X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kimchee Sinchon Guesthouse Reviews

503-19, Changcheon-dong, Seodaemun-gu, Seoul, South Korea

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
634 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Hostel is cleaned everyday quite thoroughly, you can even volunteer to clean and stay the night at a discounted rate/free! There is CCTV and each room has lockers. Padlock, adapter, towel can be rented. There is a cozy common room in the basement, which has a kitchen attached so you can make your own food, however the hostel offers to order in for you too at reasonable rates. My group enjoyed staying at Kimchee, and would definitely recommend!


80%

The atmosphere were excellent. However the toilet are frequently stuffed, not to the fault of the staff though. The only complaint I have is the guesthouse's inflexible policy. Accidently book an extra night which cannot be refunded despite reporting it on the day I have checked in. Was greatly disappointed on that. But other than that, everything was awesome!! Really enjoyed my stay.

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24


91%

I really enjoy my stay at the kimchee sincheon guesthouse :) it was incredible over there, the area is really nice and safe !!! Thanks to all the staff there Erico, Mijin, Maud and Everybody thanks a lot for everything see you guys next time ;) !!!!!

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome experience hostel to meet people! Special thanks to maud who made my stay awesome!


77%

Stayed 2 nights in a deluxe twin private. Small room with single bunk beds and two lockers (need your own lock). Relatively clean, squashed mosquitoes all over the walls. Shared washrooms (gender specific) were adequate, clean and up to date. Location was okay, but we wanted to be closer to central Hongdae (it's about 10 min walk). They had free SIM cards available and room discounts for linking their website to your blog which was pretty cool. Overall good facilities and a fine place to stay.


80%

Tracy the massage therapist was so wonderful and helpful!!!! She helped me relax after much muscle pain and made me feel at home in the hostel.


91%

was a pretty good place for the price. a little hard getting there if you don't know where it is. but all in all its a good place to crash

  • 8th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

We stay there on November feels really cold not sure if there's any heater. The staff speaks english fluently and will give you information you need for your tour but there's someone annoying staff who come to our room without permission. they don't give you breakfast but in basement there's a kitchen, and living room you can watch and play there's gathering with people. It's a good place for meeting people but not a great place for rest like a homey place.


77%

This is THE place to meet awesome people, in their spacious basement common room. The rooms and facilities are nothing to write home about, but they are sufficient and the price of the hostel is more than worth everything that you get. Hongdae's chaotic nightlife is a mere 5-10 minute walk away.


86%

Great hostel!! Close to subway station, friendly and helpful staff, always willing to assist the guests. I strongly recommend this hostel and I had a good time there!


100%

I enjoy my stay in Kimchee Sinchon Guesthouse. The Guesthouse is located near the Metro Station and could be easily located. The shower water is hot and the water pressure is high. There is a large area in the basement for cooking, eating and entertainment. I'd like to especially thank Martin and Sumin for their help during my stay in the Guesthouse. If I visit Seoul again,I would choose Kimchee Sinchon Guesthouse.

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is very good, the staff are very kind and friendly especially Shermaine , willing to share the tips and nice location. I meet many awesome friends from different country at there also, it was a nice hostel and the price is also reasonable. The location also nice for shopping and nightlife activities as the location very happening.

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice hostel! The staff is very friendly, especially Sumin. There's a basement where everybody hangsout. Very social place. Good to go when your travelling alone cause you'll defenitely make some new friends :). The rooms are good and clean. The location is also good cause it's close to the subway and close to all the shops in Hongdae. I'd defenitely recommend this hostel any time!

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great stay! Friendly staff.

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Another great stay at Kimchee, this is by far my favorite hostel in Seoul. The staff, facilities and location are all perfect!


100%

I really liked common area downstairs.

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great staff, atmosphere and location make this my go to hostel every time. The manager Q always is always willing to help with recommendations for things to do in Seoul. Thanks for the great stay and look forward to next time! -Swig


83%

Nice guesthouse, great location, friendly staff (especially Shermaine Teng) and one of the cheaper options in Seoul!

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

The neighborhood and area is good, easy subway access. However, the reception desk is always empty, and there is no such thing as locks here. Building is open, my room was left unlock. Key deposit was pointless cause everything was always unlocked. Normal average hostel-- those metal bunkbeds and common bathrooms. Those guests that never leave the common area - those are the staff. Price was good though, and was easy to get around Seoul with the subway station being so close.


71%

The cheapest hostel in the area, but prepare for mosquitos! And the staff isn't too welcoming.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(65 results)


View all Seoul Hostels

Please give us your feedback