X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kinlay Eyre Square Hostel Reviews

Eyre Square, Galway, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
3783 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Kinlay was a great value. It's location allows easy access to everything in town and their close coordination with the local tour companies allows you to be picked up for most tours or meet just down the street. The facility is clean, bright, welcoming. Breakfast was the usual, toast, scones, cereal, juice coffee. The staff was extremely helpful with tours and facilities. The security was robust, so much so you might have trouble bringing back a "friend" from the club, but I loved this hostel!


97%

Had an awesome time at Kinlay. Great staff, location, atmosphere and value for money. Only complaint is about the lack of lockers in my room. Other than that, I'd highly recommend Kinlay and will definitely consider it my first option whenever I come back to Galway.

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Our ten bed room was very comfortable with privacy curtains, reading lamps and device recharging stations for each bunk. Highly recommended!

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

They gave us a bathroom for disabled people, and the mirror was very low

  • 9th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I was clearly staying in one of the forgotten rooms. It was tiny with a window that wouldn't open so very stuffy. It was also incredibly cramped. The ensuit didn't have a sink, it was in the room which was stupid because it was noisey at night and gross having to watch everyone brush their teeth etc. the bed was comfortable enough but a girl was moved to my from another room and she couldn't believe how it was compared to her precious room. The wifi was also TERRIBLE at all times


100%

Hard to rate security that I dont know of.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place to stay! Within walking distance of everything and everyone is very friendly.


100%

Probably one of the best hostels I've stayed at by far! It is right in eyre square, the staff are more than ready to help you with anything you need. We got free pancakes, popcorn, and a movie on Sunday!! Rooms were a little cramped and there is only 2 little fridges for the whole hostel, but I would/have recommended this hostel to anyone :)


100%

Fantastic place.


94%

Great hostel with very friendly and helpful staff. Great location. Close to the main street and pubs/restaurants. Close to the train and bus stations. The free breakfast was pretty average, but the same as what most hostels offer. Wifi was great in all areas. Was a very quiet hostel, which I liked, but not overly easy to meet people unless you have some friendly roommates.


100%

Fantastic Hostel, couldn't fault it at all, would recommend it to other people no hesitation.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Super friendly staff & nice homely feel. Comfy beds and a good basic breakfast to get you started!


94%

Excellent weekend in Galway. We'd a total of 13 in our group staying here and all of them thought the hostel was excellent. Staff were young, enthusiastic and accommodating. The corridors/rooms have a good level of security but still allow for maximum use of the common room until 0400.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything a hostel should be


91%

nice clean, well run, very close to bus station, only real inprovement would be a bigger bathroom


97%

It is like all-in-one hostel. First of all it is very very central. Walk to bus station, walk to bars and restaurant, walk to beach...just in 5 mins. Ask anything you want to guys in reception. You want to see a good bar? A good italian or Irish resto? Looking for a concert? Also you can buy day-tours just inside the hostel with good amount of discounts. Also if you are travelling alone they have losts of activities to meet new people. Definitely one of the best hostels I ever seen :)


83%

Fairly clean, great location close walk to nightlife and shopping!


100%

You're the best ! I hope I will be able to come back for every sunday movies

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice place to stay. Very friendly staff, spacious kitchen, good breakfast.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

loved the hostel! huge rooms, lots of showers , great breakfast, great atmosphere. sad only stayed 1 night


(145 results)


View all Galway Hostels

Please give us your feedback