Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Killarney Sugan Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1,066 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1,066 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.8
Killarney Sugan Hostel Located at Michael Collins Place, Lewis Road, Killarney.
Killarney Sugan Hostel
Ireland
Killarney Kerry n/a Michael Collins Place,, Lewis Road
79% 1066
52.0600242 -9.5063710
Killarney Sugan Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
8.3

This is such a cute and unique hostel! It's right on the edge of the main street in Killarney and a three minute walk from a great car park location. The Hostel is attached to a pub, The Shire, it was a little odd to me that I had to walk through the pub (luggage and all) to check in and get the code to the doors. I really enjoyed the location, the only thing I found frustrating was no wifi in the room. Breakfast was also lacking, just toast and coffee. Better than nothing but not exceptional.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
9.7

Great stay in the middle of Killarney just beside a pub (The Shire - the same owner as the hostel). Great atmosphere and facilities. The only drawback I would notice is the fact that going from the room to the common area requires getting outside and entering door beside. Fast internet - very impressed with it! Very recommended place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
5.4

We been travelling and have stayed in several hostels. This was by far the worst. When entering, the carpets in the hostel hall smell bad. Our room overlooked the street with the bar directly under us. The room itself was ok, but bath facilities need cleaned and repaired. The worst part was the supposed breakfast. Some white bread in a basket, a box of cereal on a shelf, milk & OJ in the fridge. No one to help us. And the kitchen, serving, common room were dirty. We left without food.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
4.9

As a huge Lord of the Rings fan I thought this was going to be great!! Very disappointed nothing like the pictures, very run down, wifi near impossible to get tin the room and the attached bar had no food.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Jul 2016
6.9

No free car park. Up the road is free from 6pm to 8.30am. Net is average. Tasty lotr beers.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jul 2016
9.4

With the exception of a couple of overly-rowdy guests, our experience st the Sugan was great! They have a great common area and very helpful staff. They are ideally located between the bus station and the city centre. I've rarely seen a cleaner hostel in all my travels. And they use keypads for door entry so you never have to worry about losing your key! Would definitely recommend to friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
9.4

Great location, fun staff, friendly atmosphere and interesting bar! Good value for money and Killarney is a brilliant place to stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 69 reviews
7th Jul 2016
8.9

I have stayed here before. I love this place. It's a small hostel with character. Very nice kitchen/common room downstairs plus a pub next door. Staff are really friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jun 2016
9.4

Fantastic all round! Excellent and helpful staff and perfect location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Jun 2016
8.3

Great atmosphere from the staff as well as the room was great. The cleanliness of the kitchen was debatable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.