Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Killarney Sugan Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1,101 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1,101 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.1
Killarney Sugan Hostel Located at Michael Collins Place, Lewis Road, Killarney.
Killarney Sugan Hostel
Ireland
Killarney Kerry n/a Michael Collins Place,, Lewis Road
80% 1101
52.0600242 -9.5063710
Killarney Sugan Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Aug 2016
9.1

Great location- near town centre but quiet; friendly helpful staff. I was delighted to see separate recycling bins including one for food but these would need to be more clearly labelled, maybe with pictures as during our stay other guests were mixing items making food and plastic resources unusable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
3.4

I can not believe what I paid to stay in.2 people in a one bed private room that was OLD. the yellowing bed had many pieces of wood underneath it The mattress felt 50 years old with springs popping out of it. Pieces of the room literally falling off, the window shade bar hanging on one side with only one curtain. Bathroom was clean. Killed a few spiders. Bar was a sad disappointment. Only staff is the bartenders who are nice but not helpful. Breakfast was a box of cereal. Sad painted walls

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
7.7

The place is fine and the staff are excellent and good humoured.The bar attached themed on the Hobbit called the Shire is very good and has good live music.Everybody is made feel welcome at the hostel and at the bar.It's a good place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2016
9.4

Such a lovely spot in a fabulous location! A very cozy space within walking distance to just about everything. The Shire, the bar next door is great! All the bartenders are very sweet and wicked handsome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
8.0

We liked our stay here and were alltogether happy with the hostel. We loved that it provides a kitchen where you can cook any meal. Breakfast is self service but they have toast, jam and cereals there so no need to buy that. The only thing is that the rooms and the toilets and showers could have been a little more clean and also they seem quite old and dark. But anyway, it's a hostel in a great location so I'd book it again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
9.4

I would have like a few more choices of cereal as there was only porridge and wheatbix, i would have like to have had museli or granola to choose from otherwise everything else was good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jul 2016
8.6

Comfortable hostel in good location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would be nice if wifi was accessible in the rooms too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
8.3

This is such a cute and unique hostel! It's right on the edge of the main street in Killarney and a three minute walk from a great car park location. The Hostel is attached to a pub, The Shire, it was a little odd to me that I had to walk through the pub (luggage and all) to check in and get the code to the doors. I really enjoyed the location, the only thing I found frustrating was no wifi in the room. Breakfast was also lacking, just toast and coffee. Better than nothing but not exceptional.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
9.7

Great stay in the middle of Killarney just beside a pub (The Shire - the same owner as the hostel). Great atmosphere and facilities. The only drawback I would notice is the fact that going from the room to the common area requires getting outside and entering door beside. Fast internet - very impressed with it! Very recommended place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
5.4

We been travelling and have stayed in several hostels. This was by far the worst. When entering, the carpets in the hostel hall smell bad. Our room overlooked the street with the bar directly under us. The room itself was ok, but bath facilities need cleaned and repaired. The worst part was the supposed breakfast. Some white bread in a basket, a box of cereal on a shelf, milk & OJ in the fridge. No one to help us. And the kitchen, serving, common room were dirty. We left without food.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.