X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kinlay House Cork Reviews

Bob and Joan's Walk, Shandon, Cork, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
2211 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

The kitchen closed for about an hour after breakfast (so if you wanted to make meals to take with you they really needed to be made the day before and picked up early in the morning). The stoves were gas and hard to light (you had to turn the gas on by sticking a knife where a knob should have been), so if you don't have experience with gas stovetops it can be challenging to cook. We also didn't have lockers. The staff were really friendly though and the 8-bed rooms were nice!


86%

Good. Would stay here again.


69%

A nice hostel just needs and little up dating


100%

I really like this hostel, the rooms are really clean and the are so and helpful!


46%

This hostel was too big for it to be managed properly, the pillows were as hard as rocks and there was no toilet paper in the bathroom. Quite a ways walk towards anything of interest, and the kitchen facilities were very inaccessible.


71%

bed was uncomfortable, toilet/showers were small and cramped. Breakfast was ok just toast offered. Bit of a walk into Cork's city centre but not too far. Nice wide opening window


66%

The number of outlets in a 16 bed room was stupid. I counted perhaps 3 working outlets.


80%

Easy to find the place. Close enough to city centre. Staff are friendly.

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Overall it was ok. it was definitely not the fanciest hostel i have stayed in but for two nights it was ok.


100%

Staying one night at kinlay House was a very positive experience for me. What stood out was the helpfulness of staff, the modern decor, the efficiency of the wi fi and being able to totally relax there. I would definitely recommend this hostel. Thank you for your wonderful service.

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

good quality rooms and nice social room. clean enough. Staff were helpful chatty and friendly and recommended some good trips and bars. The paddywagon tours were good, lots to see but maybe more aimed at the older market. All in all great stay and easy to get around as we were close to bus station for trips in the day and lots of bars in the evening!

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Quite an average hostel... Lacks atmosphere. Free breakfast is decent, however I feel that the staff need to find a nicer way of telling the guests that breakfast is over, the tone used by 2 different staff on 2 separate mornings was not friendly at all, and came across as a bit rude. The hostel was clean though.

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I always stay there - it's a great place for a very good price. Near the bus station, and Paddy Street.


86%

pretty big hostel. Dorm room was set up pretty nice. even though you were in a room with 16 people they section you off a little into smaller areas so you don't feel like you're just in a huge room. No lockers in the room, which sucked, but security to get into the hostel and each room was good. you get kicked out of the kitchen common area at night, which I thought was weird, but I'm sure the have a reason for it.


77%

Difficulty of access by car. Should be good to know where to park before coming for the first time.


69%

I would have liked to use the stove but it was broken and apparently required magical powers I don't posess to make it stay on. I don't smoke so I don't carry a lighter. Perhaps investing a little in maintenance?


83%

may not be the most modern hostel but it has the best atmosphere of any hostel that I have been to so far!


54%

Had to pay a deposit when booking online, never got it back. Staff were very average, checking out there was a blonde lady on reception who was extremely unhelpful. Very bery basic, no toilet paper in the room. It was average. I wouldn't call it value for money since I was charged €7 to book it online- that charge was described as a "deposit" which you would normally receive back if nothing was broken, (we Left the room exactly as it was), but I was told the deposit was nothing to do with them.

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Alison - As you booked through Hostel World (booking engine linked to our web site) they charged you a Booking Fee of €1.50 and a 12% Deposit from the total room rate. You just paid the balance on arrival then. Sorry for the confusion but it was not a 'deposit' on the room / key etc Regards, Management

94%

This was a nice hostel and very good for the price point. One of the staff members was not very good. Didn't seem to like his job, but one staff member is not all of them. The rest of the staff was very nice and accommodating. The location was nice and the directions given were spot on. Overall I would definitely recommend this hostel for anyone staying in Cork.


66%

The only problem I had with Kinlay house was finding it Located behind behind Maldron Hotel was tricky to get too. A good landmark is St Anne's home of the Shandon bells in the alley (street) dead ends at Kinlay house , parking in front of Kinlay house .


(75 results)


← Back to search results

Please give us your feedback