Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kinlay House Cork

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 2,995 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 2,995 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.3
Kinlay House Cork Located at Bob and Joan's Walk, Shandon, Cork.
Kinlay House Cork
Ireland
Cork Bob and Joan's Walk, Shandon
78% 2995
51.9031229 -8.4750509
Kinlay House Cork
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
10.0

Niiiiiice!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jan 2017
7.1

Kinlay House was in a generally good location if you want to see the city. We also went to Blarney and to the Jameson Factory and had to take a short bus ride/train ride to get there which was nice. Really bad wifi. No wifi in the rooms and it was really slow in the "internet cafe"

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Dwyrngl
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Dec 2016
10.0

I always stay here when I.m in cork, I.m a bit of a regular and I always get a warm welcome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
30th Dec 2016
7.1

My biggest issue with this hostel was the security. Dorm door wasnt closed half the time, and staff didnt check who you were before handing over behind the counter belongings. Good kitchen, good bathroom in dorm, decent bunks. At the time i went there was quite the average atmosphere in this hostel also. Lots of people there for work or others just playing video games on their bunks all day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
3.1

I have stayed in a number of hostels and this was one of the worst. The staff was extremely rude and unfriendly, the kitchen and the common area was very dirty. The "light" breakfast consisted of toast and jam only and we were thrown out of the kitchen at 9.30! The common area was always occupied by a crowd of beer-drinking people who seem to stay in the hostel long-term. The level of security was very low - there were no lockers, the bedroom door didn't close properly! Never again!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Dec 2016
7.4

Good location, warm rooms but old and shower wasn't good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
10.0

Very quiet and great location. Great place to stay for the price

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
5.7

The Kinlay house was okay. Definitely an old building with old beds. The wifi did not reach our room, but worked well from the main areas. Overall a fine place to rest your head, but not a place you'd want to spend any extra time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Dec 2016
7.4

Ideally located, only a 10 minute walk from town (inc. bus and rail station). Bedroom and bathroom clean. Shower somewhat cold though. I didnt eat there so cant comment on food/kitchen facilities. Major negative is the atmoshere was poor, it might just be the time of year but nobody seemed particlarly sociable at all, even some of the staff didnt seem bothered. Secure door systems but no lockers in rooms. Cheap, i'd recommend for one/ maybe two nights but no longer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
10.0

Staff are always friendly and remember me :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.