Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kings Cross Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 713 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 713 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Apr 2017
10.0

Best hostel in Sydney. Staff and guest are like family. Great facilities, near kings cross station, regularly cleaned. I could see myself living here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Apr 2017
9.4

Not in the centrum of sydney but definitely a good location. Only a short walk to the trains who leads you wherever you want to go. Seemed pretty new as well

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us some comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • judihegarty
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
8.9

Decent! First floor showers are great, as ling as you get in before the que. Really central to things and had loads of activities on... There are a few long stayers but in regards to little clicky groups -just go over and say Hi.... They have been same place yo have been. Front desk helpful - Can use the bag drop of the day your going which was sweet because I had to wait til night to leave Sydney 😉xx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you so much for leaving us some feedback. We are super happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff work hard to ensure everyone that walks through our doors has an enjoyable stay in Sydney and with us. We have different activities on every day and glad you joined in with us. We wish you all the best for your future travels. Thanks The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Apr 2017
8.6

Kings Cross Backpackers is lovely. Helpful staff, great, friendly atmosphere, filled with lovely interesting people. Every night there's a different social activity on offer to get everyone mingling. The room was tiny especially with six bunk beds, and boiling, but the room and beds were clean and comfy. Unfortunately the common area was closed so our use of the facilities was limited, but the eating area was lovely and the kitchen tidy. The bathrooms were cleaned every day which was fantastic!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you so much for leaving us some feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our daily activities. The Mad Monkey team work hard to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay with us and in Sydney. Our common area was closed as we were building new cinema style seating for the TV area, it is now fully functioning and open. We hope to see you again soon. The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • sophiebailey96
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2017
10.0

Toasty Tuesdays and Wine & Cheese Wednesdays are 😍 The staff are really welcoming and get you stuck into the different events happening each day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are super happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon! The Mad Monkey Family! :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
4.6

The staff was very unwelcoming. We waited at the front desk for a few minutes in silence as the front desk girl continued to be on the computer. When she was finally done, she didn't even make eye contact with me or greet me. She continued with saying "name?" and checked us in. We thought it was just her and she was having a bad day, until we went back to the front desk because we had a question. But the next front desk girl was also like that! No emotion, no eye contact, nothing.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
9.7

This is a very nice hostel. Clean, safe, friendly. I felt very comfortable here and had a nice time meeting people and traveling around Sydney. Close to the train station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at KXB. We work hard to ensure all our guests have the best time with us and in Sydney. We hope to see you again soon, thanks for staying with us. The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Mar 2017
7.4

Pros: Good location; close proximity to supermarkets; bars and public transport; within walking distance of the city; good facilities; nice breakfast; plenty of space for food storage in the kitchens, rooms are comfortable. Cons: Needs air conditioning; a bit boring in the evenings; no real social activities organised; awful internet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you for taking some time to leave us some feedback. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us and that you enjoyed our facilities and free breakfast. We take all of your comments and suggestions on board. Our staff work hard to make sure everyone has an enjoyable stay with us and in Sydney. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Mar 2017
9.7

2nd time staying here its the cleanest hostel I've stayed at, staff are all great and always good atmosphere every night downstairs. Definitely be back when back in Sydney!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, thank you so much for taking time to leave us some feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2017
6.6

Decent enough hostel overall I suppose, but the experience was spoiled by the long stay backpackers. We picked a 10 bed dorm in a "party" hostel for a reason. But we were stuck with travellers who work at 7am every day and weren't shy about reminding you that they need their beauty sleep. Though they didn't mind imposing themselves by taking up storage bins meant for other backpackers (me and my pals) and just generally being very messy and exclusionary.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thanks for taking some time to leave us some feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't completely enjoy your stay with us. We were asked prior to your arrival to move you into a 4 bed dorm to avoid disturbing other guests due to your friends snoring, as we were at full capacity unfortunately we could not accomodate your request. We take all of your comments on board. Our staff work hard to ensure every guest enjoys their stay with us and in Sydney. We wish you all the best on your future travels. The Mad Monkey Family :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.