the hostel causing fights, NIGHTMARE. On reporting this to the manager who refused to give his name?? He said, what did we expect it was Christmas? Disgraceful.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
4.6

Reception lady was rude from the beginning, very clear she hates her job...not one bit helpful

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Nov 2016
5.4

It's cheap: yes. It has breakfast: Yes. But if you are going there in the winter prepare yourself to freeze. Even with the jacket on it was ice cold. Overall a very bad experience!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
19th Nov 2016
2.0

Avoid this place it was dirty and smelled , the guy at reception who claimed he was the owner should not be running a hostel , no security lockers in the place I didnt feel secure , they are way better hostels in killarney other than this one, for the sake of a few euros extra go to another one

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Oct 2016
4.3

Stayed here in a 10 bed mix dorm. No security check so anyone could walk into the hostel, also no place for valuables to be locked up. We felt very uneasy sleeping there. Location wise, it was okay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • anthonycahill5529
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
22nd Oct 2016
8.6

Not too noisy, decently clean, comfortable beds. Located about five minutes of a walk outside the city centre and void of any noise from all of the clubs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Oct 2016
9.1

This is a good hostel with a very hard working staff. Sometimes I am surprised on the way people review this hostel. It is a hostel, it offers good value, friendly, warm and comfortable. The location is excellent and the staff are warm and friendly. Well done

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
8.3

Really nice staff and great location! Good price as well :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.