Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Killarney Railway Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 2829 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 2829 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Aug 2017
3.7

Worst hostel I've stayed in but also the cheapest. Would benefit from cleaner bathrooms and somewhere clean to dry hands and clean tea towels in the kitchen (instead of dirty hand towels used to dry the dishes). An array of passive aggressive notes in the kitchen left by grumpy staff members, contributed to the unfriendly vibe, its just part of running a hostel, keeping it clean! Limited power sockets in rooms. Dodgy locks on toilet doors. But showers had hot water and the location is good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • meganbellman952872
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Aug 2017
6.0

Wasn't a terrible place staff didn't seem particularly inviting or eager to help was okay for the few nights I was there I just didn't love the atmosphere there

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Aug 2017
3.4

You get what you pay for. Will find another hostel next time.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2017
5.4

The beds in our dorm were pretty bad, the top bunk on one bed was cracking and was ready to break any minute, and in my bed the duvet smelled like someone's body odor and like it hadn't been changed since the last person. There weren't really any common areas except for 2 chairs by the reception desk and the kitchen tables. The kitchen had passive aggressive notes written about using the facilities that made me not want to cook at all.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
8.3

very good value for money .the people we shared with were very nice and everyone gave space to each other and respected each other.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
10.0

This hostel is the first one I try to get when I stay in Killarney. It is the best location, it has a lot of facilities near it (garage, shop, Bus/Railway station close to town...) There are others but I recommend this one first.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jul 2017
9.1

Very nice staff-experience. Walls were a bit thin but after negotiating with our neighbours we had a good night's sleep :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2017
9.4

Very good hostel, Stayed in a double room for three nights. Kitchen crowded at peak times but that's understandable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
5.7

The location is great, rooms OK, but noisy evevery little storage space/hooks for clothes etc. The kitchen is grossly inadequate, there is just 1 6 ring hob for all the guests to share, but only 4 rings work and one of those is very weak. every morning there were not enough mugs for hot drinks, some that were there were cracked and/or chipped - should be thrown away & replaced, overall cleanliness in the kitchen is pretty poor, not helped by the provision of hand towels for drying dishes etc.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
28th Jul 2017
6.6

It was overall a great hostel. Atmosphere was amazing. The receptionist wasnt as friendly though. But the people i met were awesome

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.