Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kinlay House Cork

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 3140 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 3140 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th May 2017
9.7

Breakfast was disappointing only toast and tea. Everything else was amazing! Deffo would go again (but bring our own food)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th May 2017
4.6

Staff were rude except for 2 guys at reception. Breakfast was over way to soon and we got yelled at 9:25 to leave the dinning area. Beds are uncomfortable and not clean. It is ok for 2 nights but there are other better hostel s in Cork.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th May 2017
6.0

We didn't feel comfortable in this hostel at all. When we checked in the staff weren't friendly and the remainder of our stay they didn't acknowledge us at all. The vibe in the hostel wasn't comfortable for three girls traveling alone. The bedroom and bathroom were clean but the kitchen was a little dirty. If you're just looking for a place to sleep it's fine but not somewhere you would want to hangout.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2017
9.7

This was my first stay in a hostel and it has set the bar very high. For around 20$ I got the best view of the city a quiet room with a bathroom. Breakfast was only toast and coffee/tea but there is a full kitchen to prepare your own full breakfast. The desk staff was incredibly helpful every time I spoke with them. The bell tower wasn't a problem even with the window open all hours. walking distance to everything. The next visit to Cork, I will stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the positive feedback! Glad your first hostel experience was a good one too...

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2017
6.3

I didn't end up staying the night, I checked in, went to my room. It was really worn and old and had a funky smell like boiled cabbage. I could also hear clearly the 3 men in the room next door talking so had quite poor sound insulation. I went to dinner, and the show I was seeing in the Everyman and decided I couldn't stay there for the night so collected my bag, there was nobody at the desk when I returned to the hostel or when I came down stairs so I dropped my key and left before 11pm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
8.6

Good stay as always. GOod hostel, only 10 min walk from the city center, 8 if you walk fast haha. Good security, breakfast as most hostels have. I would totally recommend this hostel for a stay in Cork!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Apr 2017
8.9

I read the recent negative reviews for Kinlay and was confused. I did not encounter racism or mold. I was in one of their ensuite single rooms and found a clean bathroom, decent shower, very comfortable bed, and clean sheets. The building was old, but you expect that...Right? I'd stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback!

  • Simplyhugh
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
21st Apr 2017
10.0

I've stayed here before and I'll stay here again. A lovely place to be without a doubt.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • constableshane2546
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
10.0

Overall a very nice stay, the room was a little hot and there was a boiler nearby that was a bit noisy. Location is brilliant for the city centre, parking was challenging, but now we have located the Q park and got our bearings we would have no problem for the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2017
7.4

The breakfast is served 7 to 9:30 and if you arrive one minute late, you won't have it. The rest was fine. The beds were comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. Sorry we have to be strict timewise on the breakfast - it does run for 2 and a half hours though!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.