X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kings Hotel Reviews

36-37 Argyle Square, Kings Cross WC1 8AL, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
996 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 58%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 55%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

It was a hostel not a hotel, was clean. Not great and room was en-suite room-this consisted of a damaged door to basin and shower that could not open fully due to bed and another cupboard with the toilet in. Continental breakfast was some orange juice plastic cups and cornflakes, plus option of toast. Kettles on table for tea and coffee.

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


31%

I saw a mouse in my room and that says a lot about the place. It was already late so there was nothing I could do but sleep. The room has no place for you to put your stuff, not even a chair. Curtains are old, dusty and not working. Mattress is squeaky and old. etc, etc. I know it seems a cheap place for London but it's not even worth the money.


37%

I really didn't expect that a hostel in the center of London, would look so dirty, especially the shower that had mold and limescale on it, the bedding looked unironed and really old, the curtains had a lot of dust on them, the light was not working and the windowswere really dirty.

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

We stayed in a private twin ensuite room and we were very pleased with the accommodation. The beds were a bit sqeaky when we turned over but they were comfy and the room was clean and spacious. The staff were fantastic, very welcoming and they did everything they could to make us comfortable. The location is fantastic and i would certainly stay here again when visiting london.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

The showers were dirty (black lines), the showerdoor wasn't working, the beds were bad, the building was dirty, no soap in the room, very minimal breakfast.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Staying at Kings Hotel was a pleasurable experience. Located in Argyle Square, it is conveniently located next to Kings Cross / St. Pancras stations. The customer service was excellent. My stay included a complementary breakfast, which consisted of toast, and orange juice. Tea and coffee are also available for breakfast. The room was a bit small but had a refrigerator which I took full advantage of. Free wireless Internet was operational during my stay. Only negative was the shared shower.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

It was very basic but clean and near kings cross as promised

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

This was not as bad as expected after reading a lot of reviews and seeing pictures on trip advisor. Basic room double bed clean bedding and towels and room was clean all you need for a nights stay in London . Located in street opposite kings cross station which was perfect for us and we stay here again no reason why not to.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

perfect location. facilities (smallest ever ensuite, small mirror with bad light, no table to put anything) quite poor. cleanliness alright. very noisy with neighbours (you hear every word..) / slamming doors

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

You get what you pay for - simple as that. We only needed a room for 1 night as cheap as possible and close to Kings Cross. No bells and whistles but good enough.


63%

Our room was smelly! At first we thought it was the curtains which were mouldy but dry! On reflection I think theroom was not aired often! Suprisingly, the tiny shower room did not smell at all, though the large shower head was crusty!!! Thankfully, we were only there for one night and it was a last minute booking. It was cheap but we were desperate! The positive was the bedding was clean and the owner looked after our luggage. Would not return.

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel is near Kings Cross Station which is really convenient when travelling, whether taking the national rail or catching the tube (subway). We were given a room at the top floor (4th floor), and carrying big bags and going up the spiral stairs was not the easiest thing. We were not able to receive wifi connection as well.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

I suppose you get what you pay for. Great location by St. Pancras and Kings Cross Station. Plumbing was leaking and only 2 towels (got extra w/ no issue). 4 floor walkup w/ big suitcase was tough (I should have asked). And breakfast was pathetic - horrible continental breakfast (some white bread toast, cereal..no fruit, eggs, meat). blecch

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The location was unbeatable. 2 Minutes to the Kings Cross - St. Pancreas Station and from there only 5 Stations to Piccadilly Circus. Excellent. The rooms are small but comfortable. It's enough for the night :)

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff member we dealt with during our stay was very nice and helpful. Location was great - a very short walk from King's Cross Station. Overall, we had a pleasant and comfortable stay here at a great price.


86%

We stayed at the King’s Hotel in London for three nights and we were very pleased. There were no bugs in the room, bed linen and room in general were clean and the host was very discreet. We booked a double room with shared bathroom (number 15) and at the end we were pleasantly surprised because the shower and sink were a part of our room so we only shared a toilet with the rest of the ground floor. The hotel is in a great location, surrounded by other hotels and safe environment. The host could

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

Worst hotel I've ever stayed at ever. Worst thing though besides the bed was broken was the hygiene.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

Hotel literally falling apart, loo seat hanging off, shower out of the 70s. One Chanel on TV and the reception was terrible. No spare pillows.Cigarette burns on top of the fridge but clean and the staff were helpful to a limited degree.. Cheap and clean but I would definitely not stay there again.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Gibraltar
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

I stayed in this hotel only for one (but in fact it is not a hotel, it's more hostel), just because it was near to the St. Pacras station and very good for early trains. Our room was in basement which I didn't like, it was cold and there were no towels. I do not recommend to live there for long time, just for one night it's ok, if you are going somewhere from international station.

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kazakhstan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

Ideal location..we didn't expect the Ritz but more than what we got..filthy dirty bathroom toilet seat looked as though it hadn't been cleaned in months..Taps falling off sinks..springs coming through mattress..light fittings falling out..banging of doors through night..we just wanted someone to sleep after a gig but sleep wasn't an option due to such an income dirty room...guy on reception was on mobile when we turned up and just handed us the left..also credit card machine not in use..disappoi

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all London Hotels

Please give us your feedback