Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kinlay House Cork

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 2,904 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 2,904 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.3
Kinlay House Cork Located at Bob and Joan's Walk, Shandon, Cork.
Kinlay House Cork
Ireland
Cork Bob and Joan's Walk, Shandon
78% 2904
51.9031229 -8.4750509
Kinlay House Cork
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Sep 2016
5.7

This hostel was decent but not very good, especially compared to the other places I stayed. It wasn't very clean and didn't look or feel well kept. The rooms felt very crowded (I know I chose a room with a lot of people but other hostels have managed the space better so you don't feel so closed in). The staff was very nice. Hard to park nearby - the streets get very narrow.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
7.4

Had a good location and it was nice to have a bathroom in the dorm. Pillows very flat and the beds were alright. Kitchen was a nice touch, but nothing fancy, some people didn't clean up very well after themselves. Occasionally the dining area during the late evening would smell overwhelmingly like cigarettes/smoke due to the smoking pitt outside, which was unfortunate. Overall decent and other hostellers were friendly!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
19th Sep 2016
7.7

One staff member was helpful, the rest weren't. If your not out of breakfast by 9.30 you get kicked out with your breakfast lol. Wasn't much social life there but the rooms were tidy and sheer was decent. Only a short walk to the city. No lift for bags but oh well

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Sep 2016
6.3

this was the least pleasant of the hostels I have stayed at, though not terrible overall. location is okay, not great. staff was fine though not very friendly. I paid 16 euro a night for shared dorm (no outlet in room) for 3 nights, the rate didn't change for weekends which was nice. The breakfast they offer (bread and instant coffee) was awful, and kitchen was pretty bad, offering almost nothing to cook with. wifi was poor and the bathroom on my floor was shared with men which I didn't like.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Sep 2016
9.4

Perfect hostel. Great atmosphere, clean rooms

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Sep 2016
7.7

Great for a one night stay. No lockups under bed or in room so security could of been a factor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Sep 2016
7.4

Not terrible, but not anything to rave about. Horrible showers, the worst push button showers I've encountered in ages. Fairly good atmosphere in the kitchen area though, and I met some nice people here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Sep 2016
8.6

Great hostel! Lots of space and common areas. Staff is friendly and helpful. Recommend to anyone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Sep 2016
6.6

Kinlay House was an alright hostel to stay at for a couple nights in Cork. Could be improved with lockers in the rooms and the locks on the doors require combos instead of keys (which didn't seem as secure because anyone could share the code with anyone). My roommates were all lovely and I wasn't worried about my stuff because they all seemed great. The stoves and oven are SO difficult to light and get going, so after one meal attempt, I just ate out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Sep 2016
7.1

Staff friendly but not a friendly atmosphere from other people who obviously have stayed/lived there a while. Rooms have too many beds crammed into them so not much space but it's clean. You can cook in the kitchen to keep things cheap.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.