X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kings Cross Backpackers Reviews

79 Bayswater Road, Kings Cross, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
257 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Staff are very helpful. Rooms are clean and good chill out area in the basement. Kitchen is abit small. Great location.


100%

What an amazing place! The rooftop terrace is the perfect place to soak up some sun during day and suck down some beers in the evening. Why not fire up the BBQ while you're up there! If that doesn't take your fancy then head down to the basement area, pull up a bean bag and enjoy a movie or sink a few balls in a free game of pool! The staff are incredibly friendly and are always ready to help. I loved every minute of my stay! Breakfasts, Unlimited WiFi, Pool, Foxtel, Tea & Coffee all FREE!

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Really nice hostel, well managed and maintained. On a quiet street away from the a madness of the Main Street but only a few minutes walk to the main spots. Staff were really helpful. Good atmosphere, would definitely recommend! I would stay here again :-)


100%

Very friendly hostel! Loved staying there, wouldnt choose to stay anywhere else. Great place to stay if your a backpacker and want to meet new people. Free wifi and free breakfast is also a bonus. The staff cant do enough for you

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Booked into this hostel for a few nights To start with and continually extended my stay since. Great location great staff and ideal for anyone arriving in Sydney. Would definitely recommend to others


37%

This hostel is dirty. There are a lot of long termers which make it hard to meet people and can be intimidating. The rooms are small and very dirty. For the price it was a shock. Would not recommend to stay here

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff at the hostel were all really friendly and helpful. The travel expert gave me a good deal on a trip up the east coast and was very helpful. I would most definitely stay here again, friendliest hostel I've ever stayed in.

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Such a good hostel! The staff and the guests are so friendly and welcoming. Huge kitchen table where everyone sits and socialises. Would not want to stay anywhere else if I ever return the Sydney!

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

If one cannot already see the fire through the smoke..as a group we cannot help

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Really nice and chilled out place. Many long termers, which gives you the feeling of a big sharing fleet instead of an hostel. I liked it a lot and met many new friends!


100%

This was a really great hostel! Lots of great people and was clean!!

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I stayed in Kingscross Backpackers for 4 nights. The atmosphäre is great and the rooms clean and confortable. The Breakfast is really good and especially in a expensive city like Sydney it's really nice to have a free meal included. The Staff at the Resection and in the Hostel are amazing!!! Really nice; helpful and lovely people who will answer all your questions. Especially Mairtina- she is awesome and makes you feel at home so quickly.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Lots of long term workers, so not really a backpacker atmosphere ...


63%

Good points: - the free wifi works well - good breakfast - cheap - good location - great TV-room to relax Negative points: - small

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Great atmosphere, mostly filled with backpackers on long stays, so they hung out in the evenings and were very welcoming. The floors in the toilet were constantly wet/sticky. The cold tap in the showers wouldn't turn, so you get about a minute in the shower before it becomes too hot for comfort, and if someone had showered before you it was just scalding.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

I was told this hostel was one of the best ones.... OMG... if this is the best, I do not want to see what is average. My room and the bed were clean and well taken care of, although there was no power and we used a sort of light wire to light up the room. The breakfast was not bad if u like cereal, milk and bread. I think the worst part was to see that the restrooms are in a really bad condition. Most of the parts in this room were broken or rusty.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Stay here!


89%

I had a great time at KXB. Really good location, free breakfast and free WiFi, what more could you want ??


100%

Great place and great people. Really enjoyed my stay. Best nacho and toasties night in Sydney.

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent location close to nightlife and easy to get into central Sydney. All guests very welcoming! Staff helpful when wanting to book trips, transfers, extend stay etc. Girls bathroom could be bigger.


« first « Prev 1 2
(35 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback