Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kings Cross Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 632 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 632 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.9
Kings Cross Backpackers Located at 79 Bayswater Road, Kings Cross, , Sydney.
Kings Cross Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2011 79 Bayswater Road, Kings Cross
84% 632
-33.8759473 151.2253582
Kings Cross Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
10.0

This hostel is in a perfect location, it's so close to everything! There's lots going on and the facilities are great! Spent most of my time on the rooftop, great atmosphere :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you were able to get to places easily in Sydney and that the facilities were useful. Please visit us again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Nov 2016
10.0

Staff were fantastic and really welcoming! I got given so much help from the staff when trying to find my way around Sydney, thanks all! I came to this hostel after being recommended by a friend, I loved it and recommend it to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wow! Thankyou for taking the time to leave us some feedback! We really appreciate your comments and take all suggestions on board. It's great to hear how helpful you thought our staff were. We try hard to help everyone out when we can! We hope to see you again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Nov 2016
6.6

Had a disappointing stay unfortunately. Our first night was disrupted by two of the long term guests in our room, one bringing back an 'over night guest'and the other dealing and using drugs, not very subtlety. After this things did settle down. Room was fine otherwise, beds comfortable and room clean, and has a good deep clean every week.Showers and toilets were not to the same standard. There was a very nice breakfast . Hostel could be great but the above let it down on this occasion.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Nov 2016
10.0

Great stay! The manager was fab and so friendly and I found the hostel really clean! Deffo will be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We work really hard to ensure that everyone who walks through the door has an enjoyable stay at the hostel and in Sydney. We hope to see you again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Nov 2016
5.7

Do not stay here if you are travelling! The hostel is dominated by long term workers who have no intention of leaving as they like having a big group there. Tried to pre drink in the communal area and it was just overrun by people returning from a day sesh on drugs. Other than that, cannot fault the hostel for cleanliness, comfy beds. Breakfast is very good although 5 min walk away. There should be more than one female toilet per floor!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2016
6.3

Did not sleep because of the noise..

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! We are sorry to hear that you didn't completely enjoy your stay with us. We take on board your comment about the noise and will look further into this, but we can assure you that new policies have been put in place to allow guests to feel comfortable but also still have an amazing time. Thankyou, The Mad Monkey Family

27th Oct 2016
7.1

Much dirtier then it looks online. bathrooms were gross. so many moths. rooms seemed clean enough. staff was very friendly. few rooms so staff knows you. good for price and location. location was close to everything but do not go out at night..very sketchy

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thankyou for taking some time to leave us some feedback. We really appreciate your comments and take all suggestions on board. Our team work hard to ensure that every guest that walks through the door has an enjoyable time. We take on board your comment about the cleanliness of our bathrooms and will look further into our cleaning schedules but can ensure you we have a great team of cleaners that clean throughout the day. Many thanks, Kings Cross Backpackers.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
5.4

It wasn't as clean as I expected, and the area was a little sketchy. The other reviewers were right about the long termers, they are pretty loud and intimidating to new people who just want to sleep after a long flight. Partying until 4am, etc. Overall my stay was okay. I guess that's what you get when you pay just over $40 for a bunk in a 6 bed dorm room. Anyway, there's better hostels out there. Unless Kings Cross is your destination for some reason, I wouldn't particularly recommend it here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Oct 2016
8.6

Stayed here for 2 nights was nice small hostel ... Seemed to be a lot of long termers/workers there they were all lovely but hard to mix when everyone knows each other! Loved having netflicks too after travelling for a month was nice to chill watch TV! Good location near buses/trains and Coles! Rooms small but clean no complaints would stay again especially if looking for quieter time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thankyou for taking some time to leave us feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for such a small amount of time. We are grateful for the positive feedback about the location and facilities as we work hard to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay with us and in Sydney! We hope to see you again soon! Kings Cross Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
8th Oct 2016
6.6

The long term stayers are a big issue. They don't socialise with new comers and close off their beds with spare sheets. Makes the room feel uncomfortable. 30 min walk to the opera house and a good 5-10 mins to the nearest supermarket. The best thing about this is free breakfast which is actually at a happy travels. Pancakes, cereals, beans, eggs, toast. I'd stay here again just for the breakfast. Staff welcomed us but nothing more, no hello at any other point. Needs some tlc throughout.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.