X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kinlay House Cork Reviews

Bob and Joan's Walk, Shandon, Cork, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2028 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

It was a great easy place to stay! Rooms were clean and staff was very nice. Only thing, the complimentary breakfast with only toast.. Not sure if it was because we were close to the end or what but that was disappointing. Otherwise it's a great place to stay with good prices!

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Comfortable beds and very nice for a short weekend in Cork. It's well located although you have to be prepared, Cork has it's fair share of hills and you have to climb one to get to the Hostel. Low point : it was really noisy in the room. I felt really bad for the people in the room each time I had to open or close the door + room wasn't really clean. Staff was really friendly and helpful. Would benefit lockers that you can actually lock.


83%

A really good, friendly hostel in a historic setting. Slow, but useable internet. The kitchen needs a section for left over foodstuffs (for other hostellers to make use of) as food storage was overflowing with abandoned supplies.Good beds, hot showers, clean toilets.

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


43%

Really dirty, the sheets, the carpet....not a good night...i didnt even want to try the breakfast...awful

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location in the pedestrianised area around the Shandon Bells. Nice TV room for lounging in. Big kitchen. Recommended!


80%

Best hostel showers!!!!! Very simple breakfast. Not very interactive to make friends. Maybe not a good choice if you are travelling by yourself.


94%

I will definitely come again, the staff are very helpful, and the room is tidy and clean, and the hostel is a couple of minutes walking distance from the city center .

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lebanon
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Rooms smelled like cigarette smoke

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

more than 2-3 saucepans in the kitchen are needed; replacement knobs for the stove so that lighting it to cook doesn't require 2 people - one of them holding where the knobs should be with a towel; in my room most of the power points didn't work; the tubes in the internet room were blown and not replaced


77%

Big hostel with a small kitchen (queue for using the cooker) My 12 bed dorm was separated in 3 sectors by a wall. The old bunk beds look like a mix of hammock and bed, but are comfortable, not stable (feel all movements of your fellow traveller) To open the door is a noisy challenge. TV room good to meet travellers. Breakfast was basic, compared to similar places it was rather poor. The hostel seemed clean, but very old. ok for a night and it was well located to visit Cork City Centre.


80%

The hostel in general is quite good but the kitchen could use some more equipment...


63%

The bathroom for the sleeping dorms was a catastrophe. You are better off here taking a private room, they are much cleaner.


57%

I'd say it really depends what kind of room you get here, in the privat rooms it's clean. I stayed this time in a 10 bed deluxe dorm and in a 16 bed dorm. The bathroom in the 16 bed dorm was catastrophic and unfortunately my bed was dirty (think that other guests put their stuff on my bed because I came later). the breakfast is ok, there is toast and tea. Staff was always friendly and helpful.


89%

This is a nice place and the location is great. Staff is very friendly and helpfull and I would defenitelly consider staying there again. If you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs as there is a church nearby. The only thing I didn't like was the shower. In women's bathroom there were two showers, in the other shower room there weren't no light and the other room you couldn't lock. Also you had to push the button in the shower every 30 seconds or so which was very annoying.


54%

Arrived at Kinlay House for the Cork Jazz Festival. The price was high but expected considering the time of year. I had stayed previously in Kinlay dorms which I felt were as expected for a hostel. This time we took a deluxe room but it was far from deluxe!. Situated beside a busy road there was constant traffic keeping us awake. The smell on entering the room was repulsive and I felt embarrassed having booked it. Small, unclean and over-priced. The rest of the hostel is nice though...

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Good attention and excellent breakfast. Our room was very comfortable and the stuff was very good

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Pretty good spot, great facilities


74%

Only in cork 1 night didn't even go in the common areas so can't say a lot about them, but the staff I spoke to were very helpful giving us a map and writing on it various places worth checking out, and the location was really good 5 mins walk from the the bus station and the city centre, room was ok for the money decent beds and clean enough bathrooms

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The four bed private room was soooo small! Besides from that, it is relatively well positioned, the breakfast was really on the threshold of acceptability, cool TV room with unfortunately old fornitures, the common bathroom was not particularly clean. Moreover, some of the staff members (especially the "eating room staff", but also one of the receptionists ) were nort particularly friendly and/or helpful


69%

Double room turned out to be a triple bunk bed so watch out for that. The room was clean - though the window was broken and let lots of rain in. The staff were very pleasant, the kitchen was fine - though someone stole some of my food. Breakfast was awful, they didn't even have real milk only UHT. It just wasn't great value, and I won't be back. Next time I'm in Cork with soneone I'd pay maybe 5 or 10 euro more each and get a B


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Cork Hostels

Please give us your feedback