X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kings Cross Backpackers Reviews

79 Bayswater Road, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
274 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Fun, familiar hostel with great staff and generally great people.

  • 12th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Worth the money I think. Anyway I'm not a regular hostel guest. Quite simple dorm, needs to be cleaner, staff is quite friendly though. Had BBQ and drinking night event, seemed fun.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

KXB excells at making you feel welcome and part of the family. I loved my stay there. The manager and her staff were brilliant with any problems you might have had, and got on with their days with a cheery smile! I Would highly recommend this hostel if you want to party, or chill or just hang out with some pretty awesome people!


29%

If you are looking for a weekend in Magaluf, then this is the hostel for you! Other backpackers were rude, loud and intimidating. Guys kicking doors in late at night made it feel unsafe. Party atmosphere and loud music meant you couldn't sleep until the early hours. Rooms were small, cramped and untidy. The place looked run down and was very unclean. Beard clippings left in sink in the Men's toilets and a used sanitary towel in Ladie's toilets. Surely a contender for worst hostel in Australia!


46%

Ironic that it says on a poster on the frontdoor that it should be quiet at 10pm, if not you will get a fine and the staff will call the police. We couldnt sleep at all because of partying all night, people shouting and arguing, walking in and out the door all the time and nothing was done with it. We didnt feel safe and couldnt relax. Also our room had no windows so the air was awful. The only positive I can say about this hostel is that they have a good safe to lock your valuable things in.

  • 5th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

We were not made to feel very welcome here at all.. Unless you are staying here long term it appears that certain members of staff are not interested in making your time at this hostel enjoyable. Felt as though I couldn't even ask simple questions without being judged. Prices are also extortionate for what you get- you can get a lot more for your money elsewhere. If you are not working or staying here long term would highly advise for you to book somewhere else!


100%

Brilliant hostel. Top recommendation for anyone in Sydney!!!


97%

I booked one week, and ended up booking for another week. There's a reason why this is a common theme at kings cross. Come check it out

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Friendly staff/guests, but many of them are long timers (typical for Australia). While friendly, it is still difficult to get involved in a conversation when they've clearly all known each other for a long time. The rooms are cleaned by receptionist staff, which involves them coming in with a vacuum for about 7 seconds, while giggling and talking about what a good job they're doing. They should have professional cleaners do it. But its a good location and comfy bed, would stay again.


86%

I really enjoyed my stay at Kings cross backpackers. For my first week in australia it couldn't have been a better place. The common room is very good for meeting people from all over the world. If you like it very clean and tidy it's probably not the best but the atmosphere in this hostel is definitley worth it. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. I would recommend it always.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Booked in for two nights, stayed for two weeks. Lots of long termers but they immediately introduced me to everyone, really friendly atmosphere, would definitely stay here again

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff are very helpful. Rooms are clean and good chill out area in the basement. Kitchen is abit small. Great location.


71%

This place certainly isn't the cleanest I have ever encountered. However, the people are friendly and welcoming. I really enjoyed the rooftop space.


100%

What an amazing place! The rooftop terrace is the perfect place to soak up some sun during day and suck down some beers in the evening. Why not fire up the BBQ while you're up there! If that doesn't take your fancy then head down to the basement area, pull up a bean bag and enjoy a movie or sink a few balls in a free game of pool! The staff are incredibly friendly and are always ready to help. I loved every minute of my stay! Breakfasts, Unlimited WiFi, Pool, Foxtel, Tea & Coffee all FREE!

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really nice hostel, well managed and maintained. On a quiet street away from the a madness of the Main Street but only a few minutes walk to the main spots. Staff were really helpful. Good atmosphere, would definitely recommend! I would stay here again :-)


100%

Very friendly hostel! Loved staying there, wouldnt choose to stay anywhere else. Great place to stay if your a backpacker and want to meet new people. Free wifi and free breakfast is also a bonus. The staff cant do enough for you

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Booked into this hostel for a few nights To start with and continually extended my stay since. Great location great staff and ideal for anyone arriving in Sydney. Would definitely recommend to others


37%

This hostel is dirty. There are a lot of long termers which make it hard to meet people and can be intimidating. The rooms are small and very dirty. For the price it was a shock. Would not recommend to stay here

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff at the hostel were all really friendly and helpful. The travel expert gave me a good deal on a trip up the east coast and was very helpful. I would most definitely stay here again, friendliest hostel I've ever stayed in.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Such a good hostel! The staff and the guests are so friendly and welcoming. Huge kitchen table where everyone sits and socialises. Would not want to stay anywhere else if I ever return the Sydney!

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(33 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback