Hostelworld.com

Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 263 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 263 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.6
Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse Located at 570-16, Yeonnam-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul, Seoul.
Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse
South Korea
Seoul 121-869 570-16, Yeonnam-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul
80% 263
37.5588544 126.9198641
Kimchee Hongdae Guesthouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th May 2016
7.1

I booked a spot at the Kimchee guesthouse because I needed to check my bags in early and the site says reception would be open from early in the morning (noting that this would be fine). I arrived early as I had an important meeting but the lobby was completely empty. I had to wait for over an hour before someone finally got to me. That said, the staff are friendly and the space is comfortable and spacious. However, Kimchee's weak point is that cleanliness is not a priority here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
29th Apr 2016
8.6

Friendly staff - waited up for us as our bus arrived in Seoul later than we expected. Nice room, clean, spacious bathrooms. Hongdae location is a little far from the nearest subway station compared to other hostels in the area - 10-15 minutes walk from Hongik station. Reasonably priced for the area. Clean. Nice common area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jocelldeleon
  • Philippines, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
9.7

Staff was really friendly. The hostel is clean and cozy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
4th Apr 2016
6.6

Staff was very nice, and the location was really good for going out having something to eat or some drinks. Unfortunately the dorm room was very busy even at night and the bathroom was different than I have expected it to be. I think for westerners it can be strange to shower right next to the toilet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2016
10.0

Great hostel with a fantastic location in Hongdae close to the subway station. Lovely facilities and staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
27th Mar 2016
5.7

GOOD: Good location, staff were friendly, mini kitchen available, cheap BAD: Incredibly noisy. Longstayers/people working, so the atmosphere was non-existant. Very messy/dirty - By my 4th night I was the only one left who had been there my first night, which meant that all the old underwear, milk cartons, bathroom goods, dirty towels, smelly shoes etc belonged to no-one and the room hadn't been cleaned properly. Uncomfortable beds.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2016
10.0

Perfect place for backpackers like myself

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2016
10.0

I liked a lot bcuz i felt like i was home and hanging out with my friends. thx for your help kimchee

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
5th Feb 2016
8.3

Good place to stay if you want something cheap, clean, but basic, in Seoul. Convenient location close to Line 2 and Hongdae.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jan 2016
4.6

It was not sufficiently clean, We had to clean the room myself before using it (hair, rubbish etc.). The rest rooms and showers were not clean either. The prices were not appropriate for this low standard.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.