Hostelworld.com

King Street Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 197 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 197 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 4.9
  • Facilities 6.3
King Street Backpackers Located at 197-199 King Street, , Melbourne.
King Street Backpackers
Australia
Melbourne Victoria 3000 197-199 King Street
68% 197
-37.8156493 144.9550938
King Street Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th May 2016
6.0

Staff were so friendly and are the best thing about the place. Rooms and bathrooms are disgusting. Location is pretty decent too

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th May 2016
6.6

Breakfast was included but was very very simple. Bathrooms were not clean, heaps of hair and smelled like urine. After telling the staff, they cleaned it; but it was better if they would clean it on beforehand. More sockets in the 16 bed-dorms would be nice. Only had 4 sockets for 16 beds. Overall - had a nice stay, location is perfect and staff is very friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th May 2016
5.4

Pros: Location is almost perfect walking from Southern Cross Station. Atmosphere is relaxing. Cons: No Wifi access in the room and you have to be in lobby to conncect the Wifi. No way to hang the dry clothes in your room and the clothes are not dried even if they are put there for 2 whole days. Not enough sockets in one room and the one on the upper bunk will not enjoy his own socket but use the one near the ground. Very inconvenient. Bed sounds like it is going to collapse anytime.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Apr 2016
6.3

The dorm room was small and crammed. There was a locker for each bed but weren't big enough to fit bags so the floor was basically covered. The beds themselves were average and the place didn't have the tidiest feel. However staff were super friendly and big common area! Vibe was quite, seemed like a lot of international students waiting to find houses. It is in a good location - near the station, which is why we chose it. But wouldn't stay again. Been to nicer places in Melbs for less cash.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • El Salvador, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Mar 2016
6.9

It's a great location in the middle of Melbourne's CBD, the staff is friendly and helpful, but the place could really use a renewal, it seems very run down, kind of old and smelly with no character. I was lucky I only stayed there one night, I stayed in other hostels in the same area and they are way cleaner and cooler for just a couple more dollars

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Feb 2016
7.1

Good location , only thing is cleaniness is missed in areas such as the rooms underbeds etc and especially the showers you had to wear shoes as you weren't sure what was on it and just the walls and that we're not clean .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • ciakkina9105
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Feb 2016
2.9

Filthy place and super old. The Rooms are cleaned only superficially cause it is better if I dont say what was under my bed. The toilets had mold on the walls and were constantly dirty. I work for a travel company and get to try many hostels in europe and this is so far the worst.the breakfast it is included but when you see it it makes you want to buy your own food.not to speak about the staff that when you walk inside the hostel dont say hello, or neither if they can help.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Jan 2016
8.3

I would definitely come back if I were to visit Melbourne again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2016
8.3

Only stayed the one night as located close to the train station. Free wifi and facilities were fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Dec 2015
7.7

Good hostel close to southern cross station

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.