Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 271 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 271 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.5
Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse Located at 570-16, Yeonnam-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul, Seoul.
Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse
South Korea
Seoul 121-869 570-16, Yeonnam-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul
81% 271
37.5588544 126.9198641
Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Jun 2016
6.6

Korean staff were amazing, foreigners who worked there for a free place to stay didn't seem to give a damn about the hostel or the guests. A big gentleman from California was very friendly, everyone else never even said hi and not welcoming. Location was amazing for nightlife, hostel itself wasn't too clean and even the staff (foreigners) could be overheard talking very bad about the state of the sheets and mattress. I wouldnt recommend, there must be other places in Seoul for better value.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jun 2016
7.1

Good location, friendly staff, but it's super basic and the shower room is kinda dirty. The price is excellent though, so I can't complain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
31st May 2016
8.6

Atmosphere is great.value for money.i will love to go again if i go seoul.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • maggiedickmann6092
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
26th May 2016
7.1

Good hostel, could be cleaner. Staff was friendly. No breakfast :( No fans in bathrooms. Better directions from subway: 1) Take exit 1, turn R. 2)You'll face a corner w/a bike rack and a KEB bank. Turn R. 3)Go 2 blocks to a T in road. Cross towards Babeans Coffee, turn R 4) Pass Beer Halloween on L. Turn L at bar "Indie Band Live & Loud" 5) Go 3 blocks 6) Turn L at shop "Rots" 7) Take next L 8) Hostel is at end of alley 9) Reception downstairs

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th May 2016
8.6

Good hostel and nice staff! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th May 2016
7.1

I booked a spot at the Kimchee guesthouse because I needed to check my bags in early and the site says reception would be open from early in the morning (noting that this would be fine). I arrived early as I had an important meeting but the lobby was completely empty. I had to wait for over an hour before someone finally got to me. That said, the staff are friendly and the space is comfortable and spacious. However, Kimchee's weak point is that cleanliness is not a priority here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • andrewscottwaters4507
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th Apr 2016
8.6

Friendly staff - waited up for us as our bus arrived in Seoul later than we expected. Nice room, clean, spacious bathrooms. Hongdae location is a little far from the nearest subway station compared to other hostels in the area - 10-15 minutes walk from Hongik station. Reasonably priced for the area. Clean. Nice common area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jocelldeleon
  • Philippines, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
9.7

Staff was really friendly. The hostel is clean and cozy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Apr 2016
6.6

Staff was very nice, and the location was really good for going out having something to eat or some drinks. Unfortunately the dorm room was very busy even at night and the bathroom was different than I have expected it to be. I think for westerners it can be strange to shower right next to the toilet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2016
10.0

Great hostel with a fantastic location in Hongdae close to the subway station. Lovely facilities and staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.