Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Kings Cross Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 536 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 536 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
Kings Cross Backpackers Located at 79 Bayswater Road, Kings Cross, , Sydney.
Kings Cross Backpackers
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2011 79 Bayswater Road, Kings Cross
88% 536
-33.8759473 151.2253582
Kings Cross Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2016
10.0

Highly suggest! Staff were absolute legends! The room had a nice big locker for me to store my valuables. The whole hostel was very clean compared to most in Sydney! The rooftop is fabulous, gives a nice view, and was just nice to go up and enjoy the quiet. It's located down on a very quiet street, but such a short walk up to clubs and bars in the Cross. Nice big basement set up with couches and a ps4. The kitchen is stocked with all your cooking utensils. Definitely worth it!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Jul 2016
10.0

Great hostel; so clean with friendly staff and all the facilities you need from a hostel! The wifi is unlimited and I had no problems with it. The free breakfast is also fantastic and a great way to save money on food. Always a great vibe downstairs with lots of people socialising :) and the location is so convenient, just a short train ride to the harbour and to shops, restaurants etc, and it's on one of Kings Cross' quieter streets! Really enjoyed my stay 👌🏼

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
9.4

Loved my stay at this hostel! It was always nice and clean and the staff were really friendly. Location is perfect, really close to Kings Cross station. A great mixture of vibes, everyone is really sociable and the TV room was perfect for when we just wanted to relax. Would definitely recommend, as it's a bit smaller it's a lot easier to meet people than the larger hostels. Staff were great recommending things to do in Sydney.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
10.0

best hostel I've stayed in, clean, good location and met loads of people here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the review! The best part about hostels is all the great people you meet, we wish you the best with your future travels. Thanks again!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
9.1

Small friendly hostel with a good mix of long and short termers. Good facilities including fast wifi, a great TV room and liveable rooms. The common room has foxtell and the staff are friendly and not strict as to ruin your good time. The hostel's great fun at the weekends, without being too wild that you can't chill out during the week.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We really appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, all the best with your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
10.0

Nice hostel, with amazing roof!!! The staff is very friendly, everyone says hello with a big smile. Very nice free breakfast on the mornings. The location is nice too, not far from everything in the city. Love this place!! Will come back for sure! ;-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We really appreciate you taking the time to write us a review! The rooftop is such a great social spot all year around, we are so happy you enjoyed it as much as we do! You are more than welcome back anytime! Enjoy your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
4.9

Only 1 tiny bathroom on each floor. Bathroom and facilities seemed very old and run down.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Sorry to hear about your less then stellar stay. Please know we will have all of our bathrooms renovated by the end of this year to give more toilets and showers per floor. For future reference, if you have any issue with cleanliness please come see reception as we are here to help and make your stay more pleasant. Safe travels, KXB

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
4th Jul 2016
6.9

Reception staff good. Have to make up your own beds on arrival. Good security with lockers and keypad entry...when door isn't being propped open because people are too lazy to carry a key. 1 toilet and 2 showers per floor: for 6 rooms. No privacy in bathroom, can practically see over toilet door and walls of showers are sheer. Rooms clean with a deep clean twice a week where you are woken up at 10am and told to put all your stuff on your beds. Dodgy area. Cooked breakfast good but not in hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad you got to take advantage of our awesome hot breakfast. We do make our own beds so each guest can settle in comfortably right away. I apologize your bed wasn't made and that a member of our team did not make it for you when the issue arose. We hope to have you stay with us again soon. Safe travels, KXB

  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jul 2016
7.1

My stay was not too bad. The bed was a really nightmare. It's really bad. I just stayed for 4 nights, so I could support it. Breakfast is really good.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Please let us know right away if there are any issues with your room or bed. We have spare mattresses and could replace it right away. Please know, we have replaced all the mattresses in the room you were staying in. Glad you got to try our amazing hot breakfast. Hope to see you again soon! Safe travels, KXB

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jun 2016
10.0

I will tell my childrens children about the time I spent in this awesome hostel. 10/10 Shakkas Awesome people, the best brekky ever, and never a night without something to do or people to chill with. The staff were super friendly, Also, the manager is an absolutely Leg.... wait for it..... endary Cheers for the awesome experience. We'll be back soon for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.