X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Killarney Railway Hostel Reviews

Fair Hill, Co. Kerry, Killarney, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1735 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Mold on the shower in our room, other than that definitely enough if you just plan on sleeping there. The hostel has a big kitchen and you can cook for yourself. Breakfast was very continental - one jam, butter, toast and two kinds of cornflakes. Location is pretty nice. Just a few minutes into the city center and across the street from the train station

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Missing hooks in showers and rooms.


71%

Many noises during all the night in corridors -> impossible to sleep!!! Surprised that lockers aren't provided to avoid roberries The hostel is hard to find. Best signage would be great. Clean and kitchen well-equipped. Thanks


100%

Would highly recommend the Railway Hostel. Delightful staff and good facilities. Will be back next year. Very helpful with my Ryanair flights and printed my online boarding pass for me and helped book a day trip to the Gap of Dunloe. Beautiful place.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

nice place, not the best hostel, but very friendly, quiet and cost effective; good possibilities to cook, chat and have a breakfest

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Great receptionist! She's really nice, and showed me the best places of Killarney. I'll come back!!

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Air-humidifier in a room with 4 people, but without a window didn't work.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Very central hostel near the bus station. Very helpful staff, spacious rooms and nice atmosphere. Would recommend to others.

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Nice Hostel. We booked one room with its own bathroom . The room was okay. Could Need some renovation. Bathroom als well, the ceiling of our bathroom was really moldy. The Location of the Hostel is really good and the staff was excellent though !!

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Killarney is a lovely town full of interesting places and things to do. Our stay at the Killarney Railway Hostel was very comfortable and enjoyable. Staff very helpful and facilities very good. Free WiFi was quick and we could use it in our rooms. Would like to visit again soon.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

- poor breakfast; + free parking


86%

The staff came up with all our special wishes, thanks!!

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

A cozy hostel, with very spacious rooms and free breakfast :) Very close to everything yet tucked up privately off the main road with a cool outdoor seating area. We really enjoyed our stay. Only bad thing was the lack of outlets in the larger dorms; we had 10 people taking turns charging their devices from the few outlets we had.


80%

a lot of bedbugs


40%

We had a very small and stuffy 4 bed dorm with massive spiders in it. The walls were cluttered with mould!! The facilities were poor as there was only one toilet one could lock, one shower that worked properly and everything was dirty and full of long female hair. The breakfast was yuck and the room where one could sit together and eat had uncomfortable and extremely sticky tables and benches. The staff was not friendly at all, they hardly spoke to us. Seriously, don't go there!


63%

When booking the girl told me that if I booked the 6 bed dorm for the 4 of us we wouldn't be sharing as we paid for 2 nights and stayed only one. On check out the receptionist was quite rude and unprofessional and said that the girl who took the booking was due to leave so there was no point giving out to her for misinforming us. When we came back to the dorm there was 2 people there eventhough we were told this wouldn't happen. When I approached the girl on desk she wasn't one bit interested

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

we have chosen this hostel as it was the only one in Killarney with a car park. however when we arrived we found out that there is no space left and for two out of three days of our stay we had to park outside. It wouldnt be a problem if the girl from the reception wasnt unpleasant when we asked her where we could park if there was no space at their car park. She was all like "no my problem, get lost". otherwise nothing to complain about, clean nice room and good location


54%

Very very ver bad staff. Not welcoming, don't get here !


71%

Unfortunately there were bed bugs in my bed. I did let reception know.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

It was very noisy and we spent a bad night. A lot of people drank and were sick all night long. Many people talked very loud.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(70 results)


View all Killarney Hostels

Please give us your feedback