Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kings Cross Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 592 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 592 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
Kings Cross Backpackers Located at 79 Bayswater Road, Kings Cross, , Sydney.
Kings Cross Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2011 79 Bayswater Road, Kings Cross
88% 592
-33.8759473 151.2253582
Kings Cross Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
9.4

The best hostel in Sydney, great atmosphere and really welcoming staff and guests. Would highly recommend! Rooftop BBQ and Netflix room make this place great to chill and meet new people. Long termers are really friendly and the free hot breakfast is a massive bonus, would be happy to stay here again only wish I could have stayed longer!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Sep 2016
5.7

If you want a party hostel and bare minimum is your standard then this hostel is a good option - location is great and easy to find. The room was very small and congested, only 1 toilet on the floor and bathroom facilities in a filthy state. Partying until 3am every night, room mates bringing in overnight guests, common room used as a pre drinking room/beer pong..so not very welcoming to those who just want to chill out. Spent as little time here as possible, super disappointed.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
10.0

Had a great stay here. Hostel was very clean and had some really good facilities. I especially liked the roof terrace. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the long termers at the hostel were welcoming. The location was very central being only a 10/15 minute walk from the CBD

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Sep 2016
10.0

Really loved it! Booking for when I return to Sydney.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
10.0

Best hostel I've ever stayed at! Really good staff always clean. Friday and Saturday nights are really fun and the long term backpackers are really friendly and welcoming. I would recommend over any other hostel I have stayed at in Sydney! 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • BenDoddsy
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Sep 2016
10.0

Social aspect really good, really clean, staff really friendly and helpful! First hostel I stayed in, great start to my travels

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2016
7.4

Besides the location and the rooftop patio, there's not a lot to brag about at Kings Cross Backpackers. There was only one women's toilet and two showers on the floor, which was very inconvenient. The rooms are super cramped and extremely hot, even with the window open. I must have been spoiled with other Australian hostels because I couldn't wait to leave this hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review. We are planning bathroom reconstruction soon so we will have more showers and toilettes on each floor. Sorry for the room being too hot, next time you have any issues let the reception know so we can do something about it. Thanks for your stay, safe travels. KXB

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Sep 2016
10.0

Staff was amazing, hostel is very clean and fun, facilities are good, would recommend this hostel to anyone. Has the right mixture of partying and chilled vibes, Everything you want from a hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving such a nice review, always makes us happy to read! Glad you enjoyed your stay. Safe travels, KXB.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
9.1

My stay was amazing, the staff and everyone staying in the hostel were so friendly and kind, it was easy to get around, train station is right around the corner. It was so clean and well taken care of! The wifi was good as well! For short or long term this is a great place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Sep 2016
7.1

Isn't a large hostel as many. Breakfast is a bonus with eggs, pancakes, cereal, bread, and beverages at a second location (5 min walk). Unlimited wifi included as well. There are many long term guests. There we some strange moments of partying/beer pong getting out of hand yet, the few staff witnessing it didn't put a stop to it - no consequences. In all a good hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.