X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Killarney Railway Hostel Reviews

Fair Hill, Co. Kerry, Killarney, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1772 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Easy walking distance to everything. No towels or soap so bring your own. Must pay a damage deposit on the day. Also no eating or drinking in rooms. There is also light refreshments available in the morning.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

One of the best hostels I have stayed in. 24 hour reception, free Wi-Fi, breakfast included etc. Cant find a fault. Good value for money an very good location in Killarney town. Would recommend.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel in the centre of killarney town. Nice christmas decorations and lights the night we stayed there. Made us feel very warm and cuddily. Killarney town is great fun around christmas time. Would definitely come back again.

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Drunken abusive guests next door keeping everybody awake. Night staff had to be pushed to call Garda which arrested one guest. No refundnor partial refund offered by Hostel staff. Seems a recurring theme. Wont stay there again.

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

The room was freezing and the bed linen was damp, it was awfull

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The heater doesn't work properly and the shower is so cold.


69%

I stayed in a 10 bed dorm room and it was freezing! The tiny heater wasn't on at all, or was just broken. A little more heat would be nice.


100%

The only thing I would recommend to improve is the heating - I personally found the room too cold, but it is not possible to adjust the heater.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

A very noisy place to stay, not because of people partying but because the corridors allow noise to travel, the walls sound paper thin and wooden floorboards equals noise.


43%

It is a pity but this is the worst hostel that I ever been in. The employees were nice and kind trying to help. The plugs in the room did not work, the shower had warm water but no hot at all and It wasnt working properly, was stopping and you had to wait and try to start again.SUPER COLD, no heaters working either in the rooms, they give you extra blankets. It can be okay if you pay 12 € but no 40€ for a double room in that conditions. The breakfast... I will not come back.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very much enjoyed my stay at the Killarney Railway Hostel. Nice people and good clean facilities. One of the best places I have stayed in on my travels around Ireland. Thanks for everything.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

My day was decent enough. I think the light breakfast is quite terrible and the hostel was EXTREMELY cold. But aside from that I enjoyed my stay! The night staff was very nice.

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had a great stay at the Railway Hostel. Warm beds and friendly staff. Great kitchen facilities also.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very pleasant stay at the Killarney Railway Hostel. Would like to thank all the staff during my stay. hey were all very helpful. Have a happy Christmas 2014 and all the best for 2015.

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

We slept in 6 bed dormitory, room were clean and warm. Kitchen and toilet were clean too. A lot of space in dining area. Good wifi. Light breakfast : White toast bread,butter,jam, cornflakes,milk - nothing that I use to take for breakfast but in general nice idea. You can leave your food in the fridges. Limited parking space but just few stapes away is a free parking ( after 6 pm and till 11 am ) . Overall our stay was comfortable and good value for money.

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

great atmosphere.


74%

Family room with ensuite comfortable and clean, ensuite bathroom clean and basic. Hostel very noisy groups arrive/ leave. Kitchen not pen until 730am, difficult early risers / families with lung children. Overall a reasonable place to stay


74%

Mold on the shower in our room, other than that definitely enough if you just plan on sleeping there. The hostel has a big kitchen and you can cook for yourself. Breakfast was very continental - one jam, butter, toast and two kinds of cornflakes. Location is pretty nice. Just a few minutes into the city center and across the street from the train station

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Missing hooks in showers and rooms.


71%

Many noises during all the night in corridors -> impossible to sleep!!! Surprised that lockers aren't provided to avoid roberries The hostel is hard to find. Best signage would be great. Clean and kitchen well-equipped. Thanks


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(42 results)


View all Killarney Hostels

Please give us your feedback