Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

King Street Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8
King Street Backpackers Located at 197-199 King Street, , Melbourne.
King Street Backpackers
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3000 197-199 King Street
75% 223
-37.8156493 144.9550938
King Street Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jan 2017
8.0

Hostel was fine. Great breakfast on Tuesday and pasta dinner on Wednesday. Floor under my bed was pretty gross but I asked a housekeeping guy if someone could clean it and it was cleaned by the time I got back in the evening.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Jan 2017
3.7

One of the worst hostels I've stayed in. There's too many beds in each room, add in everyone's stuff and there's no room to move. Disgusting, dirty and old bathrooms; if you're showering and someone flushes the toilet, the shower will scald you. Rude guests, stains on the bed sheets, and the mattresses were like sleeping on a ribcage. Considering you can get a 4 bed dorm in a nicer hostel for a few extra dollars, this is so not worth the hassle, definitely don't recommend.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jan 2017
8.0

Good location. the stairs to the fourth floor killed me...with all my luggage. bathrooms not very clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
2.3

REALLY SLOW INTERNET. DIRTY. I found rottening food under my bed. The showers have mold. Many times there wasn't toilet paper. When I told the cleaning lady to clean under the beds she wasn't happy and gave me an attitude. The atmosphere is not nice, there aren't places to hang out, just a lunch room which is also a TV room with nothing interesting playing, just a random channel. The room I stayed in felt was dark, the bunk beds were dangerous. I don't recommend it. I felt like being in a jail.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
8.0

Was good for the one night I stayed there, close to southern cross, bed was ok, room had everyhting necessary even though not pretty or new looking interior, but it was OK. Same for the bathroom. Breakfast was really good, fresh fruit and warm food, coffee for free. Staff was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • lucybarker1194
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jan 2017
9.1

Pros: Good location (though apparently near the 'red light' district!), friendly staff, mostly clean, wifi, breakfast and tea/coffee included, good kitchen Cons: Reading light didn't work, noisy, not enough power sockets in dorm, wifi only available downstairs Overall I enjoyed my time here (though was pretty anti-social and didn't really talk to anyone), and would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
6.9

although the location is amazing, it doesnt feel like it is worth the money i paid. The breakfast was exactly as advertised but the same key opened all the doors so your stuff is only safe if you use a locker. I didnt have much interaction with staff, and the room was clean but the toilets were not! there was only 2 showers and 2 toilets per floor (that i could find!) i probably wouldnt stay here again, and search for a cheaper nicer host but australia just doesnt seem to be able to do hostels!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
8th Dec 2016
8.0

Great location near bus station. Helpful staff. Rooms are fine. Free toast at breakfast and good kitchen

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Oct 2016
7.4

Kitchen was rather gross, but otherwise great location and a good price

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
8.0

I spent one night at the hostel after a long distance flight from Europe. I checked in at about 11pm. The counter was staffed by very friendly and helpful Luke and check-in was uncomplicated and quick. The shower and the room was alright. The room had a socket for my phone near my bed, so that was good, the bed comfy and with a warm doona (winter!), room mates considerate in my 4 bed dorm. The shower was not modern but reasonably clean, water was hot, felt great. Breakfast from 4:30am, great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.