Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Killarney Sugan Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 1187 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.9
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 1187 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 5.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
4.9

This hostel is filthy. We were reluctant to even touch anything and the showers were especially off-putting. It felt like a sick endurance challenge staying here for 2 nights. I would not recommend it to anybody! The Sugan is attached to a bizarre Lord of the Rings themed pub, which is clearly the owner's main business. The hostel is literally just a money-spinner and low down on the owner's list of priorities. The only redeemable feature is the hostel's proximity to the centre of Killarney.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2017
4.6

Noisy, dirty towels, also bed sheets looked dirty. Central yes, but I would not recommend it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Aug 2017
4.6

Whilst the staff were friendly, the actual hostel is next to/the extension of a pub, and there was music in the evenings. I had a lot of early morning hiking tours planned and the music went on longer than I expected and I could hear it. The rooms are not sound-proofed, so you can always hear people coming in/showering at all times of the night. The doors are heavy & were constantly slamming shut behind people. The bedding was musty, as if it had been sitting on a shelf. The staff were friendly.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2017
9.1

I would describe The Sugan Hostel as shabby chic! Overall it was good - friendly staff, clean comfortable bed, the kitchen/dining facilities were good... It's excellently located ... The place could do with a make-over! Curtain on window & shower curtain certainly could do with proper hanging! and a light switch by the bed would have been nice. But... I did enjoy my stay and would stay there again. :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
8.9

Excellent location . No problem with the room it was basic but clean and you get what you pay for really . Would stay again if on a shirt stay in Killarney

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2017
4.6

sheets and bed not clean; shower not clean; no direct contact; very small and different with the pictures. Very abstract, dirty and not human.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
9.1

Great hostel, excellent location, only let down was I didn't like the showers. Woukd recommend though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
10.0

This place was so warm and cute! We loved that everything was old and it felt quirky and funky. The staff was nice, anything you needed they were at the pub next door called the Shire. One time the code didn't work but they opened the door for us right away- no problem. I liked how it felt like a home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Jul 2017
8.3

It's hard to write a bad review for this place because it really is so awesome. The pub is so much fun, and you are in a great area. Breakfast is included, and there is a big kitchen with lots of supplies. The downside is that there is no safe place to keep your things, and there is literally only one bathroom (with one shower inside of the same room) for the entire hostel. Kind of a bummer especially after you've had a few beers at the pub and there is a line to use the bathroom!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2017
4.9

compared to the experiances in other hostles, our stay was not nice. The room are very dark and the athmospere not positiv, without care

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×