X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kings Hotel Reviews

36-37 Argyle Square, Kings Cross WC1 8AL, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
1033 Total Reviews
  • 62%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 65%Staff
  • 52%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 48%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

had to change room because of quality of bed, but request was dealt with well. new room was much better but television had no remote control

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The room was, small but fine. The bathroom was compact. The problem was all the mold in the shower, behind the tap and on the floor.

  • 28th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

This is a budget hotel, which is exactly how it is described. It is the uncleanliness I was most disappointed with. The shower feels unclean, toilet was rocky, and the bed sheets weren't tucked in properly. I was on the top floor and there was no wifi service - except from the hotel next door. This meant I had internet access but it was slow. The walls are also paper thin and you can hear EVERYTHING from next door.


66%

Location is amazing because of big underground station st. Pancrass king cross which gets you everywhere you want. Otherwise hotel is avarage definitely worth paying for.

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We are very pleased with our stay at Kings hotel. Clean pleasant rooms, friendly Staff, Great location and very good price!

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


34%

The worst hotel i have ever stayed in, basic is an understatement

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location and a clean room with friendly and approachable staff my only concern was the condition of the bathrooms with mould on the shower head and some mould present in the shower itself. With a little bit of attention my overall opinion of the place could be so much higher


69%

Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel was basic but cost reflected this. Breakfast was more than adequate for price paid. Only real criticism was we were up 3 flights of stairs and there were many younger people in who could have coped with the stairs better than us who are in our late fifties. Maybe age could be determined when booking to prevent this as some people would not have managed these stairs. There is no lift.

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Great location, good value for money given hotel is in the middle of London, however staff weren't very accommodating as we had to leave early and had breakfast included so I asked could the staff/kitchen chef make us a breakfast to go and they unfortunately didn't follow this through for me.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

We couldn't had a shower because it was too dirty for us. The included brekfast was poor so just some flake with milk and there was marmalade and butter but without bread and we could drink tea or coffee. But the bed was clean and that was the most important.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The gap at the foot of the bed to the shower cubicle door was so narrow that i could barely open the door and barely squeeze in to the cubicle to take a shower each morning.

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Shower not working on third floor AT ALL (got a discount but still not okay). The so called bath "room" was more like a tiny WC with a shower squeezed into it as well. Horrifying even for a hostel. Only 1 key for room with 2 beds is also not what one would expect. Wifi not working except in hallway next to reception but no space to actually sit except the floor or the steps.

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

OK for a cheap overnight, very basic rooms with a telly stood on a fridge and bed and nothing else. Quite clean but could easily improve with a bit more thought. Helpful reception when the telly remote was missing.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


46%

The bathroom is too small, but the bedroom is too large, maybe the hotel can increase the space of bathroom and decrease the size of bedroom, that would be much better. The staff of this hotel is not friendly, they simply do not care about the customers, when I check out, there is no one stay in the reception.


60%

It was a hostel not a hotel, was clean. Not great and room was en-suite room-this consisted of a damaged door to basin and shower that could not open fully due to bed and another cupboard with the toilet in. Continental breakfast was some orange juice plastic cups and cornflakes, plus option of toast. Kettles on table for tea and coffee.

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


31%

I saw a mouse in my room and that says a lot about the place. It was already late so there was nothing I could do but sleep. The room has no place for you to put your stuff, not even a chair. Curtains are old, dusty and not working. Mattress is squeaky and old. etc, etc. I know it seems a cheap place for London but it's not even worth the money.


37%

I really didn't expect that a hostel in the center of London, would look so dirty, especially the shower that had mold and limescale on it, the bedding looked unironed and really old, the curtains had a lot of dust on them, the light was not working and the windowswere really dirty.

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all London Hotels

Please give us your feedback