Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Killarney Sugan Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 1161 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 1161 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
8.9

Excellent location . No problem with the room it was basic but clean and you get what you pay for really . Would stay again if on a shirt stay in Killarney

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2017
4.6

sheets and bed not clean; shower not clean; no direct contact; very small and different with the pictures. Very abstract, dirty and not human.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
9.1

Great hostel, excellent location, only let down was I didn't like the showers. Woukd recommend though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
10.0

This place was so warm and cute! We loved that everything was old and it felt quirky and funky. The staff was nice, anything you needed they were at the pub next door called the Shire. One time the code didn't work but they opened the door for us right away- no problem. I liked how it felt like a home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Jul 2017
8.3

It's hard to write a bad review for this place because it really is so awesome. The pub is so much fun, and you are in a great area. Breakfast is included, and there is a big kitchen with lots of supplies. The downside is that there is no safe place to keep your things, and there is literally only one bathroom (with one shower inside of the same room) for the entire hostel. Kind of a bummer especially after you've had a few beers at the pub and there is a line to use the bathroom!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2017
4.9

compared to the experiances in other hostles, our stay was not nice. The room are very dark and the athmospere not positiv, without care

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2017
9.7

Good hostel generally, could do with a bit of updating, good staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2017
10.0

This was a great place to stay! The staff was very friendly and helpful! The Shire was a fun place to hang out and had delicious food! I would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Apr 2017
7.4

A five to ten minute walk from great restaurants, pubs and shopping. A fifteen minute drive from the Killarney National Forest. Staff was friendly and showed myself and guests the property and how to lock/unlock the doors. Wish we were given more insight on things to do. The only negative aspect of the hostel is the overall cleanliness. When I was showering, I noticed pink mold around the door handle of the shower door handle. Makes you wonder how often the shared amenities get a deep cleaning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2017
7.4

I had two nights at the Sugaan Hostel in Kilarney. The staff were great and helped me a lot but there were some problems during the second night which were very swiftly dealt with I have It was disconcerting during the night hearing the carryon in the dorm opposite to the one I was put in. Eventually I rang the owners and then everything went quiet but by this time it was 6am and time to get up. The staff were great but mostly you did not see them as they were busy next door in the pub.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.