Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kings Cross Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 698 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 698 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
9.7

This is a very nice hostel. Clean, safe, friendly. I felt very comfortable here and had a nice time meeting people and traveling around Sydney. Close to the train station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at KXB. We work hard to ensure all our guests have the best time with us and in Sydney. We hope to see you again soon, thanks for staying with us. The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Mar 2017
7.4

Pros: Good location; close proximity to supermarkets; bars and public transport; within walking distance of the city; good facilities; nice breakfast; plenty of space for food storage in the kitchens, rooms are comfortable. Cons: Needs air conditioning; a bit boring in the evenings; no real social activities organised; awful internet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thank you for taking some time to leave us some feedback. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us and that you enjoyed our facilities and free breakfast. We take all of your comments and suggestions on board. Our staff work hard to make sure everyone has an enjoyable stay with us and in Sydney. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Mar 2017
9.7

2nd time staying here its the cleanest hostel I've stayed at, staff are all great and always good atmosphere every night downstairs. Definitely be back when back in Sydney!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, thank you so much for taking time to leave us some feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2017
6.6

Decent enough hostel overall I suppose, but the experience was spoiled by the long stay backpackers. We picked a 10 bed dorm in a "party" hostel for a reason. But we were stuck with travellers who work at 7am every day and weren't shy about reminding you that they need their beauty sleep. Though they didn't mind imposing themselves by taking up storage bins meant for other backpackers (me and my pals) and just generally being very messy and exclusionary.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thanks for taking some time to leave us some feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't completely enjoy your stay with us. We were asked prior to your arrival to move you into a 4 bed dorm to avoid disturbing other guests due to your friends snoring, as we were at full capacity unfortunately we could not accomodate your request. We take all of your comments on board. Our staff work hard to ensure every guest enjoys their stay with us and in Sydney. We wish you all the best on your future travels. The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

Well kept rooms with quality lockers to keep belongings safe and clean linen. On arrival staff were happy and welcoming which made settling in easy, kitchen was clean and easily accessible. All you need for cooking is provided! Really enjoyed my time there and look forward to coming back to see everyone again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thanks for taking the time for leaving us a review! We appreciate all your comments and are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2017
10.0

made to feel at home,fantastic staff and great location for exploring

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff were helpful and accommodating. We hope to see you again soon. The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Feb 2017
8.9

This hostel was really nice and it was a great location. Their was some renovations happening whilst I was staying with affected using the toilets/showers in the mornings but apart from that it was great. They offered free breakfast too which a lot of hostels don't have and it was really nice. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2017
8.0

Pros: The rooms are decent and clean. The hostel is close to the train station. The staff were very helpful. Free breakfast off site. Cons: Although we couldn't hear it from our room, we didn't like the kids (18-20ish years old) partying in the common area every night. There is a noisy street that runs by the hostel that wakes you up. The showers had a little bit of mold in them. Small kitchen with a lot of people. Overall, I wouldn't go back here. Mostly because of the party atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thanks for taking some time to leave us some feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't completely enjoy your stay with us. We are glad that the staff were helpful and the rooms were clean. We have a large amount of staff that clean every day. Thanks The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Feb 2017
6.9

Free breakfast but you have to travel out of the hostel to get it. Rooms are really hot and only a fan on the ceiling to cool you down which wasn't really that great. Atmosphere was awful and the the halls had lots of diy stuff around. Overall an ok hostel not great wouldn't go back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thanks for leaving us some feedback. Sorry to hear that you didn't completely enjoy your stay with us, we were renovating our bathrooms and guests were made aware of this on check in. They are now open. Our breakfast is a short walk from the hostel which offers pancakes, eggs, beans a variety of cereals and fruit. We take all your comments on board. Thanks The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Feb 2017
10.0

KXB is a great hostel to stay in when first arriving in Australia. The staff couldn't be more helpful. Jess on reception was fab, always able to give advice about getting around Sydney. An activities board is updated every morning with ideas of tours and deals going on nearby. All of the staff were great a lot of them being long termers made it easy to find out what to do on your stay. The hostel is great to party as well as get a good sleep for work and I have zero complaints. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you for taking some time to leave us feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and are happy to hear that our staff were friendly and welcoming. We hope to see you again soon :) The Mad Monkey Family!!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.