Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kinlay House Cork

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 3184 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 3184 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
6.6

I chose Kinlay House based on three criteria: centrality (100%); price (100%) and location (100%). I got a family room for four. The room was tiny, mattresses hard and the lock on th door was a sad joke (had to use car boot). We had a very poor start on the cleanliness front, one of the sheets was disgusting and the others were a little manky. Facilities were good, modern communal showers, nice common room, laundry and friendly staff. Overall pleased excepting manky start. Cheap and cheerful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jun 2017
8.0

This was a nice hostel in a good area and all the staff were lovely. The only issue was how many old people were there. As a young female solo traveller, there were far too many old men in the room. It feels especially wrong when they're drunk and topless. There needs to be a room for these men away from young people, especially young women.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2017
10.0

Have stayed here before very nice and convient place to stay staff are lovely and great value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2017
8.6

Very friendly and helpful staff and clean rooms!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
4.0

This hostel is very old, stale and dusty, Beds and duvets were very uncomfortable. The whole place felt dirty and dusty. No real atmosphere. I stayed 5 nights and was quite expensive for what was available. The only decent thing was the TV room and location is quite close to city centre, Very limited choice for breakfast and coffee was awful.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
9.1

Great place to stay. Staff were exceptionaly helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the positive feedback. We are lucky to have such good staff here!

  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2017
8.3

We enjoyed our stay at Kinlay House; it was in a good walking distance (~5min) from the city centre. The staff was quite nice and even though we booked a 10 bed dorm, we stayed in a 8 bed one. Unfortunately there were no lockers and the beds were not that comfortable but still ok.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We will have lockers shortly for guests - apologies. Will check the mattresses immediately too. Thanks

3rd Jun 2017
9.7

Really good Hostel in the center of Cork city, clean rooms, free breakfasts and staff is very friendly. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2017
10.0

Great ☺☺☺☺☺☺

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you!!!!! Glad ye were happy here!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2017
6.6

stayed at the private 2 bedroom house down the corner from Kinlay, it was very outdated, the rollerblind fell apart of the window, the bed was put together with DIY extra support wood, and the main light was flikking on the ceiling, and after hanging our clothes, the whole hanger fell down, so If you don't mind all of this, it's perfect

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Apologies - thank you for pointing out the issues in that room. Our maintenance man has sorted the problems there now.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.