X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Killarney Railway Hostel Reviews

Fair Hill, Co. Kerry, Killarney, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1693 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Second time staying in this excellent hostel! Very cosy and charming! Amazing staffs, helping you out with anything you need, being always sympathetic and extremely polite without (of course) losing their charismatic personality. A++ for the hard-work people maintaining an immaculate place like this and being so nice to us (guests). You rock, guys!


49%

It says that you can pay by credit card and that you have a free map of the town, it is not true. Also we had to pay all together (we were a group of 5 persons, and with the exact amount) so it just make it more difficult. The luggage locker it´s one euro. The breakfast it´s included, well sandwich bread, butter and jam and cereals, with coffee or tea. The breakfast is very light and the woman was rationing all the cheap ingredients in a ridiculous way (two small spoons of jam for 7 persons).


63%

basic standard could be improved with a little TLC like bright white paint several toilet doors did not have locks embarrassing when I opened onto a man doing his business shared bathroom lacked privacy kitchen lacked teatowels - bath towels not appropriate dishwashing liquid watered down far too much to wash dishes properly room was spacious

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

After a very long travel day, the beds were extremely welcoming and comfortable! Being right next to the kitchen was the only downside because it was a bit loud!


20%

I tried to cancel this 24 hours in advanced and they did not honor that. The hostel is dumpy with terrible service.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff was friendly, helpful and went out of their way to help guests! There is no other place is stay in Killarney! I'll be back :)


100%

Perfect stop here.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

My husband and I stayed here and thought the hostel had a great location to the downtown area and the Ring of Kerry. Parking is limited, so get there and park early if you can. Kitchen was set up a bit awkwardly, but had everything you needed. Just an average hostel though.


97%

So many interesting people stay in this hostel. The price is very reasonablle. Place is very clean until some guests get sloppy. I've been to Killarney many times and wouldn't stay anywhere else.The train and bus stations are directly across the street and its only a two minute walk to the center of town andf good "craic".


80%

It would be nice if they had city maps available.

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Booked this place twice for the weekend of the rally of the lakes and I'll be booking it again next year. Absolutely brilliant value and the location is perfect. Needs more places to park your car outside with cameras as last year a friend couldn't get one outside the hostel and ended up parking up the road and got stuff stolen from his car. Brilliant place overall.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The double room was rather nice but the overall athmosphere in the hostel was not. The staff was sometimes very unfriendly and the common areas were unpleasant.


100%

Enjoyed my time in Killarney very much. Lovely town and great hostel to stay in. Hope to come back again later this year. Very helpful staff and 24 hour reception. Good value for money and highly recommend it. See you all again very soon.

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Good locaction and nice friendly staff

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Would definitley stay here again.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Staff Ok Look like a summer camp Atmosphere Ok Crowded LIGHT breakfast


83%

very nice hostel, the dolphin very nice room

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Overall not very exciting place. It was very convenient for walking into the city. Only about a block away, but the facility was very dirty. I don't think our blankets or sheets had been washed in quite a while. They were visibly soiled. The breakfast was very bland. A container with some cereal, milk, and toast and jelly. I wish we'd only stayed one night just because of the cleanliness. The two staff members I met were very friendly though.


74%

Sadly, the wifi didn´t reach our room. Kitchen coud have been cleaner, but all in all it was fine.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are currently expanding our Wi-fi to reach all rooms in the hostel and this should be completed in the next few days. Thank you for your comment.

83%

The hostel was good. It has a great location directly opposite the train and bus station and as Killarney is not big you could basically walk everywhere within 5-10 minutes. The room was ok but unfortunately you could hear every noise in the hostel. The room was not too big for 6 people but ok. The common areas seemed to be cleaned every day but unfortunately not the room. Nevertheless I was still satisfied with it. The staff was nice and 24 hours available.


(67 results)


View all Killarney Hostels

Please give us your feedback