Hostelworld.com

Killarney Sugan Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 1131 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 1131 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2017
7.7

It's hard for me to judge the atmosphere, as I was there in January and one of the only guests, but the hostel was very cozy. Location is great, staff was friendly and helpful but not always around (again as it was the off season). I had to call the front desk to check out because the lobby was locked. Hostel was clean enough, but most of the facilities seem very old and in need of repair. (Broken mirror, cold showers, etc.) All in all, a cute place with character and good for a night or two.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Male Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
2.0

Absolutely filthy dirty . Due to stay for four nights but only stay one because of the dirt. I understand hostels are a cheap way for travel for young people , but there is noexcuse for dirt .This please was absolutely filty dirty.Bobby Farrell.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Nov 2016
9.7

Lovely, clean facilities, very cosy. Central location a plus!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Nov 2016
6.9

The location is perfect. Only 3minutes walk from bus station and 5minutes to the main street in town centre. I stayed in mix 4 dorm room. The space of bedroom is mighty small for 4 persons with all the luggages. The bathroom is old and there are no hangers to hang on the towel and clothes! Stay overnight is fine. Not for long stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Oct 2016
10.0

Fab , everything you want in a hostel , wish we could have stayed longer

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2016
9.4

The staff were the best part of my stay at An Sugán. From the get go they were welcoming and very helpful. The value for money was excellent. The only drawback was the bed, the mattress was of poor quality and could do with being replaced. All in all however an extremely positive experience and would go back for sure:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2016
4.6

The only good thing about this hostel was the location. The staff was not helpful, much less most of the time you could not find someone to help or had to go through the bar for assistance. The locks on the doors did not work most of the time. This was probably the only hostel experience that I was disappointed with during this trip. The springs were sticking through the mattress and extremely limited toilet facilities. I would not recommend this place. Do not be deceived by the pictures.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Aug 2016
7.7

It's a cosy hostel, very special atmosphere. But it was a bit strange that you have to check in at the bar next door and the staff was basically never in the hostel. It didn't feel that great to enter the bar and look for the staff when it was busy, loud and a lot of people. The doorms are very small, the beds are not that great and the you can't regulate the heating in the showers. No security lockers in doorms - really bad, didn't feel safe. Kitchen is ok. Location is great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.