X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Killarney Railway Hostel Reviews

Fair Hill, Co. Kerry, Killarney, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1720 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

It is very noisy and the night we stayed, some dumb people were screaming at 3am and it lasted for 30 minutes. They were finallt kicked out. It will be my last night in an hostel ever

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Bathrooms smell like an outhouse. Use of kitchen facilities is great.


86%

Location of the hostel is brilliant it's in the centre of everything. Could'nt fault a thing, would defientley stay there again.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good hostel. A lot of activities available from the front desk as well as booking tours. I had a great time band would go again Kathy

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Killarney is a lovely town and the Railway Hostel was the ideal base. In town, open 24 hours, free Wi-Fi and friendly staff. Stayed in a few hostels and must say this is one of the best so far. Keep up the good work.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

facilities in kitchen could be better (for example good knifes; salt and pepper could be also placed at the disposal. Just very cold water by having a shower.


66%

the hostel ist at a very good Place. you don´t habe to wall to tue great Pubs ans the Shops. and on tue oposite is a mall with a Nike outet ( that´s a plus fort Girls :) )

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Nice trip here. I think I will come back here if I am come an other time in Killarney


40%

Most unfriendly staff ever! Dirty Blankets! Bathroom door lock was broken. We booked a dorm with 4 single beds but got 2 singles and 1 double bed instead. That was not what we booked. Kitchen facilities are very poor.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Second time staying in this excellent hostel! Very cosy and charming! Amazing staffs, helping you out with anything you need, being always sympathetic and extremely polite without (of course) losing their charismatic personality. A++ for the hard-work people maintaining an immaculate place like this and being so nice to us (guests). You rock, guys!


49%

It says that you can pay by credit card and that you have a free map of the town, it is not true. Also we had to pay all together (we were a group of 5 persons, and with the exact amount) so it just make it more difficult. The luggage locker it´s one euro. The breakfast it´s included, well sandwich bread, butter and jam and cereals, with coffee or tea. The breakfast is very light and the woman was rationing all the cheap ingredients in a ridiculous way (two small spoons of jam for 7 persons).


63%

basic standard could be improved with a little TLC like bright white paint several toilet doors did not have locks embarrassing when I opened onto a man doing his business shared bathroom lacked privacy kitchen lacked teatowels - bath towels not appropriate dishwashing liquid watered down far too much to wash dishes properly room was spacious

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

After a very long travel day, the beds were extremely welcoming and comfortable! Being right next to the kitchen was the only downside because it was a bit loud!


20%

I tried to cancel this 24 hours in advanced and they did not honor that. The hostel is dumpy with terrible service.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Staff was friendly, helpful and went out of their way to help guests! There is no other place is stay in Killarney! I'll be back :)


100%

Perfect stop here.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

My husband and I stayed here and thought the hostel had a great location to the downtown area and the Ring of Kerry. Parking is limited, so get there and park early if you can. Kitchen was set up a bit awkwardly, but had everything you needed. Just an average hostel though.


97%

So many interesting people stay in this hostel. The price is very reasonablle. Place is very clean until some guests get sloppy. I've been to Killarney many times and wouldn't stay anywhere else.The train and bus stations are directly across the street and its only a two minute walk to the center of town andf good "craic".


80%

It would be nice if they had city maps available.

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Booked this place twice for the weekend of the rally of the lakes and I'll be booking it again next year. Absolutely brilliant value and the location is perfect. Needs more places to park your car outside with cameras as last year a friend couldn't get one outside the hostel and ended up parking up the road and got stuff stolen from his car. Brilliant place overall.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(74 results)


View all Killarney Hostels

Please give us your feedback