Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Killarney Sugan Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1,114 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1,114 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.0
Killarney Sugan Hostel Located at Michael Collins Place, Lewis Road, Killarney.
Killarney Sugan Hostel
Ireland
Killarney Kerry n/a Michael Collins Place,, Lewis Road
79% 1114
52.0600242 -9.5063710
Killarney Sugan Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2016
9.4

The staff were the best part of my stay at An Sugán. From the get go they were welcoming and very helpful. The value for money was excellent. The only drawback was the bed, the mattress was of poor quality and could do with being replaced. All in all however an extremely positive experience and would go back for sure:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2016
4.6

The only good thing about this hostel was the location. The staff was not helpful, much less most of the time you could not find someone to help or had to go through the bar for assistance. The locks on the doors did not work most of the time. This was probably the only hostel experience that I was disappointed with during this trip. The springs were sticking through the mattress and extremely limited toilet facilities. I would not recommend this place. Do not be deceived by the pictures.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Aug 2016
7.7

It's a cosy hostel, very special atmosphere. But it was a bit strange that you have to check in at the bar next door and the staff was basically never in the hostel. It didn't feel that great to enter the bar and look for the staff when it was busy, loud and a lot of people. The doorms are very small, the beds are not that great and the you can't regulate the heating in the showers. No security lockers in doorms - really bad, didn't feel safe. Kitchen is ok. Location is great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
6.0

Stayed in a 4 bed dorm with washroom. Entrance hallway had a wet funky smell! (not good). Room was ok, mattresses were ok,washroom needed to be cleaned better( garbage can stuffed full from the previous guest) shower / walls needed a scrub down. Bathroom was recently painted, large amount of speckled green paint all over sink/floor. Common area eating/kitchen area need to be cleaned/freshened up. WIFI doesn't work in rooms. Overall maintenance/cleaning needed.Lots of potential but disappointing

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Aug 2016
9.1

Great location- near town centre but quiet; friendly helpful staff. I was delighted to see separate recycling bins including one for food but these would need to be more clearly labelled, maybe with pictures as during our stay other guests were mixing items making food and plastic resources unusable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2016
3.4

I can not believe what I paid to stay in.2 people in a one bed private room that was OLD. the yellowing bed had many pieces of wood underneath it The mattress felt 50 years old with springs popping out of it. Pieces of the room literally falling off, the window shade bar hanging on one side with only one curtain. Bathroom was clean. Killed a few spiders. Bar was a sad disappointment. Only staff is the bartenders who are nice but not helpful. Breakfast was a box of cereal. Sad painted walls

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2016
7.7

The place is fine and the staff are excellent and good humoured.The bar attached themed on the Hobbit called the Shire is very good and has good live music.Everybody is made feel welcome at the hostel and at the bar.It's a good place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Aug 2016
9.4

Such a lovely spot in a fabulous location! A very cozy space within walking distance to just about everything. The Shire, the bar next door is great! All the bartenders are very sweet and wicked handsome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
8.0

We liked our stay here and were alltogether happy with the hostel. We loved that it provides a kitchen where you can cook any meal. Breakfast is self service but they have toast, jam and cereals there so no need to buy that. The only thing is that the rooms and the toilets and showers could have been a little more clean and also they seem quite old and dark. But anyway, it's a hostel in a great location so I'd book it again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2016
9.4

I would have like a few more choices of cereal as there was only porridge and wheatbix, i would have like to have had museli or granola to choose from otherwise everything else was good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.