X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Kings Cross Backpackers Reviews

79 Bayswater Road, Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
210 Total Reviews
  • 61%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 52%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

34%

It smells and it's just a mess everywhere

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

What an excellent backpackers! Helpful and friendly staff, comfortable and very clean rooms and I loved the upstairs terrace area. It was a great place to meet people. The events that these guys put on are brilliant! They really know the local area well and are happy to share their knowledge. Thanks KC backpackers!

  • 22nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Ya a crackajack place aye, great location with easy walk to the cross without being to close to the noise and riff raff, easy going yet professional staff, amazing value, and the roof top... Perfect.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The room I was in was clean enough. Saw some cockroaches but that is to be expected. My bed didn't smell bad. Atmosphere was good. Reception was quite pleasant and ready to assist. Overal it is a good vibe. Excellent location

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The long termers who are staying there are all really nice and friendly!


34%

This was the worst hostel i've ever staid in!They left us waitin 3h @ airport for the pick up,then we had to go by train&get the money back. The rooms are very dirty!!We came on the cleanin day&it was dirty.A handfull used condoms on the floor,dust, food&cockroaches&many other staff!We had a 12bed room but 15P were sleepin in there,party @3h mornin,get drunk &so on! My sheed was already dirty when i get it plus a big whole was over my bed where you could heare&smell the toiletpipes!Never again!!


51%

Rooms were cleaned once a week only. But it seems they forget tit during my stay. Only one bathroom for 25 girls. It was cleaned very day in the morning but it wasn't clean after it at all. The staff was unfriedly and none of the other people staying there was talking to each other. It was the worthest hostel i stayed in the padt 4 month!


34%

Cleanliness in the hostel was disaster, there were also big cockroaches in the bathroom. There is a lot to do to improve the service.

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

People were using drugs.

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Problem with drugs. Individual was arrested while I was there. Filthy toilets and showers.


80%

alot of young people but it was nice. friendly staff, the floor wasnt so clean but otherwise it was clean.


46%

When i came in my room i was shocked how dirty is was, the bathroom too. I couldn't lock my backpack, because the only left locker was damaged. The atmosphere was okay, because the roof terrace was nice and i met nice people. All in all it was okay, but not worth the money! To expensive for what was offered (36$ for a 10 bed dorm!)

  • 11th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

A very nice hostal, frirendly staff and its very good located. The only thing that i didnt like is that i slept for 4 nights on the ladies room and it was horrible. The room was a mess, i dont recomend that room. The other thing is that if youre going for a few days like me, it will be dificult to make friends cause the people that are staying there are staying for 2 month or more. But i recomend that place.

  • 5th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

The room wasnt clean at all, and the bathroom was with no lights and we took shower in the dark all days. The cleaners enter in the room at 9 am and make noise without any respect. The reception didn't have any disposition to explain anything to you. My recommendation is to look to another.

  • 3rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

The rooms were vile! Didn't look like they had ever been cleaned. The fan used to circulate air around the room was filthy and left you feeling grotty. There were three showers which left you with little privacy, one was out of order and the other had no handles to turn the taps. The staff were friendly enough but didn't make effort to involve you in any activities or improve your trip in Sydney. I would not recommend this hostel especially if you are travelling alone.

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

With one or two exceptions the staff are varying degrees of rude and incompetent. The eating/social area is quite nice, the TV room is very nice but the rooms have seen better days. The showers offer nowhere private to get changed (apart from one upstairs which has no lock on the door). Atmosphere is dominated by people who seem to do nothing but drink, sleep, and work - it's not my sort of party, it was rather lad-ish and rowdy.




View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback