Hostelworld.com

Kinlay House Dublin

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 5,034 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 5,034 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.9
Kinlay House Dublin Located at 2-12 Lord Edward Street, Temple Bar, Dublin.
Kinlay House Dublin
Ireland
Dublin Dublin Dublin 2 2-12 Lord Edward Street, Temple Bar
84% 5034
53.3438647 -6.2693524
Kinlay House Dublin
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
10.0

Great place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
9.4

Very solid hostel. Very much enjoyed my stay here. The staff were super helpful, friendly, and top notch. Showers were BOILING on the 2nd floor, but the first floor was better (no temperature control, just a button that you keep pushing). TP dispensers were also a failure, had to use other stalls that had working ones. A bit of street noise at night, but they have earplugs which is cool. Otherwise, everything was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jun 2016
5.7

This hostel is the worst. I have been doing tradings on line and the wifi was on and off every one minute. It was horrible. I lost so much money due to this. The staff have the attitude that say Deal with It.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2016
8.0

I had multiple stays at this hostel while touring Ireland. The 4 person rooms were very secure and great to sleep in. The 12 person room (which ever is in the middle range of people) was decent, hard to sleep in with the noise of the street and even had two drunk guys wake me up in the middle of the night as they puked in the middle of the room. The 24 person room just sucked, it was dirty, smelt pretty bad, and was horribly loud to sleep in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
8.6

Overall it's a great hostel, comfy beds, big kitchen, calm atmosphere and a great staff. The location it self is worth the money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2016
4.6

There were bloody boogers on the wall by my bed! The room smelled musty and was depressing to be in. There are cages you can rent to lock your things in and they are in a different building than the hostel - very isolated and it was creepy being in there as a single woman. The kitchen and common room are decent and spacious. The airport transfer driver drove like a maniac. He's not employed by the hostel, but a heads up. Would not stay here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
4.3

We booked a Standard 6 Dorm for one night, that on the website says it's a ensuite one. We arrived at the hostel and on their computer they had Standard 6 Dorm for us but they said it hasn't got a bathroom. We paid the price of a ensuite and they gave us a dorm without a bathroom. The room stunk, it smelled so bad that it was impossible to sleep there. The hostel itself was very dirty everywhere. The best thing is the location and the price, but we wouldn't stay here again, not worth it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
8.3

Good location, especially if you want to do things in Dublin on the south side. Nice staff, really cheap beds, guests are respectful, thus quite good overall. The breakfast is ok-ish and I have to mention, that bathrooms and toilets are for both genders (wasn't a problem for me, but might be for others).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
8.9

Great place overall. Great staff. Always helpful. Wifi was pretty decent. Good size common areas. Kitchen was big and clean. Room was a good size (8 bed dorm). Bathrooms and showers were clean. My only complaint would be the price increase on the weekend, but I imagine most places do this.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2016
6.9

I stayed in different rooms in Kinlay House. Some rooms were great, some were not. Beware that most rooms with more than 4 people do not have free lockers accessible in the room. I usually slept with my wallet in bed with me. The single rooms are very affordable and feel safer. The staff was decent. Free "breakfast" is hardly that -- they offer bread, spread, and cereal spread throughout a confusing kitchen. Wasn't really sure what was being offered.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.