Hostelworld.com

King Street Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 189 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 189 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 7.0
King Street Backpackers Located at 197-199 King Street, , Melbourne.
King Street Backpackers
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3000 197-199 King Street
74% 189
-37.8156493 144.9550938
King Street Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • El Salvador, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Mar 2016
6.9

It's a great location in the middle of Melbourne's CBD, the staff is friendly and helpful, but the place could really use a renewal, it seems very run down, kind of old and smelly with no character. I was lucky I only stayed there one night, I stayed in other hostels in the same area and they are way cleaner and cooler for just a couple more dollars

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Feb 2016
7.1

Good location , only thing is cleaniness is missed in areas such as the rooms underbeds etc and especially the showers you had to wear shoes as you weren't sure what was on it and just the walls and that we're not clean .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • ciakkina9105
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Feb 2016
2.9

Filthy place and super old. The Rooms are cleaned only superficially cause it is better if I dont say what was under my bed. The toilets had mold on the walls and were constantly dirty. I work for a travel company and get to try many hostels in europe and this is so far the worst.the breakfast it is included but when you see it it makes you want to buy your own food.not to speak about the staff that when you walk inside the hostel dont say hello, or neither if they can help.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jan 2016
8.3

I would definitely come back if I were to visit Melbourne again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
2nd Jan 2016
8.3

Only stayed the one night as located close to the train station. Free wifi and facilities were fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Dec 2015
7.7

Good hostel close to southern cross station

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2015
7.7

Has the best beds/mattress of all hostels around the world hands down.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Dec 2015
7.4

Its good location and when I check in the reception really nice.the guy have tattoo on his arm. thx for him~

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Dec 2015
7.7

It should be clearly stated that the lockers are not free - it is not a locker without a lock. Also it would be great if the toilet paper was not as thin as it gets. Forth floor toilets hand drier did not work and there was no soap.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Nov 2015
7.4

A hostel is a hostel.. Not enough space in the 16 bed dorm. Nobody showed me around, had to search for room and bed by myself. Nobody knows which bed is vacant. Kitchen is clean in the morning but way too small. Enough cutlery though. Breakfast is free between 7 and 9am. Pancakes on sunday morning at 10 free too. Nice thing. Would maybe come back, but not in a 16 bed dorm... Too expensive for what you get.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.