Hostelworld.com

Killarney Railway Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 2602 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 2602 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.1

Great location and very clean. Some staff were more helpful than others. Door to the outside in oyster room doesn't lock. 2 minutes walk to bus station. Breakfast is just coffee tea cereal and toast but it's free.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
8.6

loved it will be back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
6.3

The only good about this hostel is the price and one member of its staff. The rest of the staff aren't very friendly or polite. The breakfast is good. Cleanliness isn't a strong point. Bedrooms were extremely cold, and they usually don't turn on the heating during night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Jan 2017
6.0

It was average. The staff, the lady Greta in particular who runs the place wasn't particularly welcoming. I feel she should pay attention to how she welcomes her guests. But it was alright if in need of a cheap stay. Not that clean, but wasn't unbearable dirty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2017
8.9

I book the wrong night by mistake, I showed up a day early but the very helpful man on the booking desk said no problem and helped me. What a awesome guy and thanks a million. I will book that hostel again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
7.7

Hostel is neat and clean. Close to the train and bus station (literally 5 minutes walk). Shared dorm rooms are (very) small. Reception staff was rather unwelcoming and cold in manners. Kitchen was equipped with facilities. Charging sockets were not working well in the dining area. Information brochures were plenty and I could choose from many things to do.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Dec 2016
7.4

A rustic hostel with wooden bunks, like summer camp. Big kitchen-room so many can cook at same time, 2 fridges! Clean and friendly. Small lockers for rent on 1st floor. Lockers in rooms would be simple step to improve security. Central. Heat works! Just turn the knob on the radiator! Reception could offer more tourist info. There is no book exchange. Fine for a night!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Dec 2016
9.7

For a one night stay I could not find anything wrong with this hostel. Good value for money, clean, friendly and accommodating. Would definitely recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Dec 2016
10.0

Simply delightful hostel in Killarney town. Great bunch of staff and also good value for money. Booked last minute and found the place very easily when we got to Killarney by bus. Could not ask for anything more. We were upgraded to another room as there was painting and maintenance going on. Nice ensuite room and a bonus as we had the room to ourselves for the night. Thanks a bunch guys. Happy Christmas and all the best for 2017.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Dec 2016
7.1

We stayed in double room. When we arrived room was very cold. I claimed that at the reception and he said that they're turning on the heat in a 2hours. When we got back to the room at the evening it was still cold. I slept with my jacket on and with one extra blanket.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.