Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Kinlay House Cork

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 2,759 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 2,759 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.2
Kinlay House Cork Located at Bob and Joan's Walk, Shandon, Cork.
Kinlay House Cork
Ireland
Cork Bob and Joan's Walk, Shandon
76% 2759
51.9031229 -8.4750509
Kinlay House Cork
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jul 2016
9.7

Really great hostel for the price, good location, quite clean. Very spacious eating area and kitchen, nice space to sit outside. Staff was very helpful and friendly, laid back. Only complaint was the stove was a bit weird to use, and the oven didn't have any labels on the notches so you sort of had to guess how to preheat it and whatnot. Also there's a pigeon that sort of just wanders into the kitchen from outside sometimes. Other than that great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. Apologies about the stove - we are planning on replacing it as soon as possible. The oven we will check - thanks for telling us. That pigeon...we will give a warning to asap!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
14th Jul 2016
9.4

Great, like always :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you! Good to hear!

  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
13th Jul 2016
6.3

Kitchen is very basic, the rooms have old carpets that give it an odd smell, beds are very loud. An ok stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • IrishGuy8175
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jul 2016
8.3

Great staff and location! The staff couldn't do enough for you and the location is ideal! Would thoroughly recommend this hostel is your visiting Cork. Kevin

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks Kevin

11th Jul 2016
3.7

Breakfast is instant coffee & toast. Staf curt & not very helpful. Traffic noise all night. Tiny shower en suite. No social atmosphere with other travelers. Great pub close by, Pat Buckley's. Better hotels & hostels in the area

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear you were not happy here. We have a self-catering kitchen & tv room / internet area which are very social. As we are very central there will be some traffic noise, sorry.

7th Jul 2016
10.0

Parking is a bit difficult, but if you don't have a car it is perfect. Close walking distance to everything you need. Very secure, nice staff, clean rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
6.9

Pictures look a lot better, if your just looking for an affordable place to stay it's grand, just don't expect too much.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jun 2016
9.7

Great place to stay. Very friendly, helpful staff. Clean rooms and facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • orla101
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
4.3

It was fine for a night. I actually ended up booking for a second night due to work but didn't stay. The staff were rude from the minute I walked in the door, their tone of voice telling me to shut the door properly was disgusting. I also got chatting to some Spanish girls and the staff had been horrible to them! My pillow and sheet had some hair on it, when I changed it for another "clean" pillow that also had hair on it, it was disgusting. The bathrooms were dirty and no tp. Won't stay ag

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2016
8.9

Hostel was not far from city center,but nothing really is in cork, and relatively clean. The staff were helpful in helping me get to blarney castel and finding a bus to get to Dublin. The space is not the best for a solo backpacker as the hostel is huge and you can feel a little like a number in a bed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.