X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Kinlay House Cork Reviews

Bob and Joan's Walk, Shandon, Cork, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2216 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The best hostel i've seen in Cork and I'm always going to that place. The people at the reception are always really helpful and friendly and sometimes they bring your bag in the third floor :D the kitchen is really good and there's also free breakfast and wifi everywhere!!!! BUT there are big quality differences of the rooms, and that's not fair!


80%

Good place to stay with in an excellent location in the middle of the town.

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Smoke smell in the room.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The Kinlay House was a nice hostel located quite close to the centre of town. We stayed in a twin private room and it had it's own attached bathroom and bunk beds. Breakfast of toast is included in the price. The staff were very helpful in making recommendations and answering any questions that we had. The wifi didn't work in our room but worked very well in the hall and in the kitchen.


94%

We spent there a night in March 2015. I can say we great time, staff were really friendly and helpful. The accommodation was clean and relavant for the price. The breakfest seemed to me fresh and relevant for the price as well. We can highly recommed to stay at Kinley House.


91%

Very friendly and helpful staff, free breakfast, clean ensuite bathroom, located in a quiet part of the town, so no "party noise" from outside - no lockers inside the dorm, heating was turned on very high, so with 10 people in a room it became almost unbearable, lock for the bathroom door was broken


66%

Main issue was with the plugs in our room in that they only worked when we taped our plugs in against the sockets

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The beds are really good for being a hostel. You also get breakfast, not that common, even if its poor.


80%

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. the bed in the dorm was very comfortable and the room and rest of the hostel were clean. Very happy with my stay there. Many thanks to the staff.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had the best time in Cork. Definitely going to be back to Cork every chance we get. Have already told loads of friends about Kinlay house and will keep recommending it. We had a great time. Thank you

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Freezing.


100%

very convenient

  • 31st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Good value for what you're paying. The staff were all very nice and helpful, and the humongous kitchen is a nice touch. The hostel is really close to the city, easy access. Also extremely easy to get to Blarney Castle by bus. The bathrooms were clean, my showers were fine but my friends complained that they were cold. Only major concern was one of the beds was so rickety and squeaky it felt like it could collapse at any minute. Also only 2 outlets for 14 people seems a bit ridiculous.


89%

It was a great easy place to stay! Rooms were clean and staff was very nice. Only thing, the complimentary breakfast with only toast.. Not sure if it was because we were close to the end or what but that was disappointing. Otherwise it's a great place to stay with good prices!

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Comfortable beds and very nice for a short weekend in Cork. It's well located although you have to be prepared, Cork has it's fair share of hills and you have to climb one to get to the Hostel. Low point : it was really noisy in the room. I felt really bad for the people in the room each time I had to open or close the door + room wasn't really clean. Staff was really friendly and helpful. Would benefit lockers that you can actually lock.


83%

A really good, friendly hostel in a historic setting. Slow, but useable internet. The kitchen needs a section for left over foodstuffs (for other hostellers to make use of) as food storage was overflowing with abandoned supplies.Good beds, hot showers, clean toilets.


1 2 3 4 Next » last »
(76 results)


View all Cork Hostels

Please give us your feedback