Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 312 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 312 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 6.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2017
4.9

Amazing location but an absolute dump!!! The place stank, toilets dirty. The rooms were ok but also a slight stench of urine. All the Korean staff were lovely but the other workers were really rude and dismissive. One girl in particular I think she was french sooooo rude!!!! Your working in hospitality crack a smile love!!! It was an all round OK but I would Not recommend this place and will not stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jul 2017
6.9

The hostel was good, most of the staff were very friendly especially the reception staff, but some of the staff weren't very friendly mainly a few girls who cleaned the rooms, never smiled and weren't very helpful when asked questions. But over all was nice would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2017
8.6

The location was great and the staff was very helpful. Maknae did her best to assist me with any issues I had. I would come back again on my next trip to Korea. Very good area for socializing and helping strangers get acquainted with others to make new friends.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
4.0

Staff is not polite or friendly, and wouldn't even make an effort to welcome you into the hostel. The airco in the mixed dorm wasn't working and 10 people had to share one fan. Curtains do not cover window completely and the side screen to keep mosquitos out is broken. The shower holder was broken so everytime you wanted to take a shower you had to hold the showerhead. The building is old and not maintained. Great location perfect for tourist and therefore the hostel doesn't care about the rest.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
4.3

We arrived one hour prior to check in and someone informed us we would have to wait. Other than that, we were not greeted or invited to sit in the common area and wait. The staff appeared to completely vanish for the next hour and due to the vibe in the hostel we decided to find another accommodation and didn't even check in to Kimchee. We were also put off by the indoor smoking area next to the common area downstairs.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th May 2017
5.4

Location was excellent, as was the breakfast. But breakfast was only served from 09:30-11, so we only had it once in 4 days (also not served on a Sunday). The beds were half broken, the bottom bunk was falling through and you couldn't climb on to the top bunk without waking everyone up. Hostel staff relatively friendly. Very cheap so depends what you're looking for.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Apr 2017
5.4

Too many staff that don't have a clue about anything. No communication between the staff. We were supposed to have breakfast one day and the person responsible didn't turn up and other staff members didn't know where they were. Outside door is always open and room doors are unlocked so i didn't feel very safe. Not very clean either. However, location is good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Apr 2017
8.9

Nice place to stay ! Great location for going out and meeting people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
4.6

Not clean, no privacy, location was average.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2017
7.7

Staff quite busy working at restaurant so it's like self serve hostel. Met some great people there too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×