Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Kinlay House Cork

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 3021 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 3021 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
5.4

First and foremost I must say the staff at the faculty were amazing. They helped us with directions, gave us extra sheets when we were cold and helped us make arrangements. However the hostel itself is old, cold and a dated facility. There are no security lockers beneath the bed and no keys for the dorm rooms, only a 3 digit combination lock. The breakfast in the morning was instant coffee or tea and sliced bread. The refrigerators are filled with old food and the kitchens are dim and cold

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
8.9

Poor Breakfast but the hostel is so nice and cozy

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
7.1

Toaster broken for several days. Unable to boil an egg for breakfast because of cooking restrictions. No free coffee,teabags or milk available for evening drink. No cereal available for breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jan 2017
4.3

You don't get a key or a keycard, just a 5 digit password, so anyone can walk into your room. I arrived in plenty of time and left a small bag on my assigned bed. Came back that night, not only was someone in my bed (cause her bed was taken), my stuff was dumped on the floor. I emailled the hostel aftwards when I realised some of my possessions were gone, and they never bothered responding. If you don't bring anything of value and you don't mind getting moved about at random, it's functional.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
9.1

The hostel itself was great. The staff were wonderful, the atmosphere was welcoming, and the premises felt very safe and clean. Some of the other guests were a bit loud and mildly disrespectful when coming home during the early hours of the morning, making it difficult to sleep. This is really my only complaint. I might be cautious of this and perhaps bring with me some earplugs or headphones to help with the noise. Overall, the place was great and well-worth it! Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2017
8.0

Would not go on a weekend: VERY full.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
8.6

Great place for the money. I felt like me and my belongings were safe. Complimentary breakfast was only toast and tea, which was a let down. Overall good experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
10.0

Niiiiiice!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jan 2017
7.1

Kinlay House was in a generally good location if you want to see the city. We also went to Blarney and to the Jameson Factory and had to take a short bus ride/train ride to get there which was nice. Really bad wifi. No wifi in the rooms and it was really slow in the "internet cafe"

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Dwyrngl
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Dec 2016
10.0

I always stay here when I.m in cork, I.m a bit of a regular and I always get a warm welcome.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.