X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Killarney Railway Hostel Reviews

Fair Hill, Co. Kerry, Killarney, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1837 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Railway Hostel in Killarney town. Met lovely people in the same room as I was staying. We did lots of things together including visiting the national park, shopping and went for a nice meal in the Laurels Restaurant in town. Will definitely be back to stay again next year or the year after when I come back to visit Ireland again

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel was in a very nice location if hard to find initially. It was quite loud during the night due to pub goers staying at the hostel. We had a private bathroom which almost completely flooded each time someone showered because the shower doors did not close properly. Also no temperature regulation possible. The kitchen was big and had fridges to store stuff but was not too clean. Staff however was AMAZING. Very helpful.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

I like the location and your hostel in general. I didn't like the atmosphere though. There were lots of people partying and drinking. They were talking very loudy in the hallways in the middle of the night. The staff didn't do anything about that. I guess, if your looking for a good time and a good place to party, this hostel is very good. If you want to see the sights and get some sleep, I would recommend something else.


91%

Lovely Clean hostel , which is right beside everything in Killarney. Helpful and friendly staff. Very clean. Plenty of hot water . Plus a lovely free breakfast , what more could you ask for.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Good Hostel, was chilly throughout the place but the blankets keep you more than warm during the Night! The only issue was during the day when spending time in the dorm it was cold! 😞 Oh and anyone Catching a train from Killarney station early in the morning the building doesn't open until 6AM!


60%

Not very modern, but I could have lived with that. Worst part was the freezing cold. The heating wasn't running during the day, just for one or two hours in the evening which didn't really help. A lot of things were broken and/or not properly repaired (e.g. locks in the bathrooms). The kitchen was acceptable but not very clean, at least the staff was friendly. Location is quite good, next to the station. I still wish I had spend more money on a slithgly nicer place.


71%

I thought the location of the hostel was good. However- the comforter on my bed (and the others in the room) all smelled very dirty. It made sleeping very unpleasant. The bathrooms smelt like an out-house at times and only 2 out of the 4 doors locked in a mixed bathroom, but the showers were brand new and very nice to use.


100%

Super friendly staff, great location, clean & safe.

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Good hostel. Close to town. Easy to miss though so pay attention to the directions, or ask at the tourist office in town they're very helpful. Facilities are good and staff are friendly.


69%

The hostel is fine. Nothing special though. The common areas are a little cold. Bathrooms could be a little cleaner. Showers are great, good pressure.


60%

I dont understand why they dont have female rooms.. When i arrived with my friends i wanted to change the room because of one old men sleeping in my bedroom. The receptionist said that they were fulleand it was impossible to make a change. Hours after another receptionist said that they have a free room but we have to pay more 50€ ... and that´s not fair. we slept so bad, because of the beds but also because that old men was snoring all the night. another thing,

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great value - very clean, nice and quiet; good atmosphere and a nice mix of people. Perfect location! Would definitely stay here again.


89%

The hostel was in a great condition, the room was clean and well prepared. A great bargin for a trip to Killarney with friends.

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Nice, quiet and clean,very good beds, and for small price :)

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Just not cozy, or a super fun place. It's set up alright, though it's a bit large with few showers and bathrooms to accomidate everyone if the hostel is fully booked. The breakfast is alright, but the main thing is the lack of comfyness and coziness.


89%

Perfect location, good price, very clean and a good kitchen. That's all we need.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Lots of older, long-term type residents here but they all seem nice. It's a great location with free parking and good wifi in rooms, staff are nice, breakfast is simple. However the place could use some minor repairs to creaky doors, hotplates, stained bedding, damp smell, heating system. Unless you're precious, it's fine.


94%

There are few wall socket in the bedroom.


71%

We certainly paid our €20 each. The mattress was very cardboard-y, and the bed was incredibly creaky. Also very noisy: you could hear everything going on in the corridors. On the plus side, the location is pretty damn good, and the staff were very pleasant.

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Was alright. Place was pretty empty for a Saturday. No car parking available when I got there.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(41 results)


View all Killarney Hostels

Please give us your feedback