X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Kings Hotel Reviews

36-37 Argyle Square, Kings Cross WC1 8AL, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

64%

Rating
927 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 66%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 66%Staff
  • 54%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 51%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

With the price you pay, you can't expect luxury. Ok breakfast is minimal and beds not so confortable. However the location is excellent and the staff welcoming. Good value for money

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


34%

The property show signs of neglect. Beds are ancient and springing loud. Bathroom/toilet not large enough to fit a European male. Owner/Manager(?) seemed more interested in messages on mobile than the customer. Breakfast primitive - called Continental but not; cornflakes of unknown make, coffee catering quality straight from the tin. Plastic cutlery! Worst ignoring Fire Regulations. Fire doors propped open albeit with the fire extinguishers! No sign of smoke detectors except dining room.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

Lumpy squeeky beds tried putting us in a dumpy cellar at first but then had to upgrade toa more expencive room , dusty and rusty in need of a full house makeover !!!!!

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Budget hotel , cheap, get what you pay for , wouldn't take the misses !!! Breakfast laughable , reminds me of fawlty towers

  • 24th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Great location but the most horrible mattress I have ever slept on. But it is very cheap so I guess you should expect something like this!


63%

My sister and I just stayed over for 1 night. The accommodation was well located and the room is ok(with tv and ensuite bathroom). It was very dirty : there was a fridge but it had never been cleaned, the shower head was 10% working because 90% of it was blocked, there was dust all over the corners of the room. The window was not closing properly (it is fine considering the heating is working well) and the curtains were held by some plastic rail. The staff was nice. Globally ok for 1 or 2 days.


60%

Overall I'm satisfied with my stay. I just needed a place to sleep for the weekend and I was out most of the time. Don't expect too much of the breakfast: two slice of bread with butter and marmalade, juice and cereals. Nothing you couldn't buy yourself at a Tesco. The rooms aren't amazing but they cover the basics, there's also free wifi. My room was clean, well heated and the bed comfortable enough. I woke up everyday rested and that's what mattered for me.

  • 21st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Good value for money and very good location! You can practically see kings cross/st prancras from the front door. Although, there was no soap in bathroom and we woke up pretty cold in the morning, you get what you pay for....and can't really complain

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Really well situated and that's basically the only good reason to choose it. It's small and not very nice. The shower was stuck and the guy didn't do anything about it. The breakfast is ridiculous, the beds are extremely uncomfortable, the sheets are not very cleans and too small. The TV was absolutely unuseful (there wasn't even the basic channels). And the guy in charge is not even nice. Don't go there if you're on a week-end it's good enough for 1 or 2 nights as an emergency place. Or not.

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

the water pressure is too low the cleanliness is very poor, i and my wife won't even dare to sleep on the bed there's no shampoo no toothbrush no nothing

  • 4th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


37%

Room very small for a double bed we could not stand at the side of the bed to get to top of the bed. Bed sheets didn't even fit the bed, bed very uncomfortable and we now have bites on our body. Cleanliness of hotel very bad, unless this was just our room but even the hallway and stairs were dirty with holes in the plaster on celling and walls. Fire doors held open by fire extinguishers. No light in hallway on 3rd floor. Shower cubicle in room disgusting I refused to use it. Breakfast ugh!!!!!!

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Lovely service. Unfortunately the lights weren't working on the top floor where i was, and the bed was rather squeaky. However, it was very cheap and central so I'll recommend it.

  • 17th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

there was no hot water during taking a shower in one night

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

a lot of problems concerning damp on the windows, curtains and in the bathroom. Very soft beds. Kind host.

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

there is a good feng-shui in the room

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

This was a very adequate place for the price. I was very impressed. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Thank you very much

  • 28th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

Det var utrolig ringe, døren til badeværelset kunne ikke lukke , døren ind til værelser kunne ikke låses indefra Morgenmaden var utrolig ringe toastbrød og syltetøj , havregryn/cornflakes Very very bad

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


34%

4 nights stay (instead of 7) , we wanted room cleaned every day, manager said yes but done just once. The smallest bathroom: narrow shower you couldn't but touch the window glass or the walls (deeply covered with calcareous incrustation) when washing, tiny sink you should stay diagonal not to pour the water outside the sink when washing your face or teeth, no hanger for towels, fan out of order.No bedside table, no tea facilites, no cupboard (a stall with hangers). Didn't trust to try breakfast.

  • 16th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Very run down, bare light bulbs, holes in walls, TV on top of fridges, no bin, limescale in bathroom, rock hard pillow. However, sheets clean and warm room

  • 16th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The room was stripped down to a bare minimum in terms of offering comforts, but it still managed to be cosy, and I felt very much at ease in it. The location and price was excellent, staff was friendly. No complaints!

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all London Hotels

Please give us your feedback