Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kings Cross Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 731 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 731 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2017
9.4

Great place! Atmosphere was exceptional and they had a lot of events that were really fun! Highly recommend for staying for at least a week because I stayed for a couple of days and wanted more time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our daily activities. We hope to see you again soon. The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2017
10.0

When I arrived I felt welcomed straight away, the staff, Jess and Hannah, were amazing and helped me out with things to do throughout my stay. I only planned on staying for 2 weeks but ended up staying for a month because I enjoyed it so much. The city was only a 5 minute train ride from the hostel which was great. Highly recommend this hostel to anyone

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2017
10.0

Best hostel I've stayed in along the coast. Highly recommend it! Staff were so nice and everyone was really well looked after!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thanks for leaving us some feedback. We are super happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team works hard to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay with us and in Sydney. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
10.0

Absolutely loved my stay here! Close to train station and a short walk into the city. Free breakfast was great! Staff were friendly and helpful. Place was clean and there were plenty of activities on so that you could socialise with fellow travellers. FAB!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are super happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team works hard to ensure all guests that stay with us has an enjoyable stay with us and in Sydney. We wish you all the best in your future travels and hope to see you again soon. The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2017
10.0

Clean hostel, friendly people and staff. Always something going on! Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We work very hard to ensure all guests that stay have an enjoyable stay with us and in Sydney! Safe Travels The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
8.6

Nice big lockers, decent wifi in the rooms, and nice and clean. Only downsides are small kitchen area, there isn't always staff there to help and most of the guests are longer term so there isn't much of a party atmosphere. Everyone was nice and friendly but other hostels have been much better for making friends and going places together. Nice hostel for a stop off and everything you need, but wouldn't recommend it for a lone traveler staying in Sydney. There are more social places.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you for taking some time to leave us some feedback. Reception is open and manned from 8-8 and a Night Manager works from 8pm. There are activities every day such as free toasties, goon and cheese night and quiz night. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels, Thanks The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Apr 2017
10.0

Best hostel in Sydney. Staff and guest are like family. Great facilities, near kings cross station, regularly cleaned. I could see myself living here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the place was a home away from home for you. We wish you all the best on your future travels and hope to see you again soon! The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Apr 2017
9.4

Not in the centrum of sydney but definitely a good location. Only a short walk to the trains who leads you wherever you want to go. Seemed pretty new as well

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us some comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • judihegarty
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
8.9

Decent! First floor showers are great, as ling as you get in before the que. Really central to things and had loads of activities on... There are a few long stayers but in regards to little clicky groups -just go over and say Hi.... They have been same place yo have been. Front desk helpful - Can use the bag drop of the day your going which was sweet because I had to wait til night to leave Sydney 😉xx

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you so much for leaving us some feedback. We are super happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff work hard to ensure everyone that walks through our doors has an enjoyable stay in Sydney and with us. We have different activities on every day and glad you joined in with us. We wish you all the best for your future travels. Thanks The Mad Monkey Family :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Apr 2017
8.6

Kings Cross Backpackers is lovely. Helpful staff, great, friendly atmosphere, filled with lovely interesting people. Every night there's a different social activity on offer to get everyone mingling. The room was tiny especially with six bunk beds, and boiling, but the room and beds were clean and comfy. Unfortunately the common area was closed so our use of the facilities was limited, but the eating area was lovely and the kitchen tidy. The bathrooms were cleaned every day which was fantastic!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you so much for leaving us some feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our daily activities. The Mad Monkey team work hard to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay with us and in Sydney. Our common area was closed as we were building new cinema style seating for the TV area, it is now fully functioning and open. We hope to see you again soon. The Mad Monkey Family :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.