Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

King Kong Hostel Rotterdam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 660 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.2
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 660 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.2
King Kong Hostel Rotterdam Located at Witte de Withstraat 74, , Rotterdam.
King Kong Hostel Rotterdam
Netherlands
Rotterdam 3012 BS Witte de Withstraat 74
93% 660
51.9153823 4.4764538
King Kong Hostel Rotterdam
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Aug 2016
8.9

Overall, this was a great hostel. Very clean, and a great location near shopping and bars. There was no air conditioning in the 8 bed dorm, so it got a little warm at night. The windows open up to the street below, where there are lots of bars, so you may want to reconsider if that'll bother you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
10.0

Superb hostel in a street full of pubs , restaurants, snack bars, etc. Nice rooms, own bar and street terrace, good breakfast (€7.5 extra) and friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
9.1

I had a very interesting stay at King Kong, it's well decorated and there's an excellent use of space. When you check in, the staff give you a banana. The main dorm is decorated like an old timey gym with climbing ropes and a vaulting horse. The showers are the best of any hostel I've been to. It feels modern and conceptual, which gives it a similar feel to the city of Rotterdam itself. The only thing I'd change is to add self service laundry facilities. Other than that, it was pretty excell

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Aug 2016
8.9

Very, new and modern hostel in a vibrant location. Great facilities and cleanliness, most staff were attentive and helpful. However, I found it difficult meeting people at this hostel, most of the common areas are shared by customers of the cafe/bar downstairs.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Aug 2016
10.0

Nice, clean and cozy hostel in middle of the pub-street! Had an awesome stay and can highly recommend it :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for this top review! We are happy you had an awesome stay! Hope to see you again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
8.0

Great clean place. Staff didnt interact with you too much. Good location, easy to walk everywhere. Small rooms though. Small showers too. But nice movie room to chill out in

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your positive review! Sometimes we interact more, sometimes less, mostly it depend on how busy it is at the hostel and if the guest is sending out the vibe that he or she wants to interact, otherwise we would be just too much in your face :) So just trying to see what is appropriate, but generally we loooove interacting with guests! Every morning I check the reservations and be amazed by how many different countries are coming to Rotterdam and I can't wait to meet guests with all these different nationalities in person. We hope to be able to welcome you back someday and have a proper interaction, hehehe :) Take care for now! Alisa and the King Kong Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Aug 2016
9.4

One of the best hostels I've stayed at across Europe! Awesome vibe and coffee downstairs and great location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you, thank you, thank you! I am drinking that coffee right now, while answering reviews and I can't agree more with you! :) There are some really great hostels out there! We are happy to be one of them! Allow us to wish you many more great travels and hopefully we will meet again in Rotterdam in the nearby future! Hugs and King Kong love! Alisa and the Crew.

31st Jul 2016
10.0

The 5-bed female dorm was a nice break from cramped mixed dorms. There was a little curtain so nobody disturbs others when coming home and reading or snacking in bed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You are such a sweetheart! But honestly, reading and especially snacking should not be disturbed! I wonder what were you reading and whats your favorite snack? If you are coming back someday, let me know via alisa@kingkonghostel.com and I will be happy to arrange some of your favorite snacks for you! Warm Regards, Alisa.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Jul 2016
9.4

This is a fabulous hostel to stay in. Rotterdam has such a vibrant night life and you will be staying in the centre of it! In saying that, if you don't want to go out on a Saturday night I would 10/10 recommend bringing ear plugs because it doesn't quite down on the street until 4am at least. The rooms can get quite hot during the day but at night are the perfect temperature. Overall great place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Fabulous is my favorite word! :) We are really grateful for your review. We actually give out free earplugs if anyone is in need. Hopefully, everyone who comes to stay with us will enjoy the hostel and the street vibe as much as you did! Would love to welcome you back soon and be fabulous again :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
29th Jul 2016
6.9

Really nice rooms. Not very clean when we checked in (the bin hadn't been empty etc) but great beds. The hostel I'd located on a street filled with bars so the room was noisy at night. Staff were great, although clearly very busy with the cafe and hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ups, so sorry about that! Sometimes, when we are fully booked it can be quite challenging to keep the hostel clean at all times. We do clean rooms once a day, but guests shower and produce trash constantly. It is also down to the mutual respect and courtesy of the guests to keep the bathrooms and the guest kitchen clean after using is, because obviously that's how a hostel community is supposed to work. But we end up cleaning up after guest who cook and leave dishes dirty... that's why we always have to be super busy- we are constantly cleaning and organizing. it is just running against the clock! :) I hope you will have a better impression next time!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.