Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Killarney Railway Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 2672 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 2672 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Apr 2017
5.7

Location: quite central and it provides parking lots Facilities: no oven, freezer. The kitchen needs renovation. Staff: having read the reviews I was expecting rude people, but they were quite ok. Cleanliness: not dirty, but having old furniture made it look like. Moreover the blanket didn't have a cover. The towel that I was given had stains and a hole. Value for money: within European standards it was expensive, but for Ireland it was ok. selling individual beds doesn't make it a hostel!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
3.4

Couldn't sleep. Group of extremely drunk boys arrived in the room at 03:00 am started shouting, singing, spitting on the floor, having sex in the corner of the room and shouting racial slurs at the night porter. No initiative taken to control situation. In the hostel I worked in we threatened to call the police / told customers to leave. Maybe try that for next time. Besides incident staff are friendly. - Beds are uncomfortable. - key card breaks repeatedly

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
5.7

Got lecture when arrived from Receptionist about how hostel world takes percentage of profits from bookings and takes bookings on assumption of availability which doesn't always tied in with the hostels system. Seemed our booking was an inconvenience to them!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
14th Apr 2017
6.9

Breakfast is a mess, 20min queue in the morning, facilities okay, had better hostels

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Apr 2017
9.1

The hostel is very close of the train station. Good location. Breakfast was ok (toast, butter/jam, coffee or tea). Shower was great with hot water. Bathroom were clean. The only thing I can't believe There's no plugs enough for everybody. Only 2 plugs for 6 people. Really? That's a joke.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
7.7

Overall a very nice hostel. The room was beautiful, very bright . The kitchen was big, could be a little cleaner, but was still fine. We had a big issue with parking though, the hostel itself has almost no space for that and we weren't even there in summer. However, I would come again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
6.9

Everything good, but I have to complain about one of the owners. She's always in a bad mood, looking at you like if you're stupid if you ask a question or you English is not good; she yells full of anger if someone didn't wash a plate, never says hello or thanks.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Apr 2017
8.9

The staff was so nice and helpfull, good location and clean! Value for money very good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2017
3.7

By far the noisiest hostel i have EVER stayed in. The common area is right next to the dorm room and no one had any respect for other guests. The room was damp and musty, made it very uncomfortable. Idk when the last time the bathrooms were cleaned and showers turned off after 30 seconds. The staff was less than helpful, checking in simply annoyed him. Location is amazing but everything else was terrible. A hotel around the corner advertised rooms for €6 more. Wish i did better research.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Mar 2017
8.0

Facilities in the dorms could be better, i.e. more sockets. There were 2 in my room but only one worked. Neither were near the beds. Individual sockets and light fixtures for the beds would be a good improvement.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.