Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kings Cross Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 768 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 768 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
10.0

Everything was so nice!!! The people, the area, everything!!! Specially the rooftop, all the people stack there and chilling that's the best thing I've ever did !! I would love to stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jennymitchell2106447
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
7.1

Very very noisy at night. Much suited to younger travellers who want to engage in the party lifestyle! Or travellers who are wanting to stay in a hostel for a longer period - for shorter staying guests you can feel a bit on the outside!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't completely enjoy your stay. We have a range of activities daily to give everyone the opportunity to meet one another and socialise. Our team of staff work hard to ensure that everyone that stays with us has an enjoyable stay with us and in Sydney. We wish you luck on your future travels. The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
10.0

Kings cross back packers is an amazing hostel. I planned to stay for 3 nights and ended up here for almost two weeks! The communal areas on the roof and downstairs are a really good place to meet people. The beds are comfy and the bathrooms are clean. Jess and Hannah behind reception made my stay by helping me with everything from places to eat and things to do and see in the day. If you are in Sydney you need to stay here!! You will love it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
10.0

Nice place, the staff are very friendly and welcoming. They call you by your name. I would definitely stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. Our team works hard to ensure everyone enjoys their stay with us and in Sydney. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Best of luck and Safe travels! The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
10.0

Very good hostel. Good party atmosphere on the weekends and as quiet as you want it to be through the week. Staff are friendly, considerate and take good care of the hostel. Well organised events that bring everyone together and very clean. Jess and Hannah are very good at their jobs and have the right balance between hostel managers and friend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • stuarttayllor3956
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
10.0

Absolutely loved my stay! Clean, friendly and social! Will definitely stay here when I'm next in Sydney!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you for leaving us some feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team works hard to make sure that everyone has a great time with us and in Sydney. We hope to see you again soon! Safe Travels! The Mad Monkey Family :)!

  • Anonymous
  • Liechtenstein, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2017
10.0

Although my time with the KXB's was short, sweet would definitely be one of the many positive ways i could descibe my stay. Welcomed by friendly bustling staff from the moment i walked in, also by like minded people that i felt at home with straight away. Very clean, tidy, vibrant, spacious and was impressed by how much the staff do to improve a backpackers quality of stay. In Hostel and australia. I look forward to seeing them again as you'd be hard pressed to find better people anywhere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you for leaving such lovely feedback. I will pass the message on to our team of staff. We work hard to ensure all guests enjoy their stay with us and in Sydney. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future! Thanks! The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jul 2017
10.0

Great hostel, really set up for travellers. Would agree with other reviews that lots of people who stay here are here full time so already a big group of friends. Alright if you're happy to make a big effort and could be lucky with the room you're in. Communal kitchen area great, big breakfast selection although 5 min walk away. Central location. Free gym pass to use and big rooftop area to use. Rooms were clean and big lockers available for use. Great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Jul 2017
8.9

Great atmosphere for a weekend trip, people and staff were super friendly. The location is perfect for exploring Sydney.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2017
8.3

Bunk beds are shaky and squeky. I honestly think all hostels should just get rid of those beds as absolutely no one will enjoy sleeping on them. The room is very small and there is no chair to sit on. Wifi is good and the location in an interesting area. Unisex toilets/showers were kind of dirty quite often. Better beds would make this a better place. Now I don't think I would come again as there surely are more comfortable places in Sydney, like the other Mad Monkey hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't completely enjoy your stay with us. We are having new beds this year which should solve that issue. We have a team of cleaners that work throughout the whole day to ensure a high level of cleanliness. We take all of your comments on board and wish you lucj on your future travels! Thanks The Mad Monkey Family :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.