X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Killarney Railway Hostel Reviews

Fair Hill, Co. Kerry, Killarney, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
2225 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

The service was unfriendly and not really helpful. The hostel was really cold and dirty. Especially the towels in the kitchen for drying their stuff. Some people were weird and the atmosphere was cold and uninterested (not normal for a hostel).


97%

Great .location, friendly staff, easy check in -check out. Very affordable prices. Beds and pillows little stiff


60%

Wasn't the nicest hostel I have ever stayed at... But I had a good time out in Killarny. And the hostel has free parking.


31%

I have stayed in many hostels around the world and this was by far my worst experience. The bedding clearly dirty, and neither the staff who gave me new bedding on request or the woman I spoke to on check out (appeared to be the manager/owner) gave any indication of surprise where I raised this. Apparently they "wipe down" the sheets rather than changing them. The facilities are poor but, as the room was cheap, that was somewhat to be expected. I strongly recommend booking somewhere else.


86%

I felt very comfortable in the hostel. It had a warm atmosphere and I met great people who im still in touch with.

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic. Great atmosphere and staff very helpful


63%

The hostel was located close to the town. The facilities were not very clean and it seemed anybody could walk into the rooms as the doors were left unlocked. One night was plenty for us.


91%

The hostel was so accomadating and were more than happy to help my sister and I when we wanted to change rooms and on top of that they did not charge us anything extra. A1 for customer service!

  • 21st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Amazing staff and good value for money.

  • 20th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A great base for enjoying the National Park and the coast. Very comfortable beds and clean in all areas, however the bathrooms could need a little makeover soon (or the guest needs a third hard to keep the button pressed for the tap). Breakfast is very "light" but sufficient - cereal, milk and white bread. All in all great value.


34%

The room was dirty. Especially in the corner. Hair, dust, cut nails on the floor. The linen was used. It smelled old and I found blond long hair in the bed. The bathroom was moldy and it was not possible using the tap. The room was cold because the they dismounted the heating-regulator The Hostel was recommended by the Lonely Planet. But it was definetively the worst hostel I have ever been. Honestly everything is in bad and untended condition. Cleanliness should be natural!

  • 9th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Thanks for all the Team, specially the night worker and the young spannish girl see u soo all

  • 7th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely clean room & great price

  • 5th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

You pay for what you get. The room was stink and dirty sheets. But good location and the breakfast was nice though.


63%

Dirty place , cold ans full of rodents !!!!


69%

The hostel is in a great location and in general it's ok for a short stay. The common areas are sufficient but not very cosy, the kitchen is equipped with the essentials and the basic breakfast cereals and drinks are provided. The rooms and common areas are reasonably clean but the toilets smell very bad and the wash areas in general don't seem very clean. It's a good place to sleep after spending your night out, it's not really a place to actually spend your time in.

  • 28th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Kitchen is old and hot water doesnt always work. Other than that its great

  • 27th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Very noisy hostel with loud noise and shouting after midnight. Facilities average, basic kitchen with poor collection of pans. Not geared up for walkers with no drying facilities.

  • 27th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Great hostel in a great little town, highly recommended


91%

The doorm I slept in for a few nights was very small and I guess considering the number of guests there could be a few more plates, cups etc. but I was still content with this hostel and the good service for little money. Thanks and until another time. =)

  • 22nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(59 results)


View all Killarney Hostels

Please give us your feedback