Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Killarney Railway Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 2627 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 2627 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2017
5.1

The front desk women was so ignorant and made our stay horrible.. here is a couple of examples when we arrived she was short and snippy with us.. Then because there was five of us in the booking she would only give us three keys?? Excuse me next time we will all book individually so we all get keys.. so one women wanted the window open in the dead of winter yet she wouldn't tell her to close it or have enough blankets for all of us and wouldn't move rooms.. those are just a couple of examples.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jmmaher15613
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Feb 2017
6.9

Didn't expect much for the price we paid. However, one group were very loud up till about 1amy. Then one guest kicked and banged his door shouting at someone inside for over an hour at around 3am. Would expect night staff to have intervened at some point. The free breakfast consisted of a loaf of white bread open on the counter.... we left tired and hunary to get breakfast elsewhere. Wouldn't go back even for the cheap price and good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Feb 2017
8.9

Small kitchen and dining room. Couldn't lock door to balcony. Many showers though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
9.1

Great location and very clean. Some staff were more helpful than others. Door to the outside in oyster room doesn't lock. 2 minutes walk to bus station. Breakfast is just coffee tea cereal and toast but it's free.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
9.7

This hostel in Killarney town was clean, friendly and good value for money. Right across the road from the bus station which was very convenient for me. I got to the national park by foot. Only took me about 10 minutes. All in all a very good stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
8.6

loved it will be back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
6.3

The only good about this hostel is the price and one member of its staff. The rest of the staff aren't very friendly or polite. The breakfast is good. Cleanliness isn't a strong point. Bedrooms were extremely cold, and they usually don't turn on the heating during night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Jan 2017
6.0

It was average. The staff, the lady Greta in particular who runs the place wasn't particularly welcoming. I feel she should pay attention to how she welcomes her guests. But it was alright if in need of a cheap stay. Not that clean, but wasn't unbearable dirty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2017
8.9

I book the wrong night by mistake, I showed up a day early but the very helpful man on the booking desk said no problem and helped me. What a awesome guy and thanks a million. I will book that hostel again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
7.7

Hostel is neat and clean. Close to the train and bus station (literally 5 minutes walk). Shared dorm rooms are (very) small. Reception staff was rather unwelcoming and cold in manners. Kitchen was equipped with facilities. Charging sockets were not working well in the dining area. Information brochures were plenty and I could choose from many things to do.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.