Hostelworld.com

Killarney Railway Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 2,328 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 2,328 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.7
Killarney Railway Hostel Located at Fair Hill, Co. Kerry, Killarney.
Killarney Railway Hostel
Ireland
Killarney Fair Hill, Co. Kerry
75% 2328
52.0604332 -9.5032167
Killarney Railway Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
13th May 2016
8.9

The only issues I had were that there was no ventilation in the room and there are only 4-5 parking spots for the entire hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th May 2016
6.3

The light in my bedroom didn't work and I questioned if my sheets were clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th May 2016
6.0

Dorms on second floor need to use toilets on first floor. They are short on electrical outlets. Will aim to stay elsewhere next round in Killarney

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
5th May 2016
3.4

The worst hostel I have ever stayed in. It's disgusting. My bed sheets had blood stains all over. The place smelled horribly of grease. Bathroom floors in our room were sticky. They didn't provide us with any toilet paper. The place was musty. We had an amazing view of the garbage in the ally from our window. The beds were extremely uncomfortable. And there wasny any heat. The only good things about this place was that the wifi worked well and the locstion. Thankfully we could cancel our 2 night

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th May 2016
6.9

The location is super good. Just outside the railway and bus station. Short walk to town centre. If you're looking for a youth hostel, then this is not the place. Not enough electrical plugs. The bunk beds were kind of low for those sleeping below. The hostel feels quite old as it has wooden floorings and wooden bed structures that were sometimes squeaky.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
8.3

Best part of my stay was the fun and helpful reception lady. She helped us when the hostel world site screwed up the date (yes, the site. I've caught it changing things on me before checkout before, but missed this change). She was funny, too. The room was clean and quiet. Just recommend that guests bring their own breakfast (no biggie). Will recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Apr 2016
7.7

Perfect location for bus and train, close to city center. Normally hostel standard. Kind staff and clean toilet upstairs. 4-bed dorm is equipped with a bathroom which was nice. However, I hope the lower bunk could have a higher ceiling to allow people to at least sit on the bed... The ceiling was too low so I easily hit my head and couldn't do things without lying down.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
3.7

Bad experience. Our room smelled so awful it was hard to be in there. Facilities need more attention. Staff not warm or friendly.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Apr 2016
8.3

Great location opposite railway station and bus station, 5min walk to the city centre. The place looks a bit old but it's clean and maintained. Simple breakfast provided. It was a bit cold during the day but it's warm at night. The best thing was the hot shower which is actually the most important thing you need after a day out :) I wouldn't recommend it to people looking for hostels with some atmosphere because there wasn't much going on here, but otherwise good value for the price paid.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Apr 2016
8.9

The front desk staff could have been nicer, but overall, the rooms and facilities were clean and well maintained. It was very cool, but if you used a spare blanket it was comfortable. Overall a good stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.